DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/30/24 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the change mode of data" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the change mode of data" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 1,
a first means – Evaluation line, data extraction. The specification explicitly describes extracting brightness or other data along an evaluation line crossing the chip boundary, and refers to this as 'first means' (see [0040], [0077]). The extraction process and its implementation (e.g., HSV conversion, line selection) are described in sufficient detail.,
a second means – Edge detection, pulse width, optimal image selection
The specification details the process for evaluating the change mode (sharpness, edge detection, pulse width after binarization/differentiation) and selecting the optimal image, and labels this as 'second means' ([0046], [0078]).
a third means – Comparison to standard image, feature extraction, similarity, deep learning option. The specification describes comparing the optimal image to a standard/reference image, using feature extraction, similarity metrics, and potentially deep learning, and labels this as 'third means' ([0050]–[0052], [0079])
Regarding claim 11,
a first step - Evaluation line, data extraction. The specification explicitly describes extracting brightness or other data along an evaluation line crossing the chip boundary, and refers to this as 'first means' (see [0040], [0077]). The extraction process and its implementation (e.g., HSV conversion, line selection) are described in sufficient detail.,
a second means – Edge detection, pulse width, optimal image selection
The specification details the process for evaluating the change mode (sharpness, edge detection, pulse width after binarization/differentiation) and selecting the optimal image, and labels this as 'second means' ([0046], [0078])
a third means – Comparison to standard image, feature extraction, similarity, deep learning option. The specification describes comparing the optimal image to a standard/reference image, using feature extraction, similarity metrics, and potentially deep learning, and labels this as 'third means' ([0050]–[0052], [0079])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voges et al US 9062859 in view of Satake et al US 20040248329.
Regarding claim 1, Voges et al teaches an apparatus for determining a semiconductor chip, the apparatus comprising:
an imaging device that reciprocates obliquely above the semiconductor chip disposed on a light-reflective mounting surface to capture an image of the semiconductor chip's end surface (Sensor 120, being located above the wafer W and directed generally downward, may capture an image of resist layer 133. Sensor 120 may be arranged such that an optical axis thereof is substantially normal to the surface of the wafer W or inclined at an oblique angle (column, lines 5-12), and a determination device that determines the quality of the semiconductor chip based on the image captured by the imaging device (illumination are used to identify different types of defects or features on a wafer W. Brightfield illumination, involves directing light onto a surface being imaged in such a manner that the light, upon specular reflection, will be directed into or collected by the imager. Under brightfield illumination conditions, contrast in an image is obtained through the scattering of incident light onto optical paths that are not collected by an imager. Accordingly, the object being imaged appears bright and defects or discontinuities that scatter light appear dark, i.e. dark against a bright field (column 5, lines 30-41),
Voges et al fails to teach wherein the determination device comprises:
a first means for extracting data on an evaluation line continuous inside and outside of the semiconductor chip from each of a plurality of images captured during the movement of the imaging device;
a second means for identifying an optimum image from the plurality of images by evaluating the change mode of data on the evaluation lines for each of said images;
a third means for determining the quality of the semiconductor chip by assessing the optimal image identified by the second means based on a previously captured standard image;
Satake et al teaches wherein the determination device comprises:
a first means for extracting data on an evaluation line continuous inside and outside of the semiconductor chip from each of a plurality of images captured during the movement of the imaging device (Any defects can be detected by comparing the obtained image data to a reference pattern, and further a line width evaluation signal may be extracted by moving the pattern to be evaluated on the wafer 608 to the vicinity of the optical axis of the primary optical system (paragraph 0043);
a second means for identifying an optimum image from the plurality of images by evaluating the change mode of data on the evaluation lines for each of said images (The secondary electrons or the reflected electrons 211 having the information on the pattern image and emanated from the sample 210 are magnified by the lenses 209, 208, and is turned into electric signals, which signals are obtained as a series of images in an image display section 219. Further, said image is compared on time to a plurality of cell images or to a plurality of die images, thereby detecting any defective conditions on a surface of a sample (e.g., a wafer) (paragraph 0051); and
a third means for determining the quality of the semiconductor chip by assessing the optimal image identified by the second means based on a previously captured standard image (This image data may be compared to the reference image data of the sample including no defective portion to detect any defects on the sample 712 (paragraph 0049).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Voges et al to include: wherein the determination device comprises: a first means for extracting data on an evaluation line continuous inside and outside of the semiconductor chip from each of a plurality of images captured during the movement of the imaging device;
a second means for identifying an optimum image from the plurality of images by evaluating the change mode of data on the evaluation lines for each of said images;
a third means for determining the quality of the semiconductor chip by assessing the optimal image identified by the second means based on a previously captured standard image;.
The reason of doing so would be to accurately determine the quality of semiconductor chip.
Regarding claim 2, Voges et al in view of Satake et al teaches wherein the imaging device reciprocates at a tilt angle of 200 to 400 with respect to the mounting surface (Voges et al: darkfield illumination can be at any angle and azimuth of incidence upon the wafer W so long as the incident light is not specularly reflected into the sensor being used to image the wafer W (column , lines 27-30).
Regarding claim 3, Voges et al in view of Satake et al teaches wherein the imaging device captures a magnified image of a predetermined magnification (Satake et al: the secondary optical system has magnifying lenses 609, 610, and the secondary electron beams after having passed through those magnifying lenses are formed into an image on a second multi-aperture plate 611 (paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 5, Voges et al in view of Satake et al wherein the data on the evaluation line is brightness data (detectors 612 converts the received secondary electron beam to an electric signal representing an intensity thereof. The electric signal from each of the detectors 612 is amplified by an amplifier 613 and then converted into an image data in an image processing unit 614. a line width evaluation signal may be extracted by moving the pattern to be evaluated on the wafer 608 to the vicinity of the optical axis of the primary optical system through the registration so as to apply a line scanning thereto (paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 8, Voges et al in view of Satake et al teaches wherein the imaging device is reciprocally movable on a horizontal plane (Voges et al: the act of focusing the camera 123 at a particular location on the wafer edge 130 involves moving lens 150 along optical axis 125 as indicated by arrow 129 (column 5, lines 4-9).
Regarding claim 9, Voges et al in view of Satake et al teaches wherein the semiconductor chip is arranged in a staggered manner in a plan view, so that a gap in the direction of the illumination light is widely secured (Satake et al: A wafer 53 prepared as a sample is fixedly mounted on the moving stage 55 with the guard ring 54 surrounding the periphery thereof. The guard ring 54 has the same height (thickness) as the wafer 53 by taking into consideration that a small gap 57 between the top end of the differential pumping section 52 and the wafer 53 and guard ring 54 should be kept constant even during the stage being moved (paragraph 0036).
Regarding claim 10, Voges et al in view of Satake et al teaches wherein a plurality of quality determination regions including a standard determination region are specified in the semiconductor chip, an optimal image is selected from the plurality of captured images corresponding to the optimal image of the standard determination region (Voges et al: Baffles 168 are particularly useful where a sensor 120 or 124 is used to image regions 132 or 136 (column 6, lines 30-33). the concatenation process selects those portions of each of a set of registered images that is substantially in focus and places them in the resulting composite image (column 7, lines 25-28).
Regarding claim 11, Voges et al teaches a method for determining a semiconductor chip using an imaging device and a determination device:
the imaging device that reciprocates obliquely above the semiconductor chip disposed on a light-reflective mounting surface to capture an image of the semiconductor chip's end surface (Sensor 120, being located above the wafer W and directed generally downward, may capture an image of resist layer 133. Sensor 120 may be arranged such that an optical axis thereof is substantially normal to the surface of the wafer W or inclined at an oblique angle (column, lines 5-12), the determination device that determines the quality of the semiconductor chip based on the image captured by the imaging device (illumination are used to identify different types of defects or features on a wafer W. Brightfield illumination, involves directing light onto a surface being imaged in such a manner that the light, upon specular reflection, will be directed into or collected by the imager. Under brightfield illumination conditions, contrast in an image is obtained through the scattering of incident light onto optical paths that are not collected by an imager. Accordingly, the object being imaged appears bright and defects or discontinuities that scatter light appear dark, i.e. dark against a bright field (column 5, lines 30-41),
Voges et al fails to teach wherein the method comprises:
a first step of extracting data on an evaluation line continuous inside and outside of the semiconductor chip from each of a plurality of images captured during the movement of the imaging device;
a second step of identifying an optimum image from the plurality of images by evaluating the change mode of data on the evaluation lines for each of said images;
a third step of determining the quality of the semiconductor chip by assessing the optimal image identified by the second step based on a previously captured standard image
Satake et al teaches wherein the method comprises:
a first step of extracting data on an evaluation line continuous inside and outside of the semiconductor chip from each of a plurality of images captured during the movement of the imaging device (Any defects can be detected by comparing the obtained image data to a reference pattern, and further a line width evaluation signal may be extracted by moving the pattern to be evaluated on the wafer 608 to the vicinity of the optical axis of the primary optical system (paragraph 0043);
a second step of identifying an optimum image from the plurality of images by evaluating the change mode of data on the evaluation lines for each of said images (The secondary electrons or the reflected electrons 211 having the information on the pattern image and emanated from the sample 210 are magnified by the lenses 209, 208, and is turned into electric signals, which signals are obtained as a series of images in an image display section 219. Further, said image is compared on time to a plurality of cell images or to a plurality of die images, thereby detecting any defective conditions on a surface of a sample (e.g., a wafer) (paragraph 0051); and
a third step of determining the quality of the semiconductor chip by assessing the optimal image identified by the second step based on a previously captured standard image (This image data may be compared to the reference image data of the sample including no defective portion to detect any defects on the sample 712 (paragraph 0049).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Voges et al to include: wherein the determination device comprises: wherein the method comprises: a first step of extracting data on an evaluation line continuous inside and outside of the semiconductor chip from each of a plurality of images captured during the movement of the imaging device;
a second step of identifying an optimum image from the plurality of images by evaluating the change mode of data on the evaluation lines for each of said images;
a third step of determining the quality of the semiconductor chip by assessing the optimal image identified by the second step based on a previously captured standard image
The reason of doing so would be to accurately determine the quality of semiconductor chip.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Michael Burleson
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2681
Michael Burleson
April 4, 2026
/MICHAEL BURLESON/
/AKWASI M SARPONG/ SPE, Art Unit 2681 4/7/2026