DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/30/2026 with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimbrough et al (US Patent No. 5672918) in view of Shekhawat et al (US Patent No. 4725741) and further in view of Shi et al (US Publication No. 20150262540).
Regarding claim 1, Kimbrough discloses an electronic spatial system (i.e., such as circuit 200 for the protection system 160; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) including: a sensitive electronic circuit (i.e., such as voltage regulator circuit 214; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) configured (i.e., such as the circuit 200 senses and responds to either transient ionizing radiation or to a transient current on a +5 V bus caused by a single event latch-up in an integrated circuit; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) to be sensitive to spatial radiations (i.e., such as the circuit 200 senses and responds to either transient ionizing radiation or to a transient current on a +5 V bus caused by a single event latch-up in an integrated circuit; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) comprising at least one signal input port (i.e., such as input terminal 222; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) and/or at least one signal output port (i.e., such as output terminal 208; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+); a signal processing unit (i.e., such as module 202; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+); an electronic unit (i.e., such as ionizing radiation pulse detector circuit 220; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) for detecting spatial radiations (i.e., such as the radiation pulse detector circuit 220 provides two functions. One is sense and respond to transient ionizing radiation with an internal radiation detector. The other is to respond to a latch-up detection signal provided at a self-test S/T terminal 226 in response to a transient current on the +5 V bus caused by single event latch-up in a microelectronic circuit connected to the +5 V bus; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) electrically connected (i.e., such as 220 is electrically connected to 202 via terminals 226, 236, and 256; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) to the signal processing unit (i.e., such as module 202; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+); at least one protective switch (i.e., such as MOSFET switches 240 and 242; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) electrically connected (i.e., such as input terminal 224 is electrically connected to output terminal 208 via switch 240; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) between the electrical ground (i.e., such as GROUND; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) of the electronic spatial system (i.e., such as circuit 200 for the protection system 160; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) and at least one out of the signal input or output ports (i.e., such as terminal 208 as an input terminal to block 214 and the same time as an output terminal of module 202; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) of the sensitive electronic circuit (i.e., such as voltage regulator circuit 214; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+), and controlled (i.e., such as controlled via pin +MAIN in module 202; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) by the signal processing unit (i.e., such as module 202; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+); the signal processing unit (i.e., such as module 202; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) being configured (i.e., such as pin +MAIN in 202 sends a signal to pin SIT in 220 via terminal 226, subsequently, pin inverted-NED in 220 sends a signal via terminal 236 to pin INHIBIT in 202 via terminal 256 in order to bring switch 250 to the ground; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) to switch the at least one protective switch (i.e., such as MOSFET switches 240 and 242; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) to the electrical ground (i.e., such as GROUND; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) upon detection (i.e., such as upon detection; for instance, the inverted output signal NED at terminal 236 of the radiation pulse detector circuit 220 is initiated in two ways. One way is to sense and respond to transient ionizing radiation with an internal radiation detector. The other way is to respond to latch-up detection signal provided at the self-test S/T terminal 226 in response to a transient current on the +5 V bus caused by single event latch up in a microelectronic circuit connected to the +5 V bus; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) of an amplitude (i.e., such as pin +MAIN in 202 sets the amplitude of pin SIT to HIGH via terminal 226; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) of a signal representative (i.e., such as the signal from pin +MAIN in 202 to be sent to 220 via switch 234; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) of the amount of spatial radiations (i.e., such as the signal from pin +MAIN in 202 to be sent to 220 via switch 234; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) greater (i.e., such as exceeds the comparator threshold voltage; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) than a predefined radiation threshold (i.e., such as the predefined radiation threshold to establish the threshold voltage of comparator 230 with respect to the increased latch-up current, and to establish the threshold voltage of comparator 232 with respect to the preset threshold voltage; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+); wherein the sensitive electronic circuit (i.e., such as voltage regulator circuit 214; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) further comprises at least one signal input port (i.e., such as input terminal VI of 214; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) and at least one signal output port (i.e., such as output terminal VO of 214; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+), the system (i.e., such as circuit 200 for the protection system 160; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) including: a first protective switch (i.e., such as MOSFET 254; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) electrically connected (i.e., such as input terminal 222 is electrically connected to GND via MOSFET 254 to protect blocks 202 and 214; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) between the electrical ground (i.e., such as GROUND; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) of the electronic spatial system (i.e., such as circuit 200 for the protection system 160; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) and the signal input port (i.e., such as input terminal VI of 214; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+), a second protective switch (i.e., such as MOSFET 250; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) electrically connected (i.e., such as output terminal 212 is electrically connected to GND via MOSFET 250 to protect blocks 202 and 214; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) between the electrical ground (i.e., such as GROUND; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) of the electronic spatial system (i.e., such as circuit 200 for the protection system 160; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) and the signal output port (i.e., such as output terminal VO of 214; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+).
Kimbrough does not explicitly disclose the at least one protective switch including a Darlington pair of two bipolar transistors, configured to be switched from an OFF electrical state into an ON electrical state within a time period less than one hundred microseconds.
Shekhawat discloses a drive circuit for fast switching of Darlington-connected transistors (i.e., such as S1; see for example fig. 4, Col. 4 lines 1 +); wherein the at least one protective switch (i.e., S1; see for example fig. 4, Col. 4 lines 19+) including a Darlington pair of two bipolar transistors (i.e., Q4-Q6; see for example fig. 4, Col. 4 lines 19+), configured to be switched from an OFF electrical state into an ON electrical state (i.e., such as the drive circuit of the present invention is capable of reducing the turn-off tire of Darlington connected bipolar transistors to less than three microseconds so that such transistors can be used in high power, high switching frequency applications; see for example fig. 4, Col. 4 lines 19+) within a time period (i.e., less than three microseconds) less than one hundred microseconds (i.e., such as the drive circuit of the present invention is capable of reducing the turn-off tire of Darlington-connected bipolar transistors to less than three microseconds so that such transistors can be used in high power, high switching frequency applications; see for example fig. 4, Col. 4 lines 19+).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the switching-time scheme in Kimbrough, as taught by Shekhawat, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards maximizing the switching time of the circuit's transistors, thereby minimizing the radiations exposure.
Neither Kimbrough nor Shekhawat explicitly discloses wherein the first protective switch is configured to be switched simultaneously with the second protective switch.
Shi discloses a grounding module (i.e., see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]- [0039]); wherein the first protective switch (i.e., such as first protective switch 232; see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]- [0039]) is configured to (i.e., such as switch 232 and switch 233 are configured to be switched ON at the same time; for instance, the plurality of signal line switches comprises a second switch, a third switch and a fourth switch, wherein the second switch is coupled to the gate line and the ground, the third switch is coupled to the data line and the ground, the fourth switch is coupled to the common electrode line and the ground, and the second switch, the third switch and the fourth switch are turned on simultaneously for the predetermined time period when the discharge control signal is received so that the gate line, the data line and the common electrode line are all grounded; see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]- [0039]) be switched simultaneously (i.e., such as switched simultaneously; for instance, the plurality of signal line switches comprises a second switch, a third switch and a fourth switch, wherein the second switch is coupled to the gate line and the ground, the third switch is coupled to the data line and the ground, the fourth switch is coupled to the common electrode line and the ground, and the second switch, the third switch and the fourth switch are turned on simultaneously for the predetermined time period when the discharge control signal is received so that the gate line, the data line and the common electrode line are all grounded; see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]- [0039]) with the second protective switch (i.e., such as second protective switch 233; see for example fig. 3, para. [0034]- [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the simultaneous switching-scheme in Kimbrough, as taught by Shi, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards preventing voltage back-feeding and signal bounce, ensuring total electrical isolation.
Regarding claim 2, Kimbrough in view of Shekhawat and further in view of Shi and the teachings of Kimbrough as modified by Shekhawat have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Kimbrough as modified by Shi have been discussed above as well.
Kimbrough further discloses the system (i.e., such as circuit 200 for the protection system 160; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+); wherein the sensitive electronic circuit (i.e., such as voltage regulator circuit 214; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) further comprises at least one signal output port (i.e., such as terminals 206, 210, 208, and 212; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+), wherein at least one out of the protective switches (i.e., such as MOSFET switches 240 and 242; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) is electrically connected (i.e., such as switch 242 is electrically connected to drive switch 252 to protect output terminals 206/210, and switch 240 is electrically connected to drive switch 250 to protect terminals 208/212; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) to the signal output port (i.e., such as terminals 206, 210, 208, and 212; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+).
Regarding claim 3, Kimbrough in view of Shekhawat and further in view of Shi and the teachings of Kimbrough as modified by Shekhawat have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Kimbrough as modified by Shi have been discussed above as well.
Kimbrough further discloses the system (i.e., such as circuit 200 for the protection system 160; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+); wherein the sensitive electronic circuit (i.e., such as voltage regulator circuit 214; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) is a power electronic component (i.e., such as voltage regulator circuit 214; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+), more particularly an electric power supply regulation and stabilization device (i.e., such as voltage regulator circuit 214; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+).
Regarding claim 7, Kimbrough in view of Shekhawat and further in view of Shi and the teachings of Kimbrough as modified by Shekhawat have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Kimbrough as modified by Shi have been discussed above as well.
Kimbrough further discloses the system (i.e., such as circuit 200 for the protection system 160; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+); wherein the spatial radiation detection electronic unit (i.e., such as ionizing radiation pulse detector circuit 220; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) comprises an electronic device (i.e., such as comparator 230; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 3 +) for monitoring the electric current (i.e., such as comparator 230 is to monitor the latch-up current with respect to radiation threshold by comparing pin +MAIN versus 210 via sensing resistor 211; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) of the signal input port (i.e., such as pin +MAIN in module 202 reflects the threshold input current of the incoming signal at the input line; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+).
Regarding claim 8, Kimbrough in view of Shekhawat and further in view of Shi and the teachings of Kimbrough as modified by Shekhawat have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Kimbrough as modified by Shi have been discussed above as well.
Kimbrough further discloses the system (i.e., such as circuit 200 for the protection system 160; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+); wherein the spatial radiation detection electronic unit (i.e., such as ionizing radiation pulse detector circuit 220; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) comprises an electronic device (i.e., such as comparator 232; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 3 +) for monitoring the electrical voltage (i.e., such as comparator 232 is to monitor the preset voltage threshold with respect to radiation threshold by comparing pin VL in block 220 versus the output of comparator 230 in order for comparator 232 to drive switch 234 for terminal 226; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) of the signal output port (i.e., such as pin SIT in block 220 reflects the threshold output voltage of the outgoing signal at the output line; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+).
Regarding claim 9, Kimbrough in view of Shekhawat and further in view of Shi and the teachings of Kimbrough as modified by Shekhawat have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Kimbrough as modified by Shi have been discussed above as well.
Kimbrough further discloses the system (i.e., such as circuit 200 for the protection system 160; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+); wherein the at least one signal input port (i.e., such as input terminal VI of 214; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) is an electric power supply rail (i.e., such as electric power supply rail pin -15 of module 202; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) of the sensitive electronic circuit (i.e., such as voltage regulator circuit 214; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+).
Regarding claim 10, Kimbrough in view of Shekhawat and further in view of Shi and the teachings of Kimbrough as modified by Shekhawat have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Kimbrough as modified by Shi have been discussed above as well.
Kimbrough further discloses the system (i.e., such as circuit 200 for the protection system 160; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+); a method (i.e., such as a method for mitigating the effects of destructive radiation on a micro-electronic circuit, comprising the steps off providing an output voltage on a power bus; detecting a pulse of ionizing radiation; and providing a detection signal indicative of the detection of a pulse of ionizing radiation and providing an ionizing-radiation alarm signal indicative thereof; determining an occurrence of excess current through said power bus and providing an excess-current alarm signal indicative thereof; and opening the power bus and shorting the power bus to a ground potential to quickly remove power from the power bus in response to an ionizing-radiation alarm signal or to an excess-current alarm signal; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+); the protection method (i.e., such as the protection method for mitigating the effects of destructive radiation on a micro-electronic circuit, comprising the steps off providing an output voltage on a power bus; detecting a pulse of ionizing radiation; and providing a detection signal indicative of the detection of a pulse of ionizing radiation and providing an ionizing-radiation alarm signal indicative thereof; determining an occurrence of excess current through said power bus and providing an excess-current alarm signal indicative thereof; and opening the power bus and shorting the power bus to a ground potential to quickly remove power from the power bus in response to an ionizing-radiation alarm signal or to an excess-current alarm signal; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) comprising the steps of (i.e., such as the step of providing an output voltage on a power bus includes providing a DC/DC converter, or power supply, for providing power to the power bus. The method includes the step of providing other output voltages from the output voltage on the power bus. The step of determining an occurrence of excess current through said power bus includes sensing a voltage across a resistor in series with the power bus and comparing the sensing voltage with a reference voltage. The step of opening the power bus and shorting the power bus to a ground potential to quickly remove power from the power bus in response to an ionizing-radiation alarm signal or to an excess-current alarm signal includes activating a series FET and a shunt FET; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+). As for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 1. {See rejection of claim 1}
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimbrough et al (US Patent No. 5672918) in view of Shekhawat et al (US Patent No. 4725741) and in view of Shi et al (US Publication No. 20150262540) and further in view of Miller (US Publication No. 20080266734).
Regarding claim 5, Kimbrough in view of Shekhawat and further in view of Shi and the teachings of Kimbrough as modified by Shekhawat have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Kimbrough as modified by Shi have been discussed above as well.
Neither Kimbrough nor Shekhawat nor Shi explicitly discloses comprising at least one cut-off switch arranged electrically in parallel with the at least one protective switch, the signal processing unit being configured to switch the cut-off switch to the electrical ground when turning off the sensitive electronic circuit.
Miller discloses a radiation-triggered semiconductor shutdown device (i.e., see for example fig. 7 as shown below, para. [0034]- [0035]); wherein comprising at least one cut-off switch (701) arranged electrically in parallel with the at least one protective switch (705 ), the signal processing unit (711) being configured to switch the cut-off switch (701) to the electrical ground (GND) when turning off the sensitive electronic circuit (SEC) (Note; Legend for fig. 2 as shown below for clarification purposes; i/p = input port; SEC = sensitive electronic circuit; ESS = electronic spatial system; GND = ground).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the cut-off switch in Kimbrough, as taught by Miller, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards protecting sensitive circuits against harmful radiations.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimbrough et al (US Patent No. 5672918) in view of Shekhawat et al (US Patent No. 4725741) and in view of Shi et al (US Publication No. 20150262540) and in view of Miller (US Publication No. 20080266734) and further in view of Gofman (US Patent No. 6888354).
Regarding claim 6, Kimbrough in view of Shekhawat and in view of Shi and further in view of Miller and the teachings of Kimbrough as modified by Shekhawat have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Kimbrough as modified by Shi and the teachings of Kimbrough as modified by Miller have been discussed above as well.
Neither Kimbrough nor Shekhawat nor Shi nor Miller explicitly discloses wherein the at least one cut-off switch includes a bipolar transistor configured to be switched from an OFF electrical state into an ON electrical state within a time period greater than one hundred microseconds, preferably greater than one millisecond.
Gofman discloses an apparatus and method for detecting battery removal (i.e., 200; see for example fig. 2, Col. 5 lines 55+); wherein the at least one cut-off switch (i.e., 218; see for example fig. 2, Col. 5 lines 55+) includes a bipolar transistor (i.e., The switch 218 may be constructed from semiconductor-based elements, and/or any other switching elements that allow for a variable duty ratio, one or more bipolar junction transistors (BJTs), and/or (v) any other monolithic, discrete or hybrid switches capable of switching at various frequencies; see for example fig. 2, Col. 5 lines 55+) configured to be switched from an OFF electrical state into an ON electrical state (i.e., such as if this error-voltage signal meets a predetermined-regulation threshold, the feedback controller 204 may trigger the switch 218 to switch from the OFF state to the ON state before the voltage on node 203 decreases any significant amount; see for example fig. 2, Col. 5 lines 55+) within a time period greater than one hundred microseconds (i.e., such as the PWM signal adjustment more/less than 100 ms; see for example fig. 3b, Col. 8, lines 60+) preferably greater than one millisecond (i.e., any desired setting for the ON/OFF switch status would be more than 1 ms; see for example fig. 3b, Col. 8, lines 60+) (i.e., Between time t.sub.1 and t.sub.2, the detection controller 232 issues to the feedback controller 204 a short, e.g., a 50 millisecond, pulse interrupt signal as shown in the interrupt-signal waveform 502; see for example fig. 5, Col. 13 lines 7+) (i.e., a 50 millisecond; see for example fig. 5, Col. 13 lines 7+).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the switching-time scheme in Kimbrough, as taught by Gofman, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards maximizing the switching time of the circuit's transistors, thereby minimizing the radiations exposure.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimbrough et al (US Patent No. 5672918) in view of Shekhawat et al (US Patent No. 4725741) and in view of Shi et al (US Publication No. 20150262540) and further in view of He et al (US Publication No. 20050253703).
Regarding claim 12, Kimbrough in view of Shekhawat and further in view of Shi and the teachings of Kimbrough as modified by Shekhawat have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Kimbrough as modified by Shi have been discussed above as well.
Kimbrough further discloses the system (i.e., such as circuit 200 for the protection system 160; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+); a test method (i.e., such as a method for mitigating the effects of destructive radiation on a micro-electronic circuit, comprising the steps off providing an output voltage on a power bus; detecting a pulse of ionizing radiation; and providing a detection signal indicative of the detection of a pulse of ionizing radiation and providing an ionizing-radiation alarm signal indicative thereof; determining an occurrence of excess current through said power bus and providing an excess current alarm signal indicative thereof; and opening the power bus and shorting the power bus to a ground potential to quickly remove power from the power bus in response to an ionizing-radiation alarm signal or to an excess-current alarm signal; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) of the electronic spatial system (i.e., such as circuit 200 for the protection system 160; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+), the test method (i.e., such as a method for mitigating the effects of destructive radiation on a micro-electronic circuit, comprising the steps off providing an output voltage on a power bus; detecting a pulse of ionizing radiation; and providing a detection signal indicative of the detection of a pulse of ionizing radiation and providing an ionizing-radiation alarm signal indicative thereof; determining an occurrence of excess current through said power bus and providing an excess-current alarm signal indicative thereof; and opening the power bus and shorting the power bus to a ground potential to quickly remove power from the power bus in response to an ionizing radiation alarm signal or to an excess-current alarm signal; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) including the steps (i.e., such as the step of providing an output voltage on a power bus includes providing a DC/DC converter, or power supply, for providing power to the power bus. The method includes the step of providing other output voltages from the output voltage on the power bus. The step of determining an occurrence of excess current through said power bus includes sensing a voltage across a resistor in series with the power bus and comparing the sensing voltage with a reference voltage. The step of opening the power bus and shorting the power bus to a ground potential to quickly remove power from the power bus in response to an ionizing-radiation alarm signal or to an excess-current alarm signal includes activating a series FET and a shunt FET; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) on the ground (i.e., such as GROUND; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) of sending penetrating heavy ions (i.e., such as the circuit 200 senses and responds to either transient ionizing radiation or to a transient current on a +5 V bus caused by a single event latch up in an integrated circuit; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) or penetrating radiation (i.e., such as the circuit 200 senses and responds to either transient ionizing radiation or to a transient current on a +5 V bus caused by a single event latch up in an integrated circuit; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) capable of creating latch-up (i.e., such as the radiation pulse detector circuit 220 provides two functions. One is sense and respond to transient ionizing radiation with an internal radiation detector. The other is to respond to a latch up detection signal provided at a self-test S/T terminal 226 in response to a transient current on the +5 V bus caused by single event latch up in a microelectronic circuit connected to the +5 V bus; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) on the sensitive electronic circuit; and functional tests (i.e., such as functional tests; for instance, the system detects a latch up condition and removes power (called power dump) in less than 2 microseconds from all susceptible devices before damage can occur. This specification describes circuitry and the results of heavy ion and flash x-ray (FXR) tests which demonstrate the effectiveness of this inventive approach in a high performance star tracker camera system designed by Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL); see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) of the electronic spatial system (i.e., such as circuit 200 for the protection system 160; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) following the sending step (i.e., such as the sending step via block input buffer to be saved and outputted by block 152; see for example fig. 2, Col. 5 lines 23+).
Neither Kimbrough nor Shekhawat nor Shi explicitly discloses ensuring a predefined service life; for a predetermined time period and under thermal stress representative of an accelerated ageing equivalent to the predefined service life of the electronic spatial system on board a satellite in Earth orbit.
He discloses methods, systems, and computer program products configured to track the geographic location of hazmat substances or devices including same, such as nuclear gauges with a radioactive component (i.e., see for example fig. 1, para. [0052]); wherein ensuring a predefined service life (i.e., wherein the nuclear gauge is a portable nuclear measurement gauge comprising a gamma source and a neutron source; monitoring radiation counts associated with a radioactive source in the nuclear gauge during an operational service life; carrying out a diagnostic interrogation based on local data from the nuclear gauge that is transmitted to the remote location; measuring radioactivity using a count comparator module; generates an audible alarm in the gauge itself if a theft condition is determined; and disabling the nuclear gauge if a theft condition is detected; see for example fig. 10, para. [0082]); for a predetermined time period (i.e., In addition, the tracking device may be configured to detect the number of counts associated with the radioactive source in the device (during a non-active measurement or operational period); and compare the detected count to a predetermined value to determine whether the radioactive source is intact in the device; see for example fig. 10, para. [0007]) and under thermal stress (i.e., radiation condition) representative of an accelerated ageing (i.e., wherein the nuclear gauge is a portable nuclear measurement gauge comprising a gamma source and a neutron source; monitoring radiation counts associated with a radioactive source in the nuclear gauge during an operational service life; carrying out a diagnostic interrogation based on local data from the nuclear gauge that is transmitted to the remote location; measuring radioactivity using a count comparator module; generates an audible alarm in the gauge itself if a theft condition is determined; and disabling the nuclear gauge if a theft condition is detected; see for example fig. 10, para. [0082]) equivalent to the predefined service life (i.e., wherein the nuclear gauge is a portable nuclear measurement gauge comprising a gamma source and a neutron source; monitoring radiation counts associated with a radioactive source in the nuclear gauge during an operational service life; carrying out a diagnostic interrogation based on local data from the nuclear gauge that is transmitted to the remote location; measuring radioactivity using a count comparator module; generates an audible alarm in the gauge itself if a theft condition is determined; and disabling the nuclear gauge if a theft condition is detected; see for example fig. 10, para. [0082]) of the electronic spatial system (i.e., see for example fig. 1, para. [0052]) on-board a satellite in Earth orbit (i.e., such as one or more satellites 40; see for example fig. 1, para. [0052]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the satellite device in Kimbrough, as taught by He, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards deploying the radiation protection system into a larger scale application.
Regarding claim 13, Kimbrough in view of Shekhawat and in view of Shi and further in view of He and the teachings of Kimbrough as modified by Shekhawat have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Kimbrough as modified by Shi and the teachings of Kimbrough as modified by He have been discussed above as well.
Kimbrough further discloses the system (i.e., such as circuit 200 for the protection system 160; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+); the method (i.e., such as a method for mitigating the effects of destructive radiation on a micro-electronic circuit, comprising the steps off providing an output voltage on a power bus; detecting a pulse of ionizing radiation; and providing a detection signal indicative of the detection of a pulse of ionizing radiation and providing an ionizing-radiation alarm signal indicative thereof; determining an occurrence of excess current through said power bus and providing an excess-current alarm signal indicative thereof; and opening the power bus and shorting the power bus to a ground potential to quickly remove power from the power bus in response to an ionizing-radiation alarm signal or to an excess-current alarm signal; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+), further comprising the steps (i.e., such as the step of providing an output voltage on a power bus includes providing a DC/DC converter, or power supply, for providing power to the power bus. The method includes the step of providing other output voltages from the output voltage on the power bus. The step of determining an occurrence of excess current through said power bus includes sensing a voltage across a resistor in series with the power bus and comparing the sensing voltage with a reference voltage. The step of opening the power bus and shorting the power bus to a ground potential to quickly remove power from the power bus in response to an ionizing-radiation alarm signal or to an excess-current alarm signal includes activating a series FET and a shunt FET; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) on the ground (i.e., such as GROUND; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) of acquiring the number (i.e., such as acquiring the number of ON/OFF switching operations via block 148; see for example fig. 2, Col. 5 lines 23+) of switching operations (i.e., such as acquiring the number of ON/OFF switching operations via block 148; see for example fig. 2, Col. 5 lines 23+) from the OFF state into the ON state (i.e., such as acquiring the number of ON/OFF switching operations via block 148; see for example fig. 2, Col. 5 lines 23+) of at least one protective switch (i.e., such as MOSFET switches 240 and 242; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) during the sending step (i.e., such as the sending step via block input buffer to be saved and outputted by block 152; see for example fig. 2, Col. 5 lines 2 +); comparing (i.e., such as comparators 230 and 232 compare with their radiation threshold; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) the acquired number (i.e., such as comparators 230 and 232 compare with their radiation threshold; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) of switching operations (i.e., such as comparators 230 and 232 compare with their radiation threshold; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) with a predefined number Np (i.e., such as predefined number of pin inverted NED, each time to be HIGH to bring switches 256 and 250 to the ground; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) of switching operations (i.e., such as ON/OFF switching operations of switches 256 and 250; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) to the electrical ground (i.e., such as the electrical ground; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) representative of an estimated number (i.e., such as estimated number of ON/OFF state is to be set below the radiation threshold; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) of switching operations (i.e., such as ON/OFF switching operations of switches 256 and 250; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) to the electrical ground (i.e., such as electrical ground; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) of the electronic system (i.e., such as circuit 200 for the protection system 160; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) in its spatial environment (i.e., such as spatial environment; for instance, radiation harden elements of a system are for survival in a natural space radiation environments with the additional capability for survival of a prompt radiation pulse associated with a nuclear event; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) if the acquired number (i.e., such as comparators 230 and 232 compare with their radiation threshold; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) of switching operations (i.e., such as ON/OFF switching operations of switches 256 and 250; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) is less than the predefined number Np (i.e., such as predefined number of pin inverted NED, each time to be HIGH to bring switches 256 and 250 to the ground; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) of switching operations (i.e., such as ON/OFF switching operations of switches 256 and 250; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+), switching repeatedly (i.e., such as repeatedly; for instance, FIG. 5 is simplified circuit diagram of an alternative power dump circuit 300 for a power supply 302. A series output switch 304 is opened and a shunt switch 306 is closed by a current sensing circuit which senses excess current through a series sense resister 310. The alternate design is in contrast to the use of the inhibit feature of the DC-to-DC converter which quickly disconnects the output form the power supply upon the comparator amplifier driving the self-test S/T terminal of the converter HIGH; see for example fig. 5, Col. 8 lines 18+) and complementarily (i.e., such as complementarily between switch 304 and 306; for instance, FIG. 5 is simplified circuit diagram of an alternative power dump circuit 300 for a power supply 302. A series output switch 304 is opened and a shunt switch 306 is closed by a current sensing circuit which senses excess current through a series sense resister 310. The alternate design is in contrast to the use of the inhibit feature of the DC-to-DC converter which quickly disconnects the output form the power supply upon the comparator amplifier driving the self-test S/T terminal of the converter HIGH; see for example fig. 5, Col. 8 lines 18+) to the switching operations (i.e., such as ON/OFF switching operations of switches 256 and 250; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) of the at least one protective switch (i.e., such as MOSFET switches 240 and 242; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) during the sending or bombardment step (i.e., such as the step of providing an output voltage on a power bus includes providing a DC/DC converter, or power supply, for providing power to the power bus. The method includes the step of providing other output voltages from the output voltage on the power bus. The step of determining an occurrence of excess current through said power bus includes sensing a voltage across a resistor in series with the power bus and comparing the sensing voltage with a reference voltage. The step of opening the power bus and shorting the power bus to a ground potential to quickly remove power from the power bus in response to an ionizing radiation alarm signal or to an excess-current alarm signal includes activating a series FET and a shunt FET; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+), up to a predefined number (i.e., such as how many times for switches 256 and 250 went to the ground; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) of switching operations (i.e., such as ON/OFF switching operations of switches 256 and 250; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) to the electrical ground (i.e., such as the electrical ground; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) representative of an estimated number (i.e., such as estimated number of ON/OFF state is to be set below the radiation threshold; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) of switching operations (i.e., such as ON/OFF switching operations of switches 256 and 250; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) to the electrical ground (i.e., such as the electrical ground; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) of the electronic system (i.e., such as circuit 200 for the protection system 160; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) in its spatial environment (i.e., such as spatial environment; for instance, the radiation harden elements of a system are for survival in a natural space radiation environments with the additional capability for survival of a prompt radiation pulse associated with a nuclear event. Also, FIG. 6 is a plot of latch up cross section for the TH7990 drive clock sequencer and synchronization controller chip 104 as a function of LET. The onset of latch up occurred at a linear energy transfer (LET) of 14.5 (MeV /mg/cm.sup.2) and the saturated cross section is 1.70.times.10.sup. -3 cm.sup.2. This plot combined with space environment data allows a user to predict the frequency of ion induced latch up in a TH7990 device; see for example fig. 6, Col. 8 lines 27+).
He furthermore discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 1, para. [0052]); over the predefined service life (i.e., wherein the nuclear gauge is a portable nuclear measurement gauge comprising a gamma source and a neutron source; monitoring radiation counts associated with a radioactive source in the nuclear gauge during an operational service life; carrying out a diagnostic interrogation based on local data from the nuclear gauge that is transmitted to the remote location; measuring radioactivity using a count comparator module; generates an audible alarm in the gauge itself if a theft condition is determined; and disabling the nuclear gauge if a theft condition is detected; see for example fig. 10, para. [0082]); during the predefined service life (i.e., wherein the nuclear gauge is a portable nuclear measurement gauge comprising a gamma source and a neutron source; monitoring radiation counts associated with a radioactive source in the nuclear gauge during an operational service life; carrying out a diagnostic interrogation based on local data from the nuclear gauge that is transmitted to the remote location; measuring radioactivity using a count comparator module; generates an audible alarm in the gauge itself if a theft condition is determined; and disabling the nuclear gauge if a theft condition is detected; see for example fig. 10, para. [0082]) (i.e., In addition, the tracking device may be configured to detect the number of counts associated with the radioactive source in the device (during a non-active measurement or operational period); and compare the detected count to a predetermined value to determine whether the radioactive source is intact in the device; see for example fig. 10, para. [0007]).
Regarding claim 14, Kimbrough in view of Shekhawat and in view of Shi and further in view of He and the teachings of Kimbrough as modified by Shekhawat have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Kimbrough as modified by Shi and the teachings of Kimbrough as modified by He have been discussed above as well.
Kimbrough further discloses the system (i.e., such as circuit 200 for the protection system 160; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+); the method (i.e., such as a method for mitigating the effects of destructive radiation on a micro-electronic circuit, comprising the steps off providing an output voltage on a power bus; detecting a pulse of ionizing radiation; and providing a detection signal indicative of the detection of a pulse of ionizing radiation and providing an ionizing-radiation alarm signal indicative thereof; determining an occurrence of excess current through said power bus and providing an excess-current alarm signal indicative thereof; and opening the power bus and shorting the power bus to a ground potential to quickly remove power from the power bus in response to an ionizing-radiation alarm signal or to an excess-current alarm signal; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+); further comprising a step (i.e., such as SETUP FOR FXR DOSE RATE TESTS; for instance, two power dump circuits as shown in FIGS. 4 and 5 with simulated loads for the camera electronics were tested at the Physics International 1150 flash x-ray facility. Both circuits shunted the power supply output voltages to ground and disconnected the simulated camera electronics from the power supply. The circuit of FIG. 5 uses discrete series MOSFETs to disconnect the DC-to-DC converter output voltages from the simulated camera electronics and shunt MOSFETs. The circuit of FIG. 4 is in the star tracker and uses the built-in output disable feature of the DC to- DC converter. This latter circuit has fewer parts and provides EM I/EMC isolation; see for example Col. 6 lines 34+) of determining the state of the structures (i.e., such as determining the state of the structures; for instance, Physics International 1150 facility's 6-inch diameter cathode pulsed 3.8 MeV radiation source gave spatially uniform dose rates up to l.l.times.10.sup.11 rad (Si)/s over the area of the power dump circuit. Radiation diagnostics included an array of LiF TLDs (Thermoluminescent Dosimeters), provided and measured by Physics International, and two PIN diodes. TLD measurements provided the total dose and the PIN diodes the full Width Half Max (FWHM) pulse width of 45 ns. The 0.87 in dose rate equation 1 converts the LiF total dose to rad (Si); see for example Col. 6 lines 34+) of the sensitive electronic circuit (i.e., such as voltage regulator circuit 214; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) by imaging (i.e., such as imaging via the test simulation results; for instance, FIG. 8 shows the fall times of the positive camera bias voltages for the DC-DC converter power dump circuit. All the voltages fall to less than one volt within 2 to 3 microseconds, which is sufficient to preclude latch up induced burnout in integrated circuits; see for example Col. 6 lines 34+) the sensitive electronic circuit (i.e., such as voltage regulator circuit 214; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+) following the sending step (i.e., such as the step of providing an output voltage on a power bus includes providing a DC/DC converter, or power supply, for providing power to the power bus. The method includes the step of providing other output voltages from the output voltage on the power bus. The step of determining an occurrence of excess current through said power bus includes sensing a voltage across a resistor in series with the power bus and comparing the sensing voltage with a reference voltage. The step of opening the power bus and shorting the power bus to a ground potential to quickly remove power from the power bus in response to an ionizing-radiation alarm signal or to an excess-current alarm signal includes activating a series FET and a shunt FET; see for example fig. 4, Col. 6 lines 34+).
He furthermore discloses (i.e., see for example fig. 1, para. [0052]); further comprising a step of: determining the state of the structures (i.e., such as in a celestial communication system, a satellite 342 may be employed to perform similar functions to those performed by a conventional terrestrial base station, for example, to serve areas in which population is sparsely distributed or which have rugged topography that tends to make conventional landline telephone or terrestrial cellular telephone infrastructure technically or economically impractical. A satellite radiotelephone system 340 typically includes one or more satellites 342 that serve as relays or transponders between one or more earth stations 344 and terminals 323; see for example fig. 3B, para. [0066]) of the sensitive electronic circuit (i.e., such as nuclear gauge 10; see for example fig. 1, para. [0052]) by imaging (i.e., such as the image acquisition system 420, the 1/0 device drivers 458 typically include software routines accessed through the operating system 452 by the application programs 454 to communicate with devices such as 1/0 data port(s), data storage 456 and certain memory 414 components and/or the image acquisition system 420; see for example fig. 11A, para. [0102]) the sensitive electronic circuit (i.e., such as nuclear gauge 10; see for example fig. 1, para. [0052]) following the sending step (i.e., such as for satellite-based tracking devices, the "on-board" tracking device 14 can be configured to operate with an up-link frequency between about 148.000-150.050 MHz and a down link frequency of between about 137.000-138.000 MHz. The transmit current can be on the order of about 2.5 A and the receive current at about 90 mA; see for example fig. 10, para. [0090]).
Claims 4 and 11 are cancelled.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838