DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment to the claims and specification dated 1/30/2024 is acknowledged. Claims 1-15 were canceled and new claims 16-35 were added.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
f as seen in FIG. 3.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0068] the phrase “rotation shaft 100” should instead be “rotation shaft 110.”
In paragraph [0082] the phrase “magnetic bearing assembly 110” should instead be “magnetic bearing assembly 100.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 20, 29, and 32 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 20 the phrase “first one of the N first sensor” should instead be “first one of the N first sensors.”
In claim 29 the phrase “configured execute” should instead be “configured to execute.”
In claim 32 the phrase “configured execute” should instead be “configured to execute.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-17, 19-20, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0328455 to Wu (cited by Applicant on 1/30/2024).
Regarding claim 16, Wu teaches a magnetic bearing assembly (Paragraph [0002]) comprising:
a rotation shaft (FIG. 1A, 1), a peripheral surface of the rotation shaft being provided with a groove (FIG. 2A, 8); and
a plurality of distance sensors (FIG. 1A, 5) arranged at a periphery of the rotation shaft and arranged opposite to an annular surface of the rotation shaft where the groove is arranged, the plurality of distance sensors being disposed on a circle, and the plurality of distance sensors including N first sensors (FIG. 1B; z1, z3) and N second sensors (FIG. 1B; z2, z4), N being an integer greater than 1 (FIG. 1B: N=2);
wherein:
the first sensors and the second sensors are arranged alternately on the circle (FIG. 1B; z1, z2, z3, z4); and
a center of the circle is disposed on an axis of the rotation shaft, and a plane where the circle is disposed is perpendicular to the axis of the rotation shaft.
Regarding claim 17, Wu teaches the magnetic bearing assembly according to claim 16, wherein the distance sensors are uniformly distributed on the circle (FIG. 1B, 5).
Regarding claim 19, Wu teaches the magnetic bearing assembly according to claim 16, wherein, on the circle, a central angle between a first one of the N first sensors and a second one of the N first sensors is 180° (FIG. 1B; z1, z3).
Regarding claim 20, Wu teaches the magnetic bearing assembly according to claim 19, wherein, on the circle: a central angle between the first one of the N first sensors and a first one of the N second sensors is 90° (FIG. 1B; z1, z2), and
a central angle between the first one of the N second sensors and a second one of the N second sensors is greater than or equal to 135° and less than or equal to 225° (FIG. 1B; z2, z4).
Regarding claim 27, Wu teaches a method for controlling the magnetic bearing assembly according to claim 16, comprising:
obtaining first distance information between the first sensors and the rotation shaft and second distance information between the second sensors and the rotation shaft (Paragraph [0014]);
determining position information of the groove according to the first distance information and the second distance information (Paragraph [0014]); and
determining a rotation speed of the rotation shaft according to the position information (Paragraph [0017]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Chinese Patent No. 111102913 to Liu.
Regarding claim 18, Wu teaches the magnetic bearing assembly according to claim 17, further comprising: a locating member (FIG. 1B, inner surface of 3), arranged at the periphery of the rotation shaft.
Wu does not teach a plurality of first locating holes arranged on the locating member, the first sensors being embedded in the first locating holes, respectively; and
a plurality of second locating holes arranged on the locating member, the second sensors being embedded in the second locating holes, respectively.
However, Liu teaches a rotation shaft detection system with a locating member (FIG. 2a, inner surface of 30) having first and second locating holes arranged on the locating member (FIG. 2a, indentations of 1-8), the first and second sensors being embedded in the first and second locating holes, respectively (FIG. 2a; 1-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnetic bearing assembly of Wu with the locating holes of Liu to further secure the positioning of the sensors on the locating member.
Regarding claim 21, Wu teaches the magnetic bearing assembly according to claim 20, further comprising: a locating member (FIG. 1B, inner surface of 3), arranged at the periphery of the rotation shaft.
Wu does not teach a plurality of first locating holes arranged on the locating member, the first sensors being embedded in the first locating holes, respectively; and
a plurality of second locating holes arranged on the locating member, the second sensors being embedded in the second locating holes, respectively.
However, Liu teaches a rotation shaft detection system with a locating member (FIG. 2a, inner surface of 30) having first and second locating holes arranged on the locating member (FIG. 2a, indentations of 1-8), the first and second sensors being embedded in the first and second locating holes, respectively (FIG. 2a; 1-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnetic bearing assembly of Wu with the locating holes of Liu to further secure the positioning of the sensors on the locating member.
Regarding claim 22, Wu teaches the magnetic bearing assembly according to claim 19, further comprising: a locating member (FIG. 1B, inner surface of 3), arranged at the periphery of the rotation shaft.
Wu does not teach a plurality of first locating holes arranged on the locating member, the first sensors being embedded in the first locating holes, respectively; and
a plurality of second locating holes arranged on the locating member, the second sensors being embedded in the second locating holes, respectively.
However, Liu teaches a rotation shaft detection system with a locating member (FIG. 2a, inner surface of 30) having first and second locating holes arranged on the locating member (FIG. 2a, indentations of 1-8), the first and second sensors being embedded in the first and second locating holes, respectively (FIG. 2a; 1-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnetic bearing assembly of Wu with the locating holes of Liu to further secure the positioning of the sensors on the locating member.
Regarding claim 23, Wu teaches the magnetic bearing assembly according to claim 16, further comprising: a locating member (FIG. 1B, inner surface of 3), arranged at the periphery of the rotation shaft.
Wu does not teach a plurality of first locating holes arranged on the locating member, the first sensors being embedded in the first locating holes, respectively; and
a plurality of second locating holes arranged on the locating member, the second sensors being embedded in the second locating holes, respectively.
However, Liu teaches a rotation shaft detection system with a locating member (FIG. 2a, inner surface of 30) having first and second locating holes arranged on the locating member (FIG. 2a, indentations of 1-8), the first and second sensors being embedded in the first and second locating holes, respectively (FIG. 2a; 1-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnetic bearing assembly of Wu with the locating holes of Liu to further secure the positioning of the sensors on the locating member.
Regarding claim 24, Wu in view of Liu teaches the magnetic bearing assembly according to claim 23, wherein Liu further teaches the locating member being annular (FIG. 2a, 30), and the locating member being coaxial with the rotation shaft (FIG. 2a; 30, 40).
Regarding claim 25, Wu in view of Liu teaches the magnetic bearing assembly according to claim 24, wherein Liu further teaches the first locating holes and the second locating holes extending in a radial direction of the locating member (FIG. 2a, indentations of 1-8).
Regarding claim 26, Wu in view of Liu teaches the magnetic bearing assembly according to claim 23, wherein Wu further teaches an electric control member (FIG. 1A, 7) arranged on the locating member and connected with the first sensors and the second sensors (Paragraph [0017]).
Claims 28-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0254626 to Jang et al. (hereinafter Jang).
Regarding claim 28, Wu teaches the method according to claim 27.
Wu does not teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs or instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform the method.
However, Jang teaches a magnetic bearing assembly controlled (Paragraph [0139]) by a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (FIG. 11, 720) storing one or more programs or instructions (Paragraph [0135]) that, when executed by at least one processor (FIG. 11, 170), cause the at least one processor to perform the method.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wu with the program and processor of Jang to more efficiently control the operation of the magnetic bearing assembly due to its ease of use and accessibility to changing its instructions.
Regarding claim 29, Wu teaches a device (FIG. 1A, 7) for controlling the magnetic bearing assembly according to claim 16, comprising
obtaining first distance information between the first sensors and the rotation shaft and second distance information between the second sensors and the rotation shaft (Paragraph [0014]);
determining position information of the groove according to the first distance information and the second distance information (Paragraph [0014]); and
determining a rotation speed of the rotation shaft according to the position information (Paragraph [0017]).
Wu does not teach at least one memory storing one or more programs or instructions, and at least one processor configured to execute the one or more programs or instructions.
However, Jang teaches a magnetic bearing assembly controlled (Paragraph [0139]) by a memory (FIG. 11, 720) storing one or more programs or instructions (Paragraph [0135]) and at least one processor (FIG. 11, 170) configured to execute the one or more programs or instructions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wu with the program and processor of Jang to more efficiently control the operation of the magnetic bearing assembly due to its ease of use and accessibility to changing its instructions.
Regarding claim 30, Wu teaches the magnetic bearing assembly according to claim 16.
Wu does not teach a compressor comprising the magnetic bearing assembly.
However, Jang teaches a compressor (FIG. 3, 100) comprising a magnetic bearing assembly (FIG. 3; 151, 152).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnetic bearing assembly of Wu by incorporating it into the compressor of Jang for the compressor of Jang to benefit from the features of the magnetic bearing assembly of Wu.
Regarding claim 31, Wu in view of Jang teaches an air conditioner (Jang FIG. 2, 2) comprising: the compressor according to claim 30.
Regarding claim 32, Wu teaches a magnetic bearing assembly (Paragraph [0002]) comprising:
a rotation shaft (FIG. 1A, 1), a peripheral surface of the rotation shaft being provided with a groove (FIG. 2A, 8); and
a plurality of distance sensors (FIG. 1A, 5) arranged at a periphery of the rotation shaft and arranged opposite to an annular surface of the rotation shaft where the groove is arranged, the plurality of distance sensors being disposed on a circle, and the plurality of distance sensors including N first sensors (FIG. 1B; z1, z3) and N second sensors (FIG. 1B; z2, z4), N being an integer greater than 1 (FIG. 1B: N=2), wherein:
the first sensors and the second sensors are arranged alternately on the circle (FIG. 1B; z1, z2, z3, z4); and
a center of the circle is disposed on an axis of the rotation shaft, and a plane where the circle is disposed is perpendicular to the axis of the rotation shaft; and a control device (FIG. 1A, 7) that performs:
obtaining first distance information between the first sensors and the rotation shaft and second distance information between the second sensors and the rotation shaft (Paragraph [0014]);
determining position information of the groove according to the first distance information and the second distance information (Paragraph [0014]); and
determining a rotation speed of the rotation shaft according to the position information (Paragraph [0017]).
Wu does not teach at least one memory storing one or more programs or instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the one or more programs or instructions.
However, Jang teaches a magnetic bearing assembly controlled (Paragraph [0139]) by a memory (FIG. 11, 720) storing one or more programs or instructions (Paragraph [0135]) and at least one processor (FIG. 11, 170) configured to execute the one or more programs or instructions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnetic bearing assembly of Wu with the program and processor of Jang to more efficiently control the operation of the magnetic bearing assembly due to its ease of use and accessibility to changing its instructions.
Regarding claim 33, Wu in view of Jang teaches a compressor (Jang FIG. 3, 100) comprising: the magnetic bearing assembly according to claim 32.
Regarding claim 34, Wu in view of Jang teaches an air conditioner (Jang FIG. 2, 2) comprising: the compressor according to claim 33.
Regarding claim 35, Wu teaches a magnetic bearing assembly (Paragraph [0002]) comprising:
a rotation shaft (FIG. 1A, 1), a peripheral surface of the rotation shaft being provided with a groove (FIG. 2A, 8); and
a plurality of distance sensors (FIG. 1A, 5) arranged at a periphery of the rotation shaft and arranged opposite to an annular surface of the rotation shaft where the groove is arranged, the plurality of distance sensors being disposed on a circle, and the plurality of distance sensors including N first sensors (FIG. 1B; z1, z3) and N second sensors (FIG. 1B; z2, z4), N being an integer greater than 1 (FIG. 1B: N=2), wherein:
the first sensors and the second sensors are arranged alternately on the circle (FIG. 1B; z1, z2, z3, z4); and
a center of the circle is disposed on an axis of the rotation shaft, and a plane where the circle is disposed is perpendicular to the axis of the rotation shaft; and a control device (FIG. 1A, 7) that performs:
obtaining first distance information between the first sensors and the rotation shaft and second distance information between the second sensors and the rotation shaft (Paragraph [0014]);
determining position information of the groove according to the first distance information and the second distance information (Paragraph [0014]); and
determining a rotation speed of the rotation shaft according to the position information (Paragraph [0017]).
Wu does not teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs or instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform the method.
However, Jang teaches a magnetic bearing assembly controlled (Paragraph [0139]) by a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (FIG. 11, 720) storing one or more programs or instructions (Paragraph [0135]) that, when executed by at least one processor (FIG. 11, 170), cause the at least one processor to perform the method.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wu with the program and processor of Jang to more efficiently control the operation of the magnetic bearing assembly due to its ease of use and accessibility to changing its instructions.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834