DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “cores arranged by a set for each coil” is unclear regarding the intended meaning as the language is grammatically improper. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites “the body portion is extended”; however, it is unclear which body portion is being referenced as the claim recites: “the non-edge core has a body portion” and “each of the edge cores arranged on both sides of the non-edge core in the width direction has a body portion”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites “the coil”; however, the claim recites “a pair of coils”, it is unclear whether the claimed “the coil” is “one of said pair of coils” or another coil. Appropriate correction is required.
The remaining claims are rejected for at least the reason of their direct and/or indirect dependency from independent claim 1.
Claim 3 recites “the non-edge core does not have the upstream-side leg portion and the downstream-side leg portion” is indefinite as claim 3 deletes structure that is required by claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umetsu (US 10880958).
With regard to claim 1, Umetsu teaches transverse flux induction heating device (FIG. 1), comprising: a pair of coils (110/120) having at least one coil arranged on a front side and at least one coil (110/120) arranged on a rear side of a planned conveyance plane (plane direction along arrow pointing to right direction of FIG. 3) of a conductor sheet (S) to make alternating magnetic fields generated through energization of alternating currents in mutually the same direction intersect the planned conveyance plane (plane direction along arrow pointing to right direction of FIG. 3) of the conductor sheet (FIG. 3); and cores (130/140) arranged by a set for each coil (110/120; FIG. 3) forming the pair of coils (110/120; FIG. 3), wherein: the set of cores (130/140) arranged for each coil (110/120; FIG. 3) has a non-edge core (see annotated FIG. 3) arranged at a position including a center in a width direction (see annotated FIG. 3), and edge cores (see annotated FIG. 3) arranged on both sides of the non-edge core in the width direction; the width direction is a direction perpendicular to a conveyance direction (arrow pointing to right direction of FIG. 3) of the conductor sheet (S) and a facing direction of the coils (110/120); the non-edge core (see annotated FIG. 3) has a body portion and a center leg portion (see annotated FIG. 3).
Furthermore, Umetsu teaches each of the edge cores arranged on both sides of the non-edge core in the width direction has a body portion (see annotated FIG. 3), a center leg portion (see annotated FIG. 3), an upstream-side leg portion (see annotated FIG. 3), and a downstream-side leg portion (see annotated FIG. 3); the body portion is extended in the conveyance direction from a region on an upstream side in the conveyance direction of the coil to a region on a downstream side in the conveyance direction of the coil, on a back side of the coil; the back side is an opposite side to a side where the planned conveyance plane exists; the center leg portion is extended in a direction of the planned conveyance plane from the body portion to pass through a hollow portion of the coil; the upstream-side leg portion is extended in a direction of the planned conveyance plane from the body portion, on the upstream side of the coil; the downstream-side leg portion is extended in a direction of the planned conveyance plane from the body portion, on the downstream side of the coil; and an interval between the upstream-side leg portion and the downstream-side leg portion provided to the edge core and the planned conveyance plane, is shorter than an interval between a part of the non-edge core except for the center leg portion thereof and the planned conveyance plane.
With regard to claim 2, with regard to the limitation of an interval between the center leg portion provided to the non-edge core and the planned conveyance plane, is shorter than the interval between the part of the non-edge core except for the center leg portion thereof and the planned conveyance plane, it is submitted that the aforementioned limitation is not critical to the instant invention as claim 5 recites that the claimed interval is the same, and as such, it is submitted that such an adaptation would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art as a matter of routine experimentation and/or as an obvious change in size as a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
With regard to claim 4, Umetsu teaches the non-edge core has the upstream-side leg portion and the downstream-side leg portion (see annotated FIG. 3 above).
With regard to claim 5, with regard to the limitation of an interval between the center leg portion provided to the edge core and the planned conveyance plane, and the interval between the upstream-side leg portion and the downstream-side leg portion provided to the edge core and the planned conveyance plane, are the same, it is submitted that the aforementioned limitation is not critical to the instant invention as claim 2 recites that the claimed interval is the “shorter than” as claimed, and as such, it is submitted that such an adaptation would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art as a matter of routine experimentation and/or as an obvious change in size as a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
With regard to claim 6, Umetsu teaches the interval between the center leg portion provided to the edge core and the planned conveyance plane, and the interval between the center leg portion provided to the non-edge core and the planned conveyance plane, are the same (see annotated FIG. 3 above).
With regard to claim 7, Umetsu teaches in the set of cores, the non-edge core and two edge cores arranged on both sides of the non-edge core are an integrated core (see annotated FIG. 3 above in which the claimed cores are integral).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH W ISKRA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761