DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 and 13 are subject to examination and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karjalainen (US PGPub 2020/0336194) in view of Zhou (US PGPub 2021/0028843).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 13, Karjalainen teaches a method for transmitting channel state information (CSI) by a UE in a wireless communication system (Karjalainen, see paragraph 0075, shows an example of a joint quasi-colocated (QCL) SSB-CSI-RS beam report pair in spatial beam domain in spatial beam domain), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, first configuration information related to CSI reporting and second configuration information related to a CSI resource (Karjalainen, see paragraph 0075, network has configured CSI-RS and SSB to be jointly to be reported and the number of SSB resources (1) and the number of CSI-RS resources (4) to be reported as part of a resource pair), wherein the second configuration information includes information on one or more CSI resource sets associated with the first configuration information (Karjalainen, see paragraph 0050, for each resource pair, a resource indicator (e.g., resource index) is provided to identify the resource, followed in parentheses by a L1-RSRP measured for the indicated resource, for all the resources of the resource pair. The resource index identifies the time-frequency resources for the resource. As noted, there is abeam associated with (e.g., used to transmit a signal for) each SSB or CSI-RS resource);
receiving, from the base station, a CSI-reference signal (CSI-RS) on a plurality of CSI resources of the one or more CSI resource sets based on the second configuration information (Karjalainen, see paragraph 0075, network has configured CSI-RS and SSB to be jointly to be reported and the number of SSB resources (1) and the number of CSI-RS resources (4) to be reported as part of a resource pair); and
transmitting the CSI to the base station based on the CSI-RS and the first configuration information (Karjalainen, see paragraph 0076, At 222, based on these values, the differential joint SSB-CSI-RS part beam report can be created or computed having two elements: element 1 (RSRP values): −54 dBm (reference power value/maximum power value), 3, 0, 1, 2, 3 (power offsets for the SSB resource and four CSI-RS resources, using the 2-bit power offset); and element 2 (resource indicators): 20 (SSBRI), 7,9,5,2 (resource indicators for the four CRIs)),
wherein all or part of the plurality of CSI-RS resources are configured as a resource pair for channel measurement (Karjalainen, see paragraph 0076, the UE may perform differential RSRP computation (based on measured RSRP values for each resource) for joint quasi-colocated (QCL) SSB-CSI-RS report pair (or beam report), e.g., in which a 2-bit power offset value (e.g., 0, 1, 2, 3) is assigned to each of the RSRP values of the SSB and CSI-RS resources for resource pair 1, to indicate the measured power/RSRP of each resource with respect to a reference RSRP, for example).
Karjalainen teaches the above yet fails to teach wherein, based on a configuration related to a report type of layer indication information, the CSI includes at least one of layer indication information for the resource pair or layer indication information for each of one or more CSI-RS resources configured as the resource pair.
Then Zhou teaches wherein, based on a configuration related to a report type of layer indication information, the CSI includes at least one of layer indication information for the resource pair or layer indication information for each of one or more CSI-RS resources configured as the resource pair (Zhou, see paragraph 0381, The time and frequency resources that can be used by a wireless device to report channel state information (CSI) may be controlled by a base station. CSI may consist of Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), preceding matrix indicator (PMI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH Block Resource indicator (SSBRI), layer indicator (LI), rank indicator (RI) and/or L1-RSRP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Karjalainen with Channel State Information Reporting for Non-Coherent Joint Transmission of Zhou, because doing so would make Karjalainen more efficient in improving latency of data transmission between a gNB and a wireless device and improving network coverage and transmission efficiency of a wireless network (Zhou, see paragraph 0336).
Regarding claim 2, Karjalainen teaches wherein the configuration related to the report type of the layer indication information is based on information indicating a report type for at least one of a concatenated channel for the resource pair or a channel for each of one or more CSI-RS resources configured as the resource pair (Karjalainen, see paragraph 0075, network has configured CSI-RS and SSB to be jointly to be reported and the number of SSB resources (1) and the number of CSI-RS resources (4) to be reported as part of a resource pair).
Regarding claim 3, Karjalainen teaches wherein, based on being configured to report a concatenated channel for the resource pair, the CSI includes layer indication information according to the concatenated channel (Zhou, see paragraph 0381, The time and frequency resources that can be used by a wireless device to report channel state information (CSI) may be controlled by a base station. CSI may consist of Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), preceding matrix indicator (PMI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH Block Resource indicator (SSBRI), layer indicator (LI), rank indicator (RI) and/or L1-RSRP).
Regarding claim 4, Karjalainen teaches wherein the concatenated channel is based on a sum of channels to which a precoding matrix estimated from different CSI-RS resources in the resource pair is applied (Zhou, see paragraph 0284, In one or more beam management reports, a wireless device 110 may indicate some beam pair quality parameters, comprising at least, one or more beam identifications; RSRP; Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI)/Channel Quality Indicator (CQI)/Rank Indicator (RI) of a subset of configured beams).
Regarding claim 5, Karjalainen teaches wherein the CSI further includes identification information indicating a specific CSI-RS resource among one or more CSI-RS resources configured as the resource pair (Karjalainen, see paragraph 0075, network has configured CSI-RS and SSB to be jointly to be reported and the number of SSB resources (1) and the number of CSI-RS resources (4) to be reported as part of a resource pair).
Regarding claim 6, Karjalainen teaches wherein, based on the configuration to report a concatenated channel for the resource pair and a channel for each of one or more CSI-RS resources configured as the resource pair, the CSI includes layer indication information based on the concatenated channel and layer indication information based on the channel for each of one or more CSI-RS resources configured as the resource pair (Zhou, see paragraph 0381, The time and frequency resources that can be used by a wireless device to report channel state information (CSI) may be controlled by a base station. CSI may consist of Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), preceding matrix indicator (PMI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH Block Resource indicator (SSBRI), layer indicator (LI), rank indicator (RI) and/or L1-RSRP).
Regarding claim 7, Karjalainen teaches wherein the concatenated channel is based on a sum of channels to which a part of a precoding matrix estimated from different CSI-RS resources in the resource pair is applied (Zhou, see paragraph 0284, In one or more beam management reports, a wireless device 110 may indicate some beam pair quality parameters, comprising at least, one or more beam identifications; RSRP; Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI)/Channel Quality Indicator (CQI)/Rank Indicator (RI) of a subset of configured beams), and
wherein the channel for each of one or more CSI-RS resources configured as the resource pair is based on a channel to which the remaining part of the precoding matrix estimated from the different CSI-RS resources in the resource pair is applied (Zhou, see paragraph 0469, One of the plurality of CSI resource configurations may be selected for channel measurement when the second field indicates the CSI report configuration comprises one rank indicator, one precoding matrix indicator and one channel quality indicator. Multiple of the plurality of CSI resource configurations may be selected for channel measurement when the second field indicates the CSI report configuration comprises multiple rank indicator, multiple precoding matrix indicator and multiple channel quality indicator. The presence of the second field may be higher layer configured).
Regarding claim 8, Karjalainen teaches wherein, based on a maximum number of ports for a phase tracking (PT)-RS being configured, whether to report layer indication information based on the concatenated channel is determined according to the maximum number of ports (Zhou, see paragraph 0257, a UE may transmit one or more Reference Signals (RSs) to a base station. For example, the one or more RSs may be at least one of Demodulation-RS (DM-RS) 506, Phase Tracking-RS (PT-RS) 507, and/or Sounding RS (SRS) 508).
Regarding claim 9, Karjalainen teaches wherein the first configuration information includes a configuration related to a report type of the layer indication information (Zhou, see paragraph 0381, The time and frequency resources that can be used by a wireless device to report channel state information (CSI) may be controlled by a base station. CSI may consist of Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), preceding matrix indicator (PMI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH Block Resource indicator (SSBRI), layer indicator (LI), rank indicator (RI) and/or L1-RSRP).
Regarding claim 10, Karjalainen teaches wherein the configuration related to the report type of the layer indication information is based on whether co-phase information is included in a report quantity configuration included in the first configuration information (Zhou, see paragraph 0381, The time and frequency resources that can be used by a wireless device to report channel state information (CSI) may be controlled by a base station. CSI may consist of Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), preceding matrix indicator (PMI), CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH Block Resource indicator (SSBRI), layer indicator (LI), rank indicator (RI) and/or L1-RSRP).
Conclusion
/CHONG G KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443