DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the applicant’s argument based on the subject matter, which is not in the recited claim limitation. The new ground of rejection was made in view of Lai et al (US 2022/0338038 A1), and Xiong; Gang et al. (US 2024/0147438 A1), which does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al (US 2022/0338038 A1), wherein, “Lai”.in view of Xiong; Gang et al. (US 2024/0147438 A1), hereinafter, “Xiong”.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Lai discloses: A method, the method comprising: receiving (i) first information on search space set groups (SSSGs) (Lai: fig 7A-B, Steps S710-S740, para [0206], where, receiving first information related to the SSSG1 indicating first operation) and (ii) second information on minimum applicable scheduling offsets respectively related to the SSSGs (Lai: fig 7A-B, Steps S710, para [0206], where, receiving second information related to the SSSG2 indicating second operation);
receiving downlink control information (DCI) in a specific SSSG among the SSSGs (Lai: fig 7A-B, Steps S720, para [0210], where, receiving a DCI including a specific field associated with at least one of the first configuration and the second configuration of SSSGs); and
receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) based on the DCI (Lai: fig 7A-B, para [0201], where, receiving DCI format 1_1 or DCI format 0_1 indicating the PDCCH skipping for a duration scheduling a PDSCH); Lai does not explicitly teach: wherein the PDSCH is scheduled based on a minimum applicable scheduling offset related to the specific SSSG, and wherein the SSSGs are independently mapped to the minimum applicable scheduling offsets, respectively.
Xiong teaches: wherein the PDSCH is scheduled based on a minimum applicable scheduling offset related to the specific SSSG (Xiong: fig 11, para [0086], where, “if only one PDSCH or PUSCH is scheduled with repetition, a single k0 or k2 and number of repetitions, and same mapping type can be applied for the scheduled PDSCH or PUSCH, respectively. Note that the k0 or k2 can be applied for the first repetition of scheduled PDSCH or PUSCH, respectively”), and wherein the SSSGs are independently mapped to the minimum applicable scheduling offsets, respectively (Xiong: fig 11-13, para [0086], where, “Note that the k0 or k2 can be applied for the first repetition of scheduled PDSCH or PUSCH, respectively. Further, a list of SLIVs can be applied for scheduled PDSCH repetition or PUSCH repetition”, see para [0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “wherein the PDSCH is scheduled based on a minimum applicable scheduling offset related to the specific SSSG, and wherein the SSSGs are independently mapped to the minimum applicable scheduling offsets, respectively” as taught by Xiong into Lai in order to achieve power saving at the UE (Xiong: para [0110]).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Lai modified by Xiong discloses: wherein the PDSCH is scheduled based on a default minimum applicable scheduling offset of the specific SSSG (Lai: fig 6A-B, para [0198]-[0201], where, “If the UE receives/decodes/detects DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1 and/or DCI format 0_1) indicating the PDCCH skipping (for a duration) with scheduling a PDSCH (or a PUSCH)”, where, “A default SSSG ID is configured in an RRC message. A timer relating to the SSSG switching is configured in an RRC message. In this case, the UE may switch the SSSG ID to the default SSSG ID until the timer relating to the SSSG switching expires”, para [0198]).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Lai modified by Xiong discloses: wherein based on the DCI indicating SSSG switching, an application timing of the SSSG switching is determined based on the minimum applicable scheduling offset (Lai: fig 7A-B, para [0201], where, receiving DCI format 1_1 or DCI format 0_1 indicating the PDCCH skipping for a duration scheduling a PDSCH) and an application delay for the SSSG switching (Lai: fig 6A-B, para [0198]-[0201], where, “DCI indicating information relating to at least one of SSSG switching, PDCCH skipping (for a duration), and SCell dormancy may be configured without scheduling a PDSCH or a PUSCH”).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Lai modified by Xiong discloses: wherein based on the DCI indicating SSSG switching (Lai: fig 6A-B, para [0198]-[0201], where, “DCI indicating information relating to at least one of SSSG switching, PDCCH skipping (for a duration), and SCell dormancy may be configured without scheduling a PDSCH or a PUSCH”) and a change in the minimum applicable scheduling offset, the change in the minimum applicable scheduling offset is applied based on a larger value of a first application delay based on the minimum applicable scheduling offset and a second application delay for the SSSG switching (Lai: para [0117], where, “the offset may be used to indicate when the UE should start performing the SSSG switching. For example, the offset may be used to indicate a period from receiving the DCI indication for SSSG switching, and/or from the beginning of the subframe/slot/DRX cycle which includes the DCI indication for PDCCH skipping”).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Lai modified by Xiong discloses: wherein based on that bits for the minimum applicable scheduling offset included in the DCI have a specific value, the minimum applicable scheduling offset is not applied (Xiong: para [0228], where, “wherein the plurality of TDRA parameters include an indication of: a slot offset between downlink control information (DCI) and each scheduled PDSCH, a slot offset between DCI and each scheduled PUSCH, a mapping type of each scheduled PDSCH or PUSCH”).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Lai modified by Xiong discloses: wherein the DCI includes third information on the minimum applicable scheduling offset (Lai: para [0067], where, “triggered to receive Aperiodic CSI (A-CSI), or transmit a PUSCH scheduled by the PDCCH until the “minimum scheduling offsets K0 and K2” equivalent to “third information”). Dynamic adaptation of the minimum scheduling offsets K0 and K2 is controlled by the PDCCH”).
Regarding claim 18, Lai discloses: A base station (BS) (Lai: fig 8, para [0221], where, module 800 corresponding to a Base Station) comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one memory operably connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions (Lai: fig 8, para [0221], where, module 800 corresponding to a Base Station may include a transceiver 820, a processor 828, a memory 834, one or more presentation components 838, and at least one antenna 836. The node 800 may also include an RF spectrum band module, a BS communications module, a network communications module, and a system communications management module, Input/Output (I/O) ports, I/O components) that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising: transmitting (i) first information on search space set groups (SSSGs) (Lai: fig 7A-B, Steps S710-S740, para [0206], where, transmitting the first information related to the SSSG1 indicating first operation) and (ii) second information on minimum applicable scheduling offsets respectively related to the SSSGs through the at least one transceiver; transmitting downlink control information (DCI) in a specific SSSG among the SSSGs through the at least one transceiver (Lai: fig 7A-B, Steps S710, para [0206], where, transmitting the second information related to the SSSG2 indicating second operation); and
transmitting a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) based on the DCI through the at least one transceiver (Lai: fig 7A-B, para [0201], where, transmitting DCI format 1_1 or DCI format 0_1 indicating the PDCCH skipping for a duration scheduling a PDSCH); Lai does not explicitly teach: wherein the PDSCH is scheduled based on a minimum applicable scheduling offset related to the specific SSSG, and wherein the SSSGs are independently mapped to the minimum applicable scheduling offsets, respectively.
Xiong teaches: wherein the PDSCH is scheduled based on a minimum applicable scheduling offset related to the specific SSSG (Xiong: fig 11, para [0086], where, “if only one PDSCH or PUSCH is scheduled with repetition, a single k0 or k2 and number of repetitions, and same mapping type can be applied for the scheduled PDSCH or PUSCH, respectively. Note that the k0 or k2 can be applied for the first repetition of scheduled PDSCH or PUSCH, respectively”), and wherein the SSSGs are independently mapped to the minimum applicable scheduling offsets, respectively (Xiong: fig 11-13, para [0086], where, “Note that the k0 or k2 can be applied for the first repetition of scheduled PDSCH or PUSCH, respectively. Further, a list of SLIVs can be applied for scheduled PDSCH repetition or PUSCH repetition”, see para [0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “wherein the PDSCH is scheduled based on a minimum applicable scheduling offset related to the specific SSSG, and wherein the SSSGs are independently mapped to the minimum applicable scheduling offsets, respectively” as taught by Xiong into Lai in order to achieve power saving at the UE (Xiong: para [0110]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NIZAM U AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461