DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sexton (US 7,451,909) in view of David (US 2021/0061519).
Regarding claim 3, Sexton discloses a paper sack (20) comprising: a first open end (end of sleeve 14; Fig. 3); and a closed second end (closed end of 12) opposite the first open end, the first open end and the second closed end being spaced apart from each other by a length of the paper sack (Fig. 3), wherein the paper sack is configured such that the second closed end is moveable away from the first open end to increase the paper sack to a second length (Figs. 3-4), further comprises two layers (12, 14) arranged such that two layers are slidable inside one another, wherein the first open end is formed by a first layer of the two layers and the second closed end is formed by a second layer of the two or more layers, wherein the two or more layers are not connected to each other and thus do not form connected paper layers. See Figs. 1-4. Sexton discloses using paper, but does not necessarily disclose two paper layers.
David, which is drawn to a sack, discloses using paper layers. See [0041]. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use the common material of paper, as disclosed by David, for the layers of Sexton in order to have a flexible and affordable device. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use paper layers in order to flexible/affordable device, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 8, as modified above, Sexton discloses a first end of the each of the two paper layers facing the first open end of the paper sack, and are capable of being at different distances from the first open end of the paper sack. See Figs. 3-4.
Regarding claim 9, as modified above, Sexton discloses the two paper layers arranged such that one of the two paper layers is further inside the paper sack than a second of the two paper layers, and wherein a first end of the one of the two paper layers can be relatively further away from the first open end of the paper sack than a first end of the second of the two paper layers. See Figs. 3-4.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/30/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/DEREK J BATTISTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734