Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim [1-3 and 5] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Sergey (US 20220109546 A1)] in view of Shin (US 20220210779 A1).
Regrading claim 1 and 2 Sergey teaches receiving a physical layer channel carrying a conflict indication associated with the reserved resource. [0045] In a second embodiment, if a special signal is designed to announce the collisions, it could be transmitted once and be associated with the group ID and time instance of collision detection. If a TX UE knows there was a collision, the retransmission may be sent with RV0 instead on changing the RV (e.g. to RV2) that would increase self-decodability of the ReTX, a processor; [0156] Application circuitry 505 includes circuitry such as, but not limited to one or more processors (or processor cores), and a memory. [0156] application circuitry 505 may be coupled with or may include memory/storage elements and may be configured to execute instructions stored in the memory/storage
Sergey does not teach transmitting Sidelink Control Information (SCI) format 1-A, the SCI format 1-A indicating a reserved resource in a resource pool.
However, Shin does teach transmitting Sidelink Control Information (SCI) format 1-A, [0086] Subsequently, the transmission terminal 401 may transmit SCI (1.sup.st stage) to the reception terminal 402 through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) in 460. Also, the transmission terminal 401 may transmit SCI (2.sup.nd stage) to the reception terminal 402 through a PSSCH in 470, the SCI format 1-A indicating a reserved resource in a resource pool; [0086] 1.sup.st stage SCI may include information related to resource allocation, and 2.sup.nd stage SCI may include other control information.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Sergey and Shin before him or her, to modify the method of Sergey to include the SCI format as taught by Shin.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved sidelink transmission efficiency. (0008 by Shin).
In regards to claim 3, Sergey and Shin teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Sergey also does teach report a resource conflict to a higher layer after detecting presence of the resource conflict based on the conflict indication. [0045] In a second embodiment, if a special signal is designed to announce the collisions, it could be transmitted once and be associated with the group ID and time instance of collision detection
In regards to claim 5, Sergey and Shin teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Sergey also does teach transmit a physical layer channel carrying a conflict indication associated with the reserved resource [0043] RX side collision indication. Another option to resolve half-duplex collisions in a group is to enable UE(s) which detect multiple simultaneous transmissions towards the same group ID to send NACK or to send a dedicated signal with collision announcement.
Sergey does not teach receive Sidelink Control Information (SCI) format 1-A, the SCI format 1-A indicating a reserved resource in a resource pool.
However, Shin does teach receive Sidelink Control Information (SCI) format 1-A, [0120] the transmission terminal may indicate, with 1 bit, PSSCH DMRS port information to another terminal via 1.sup.st stage SCI (SCI format 1-A) the SCI format 1-A indicating a reserved resource in a resource pool; [0063] FIG. 3 illustrates a resource pool defined as a set of resources on time and frequency used for sidelink transmission and reception according to an embodiment.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Sergey and Shin before him or her, to modify the method of Sergey to include the SCI format as taught by Shin.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved sidelink transmission efficiency. (0008 by Shin).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base
claim, but could be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Sergey and Shin teach the limitation of the parent claim.
All the references combined do not teach, “wherein the SCI format 1-A is transmitted in a first slot, the physical layer channel is received in a second slot, resources for physical layer channel transmissions carrying conflict indications periodically occur in the resource pool, the instructions, when run by the processor, further cause the UE to determine, as the second slot, the first number being indicated by a pre-defined value depending on a sub-carrier spacing, and the conflict indication is received in the second slot on condition that the second slot is at least second number of slots after the first slot”.
However, reference US 20210084462 A1 Hwang, teaches “the reserved resource is in a third slot” [0127] For example, in a slot related to a resource pool, a PSFCH resource may be configured periodically as N slot durations, or may be pre-configured. For example, N may be configured as one or more values greater than or equal to 1, “a last slot configured with the resources which is at least first number of slots before the third slot” [0183] For example, in the embodiment of FIG. 17, a timing gap for a PSCCH/PSSCH transmitted in slot #1 may be six slots, a timing gap for a PSCCH/PSSCH transmitted in slot #3 may be four slots, a timing gap for a PSCCH/PSSCH transmitted in slot #4 may be three slots, and a timing gap for a PSCCH/PSSCH transmitted in slot #5 may be two slots. “the second number being indicated by a configured or preconfigured value” [0125] For example, in case of the resource allocation mode 1, a time (offset) between the PSFCH and the PSSCH may be configured or pre-configured. In case of unicast and groupcast, if retransmission is necessary on SL, this may be indicated to a BS by an in-coverage UE which uses the PUCCH.
Conclusion
/SHEHAB A ALAWDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466