DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 12-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lungu US 20150225113.
Regarding claim 1, Lungu US 20150225113 discloses (in Fig. 1) an electromagnetic shield comprising:
a metal sheet (1) having a first surface and a second surface opposite from the first surface;
a first viscoelastic layer (2) provided for the first surface; and
a second viscoelastic layer (2) provided for the second surface (as depicted in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Lungu discloses the electromagnetic shield of claim 1, wherein the metal sheet (1) has a plurality of gaps (as depicted in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Lungu discloses the electromagnetic shield of claim 2, wherein the metal sheet (1) has a mesh shape (as depicted in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Lungu discloses the electromagnetic shield of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first viscoelastic layer (2) or the second viscoelastic layer (2) contains a urethane resin as a material thereof (polyurethane, see [0020]).
Regarding claim 13, Lungu discloses the electromagnetic shield of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first viscoelastic layer (2) or the second viscoelastic layer (2) has a hardness equal to or greater than 0 degrees and equal to or less than 5 degrees.
Regarding claim 15, Lungu discloses the electromagnetic shield of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first viscoelastic layer (2) or the second viscoelastic layer (2) is gelatinous (silicone rubber see [0020]).
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee US 20150086743.
Regarding claim 1, Lee US 20150086743 discloses (in Fig. 5) an electromagnetic shield comprising:
a metal sheet (80) having a first surface and a second surface (second side see [0033]) opposite from the first surface;
a first viscoelastic layer (20 see [0050]) provided for the first surface; and
a second viscoelastic layer (30 see [0050]) provided for the second surface (as depicted in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the electromagnetic shield of claim 1, wherein the second viscoelastic layer (30) has lower rigidity than the first viscoelastic layer (20; see [0058] indicates the sheets having different adhesive strength values, said sheets would normally have mutually different rigidity).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses the electromagnetic shield of claim 1, wherein the second viscoelastic layer (30) has lower adhesive force than the first viscoelastic layer (20; see [0058]).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses the electromagnetic shield of claim 1, wherein the second viscoelastic layer (30) has lower viscosity than the first viscoelastic layer (20; see [0058] indicates the sheets having different adhesive strength values, said sheets would normally have mutually different viscosity).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sakurai US 20040224129.
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the electromagnetic shield of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first viscoelastic layer or the second viscoelastic layer has an adhesive surface (surface at 40/42 in Fig. 5).
Lee does not explicitly disclose at least one of the first viscoelastic layer or the second viscoelastic layer has the adhesive surface including
a tilted surface tilted with respect to a plane parallel to the metal sheet,
the adhesive surface being opposite from another surface, facing the metal sheet, of the at least one of the first viscoelastic layer or the second viscoelastic layer.
However, Sakurai US 20040224129 discloses an adhesive layer (2 in Fig. 4) having an adhesive surface (surface having 3 in Fig. 4) including
a tilted surface (one of the tilted surfaces of 3 in Fig. 3) tilted with respect to a plane parallel to a (substrate 1),
the adhesive surface (surface having 3) being opposite from another surface (surface at 1 in Fig. 4), facing the (substrate 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the adhesive surface of at least one of the first viscoelastic layer or the second viscoelastic layer including a tilted surface tilted with respect to a plane parallel to the metal sheet, the adhesive surface being opposite from another surface, facing the metal sheet, of the at least one of the first viscoelastic layer or the second viscoelastic layer, as taught by Sakurai, in order to allow air to readily escape during application see [0027].
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses the electromagnetic shield of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first viscoelastic layer or the second viscoelastic layer has an adhesive surface (surface at 40/42 in Fig. 5).
Lee does not explicitly disclose at least one of the first viscoelastic layer or the second viscoelastic layer has an adhesive surface having a depression,
the adhesive surface being opposite from another surface, facing the metal sheet, of the at least one of the first viscoelastic layer or the second viscoelastic layer.
However, Sakurai US 20040224129 discloses an adhesive layer (2 in Fig. 4) having an adhesive surface (surface having 3 in Fig. 4) having a depression (3 in Fig. 4),
the adhesive surface being opposite from another surface, facing the metal sheet, of the at least one of the first viscoelastic layer or the second viscoelastic layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the adhesive surface of at least one of the first viscoelastic layer or the second viscoelastic layer have a depression, the adhesive surface being opposite from another surface, facing the metal sheet, of the at least one of the first viscoelastic layer or the second viscoelastic layer, as taught by Sakurai, in order to allow air to readily escape during application see [0027].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yokota JP 2020184621 A.
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the electromagnetic shield of claim 1.
Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the second viscoelastic layer includes magnetic particles.
However, Yokota JP 2020184621 discloses a viscoelastic layer (32 in Fig. 1) including magnetic particles (see [0006] of pg. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second viscoelastic layer include magnetic particles, as taught by Yokota, in order to enhance the effect of electromagnetic shielding see [0006] of pg. 2.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Arakawa US 20060088690.
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses the electromagnetic shield of claim 1.
Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the first viscoelastic layer has a different color from the second viscoelastic layer.
However, Arakawa US 20060088690 discloses an adhesive layer having a different color [0007].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first viscoelastic layer has a different color from the second viscoelastic layer, as taught by Arakawa, in order to allow for infrared absorption see [0007].
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tajiri US 5667877.
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses the electromagnetic shield of claim 1.
Lee does not explicitly disclose at least one of the first viscoelastic layer or the second viscoelastic layer has a property that allows the at least one of the first viscoelastic layer or the second viscoelastic layer to recover adhesive force by having an adhesive surface washed with water and then dried,
the adhesive surface being opposite from another surface, facing the metal sheet, of the at least one of the first viscoelastic layer or the second viscoelastic layer.
However, Tajiri US 5667877 discloses at an adhesive layer (2/3 in Fig. 1) having a property that allows the at least one of the adhesive layer to recover adhesive force by having an adhesive surface washed with water and then dried (see Col. 3 ln. 52-61),
the adhesive surface being opposite from another surface, facing the metal sheet, of the at least one of the first viscoelastic layer or the second viscoelastic layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least one of the first viscoelastic layer or the second viscoelastic layer have a property that allows the at least one of the first viscoelastic layer or the second viscoelastic layer to recover adhesive force by having an adhesive surface washed with water and then dried, the adhesive surface being opposite from another surface, facing the metal sheet, of the at least one of the first viscoelastic layer or the second viscoelastic layer, as taught by Tajiri, in order to allow reapplication and adhesive strength recovery (see Col.3 ln. 52/61).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5 the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that “wherein at least one of the first viscoelastic layer or the second viscoelastic layer has an adhesive surface having a shape different from a plane parallel to the metal sheet and conforming to a shape of a target member, to which the at least one of the first viscoelastic layer or the second viscoelastic layer is adhered,
the adhesive surface being opposite from another surface, facing the metal sheet, of the at least one of the first viscoelastic layer or the second viscoelastic layer”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that “wherein at least one of the first viscoelastic layer or the second viscoelastic layer has an adhesive surface having a groove with a plurality of stripe portions,
the adhesive surface being opposite from another surface, facing the metal sheet, of the at least one of the first viscoelastic layer or the second viscoelastic layer,
the plurality of stripe portions being arranged side by side in a direction different from a direction in which the plurality of stripe portions extend”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that “A communications unit comprising:
the electromagnetic shield of claim 1; and
a communications device,
the communications device including:
a housing to be adhered onto the first viscoelastic layer;
a terminal block held by the housing and configured to allow a cable to be connected to the terminal block; and
a communications module held by the housing and configured to wirelessly output data that the communications module has received via the cable”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Claims 18-19 depending from claim 17 would therefore also be allowable.
Conclusion
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/CHRISTOPHER L AUGUSTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2841