DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4 and 9-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/5/2026. The restriction drawn to the method claims is proper since the inventions lack a special technical feature as illustrated by the prior art rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frayne (20200360869).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 5, Frayne discloses graphene oxide with an epoxy molecule including diepoxyoctane (0161). The source of diepoxyocatane is a process limitation. Since Frayne discloses the same claimed compound, the claim is not limited by the acquisition process of the chemical. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Frayne also discloses using amino functional groups on the graphene oxide (0069) as well as the use of functionalized graphene sheets (0161).
Claims 1-3, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Myrick (20140227548).
Regarding claims 1-3, 7, and 8, Myrick discloses modifying the surface of graphene oxide to change the epoxy functional groups (meets molecule with epoxy group) and also discloses nitration of graphene oxide at the carbon atoms or the epoxy group (0291). Myrick discloses nitrogen functional groups on a graphene sheet with epoxy groups (0008 and 0290). The functionalized graphene oxide is used in combination with a fuel, explosive, or oxidizer (abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myrick as applied above and further in view of CN110845285.
The Chinese patent discloses the use graphene oxide to coat ammonium perchlorate to improve hygroscopicity (0006).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made and/or filed to use the graphene oxide as taught by Myrick as a coating on ammonium perchlorate since Myrick discloses that the modified graphene oxide can be used with oxidizers and since the Chinese patent teaches that the properties of ammonium perchlorate are improved with such a coating.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 5 recites the limitation "epoxide”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Conclusion
/AILEEN B FELTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734