Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract contains two paragraphs instead of one. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishimura (US 2021/0096355).
Regarding claim 1, Nishimura teaches:
An optical transmitter module comprising an image sensor (1, see. Fig 1, paragraph [0036]), a laser element (optical device 20 is a vertical cavity surface emitting laser, see Fig. 5, paragraph [0039]), laser drive circuit (optical module 30 is a three-dimensional wiring board paired with optical device 20, see Fig. 4, paragraph [0043]), optical fiber (50, see. Fig. 1), electric signal wiring (60, paragraphs [0051]-[0052]), layered substrate (31-33, see Fig. 3, paragraph [0056]), wherein the optical fiber is connected to the laser element (optical module 30 generates an optical signal which is transmitted via the optical fiber 50), and at least a part of an outer periphery of the optical fiber is covered with a protective member (clad covers the external surface of the optical fiber's core, paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 2, Nishimura teaches:
An optical transmitter module wherein the optical transmitter module comprises a cap member made of glass (40, paragraph [0048]), the cap member has a through hole that accommodates at least a part of the optical fiber (H40, see Fig. 4), and the protective member covers an outer periphery of a boundary between a portion of the optical fiber accommodated by the cap member (see. Fig 4).
Regarding claim 3, Nishimura teaches:
An optical transmitter module wherein at least a part of the optical fiber is fixed with a molding agent, and the protective member covers an outer periphery of a boundary between a portion of the optical fiber fixed with the molding agent and a portion of the optical fiber not fixed with the molding agent (adhesive may be flexible resin, paragraph [0047], paragraph [0078]). The Examiner notes that only the distal end of the optical fiber is covered with adhesive to be inserted in the insertion hole H40, and therefore meets the limitations of this claim.
Regarding claim 7, Nishimura teaches:
An endoscope including an optical transmitter module. (see Fig. 1) The Examiner notes that Nishimura’s device is configured to be embedded within endoscopic devices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable by Nishimura (US 2021/0096355) in view of Kugiyama (US 2017/0272665).
Regarding claim 4,
Nishimura does not teach an optical transmitter module wherein the optical transmitter module comprises a plurality of optical fibers, and the single protective member covers an outer periphery of the plurality of optical fibers. Kugimiya teaches a structure in endoscope systems where each optical fiber first coated with ultraviolet curin resin and then is covered with a protective tube (paragraph [0028]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the present invention to include a plurality of optical fibers and a protective covering. Providing a plurality of optical fibers would allow appropriate transmission of a large amount of image data (paragraph [0086]) while preventing transmission disruption when an optical transmission abnormality is detected (paragraph [0085]) as disclosed by Kugimiya. Providing a protective covering around the plurality of optical fibers will protect the otherwise thin and fragile fibers (paragraph [0028]) as disclosed by Kugimiya.
Regarding claim 6,
Nishimura does not teach an optical transmitter module wherein the protective member is a tube and is a member different from a covering portion of the optical fiber. Kugimiya (US 2017/0272665) teaches a structure in endoscope systems where each optical fiber first coated with ultraviolet curin resin and then is covered with a protective tube (paragraph [0028]). The Examiner notes in this configuration, the adhesive resin taught by Nishimura is analogous to Kugimiya’s ultraviolet resin and merely would include a protective tube as a separate member different from the covering portion of the optical fiber. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the present invention to include Kugimiya's protective covering. Such a modification would allow appropriate transmission of a large amount of image data (paragraph [0086]) while preventing transmission disruption when an optical transmission abnormality is detected (paragraph [0085]) as disclosed by Kugimiya.
Claim(s) 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable by Nishimura (US 2021/0096355) in view of Kuboi et al. (US 2018/0317751).
Regarding claim 5,
Nishimura does not teach an optical transmitter module wherein the protective member is a coil. Kuboi teaches a curvature detecting optical fiber 103a, which is inserted in a cylindrical sheating member 38, built in an elongated hollow member 33 wherein the elongated hollow member 33 is composed of a bendable elongated coil 31 (paragraph [0045]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the present invention to include Kuboi's protective covering. Such a modification would serve to ensure longevity by protecting delicate internal parts such as optical fibers as is well known in the art.
Regarding claim 8,
Nishimura does not teach an endoscope wherein the protective member covers an outer periphery of the optical fiber at least over an entire length of a bend portion of the endoscope. Kuboi teaches a cylindrical sheathing member 38 sheathes or covers the curvature detection optical fiber 103a over at least the entire length of the bendable section 11a (paragraph [0054]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the present invention to include Kuboi's protective covering. Such a modification would serve to ensure longevity by protecting delicate internal parts such as optical fibers as is well known in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wang (US 2016/0294156) discloses a connection structure for laser and laser assembly. Shiraishi (US 2020/0052797) discloses an optical transmitter with ground wires. Please see relevant prior art for details.
/PN/
Examiner, AU 3795
/JOHN P LEUBECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795