DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 15-29 have been considered but are moot because the applicant’s argument is based on the amended limitation and a new ground of rejection was made in view of KOSKELA; Timo et al. (US 20230163914 A1), please refer to the rejection below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2022/0286868 A1), hereinafter, “Kim” in view of KOSKELA; Timo et al. (US 20230163914 A1), whereinafter, “Koskela” further in view of Wang et al (US 11,910,382 B2), hereinafter, “Wang”.
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses: A method performed by a user equipment (UE) for beam indication in a multi-transmission and reception point (MTRP) (Kim: fig 14-15, para [0239] and [0260], where, the UE 404 in the system 400, where, the system 400 includes MTRP (multiple Transmission and Reception Point)), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station (BS) first downlink control information (DCI) (Kim: fig 7-8, step S702 or S802, para [0180]), where, the UE receive the DCI from BS, see para [0168]), including a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) field indicating a first TCI state (Kim: fig 7, para [0030] and para [0168], where, “wherein the DCI includes a transmission configuration indication (TCI) field, wherein a plurality of TCI states are indicated based on the TCI field”, where, the TCI field may include at least first and second value, para [0324], first and second value are explained
receiving, from the BS, second DCI including a second TCI field indicating a second TCI state, the second DCI being associated with a second CORESET pool index associated with a second TRP (Kim: fig 7, para [0030] and para [0168], where, “wherein the DCI includes a transmission configuration indication (TCI) field, wherein a plurality of TCI states are indicated based on the TCI field”, where, the TCI field may include at least first and second value, para [0324], first and second value are explained);
performing, based on the first TCI state, a first uplink (UL) transmission (Kim: fig 8, step S803, para [0180], where, “BS schedules uplink transmission (equivalent to “first UL transmission”) such as the frequency/time resource, the transport layer, an uplink precoder, the MCS, and the like (step S801)”); and
performing, based on the second TCI state, a second UL transmission (Kim: fig 8, step S803, para [0183], where, “DCI format 0_1 (equivalent to “second TCI State”), When the PUSCH is scheduled by DCI format 0_1 (equivalent to “second UL transmission”)); Kim does not explicitly teach: the first DCI being associated with a first control resource set (CORESET) pool index associated with a first TRP;
Koskela teaches: the first DCI being associated with a first control resource set (CORESET) pool index associated with a first TRP (Koskela: para [0015], where, “[0015] In 3GPP Rel-15, user equipment may be configured with up to 3 control resource sets (CORESETs), while in Rel-16, multi-DCI based multi-TRP designs permit a maximum number of 5 CORESETs with active TCI states for PDCCH. And to further support multi-DCI based multi-TRP operations, a higher layer parameter, CORESETPoolIndex, was defined”, further para [0016]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “the first DCI being associated with a first control resource set (CORESET) pool index associated with a first TRP” as taught by Koskela into the system of Kim in order to permit expanded support of intra-cell multi-TRP operations (Koskela: para [0024]);
neither Kim nor Koskela do not explicitly teach: wherein: the first UL transmission is scheduled by third DCI associated with the first value, and the second UL transmission is scheduled by fourth DCI associated with the second value.
Wang teaches: wherein: the first UL transmission is scheduled by third DCI associated with the first CORESET pool index (Wang: fig 5, Section (295), col 44, lines 38-42, where, “The UE determines a fourth number of resource elements in the first PUSCH for the first HARQ-ACK codebook based on the first set of offset values and a first value (e.g., beta offset indicator) of a field in the third DCI format, where the first value is used for indicating an offset value of the first set of offset values”), and the second UL transmission is scheduled by fourth DCI associated with the second CORESET pool index (Wang: fig 5, Section (296), col 44, lines 49-53, where, “the UE may receive the second RRC configuration including a third set of offset values and a fourth set of offset values and receive a fourth DCI format that schedules a second PUSCH of a second priority that is indicated by the fourth DCI format”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “wherein: the first UL transmission is scheduled by third DCI associated with the first value, and the second UL transmission is scheduled by fourth DCI associated with the second value” as taught by Wang into the system of Kim and Koskela in order to increase spectral efficiency (Wang: Section (29)).
Regarding claim 20, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 15 above. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 15 in order to define the corresponding packet transmission method for user equipment (UE) or terminal, and the rejection to claim 15 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 25, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 15 above. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 15 in order to define the corresponding packet transmission method for a Base Station (BS) or terminal, and the rejection to claim 15 is applied hereto. Additionally, the claim includes a Base Station. However, Kim discloses the Base Station (Kim: fig 7, para [0168]).
Regarding claims 16 and 21, Kim modified by Koskela further modified by Wang disclose: further comprising: receiving, from the BS, a radio resource control (RRC) configuration including an RRC parameter (Kim: fig 11(b) and 13, para [0236], where, “the UE receives, from the BS, NZP CSI-RS resource set IE including higher layer parameter repetition through RRC signaling (step S1310)”) indicating a TCI state type in a serving cell , wherein: the RRC parameter indicates a joint TCI state type (Kim: para [0259] and TABLE-US-00007 TABLE 7, where, “a UE receives an initial higher layer configuration of TCI states and before reception of the activation command, the UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the SS/PDCH block determined in the initial access procedure with respect to ‘QCL-TypeA’”), and the first TCI state and the second TCI state are configured in a joint TCI state list (Kim: para [0442]-[0444], and Table 24, where, “the transmission occasion with the (order may be changed) first (or second) TCI state second (or first) TCI state 00 0 0 01 0 2 10 3 0 11 1 3”).
Regarding claims 17 and 22, Kim modified by Koskela further modified by Wang disclose: wherein the one or more computer-executable instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the UE to: receive, from the BS, a radio resource control (RRC) configuration including an RRC parameter indicating a TCI state type in a serving cell (Kim: fig 11(b) and 13, para [0236], where, “the UE receives, from the BS, NZP CSI-RS resource set IE including higher layer parameter repetition through RRC signaling (step S1310)”), wherein: the RRC parameter indicates a separate TCI state type, and the first TCI state and the second TCI state are configured in a UL TCI state list (Kim: para [0259] and TABLE-US-00007 TABLE 7, where, “a UE receives an initial higher layer configuration of TCI states and before reception of the activation command, the UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the SS/PDCH block determined in the initial access procedure with respect to ‘QCL-TypeA’).
Regarding claims 18, 23 and 28, Kim modified by Koskela further modified by Wang disclose: The method of claim 15, wherein the first DCI and the second DCI are downlink (DL) DCIs (Wang: fig 5, Section (293), col 43, lines 57-60, where, “In action 504, the UE receives a first DCI format that schedules a first PDSCH and a second DCI format that schedules a second PDSCH”).
Regarding claims 19, 24 and 29, Kim modified by Koskela further modified by Wang disclose: wherein the third DCI and the fourth DCI are UL DCIs (Wang: fig 5, Section (295), col 44, lines 38-42, where, “The UE determines a fourth number of resource elements in the first PUSCH for the first HARQ-ACK codebook based on the first set of offset values and a first value (e.g., beta offset indicator) of a field in the third DCI format, where the first value is used for indicating an offset value of the first set of offset values” and fig 5, Section (296), col 44, lines 49-53, where, “the UE may receive the second RRC configuration including a third set of offset values and a fourth set of offset values and receive a fourth DCI format that schedules a second PUSCH of a second priority that is indicated by the fourth DCI format”).
Regarding claims 26, Kim modified by Koskela further modified by Wang disclose: The BS of claim 25, wherein the one or more computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (Kim: para [0028], where, the base station includes plurality of processors), further cause the BS to: transmit, to the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) configuration including an RRC parameter indicating a TCI state type in a serving cell (Kim: para [0259] and TABLE-US-00007 TABLE 7, where, “a UE receives an initial higher layer configuration of TCI states and before reception of the activation command, the UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the SS/PDCH block determined in the initial access procedure with respect to ‘QCL-TypeA’) wherein: the RRC parameter indicates a joint TCI state type, and the first TCI state and the second TCI state are configured in a joint TCI state list (Kim: para [0442]-[0444], and Table 24, where, “the transmission occasion with the (order may be changed) first (or second) TCI state second (or first) TCI state 00 0 0 01 0 2 10 3 0 11 1 3”).
Regarding 27, Kim modified by Koskela further modified by Wang disclose: The BS of claim 25, wherein the one or more computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (Kim: para [0028], where, the base station includes plurality of processors), further cause the BS to: transmit, to the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) configuration including an RRC parameter indicating a TCI state type in a serving cell (Kim: para [0259] and TABLE-US-00007 TABLE 7, where, “a UE receives an initial higher layer configuration of TCI states and before reception of the activation command, the UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the SS/PDCH block determined in the initial access procedure with respect to ‘QCL-TypeA’), wherein: the RRC parameter indicates a separate TCI state type, and the first TCI state and the second TCI state are configured in a UL TCI state list (Kim: para [0442]-[0444], and Table 24, where, “the transmission occasion with the (order may be changed) first (or second) TCI state second (or first) TCI state 00 0 0 01 0 2 10 3 0 11 1 3”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NIZAM U AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461