DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“control unit configured to” in claims 1 and 3
“transmission unit configured to” in claims 1 and 3
“reception unit configured to” in claim 5
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “difference of the number of downlink control channels” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “difference of the number of downlink control channels” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Examiner interprets the term to mean “the amount of downlink control channels”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (US20240340899).
Regarding claims 1 and 6. Wang teaches the method and apparatus for a terminal comprising (fig. 10 and pars. 0162-0165, teaches device 1000 that is suitable for implementing embodiments of the terminal device 110):
a control unit (fig. 10 and pars. 0162-0165, teaches device 1000 includes processor 1010, to enable the device 1000 to operate in accordance with the embodiments of the present disclosure) configured to
generate feedback information including first feedback information for control information that performs scheduling for a downlink shared channel by a first method (fig. 5 and pars. 0072-0082, teaches the terminal device 110 may generate a HARQ-ACK codebook comprises four sub-codebooks, i.e., a second sub-codebook for HARQ feedbacks of the single TB-based transmission scheduled by the second DCI, a third sub-codebook for HARQ feedbacks of the multiple TB-based transmission scheduled by the third DCI. Wherein, the “TB-based” scheduling reads as the first method. Par. 0002, teaches downlink control information (DCI), Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH), transport-block (TB), and code block group (CBG). Par. 0005, teaches HARQ-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK))) and
second feedback information for control information that performs scheduling for a downlink shared channel by a second method (fig. 5 and pars. 0072-0082, teaches the terminal device 110 may generate a HARQ-ACK codebook comprises four sub-codebooks, i.e., a first sub-codebook for HARQ feedbacks of the multiple CBG-based transmissions scheduled by the first DCI, and a fourth sub-codebook for single CBG-based transmission scheduled by a fourth DCI. Wherein, the “CBG-based” scheduling reads as the second method); and
a transmission unit (fig. 10 and pars. 0162-0165, teaches device 1000 includes transmitter (TX) and receiver (RX) 1040) configured to transmit the feedback information in uplink (figs. 2 & 5 and pars. 0048-0050, teaches the terminal device 110 generates 215 a HARQ-ACK codebook comprising a plurality of sub-codebooks. FIGS. 3-5 show different designs of the HARQ-ACK codebook. Moreover, the terminal device 110 transmits 220 the HARQ-ACK codebook on Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) to the network device 120),
wherein at least the first feedback information includes third feedback information for control information that performs scheduling for a single downlink shared channel (fig. 5 and pars. 0072-0082, teaches the terminal device 110 may generate a HARQ-ACK codebook comprises four sub-codebooks which includes a second sub-codebook for HARQ feedbacks of the single TB-based transmission scheduled by the second DCI. Wherein, the “second sub-codebook for single TB-based transmission scheduled by a second DCI” reads as the first feedback information includes the third feedback information for control information that performs scheduling for a single downlink shared channel) and
fourth feedback information for control information that performs scheduling for a plurality of downlink shared channels (fig. 5 and pars. 0072-0082, teaches the terminal device 110 may generate a HARQ-ACK codebook comprises four sub-codebooks which includes a third sub-codebook for HARQ feedbacks of the multiple TB-based transmission scheduled by the third DCI. Wherein, the “third sub-codebook for HARQ feedbacks of the multiple TB-based transmissions scheduled by the third DCI” reads as the first feedback information includes fourth feedback information for control information that performs scheduling for a plurality of downlink shared channels).
Regarding claim 3. Wang teaches the apparatus for a terminal comprising (fig. 10 and pars. 0162-0165, teaches device 1000 that is suitable for implementing embodiments of the terminal device 110):
a control unit (fig. 10 and pars. 0162-0165, teaches device 1000 includes processor 1010, to enable the device 1000 to operate in accordance with the embodiments of the present disclosure) configured to generate feedback information including first feedback information for control information that performs scheduling for a downlink shared channel by a first method (fig. 5 and pars. 0072-0082, teaches the terminal device 110 may generate a HARQ-ACK codebook comprises four sub-codebooks, i.e., a second sub-codebook for HARQ feedbacks of the single TB-based transmission scheduled by the second DCI, a third sub-codebook for HARQ feedbacks of the multiple TB-based transmission scheduled by the third DCI. Wherein, the “TB-based” scheduling reads as the first method) and
a plurality of pieces of second feedback information for control information that performs scheduling for a downlink shared channel by a second method (fig. 5 and pars. 0072-0082, teaches the terminal device 110 may generate a HARQ-ACK codebook comprises four sub-codebooks, i.e., a first sub-codebook for HARQ feedbacks of the multiple CBG-based transmissions scheduled by the first DCI and a fourth sub-codebook for single CBG-based transmission scheduled by a fourth DCI. Wherein, the “first sub-codebook for HARQ feedbacks of the multiple CBG-based transmissions” and/or the “fourth sub-codebook for single CBG-based transmission” read as the plurality of pieces of second feedback information for control information within the context of this passage and the “CBG-based” scheduling reads as the second method); and
a transmission unit (fig. 10 and pars. 0162-0165, teaches device 1000 includes transmitter (TX) and receiver (RX) 1040) configured to transmit the feedback information in uplink (figs. 2 & 5 and pars. 0048-0050, teaches the terminal device 110 generates 215 a HARQ-ACK codebook comprising a plurality of sub-codebooks. FIGS. 3-5 show different designs of the HARQ-ACK codebook. Moreover, the terminal device 110 transmits 220 the HARQ-ACK codebook on Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) to the network device 120),
wherein each of the plurality of pieces of second feedback information correspond to a different cell set (fig. 5 and pars. 0085-0086, teaches the network device can downlink transmission configurations for the number of sub-codebooks for the HARQ-ACK codebook. Wherein, par. 0033, teaches network device can assign a plurality of serving cells for serving a terminal device, wherein each of the plurality of serving cells corresponds to a different component carrier (CC) which in turns corresponds to a different PDSCH. For example, CC0 is configured for single PDSCH scheduling, that is, CC0 may be used for single TB-based transmission scheduled by a single DCI and TB-based transmission and CC2 is configured for multi-PDSCH scheduling and TB-based transmission, that is, CC2 may be used for multiple TB-based transmissions scheduled by a single DCI. Thus, the plurality of pieces of second feedback information correspond to a different cell set).
Regarding claim 5. Wang teaches the apparatus for a base station comprising (fig. 10 and pars. 0162-0165, teaches device 1000 that is suitable for implementing embodiments of network device 120):
a transmission unit configured to (fig. 10 and pars. 0162-0165, teaches device 1000 includes transmitter (TX) and receiver (RX) 1040) transmit first control information that performs scheduling for a downlink shared channel by a first method (fig. 2 and pars. 0044 -0048, teaches the network device 120 transmits a first, second, third and fourth DCI. Wherein, the second and third DCI schedules a TB-based transmission(s). Whereas, the “second and third DCI” reads as the first control information and “TB-based transmission(s)” reads as the first method) and
second control information that performs scheduling for a downlink shared channel by a second method (fig. 2 and pars. 0044 -0048, teaches the network device 120 transmits a first, second, third and fourth DCI. Wherein, the first and fourth DCI schedules a CBG-based transmission(s). Whereas, the “first and fourth DCI” reads as the second control information and the “CBG-based transmission(s)” reads as the second method); and
a reception unit configured to (fig. 10 and pars. 0162-0165, teaches device 1000 includes transmitter (TX) and receiver (RX) 1040) receive feedback information, in uplink (fig. 2 and pars. 0047-0050, teaches the network device 120 receives the generated HARQ-ACK codebook comprising HARQ feedbacks from the terminal device 110 on a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)),
including first feedback information for the first control information (fig. 5 and pars. 0072-0082, teaches the terminal device 110 may generate a HARQ-ACK codebook comprises four sub-codebooks, i.e., a second sub-codebook for HARQ feedbacks of the single TB-based transmission scheduled by the second DCI, a third sub-codebook for HARQ feedbacks of the multiple TB-based transmission scheduled by the third DCI. Wherein, the “sub-codebook for HARQ feedbacks of TB-based scheduling” reads as the first feedback information for the first control information) and
second feedback information for the second control information (fig. 2 and pars. 0046-0050, teaches the terminal device 110 generates 215 a HARQ-ACK codebook comprising HARQ feedbacks. Wherein, the HARQ-ACK codebook may comprise a plurality of sub-codebooks. FIGS. 3-5 show different designs of the HARQ-ACK codebook. Whereas, fig. 5 and pars. 0072-0082, teaches the terminal device 110 may generate a HARQ-ACK codebook comprises four sub-codebooks, i.e., a first sub-codebook for HARQ feedbacks of the multiple CBG-based transmissions scheduled by the first DCI, and a fourth sub-codebook for single CBG-based transmission scheduled by a fourth DCI. Wherein, the “sub-codebook for HARQ feedbacks of CBG-based scheduling” reads as the second feedback information for the second control information);
wherein at least the first feedback information includes third feedback information for control information that performs scheduling for a single downlink shared channel (fig. 5 and pars. 0072-0082, teaches the terminal device 110 may generate a HARQ-ACK codebook comprises four sub-codebooks which includes a second sub-codebook for HARQ feedbacks of the single TB-based transmission scheduled by the second DCI. Wherein, the “second sub-codebook for single TB-based transmission scheduled by a second DCI” reads as the first feedback information includes the third feedback information for control information that performs scheduling for a single downlink shared channel) and
fourth feedback information for control information that performs scheduling for a plurality of downlink shared channels (fig. 5 and pars. 0072-0082, teaches the terminal device 110 may generate a HARQ-ACK codebook comprises four sub-codebooks which includes a third sub-codebook for HARQ feedbacks of the multiple TB-based transmission scheduled by the third DCI. Wherein, the “third sub-codebook for HARQ feedbacks of the multiple TB-based transmissions scheduled by the third DCI” reads as the first feedback information includes fourth feedback information for control information that performs scheduling for a plurality of downlink shared channels).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US20240340899) in view of He et al. (US20220311549 hereinafter He).
Regarding claim 2. Wang teaches the apparatus for claim 1. Wang further teaches the fourth feedback information includes a plurality of pieces of feedback information (fig. 5 and pars. 0072-0082, teaches the third sub-codebook for HARQ feedbacks of the multiple TB-based transmission scheduled by the third DCI. Wherein, the “third sub-codebook for HARQ feedbacks of the multiple TB-based transmissions scheduled by the third DCI” reads as the first feedback information includes fourth feedback information for control information that performs scheduling for a plurality of downlink shared channels. Furthermore, pars. 0074-0078, teaches the third sub-codebook 502 may contain any DCI that is not configured with CBG-based transmission scheduling and configured with a TDRA table containing at least one row with multiple SLIVs and schedules multiple PDSCH, which reads as a plurality of pieces of feedback information. Par. 0003, teaches Time Domain Resource Allocation (TDRA) and Start and Length Indication Values (SLIVs)).
However, although Wang teaches the fourth feedback information includes a plurality of pieces of feedback information (fig. 5 and pars. 0072-0082), the apparatus and methods of Wang explicitly fails to disclose, a plurality of pieces of feedback information according to difference of the number of downlink control channels for performing scheduling by control information.
He discloses an apparatus, systems, and methods for feedback information, so He is analogous to Wang. Furthermore, He teaches a plurality of pieces of feedback information according to difference of the number of downlink control channels for performing scheduling by control information (fig. 4 and par. 0041, teaches the UE 110 determines the HARQ codebook size for each multi-PDSCH scheduling DCI received. Wherein, the UE 110 generates an ACK or NACK based on the result of decoding each scheduled PDSCH. Whereas, the UE 110 generates NACKs for the difference of the scheduled PDSCHs and the actual PDSCHs. Par. 0002 teaches downlink control information (DCI), physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ)-acknowledgement (ACK), and negative acknowledgement (NACK)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a plurality of pieces of feedback information according to difference of the number of downlink control channels for performing scheduling by control information, as disclosed by He with the method and apparatus of Wang. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce power consumption. (see He par. 0019)
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US20240340899) in view of Wen et al. (US20170331594 hereinafter Wen).
Regarding claim 4. Wang teaches the apparatus for claim 1. Wang further teaches the control unit performs time domain bundling for feedback information of a plurality of downlink shared channels (par. 0173, teaches the HARQ feedbacks of the multiple CBG-based PDSCH transmissions may be bundled in time domain)… performing spatial bundling for feedback information of each downlink shared channel in a plurality of downlink shared channels (par. 0136, teaches the HARQ-ACK codebook comprising at least a first sub-codebook for HARQ feedbacks of the multiple CBG-based PDSCH transmissions bundled in spatial domain).
However, although Wang teaches performing time domain bundling and spatial bundling (pars. 0173 and 0136), the apparatus and methods of Wang explicitly fails to disclose, performing time domain bundling for feedback information … after performing spatial bundling for feedback information.
Wen disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for time domain bundling and spatial bundling, so Wen is analogous to Wang. Furthermore, Wen teaches performing time domain bundling for feedback information … after performing spatial bundling for feedback information (par. 0344, teaches spatial bundling is performed first and then time bundling is performed for bundling of information of ACKs/NACKs corresponding to two transport blocks on different time resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize performing time domain bundling for feedback information … after performing spatial bundling for feedback information, as disclosed by Wen with the method and apparatus of Wang. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce uplink transmissions. (see Wen par. 0324)
Regarding claim 8. Wang teaches the apparatus for claim 3. Wang further teaches the control unit performs time domain bundling for feedback information of a plurality of downlink shared channels (par. 0173, teaches the HARQ feedbacks of the multiple CBG-based PDSCH transmissions may be bundled in time domain)… performing spatial bundling for feedback information of each downlink shared channel in a plurality of downlink shared channels (par. 0136, teaches the HARQ-ACK codebook comprising at least a first sub-codebook for HARQ feedbacks of the multiple CBG-based PDSCH transmissions bundled in spatial domain).
However, although Wang teaches performing time domain bundling and spatial bundling (pars. 0173 and 0136), the apparatus and methods of Wang explicitly fails to disclose, performing time domain bundling for feedback information … after performing spatial bundling for feedback information.
Wen disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for time domain bundling and spatial bundling, so Wen is analogous to Wang. Furthermore, Wen teaches performing time domain bundling for feedback information … after performing spatial bundling for feedback information (par. 0344, teaches spatial bundling is performed first and then time bundling is performed for bundling of information of ACKs/NACKs corresponding to two transport blocks on different time resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize performing time domain bundling for feedback information … after performing spatial bundling for feedback information, as disclosed by Wen with the method and apparatus of Wang. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce uplink transmissions. (see Wen par. 0324)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US20240340899), in view of He et al. (US20220311549 hereinafter He), in further view of Wen et al. (US20170331594 hereinafter Wen).
Regarding claim 7. Wang and He teaches the apparatus for claim 2. Wang further teaches the control unit performs time domain bundling for feedback information of a plurality of downlink shared channels (par. 0173, teaches the HARQ feedbacks of the multiple CBG-based PDSCH transmissions may be bundled in time domain)… performing spatial bundling for feedback information of each downlink shared channel in a plurality of downlink shared channels (par. 0136, teaches the HARQ-ACK codebook comprising at least a first sub-codebook for HARQ feedbacks of the multiple CBG-based PDSCH transmissions bundled in spatial domain).
However, although Wang teaches performing time domain bundling and spatial bundling (pars. 0173 and 0136), the combination of Wang and He explicitly fails to disclose, performing time domain bundling for feedback information … after performing spatial bundling for feedback information.
Wen disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for time domain bundling and spatial bundling, so Wen is analogous to Wang. Furthermore, Wen teaches performing time domain bundling for feedback information … after performing spatial bundling for feedback information (par. 0344, teaches spatial bundling is performed first and then time bundling is performed for bundling of information of ACKs/NACKs corresponding to two transport blocks on different time resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize performing time domain bundling for feedback information … after performing spatial bundling for feedback information, as disclosed by Wen with the combination of Wang and He The motivations for doing so would be to reduce uplink transmissions. (see Wen par. 0324)
Conclusion
/TRACY LAUREN RAIMONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474