DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asano (WO 2018074125).
Regarding claim 1, Asano discloses a phosphor wheel (phosphor wheel 1 of fig. 10) comprising:
a substrate (outer spacer 14 of fig. 10) having a first main surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below) and a second main surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below) which face in opposite directions;
a phosphor layer (phosphor layer 12 of fig. 10) provided on the first main surface; and
a heat dissipation member (heat sink 15 of fig. 10) constituted by a plate member (illustrated in fig. 10), the heat dissipation member being disposed opposite the second main surface and rotating along with the substrate (illustrated in fig. 10),
wherein the heat dissipation member (15) includes:
a protrusion (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below) provided in a central part of the heat dissipation member (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below) and protruding toward the second main surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below), the protrusion having a contact surface that contacts the second main surface (illustrated in fig. 3); and
a plurality of fins (fins 15a, 15b of fig. 10) formed by lancing a plurality of regions in a peripheral region outside the central part (illustrated in fig. 10),
the protrusion provides a set gap between the substrate (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10, the protrusion provides a gap between the second surface and the heat dissipation element 15) and the heat dissipation member (15) and conducts heat from the substrate to the peripheral region of the heat dissipation member by contacting the substrate with the contact surface (pg. 6 3rd ; the outer spacer 14 has a simple annular shape, and the wheel heat sink 15 and the glass holder heat sink 16 have two types of fins 15a, 15b, 16a, and 16b separated from each other at the peripheral edge. Also good. Thus, by providing a plurality of fins on at least one peripheral portion of the heat dissipating member constituting the phosphor wheel 1, the heat dissipating performance of the heat dissipating member is improved, and the heat dissipating efficiency of the phosphor layer 12 is improved),
two fins among the plurality of fins are formed in each of the plurality of regions (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 is two regions comprising two fins in each region), and
the two fins are formed on sides, of a corresponding one of the plurality of regions, that are opposite each other in a rotation direction of the heat dissipation member (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10).
Regarding claim 2, Asano discloses wherein one of the two fins has substantially a same size as an other of the two fins (shown above in the examiners illustration of fig. 10).
Regarding claim 15, Asano discloses wherein the substrate is disk-shaped (shown above in the examiners illustration of fig. 10), and the phosphor layer is formed as a band along a circumferential direction of the substrate (illustrated in fig. 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Asano (WO 2018074125) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ikeo (US PG Pub. 20190353993).
Regarding claim 3, Asano discloses a phosphor wheel (1) comprising a heat dissipation element (15).
Asano fails to teach wherein one of the two fins is larger than an other of the two fins.
Ikeo discloses wherein one of the two fins is larger than an other of the two fins (33b is larger than 33a of figs. 10A and 10B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the size of the fins of Hu wherein the sizes of the fins are not the same as shown in Ikeo in order to vary speed of the airstream.
Regarding claim 5, Asano discloses wherein the phosphor layer is provided in a band shape and an annular shape on the first main surface (illustrated in fig. 10).
Asano fails to teach a diameter of the heat dissipation member is smaller than an outer diameter of the phosphor layer and larger than an inner diameter of the phosphor layer; however, it would have been an obvious design choice to have a diameter of the heat dissipation member is smaller than an outer diameter of the phosphor layer and larger than an inner diameter of the phosphor layer in order to provide more turbulent airflow thereby improving cooling efficiencies.
Claim(s) 4, 6 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asano (WO 2018074125) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ikeo (US PG Pub. 20190094671).
Regarding claim 4, Asano discloses a phosphor wheel (phosphor wheel 1 of fig. 10) comprising: a substrate (outer spacer 14 of fig. 10) having a first main surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below) and a second main surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below) which face in opposite directions; a phosphor layer (phosphor layer 12 of fig. 10) provided on the first main surface; and a heat dissipation member (heat sink 15 of fig. 10) constituted by a plate member (illustrated in fig. 10), the heat dissipation member being disposed opposite the second main surface and rotating along with the substrate (illustrated in fig. 10); and a plurality of fins (fins 15a, 15b of fig. 10) formed by lancing a plurality of regions in a peripheral region outside the central part (illustrated in fig. 10).
Asano fails to teach wherein each of the plurality of fins is flared toward the second main surface.
Ikeo discloses wherein each of the plurality of fins (33s of fig. 14D) is flared toward the second main surface (shown below in the examiners illustration of fig. 14D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the fins of Asano wherein the blades flare toward the second surface as shown by Ikeo in order to improve cooling performance (Ikeo; pg. 6 3rd para.)
Regarding claim 6, Asano discloses a phosphor wheel (phosphor wheel 1 of fig. 10) comprising: a substrate (outer spacer 14 of fig. 10) having a first main surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below) and a second main surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below) which face in opposite directions; a phosphor layer (phosphor layer 12 of fig. 10) provided on the first main surface; and a heat dissipation member (heat sink 15 of fig. 10) constituted by a plate member (illustrated in fig. 10), the heat dissipation member being disposed opposite the second main surface and rotating along with the substrate (illustrated in fig. 10); and a plurality of fins (fins 15a, 15b of fig. 10) formed by lancing a plurality of regions in a peripheral region outside the central part (illustrated in fig. 10).
Asano fails to teach wherein a bent edge part formed by bending an outer peripheral edge of the heat dissipation member, the bent edge part being bent at an obtuse angle.
Ikeo discloses wherein a bent edge part (outer peripheral portion 833d of fig. 14D) formed by bending an outer peripheral edge of the heat dissipation member (plate-like member 833 of fig. 14D), the bent edge part being bent at an obtuse angle (illustrated in fig. 14D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the fins of Asano wherein the outer peripheral edge is bent as shown by Ikeo in order to improve cooling performance (Ikeo; pg. 6 3rd para.).
Asano as modified by Ikeo fails to explicitly teach wherein the blades are bent in a same direction as a direction in which the plurality of fins are flared from the heat dissipation member; however, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the fins of the dissipation member in order to optimize the efficiencies in order to improve cooling performance.
Regarding claims 7 and 9, Asano discloses a phosphor wheel (phosphor wheel 1 of fig. 10) comprising: a substrate (outer spacer 14 of fig. 10) having a first main surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below) and a second main surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below) which face in opposite directions; a phosphor layer (phosphor layer 12 of fig. 10) provided on the first main surface; and a heat dissipation member (heat sink 15 of fig. 10) constituted by a plate member (illustrated in fig. 10), the heat dissipation member being disposed opposite the second main surface and rotating along with the substrate (illustrated in fig. 10); and a plurality of fins (fins 15a, 15b of fig. 10) formed by lancing a plurality of regions in a peripheral region outside the central part (illustrated in fig. 10).
Asano fails to teach wherein when cut along a straight line parallel to a radial direction of the heat dissipation member, the bent edge part has a radius bend shape.
Ikeo discloses wherein when cut along a straight line parallel to a radial direction of the heat dissipation member (33 of fig. 7H), the bent edge part has a radius bend shape that is angular (illustrated in fig. 7H; blade portions 33f has a radius bend shape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the fins of Asano wherein the outer peripheral edge is bent as shown by Ikeo in order to improve cooling performance (Ikeo; pg. 6 3rd para.).
Regarding claim 8, Asano discloses a phosphor wheel (phosphor wheel 1 of fig. 10) comprising: a substrate (outer spacer 14 of fig. 10) having a first main surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below) and a second main surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below) which face in opposite directions; a phosphor layer (phosphor layer 12 of fig. 10) provided on the first main surface; and a heat dissipation member (heat sink 15 of fig. 10) constituted by a plate member (illustrated in fig. 10), the heat dissipation member being disposed opposite the second main surface and rotating along with the substrate (illustrated in fig. 10); and a plurality of fins (fins 15a, 15b of fig. 10) formed by lancing a plurality of regions in a peripheral region outside the central part (illustrated in fig. 10).
Asano fails to teach wherein when cut along a straight line parallel to a radial direction of the heat dissipation member, the bent edge part.
Ikeo discloses wherein when cut along a straight line parallel to a radial direction of the heat dissipation member (33 of fig. 7H), the bent edge part has a radius bend shape (illustrated in fig. 7H; blade portions 33f has a radius bend shape)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the fins of Asano wherein the outer peripheral edge is bent as shown by Ikeo in order to improve cooling performance (Ikeo; pg. 6 3rd para).
Asano as modified by Ikeo fails to teach wherein the bent edge part has a “z” shape bend; however, lacking any criticality It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the bent part making it “z” shaped in order to reduce the sound the heat dissipation device makes.
Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asano (WO 2018074125) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Aoki (JP 2018004668).
Regarding claims 10-13 , Asano discloses a protrusion (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below) provided in a central part of the heat dissipation member (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below) and protruding toward the second main surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below), the protrusion having a contact surface that contacts the second main surface (illustrated in fig. 3); and a plurality of fins (fins 15a, 15b of fig. 10) formed by lancing a plurality of regions in a peripheral region outside the central part (illustrated in fig. 10), the protrusion provides a set gap between the substrate (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10, the protrusion provides a gap between the second surface and the heat dissipation element 15) and the heat dissipation member (15) and conducts heat from the substrate to the peripheral region of the heat dissipation member by contacting the substrate with the contact surface (pg. 6 3rd ; the outer spacer 14 has a simple annular shape, and the wheel heat sink 15 and the glass holder heat sink 16 have two types of fins 15a, 15b, 16a, and 16b separated from each other at the peripheral edge. Also good. Thus, by providing a plurality of fins on at least one peripheral portion of the heat dissipating member constituting the phosphor wheel 1, the heat dissipating performance of the heat dissipating member is improved, and the heat dissipating efficiency of the phosphor layer 12 is improved).
Asano fails to teach wherein the peripheral wall includes a plurality of through-holes formed for ventilation.
Aoki discloses a plurality of holes (725) in the fin (720) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the peripheral wall of Asano with the ventilation holes of Aoki in order to improve the cooling efficiency (Aoki; pg. 12 7th para.) further, it is well known that placing holes on a dissipation member provides efficient cooling because air can flow through those holes removing heat from the dissipation device. Also, the location of those holes is an obvious design choice, lacking any criticality it further provides efficient cooling to the phosphor wheel.
Claim(s) 14, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asano (WO 2018074125) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Aoki (US PG Pub. 20170205692).
Regarding claim 14, Asano discloses a phosphor wheel (phosphor wheel 1 of fig. 10) comprising: a substrate (outer spacer 14 of fig. 10) having a first main surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below) and a second main surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below) which face in opposite directions; a phosphor layer (phosphor layer 12 of fig. 10) provided on the first main surface; and a heat dissipation member (heat sink 15 of fig. 10) constituted by a plate member (illustrated in fig. 10), the heat dissipation member being disposed opposite the second main surface and rotating along with the substrate (illustrated in fig. 10); and a plurality of fins (fins 15a, 15b of fig. 10) formed by lancing a plurality of regions in a peripheral region outside the central part (illustrated in fig. 10).
Asano fails to teach wherein a plurality of holes are formed in each of the plurality of fins.
Aoki discloses wherein a plurality of holes (openings 722 of fig. 10) are formed in each of the plurality of fins (illustrated in fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the plurality of fins of Asano with the holes of Aoki in order to enhance heat dissipation (Aoki; para. 0134).
Regarding claim 16, Asano discloses a phosphor wheel (phosphor wheel 1 of fig. 10) comprising: a substrate (outer spacer 14 of fig. 10) having a first main surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below) and a second main surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below) which face in opposite directions; a phosphor layer (phosphor layer 12 of fig. 10) provided on the first main surface; and a heat dissipation member (heat sink 15 of fig. 10) constituted by a plate member (illustrated in fig. 10), the heat dissipation member being disposed opposite the second main surface and rotating along with the substrate (illustrated in fig. 10); and a plurality of fins (fins 15a, 15b of fig. 10) formed by lancing a plurality of regions in a peripheral region outside the central part (illustrated in fig. 10).
Asano fails to teach wherein an end of each of the plurality of fins is formed having at least one recessed part.
Aoki discloses wherein an end of each of the plurality of fins (blade 62 of fig. 4) is formed having at least one recessed part (bent portion 62b of fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the fins of Asano with the recess portion of Aoki in order to reduce the wind noise of the blade (Aoki; para. 0115).
Regarding claim 17, Asano discloses a phosphor wheel (phosphor wheel 1 of fig. 10) comprising: a substrate (outer spacer 14 of fig. 10) having a first main surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below) and a second main surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below) which face in opposite directions; a phosphor layer (phosphor layer 12 of fig. 10) provided on the first main surface; and a heat dissipation member (heat sink 15 of fig. 10) constituted by a plate member (illustrated in fig. 10), the heat dissipation member being disposed opposite the second main surface and rotating along with the substrate (illustrated in fig. 10); and a plurality of fins (fins 15a, 15b of fig. 10) formed by lancing a plurality of regions in a peripheral region outside the central part (illustrated in fig. 10).
Asano fails to teach wherein the recessed part is formed in a position offset toward one side from a center of the end.
Aoki discloses wherein the recessed part (bent portion 62b of fig. 5) is formed in a position offset toward one side from a center of the end (illustrated in fig. 5; the bent portion is offset from the center of the blade portion 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the fins of Asano with the recess portion of Aoki in order to reduce the wind noise of the blade (Aoki; para. 0115).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asano (WO 2018074125) and Aoki (US PG Pub. 20170205692) as applied to claim16 above, and further in view of Ikeo (US PG Pub. 20190094671).
Regarding claim 18, Asano as modified by Aoki discloses a phosphor wheel (phosphor wheel 1 of fig. 10) comprising: a substrate (outer spacer 14 of fig. 10) having a first main surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below) and a second main surface (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 10 below) which face in opposite directions; a phosphor layer (phosphor layer 12 of fig. 10) provided on the first main surface; and a heat dissipation member (heat sink 15 of fig. 10) constituted by a plate member (illustrated in fig. 10), the heat dissipation member being disposed opposite the second main surface and rotating along with the substrate (illustrated in fig. 10); and a plurality of fins (fins 15a, 15b of fig. 10) formed by lancing a plurality of regions in a peripheral region outside the central part (illustrated in fig. 10).
Asano as modified by Aoki fails to teach wherein the recessed part is formed having an incline, and a length of each of the plurality of fins in the at least one recessed part decreases along the incline.
Ikeo discloses wherein the recessed part (blade 33s of fig. 14D) is formed having an incline (illustrated in fig. 14D), and a length of each of the plurality of fins in the at least one recessed part decreases along the incline (pg. 16 7th para., inclined portion 33s).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify plurality of fins of Asano and Aoki with the inclined blade of Ikeo in order to improve cooling performance (Ikeo; para. 0169).
Conclusion
/DANELL L OWENS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2882 12 June 2026
/TOAN TON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2882