DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim appears to misspell the word “porous” as “porours”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites “wherein at least one inflatable member” and depends from claim 1, which previously introduces “one or more inflatable members”. Therefore, it is unclear whether the recitation in claim 2 intends to refer to at least one of the one or more inflatable members introduced in claim 1, or to additional inflatable members introduced in claim 2, therefore rendering the claim indefinite. For examination purposes, it will presume to refer back to the one or more inflatable members introduced in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites “the inflatable members”, and depends from claim 1, which previously introduces “one or more inflatable members”. It is unclear whether claim 5 intends to further limit claim 1 by requiring a plurality of inflatable members (and thus excluding an embodiment having only one inflatable member), or whether claim 5 intends to recites “the one or more inflatable members”. For examination purposes, it will presume to read as “the one or more inflatable members”.
Claims 3-4 and 6 are indefinite by virtue of their dependency on indefinite base claims 2 and 5, respectively.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: component that enables controlled deflation of at least one inflatable member in claims 1 and 14 and dependents therefrom (except for claim 8 – the claim recites sufficient structure to no longer invoke 112f). The equivalent structures for performing the claimed function are set forth at [026]/[027]/[030] of the specification as filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2013/0012980 A1 to Brister et al. (hereinafter “Brister”).
Regarding claim 1, Brister discloses (see abstract; Figs. 1A-28D; and [0072]-[0211]) a device (as shown in the Figures), comprising: an occluding segment (see [0074]/[0076]/[0097]), wherein the occluding segment contains one or more ([0136]/0157]) inflatable members (see [0074]/[0076]/[0097]), the occluding segment contains at least one component that enables controlled deflation of at least one inflatable member following permanent implantation of the device (see [0196]-[0210], a biodegradable barrier which degrades under physiological conditions to cause deflation and thus corresponds under 112f to the structure for performing the claimed function); and, a delivery segment wherein the delivery segment contains at least one lumen to accommodate inflation of at least one inflatable member and the delivery segment is detachably coupled to the occluding segment on at least one point (see [0075]/[0085]/[0086]/ [0134]-[0138]).
Brister further discloses (claim 2) wherein at least one inflatable member contains at least one valve (see [0122]); (claim 3) wherein the at least one inflatable member is attached to at least one stem-like member ("needle") on at least one point (see [0096]/[0141]); (claim 4) whereby each inflatable member can be inflated/deflated independently (see [0136]); (claim 8) wherein the component for controlled deflation takes a form of a biodegradable barrier (see [0196]-[0205]); (claim 9) wherein the component for controlled deflation is coated by an insulating material (see [0196]-[0205]); (claim 10) wherein the occluding segment and delivery segment maintain alignment throughout deployment (see [0134]-[0144]); (claim 11) wherein the delivery segment incorporates a steerable mechanism (see [0134]); (claim 12) wherein the delivery segment incorporates at least one pressure sensor (see [0155]); (claim 13) whereby the component for controlled deflation can be activated by an external controller (see [0072], light or radiation applied from external the body via a controller is disclosed as being within the scope of the degradable nature of the balloon to initiate controlled deflation).
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2013/0338696 A1 to Sideris (hereinafter “Sideris”).
Regarding claim 1, Sideris discloses (see abstract; Figs. 1-10; and [0026]-[0038]) a device (Figs. 8-10, [0033]) comprising an occluding segment (see [0033] and Fig. 8, 9 + 13), wherein the occluding segment contains one or more inflatable members (13, see Fig. 8 and see [0033]), the occluding segment contains at least one component that enables controlled deflation (see [0033], bio-degradable barrier of the balloon which degrades under physiological conditions to cause deflation and thus corresponds under 112f to the structure for performing the claimed function) of at least one inflatable member following permanent implantation of the device (see [0033]); and, a delivery segment (11) wherein the delivery segment contains at least one lumen (an inflation lumen is inherent in the device of Fig. 8 in order to inflate balloon 13) to accommodate inflation of at least one inflatable member and the delivery segment is detachably coupled to the occluding segment on at least one point (see [0033]-[0035] and Fig. 9).
Sideris further discloses (claim 5) wherein the inflatable members are surrounded by a material (9) intended to achieve a result of accelerated permanent attachment to the surrounding tissue and/or accelerated endothelialization (see [0033]); (claim 6) wherein the material forms a patch, wherein the patch is attached to at least one inflatable member on at least one point, the patch is elastic; and the patch is porous (see Figs. 8-9 and [0033]); (claim 7) wherein the occluding segment accommodates a guide wire for 'over the wire' implantation (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 14, Sideris discloses (see abstract; Figs. 1-10; and [0026]-[0038]) a method of placing a device (Figs. 8-10, [0033]-[0035]) at the site of a physiological structure (ASD shown in Fig. 9) comprising: a. placing into a delivery sheath ("long sheath", [0035]) an occluding segment (see [0033] and Fig. 8, 9 + 13) that is detachably coupled to a delivery segment (11, see Figs. 8-9 and [0033]-[0035]), wherein said occluding segment contains at least one inflatable member (13, see Fig. 8 and [0033]) and at least one component that enables controlled deflation (see [0033], bio-degradable barrier of the balloon which degrades under physiological conditions to cause deflation and thus corresponds under 112f to the structure for performing the claimed function) of the at least one inflatable member following permanent implantation of the device (see [0033]) b. advancing the occluding segment through the delivery sheath to the physiological structure of interest via the delivery segment (see [0035]); c. inflating the at least one inflatable member of the occluding segment (see [0035]); d. detaching the occluding segment from the delivery segment (see [0033]/[0035]); and e. deflating the at least one member (see [0033]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see the attached PTO-892 Notice of References cited for additional relevant prior art disclosing balloon devices which can occlude and which can be controllably deflated.
/SHAUN L DAVID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771