DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a Response to Applicant’s Arguments and Amendment submitted 12/22/2025.
Claim Objections
The objection to claim(s) 6 in the previous Office Action for informalities is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s Amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claim(s) 2-6 in the previous Office Action under this section, 2nd paragraph (pre-AIA ) or subsection (b) (AIA ), for being indefinite is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s Amendment.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites that the component for controlled deflation is coated by an insulating material. Claim 1, as amended, recites a variety of structures which constitute the component for controlled deflation, including, inter alia, a user interface. It is unclear how a user interface can be coated by an insulating material, therefore rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, 9-13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable US 2013/0338696 A1 to Sideris (hereinafter “Sideris”) in view of US 4,545,367 to Tucci (hereinafter “Tucci”).
Regarding claim 1, Sideris discloses (see abstract; Figs. 1-10; and [0026]-[0038]) a device (Figs. 8-10, [0033]) comprising an occluding segment (see [0033] and Fig. 8, 9 + 13), wherein the occluding segment contains one or more inflatable members (13, see Fig. 8 and see [0033]), the occluding segment contains at least one component that enables controlled deflation (see [0033]) of at least one inflatable member following permanent implantation of the device (see [0033]); a delivery segment (11) wherein the delivery segment contains at least one lumen (an inflation lumen is inherent in the device of Fig. 8 in order to inflate balloon 13) to accommodate inflation of at least one inflatable member and the delivery segment is detachably coupled to the occluding segment on at least one point (see [0033]-[0035] and Fig. 9); wherein the inflatable members are surrounded by a material (9) intended to achieve a result of accelerated permanent attachment to the surrounding tissue and/or accelerated endothelialization (see [0033]).
Sideris further discloses (claim 2) wherein at least one inflatable member contains at least one valve (see [0037]); (claim 3) wherein the at least one inflatable member is attached to at least one stem-like member on at least one point (see [0035], portion of catheter portion 11 received within hole in neck 12, see also Fig. 8); (claim 4) whereby each inflatable member can be inflated/deflated independently (see [0035]); (claim 6) wherein the material forms a patch, wherein the patch is attached to at least one inflatable member on at least one point, the patch is elastic; and the patch is porous (see Figs. 8-9 and [0033]); (claim 10) wherein the occluding segment and delivery segment maintain alignment throughout deployment (see Figs. 7-9); and (claim 11) wherein the delivery segment incorporates a steerable mechanism (see [0035]).
Regarding claim 7, Sideris discloses (see abstract; Figs. 1-10; and [0026]-[0038]) a device (Figs. 8-10, [0033]) comprising an occluding segment (see [0033] and Fig. 8, 9 + 13), wherein the occluding segment contains one or more inflatable members (13, see Fig. 8 and see [0033]), the occluding segment contains at least one component that enables controlled deflation (see [0033]) of at least one inflatable member following permanent implantation of the device (see [0033]); a delivery segment (11) wherein the delivery segment contains at least one lumen (an inflation lumen is inherent in the device of Fig. 8 in order to inflate balloon 13) to accommodate inflation of at least one inflatable member and the delivery segment is detachably coupled to the occluding segment on at least one point (see [0033]-[0035] and Fig. 9); and wherein the occluding segment accommodates a guide wire for 'over the wire' implantation (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 14, Sideris discloses (see abstract; Figs. 1-10; and [0026]-[0038]) a method of placing a device (Figs. 8-10, [0033]-[0035]) at the site of a physiological structure (ASD shown in Fig. 9) comprising: a. placing into a delivery sheath ("long sheath", [0035]) an occluding segment (see [0033] and Fig. 8, 9 + 13) that is detachably coupled to a delivery segment (11, see Figs. 8-9 and [0033]-[0035]), wherein said occluding segment contains at least one inflatable member (13, see Fig. 8 and [0033]) and at least one component that enables controlled deflation (see [0033], bio-degradable barrier of the balloon which degrades under physiological conditions to cause deflation and thus corresponds under 112f to the structure for performing the claimed function) of the at least one inflatable member following permanent implantation of the device (see [0033]) b. advancing the occluding segment through the delivery sheath to the physiological structure of interest via the delivery segment (see [0035]); c. inflating the at least one inflatable member of the occluding segment (see [0035]); d. detaching the occluding segment from the delivery segment (see [0033]/[0035]); and e. deflating the at least one member (see [0033]).
Regarding claims 1, 7 and 14, Sideris fails to specifically disclose wherein the component for controlled deflation takes a form selected from the group consisting essentially of: a. an actuation system that incorporates at least one of the following features: i. an actuator; ii. a receiver; iii. a transmitter/transducer; iv. an electronic circuit; v. a power source; vi. a sensor; vii. a user interface; or b. a valve mechanism that changes state based on crossing a threshold of mechanical forces set by the deployed configuration of at least one inflatable member of the occluding segment.
Note that Sideris discloses that once the supporting function of the balloon is no longer necessary, it is deflated actively or passively in order for the device volume to be reduced to the size that is necessary for effective occlusion (see [0033]), but fails to specify any particular mechanism for actively deflating the balloon, therefore inferring that any known mechanism for actively deflating the balloon would be suitable for use. Tucci discloses, in the same field of endeavor, a device comprising: an occluding segment (102), wherein the occluding segment contains one or more inflatable members (112), the occluding segment contains at least one component that enables controlled deflation of at least one inflatable member following permanent implantation of the device (see Col. 12, lines 30-36 & Col. 11, lines 12-16); and, a delivery segment (16) wherein the delivery segment contains at least one lumen to accommodate inflation of at least one inflatable member and the delivery segment is detachably coupled to the occluding segment on at least one point (see Figs. 3-6 and Col. 9, lines 22-43) wherein the component for controlled deflation is an actuation system incorporating an actuator (knob 172) (see Col. 12, lines 30-36). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as a matter of applying a known technique to a known device/method ready for improvement to yield predictable results (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,82 USPQ2d 1385,1395- 97(2007)), to obtain the predictable result of a mechanism suitable for actively deflating the implanted occluding/balloon member, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Sideris does not disclose any specific active deflation mechanism and therefore one of ordinary skill would understand that any suitable mechanism for active deflation known in the art would be suitable, and Tucci discloses a suitable active deflation mechanism comprising an actuation system incorporating an actuator that would be suitable for use with a reasonable expectation of success in making the proposed combination to one of ordinary skill in the art.
The combination of Sideris and Tucci, as discussed above for the reasons set forth above, would further disclose (claim 9) wherein the component for controlled deflation is coated by an insulating material (see Fig. 9 of Tucci, knurled knob 172 comprises an insulating material coating); (claim 12) wherein the delivery segment incorporates at least one pressure sensor (see Col. 12, lines 10-29 of Tucci) and (claim 13) whereby the component for controlled deflation can be activated by an external controller (any type of external controller is capable of grasping and rotating knurled knob 172 of Tucci).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, 9-13, and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAUN L DAVID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771