DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on April 27, 2026. Claims 1-6, 8, 10-12, 16-21, 23, 25-27 are still pending in the present application. This action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The argument features Aboul-Magd does not teach or suggest that the sensing transmissions from the sensing responders may occur at different frequencies.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s statement and asserts that the claims are written broadly. Using the broadest reasonable interpretation, Aboul-Magd discloses that the sensing transmissions from the sensing responders [“…sensing responders 106 (e.g. sensing responder 112 and sensing responder 114) may send to the sensing initiator 102, at the same time 238, sensing feedback 252 and 254…” (par. 62, lines 2-5)] may occur at different frequencies [“…sensing may be done at low frequency bands…and high frequency millimeter-Wave (mm-Wave) bands…in which Wi-Fi devices operate.” (par. 87, lines 5-8)].
In view of the above, the rejection using Aboul-Magd is maintained as repeated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 16-21, 23, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aboul-Magd et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2022/0304051) in view of Da Silva et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2021/0288779).
Consider claim 1; Aboul-Magd discloses a method for Wi-Fi sensing carried out by a sensing initiator including a transmitting antenna, a receiving antenna, and at least one processor configured to execute instructions, the method comprising:
generating (par. 59, lines 1-3, 8-10; par. 61, lines 1-4), by the at least one processor (par. 118, lines 10-12), a compound sensing trigger message (par. 59, lines 1-3, 8-10; par. 61, lines 1-4);
transmitting (par. 61, lines 1-4), by the transmitting antenna [e.g. transceiver (par. 118, lines 10-12)], the compound sensing trigger message (par. 61, lines 1-4);
receiving (par. 99, lines 1-6), via the receiving antenna [e.g. transceiver (par. 118, lines 10-12)], in a first frequency channel [“…sensing may be done at low frequency bands…and high frequency millimeter-Wave (mm-Wave) bands…in which Wi-Fi devices operate. Sensing in higher frequencies may provide better sensing accuracy due to increased channel width.” (par. 87, lines 5-10)], a first sensing response transmitted by a first sensing
receiving (par. 99, lines 1-6), via the receiving antenna [e.g. transceiver (par. 118, lines 10-12)], in a second frequency channel [“…sensing may be done at low frequency bands…and high frequency millimeter-Wave (mm-Wave) bands…in which Wi-Fi devices operate. Sensing in higher frequencies may provide better sensing accuracy due to increased channel width.” (par. 87, lines 5-10)] and simultaneous with the first sensing response [“…sensing responders 106 (e.g. sensing responder 112 and sensing responder 114) may send to the sensing initiator 102, at the same time 938, sensing feedback 952 and 954…” (par. 99, lines 2-5)], a second sensing response transmitted by a second sensing
receiving (par. 99, lines 1-6), via the receiving antenna [e.g. transceiver (par. 118, lines 10-12)], in the first frequency channel [“…sensing may be done at low frequency bands…and high frequency millimeter-Wave (mm-Wave) bands…in which Wi-Fi devices operate. Sensing in higher frequencies may provide better sensing accuracy due to increased channel width.” (par. 87, lines 5-10)], a first sensing response null data PPDU (NDP) transmitted by the first sensing responder [“…sensing responders 106 (e.g. sensing responder 112 and sensing responder 114) may send to the sensing initiator 102, at the same time 938, sensing feedback 952 and 954 may be NDP-like frames…” (par. 99, lines 2-6)];
receiving (par. 99, lines 1-6), via the receiving antenna [e.g. transceiver (par. 118, lines 10-12)], in the second frequency channel [“…sensing may be done at low frequency bands…and high frequency millimeter-Wave (mm-Wave) bands…in which Wi-Fi devices operate. Sensing in higher frequencies may provide better sensing accuracy due to increased channel width.” (par. 87, lines 5-10)] and simultaneous with the first sensing response NDP [“…sensing responders 106 (e.g. sensing responder 112 and sensing responder 114) may send to the sensing initiator 102, at the same time 938, sensing feedback 952 and 954 may be NDP-like frames…” (par. 99, lines 2-6)], a second sensing response NDP transmitted by the second sensing responder [“…sensing responders 106 (e.g. sensing responder 112 and sensing responder 114) may send to the sensing initiator 102, at the same time 938, sensing feedback 952 and 954 may be NDP-like frames…” (par. 99, lines 2-6)]; and
generating [“Upon receiving the sensing frames 952 and 954, the sensing initiator 102 may extract the changes in CSI…” (par. 101, lines 4-5) “The CSI training sequence, as may be appreciated by a person skilled in the art, may be designed to measure the channel characteristics between a transmitter and a receiver.” (par. 43, lines 3-6) “…multiple sensing frames…may be needed to perform the requirement measurements…” (par. 77, lines 1-4)], by the at least one processor (par. 118, lines 10-12), a first sensing measurement [“Upon receiving the sensing frames 952 and 954, the sensing initiator 102 may extract the changes in CSI…” (par. 101, lines 4-5) “The CSI training sequence, as may be appreciated by a person skilled in the art, may be designed to measure the channel characteristics between a transmitter and a receiver.” (par. 43, lines 3-6) “…multiple sensing frames…may be needed to perform the requirement measurements…” (par. 77, lines 1-4)] on the first sensing response NDP [“…sensing responders 106 (e.g. sensing responder 112 and sensing responder 114) may send to the sensing initiator 102, at the same time 938, sensing feedback 952 and 954 may be NDP-like frames…” (par. 99, lines 2-6)] and a second sensing measurement on the second sensing response NDP [“…sensing responders 106 (e.g. sensing responder 112 and sensing responder 114) may send to the sensing initiator 102, at the same time 938, sensing feedback 952 and 954 may be NDP-like frames…” (par. 99, lines 2-6)];
wherein the first frequency channel and the second channel frequency channel [“…sensing may be done at low frequency bands…and high frequency millimeter-Wave (mm-Wave) bands…in which Wi-Fi devices operate. Sensing in higher frequencies may provide better sensing accuracy due to increased channel width.” (par. 87, lines 5-10)] represent different resource unit (RU) allocations [“…the RU or the spatial resource assignments may be indicated in the SFR TF 250 for the simultaneous transmission of sensing feedback.” (par. 62, lines 7-9)].
Aboul-Magd discloses the claimed invention except: receiving a sensing response announcement transmitted by a sensing
In an analogous art Da Silva discloses receiving (par. 54, lines 1-8) a sensing response announcement transmitted by a sensing
It is an object of Aboul-Magd’s invention to provide a procedure and frame structure for Wi-Fi sensing. It is an object of Da Silva’s invention to provide wireless local area network sensing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Aboul-Magd by including a response announcement, as taught by Da Silva, for the purpose of effectively providing services in a telecommunication network.
Consider claim 2, as applied in claim 1; Da Silva discloses the compound sensing trigger message includes an indication for two or more sensing responders that a response may include two transmissions, the two transmissions including either the first sensing response announcement and the first sensing response NDP or the second sensing response announcement and the second sensing response NDP (par. 54, lines 1-8).
Consider claim 3, as applied in claim 1; Aboul-Magd discloses the compound sensing trigger message includes a requested transmission configuration (par. 61, lines 1-4).
Consider claim 4, as applied in claim 3; Aboul-Magd discloses the compound sensing trigger message includes an indication for one or more sensing transmitters responders that a response may include two transmissions if the requested transmission configuration is incompatible with accurate demodulation of data in a sensing transmission [e.g. it is not incompatible (par. 60, lines 1-3; par. 63, lines 2-9)].
Consider claim 5, as applied in claim 3; Da Silva discloses receiving [‘…AP 102 may facilitate receiver diversity for Wi-Fi sensing with one or more user devices 120. For example, the AP 102 and the one or more user devices 120 may exchange packets 140 (e.g. Sensing NDP requests and responses, NDP announcements, NDPS, other frames… which may include a negotiation between the AP 102 and the one or more user devices 120 and/or may include channel measurement frames, and/or channel measurement reports used to perform Wi-Fi sensing.” (par. 54, lines 1-11)], via the receiving antenna and from a second sensing responder [‘…AP 102 may facilitate receiver diversity for Wi-Fi sensing with one or more user devices 120. For example, the AP 102 and the one or more user devices 120 may exchange packets 140 (e.g. Sensing NDP requests and responses, NDP announcements, NDPS, other frames… which may include a negotiation between the AP 102 and the one or more user devices 120 and/or may include channel measurement frames, and/or channel measurement reports used to perform Wi-Fi sensing.” (par. 54, lines 1-11)], a sensing response message having a delivered transmission configuration corresponding to the requested transmission configuration [‘…AP 102 may facilitate receiver diversity for Wi-Fi sensing with one or more user devices 120. For example, the AP 102 and the one or more user devices 120 may exchange packets 140 (e.g. Sensing NDP requests and responses, NDP announcements, NDPS, other frames… which may include a negotiation between the AP 102 and the one or more user devices 120 and/or may include channel measurement frames, and/or channel measurement reports used to perform Wi-Fi sensing.” (par. 54, lines 1-11)], wherein the sensing response message comprising comprises at least one data packet [‘…AP 102 may facilitate receiver diversity for Wi-Fi sensing with one or more user devices 120. For example, the AP 102 and the one or more user devices 120 may exchange packets 140 (e.g. Sensing NDP requests and responses, NDP announcements, NDPS, other frames… which may include a negotiation between the AP 102 and the one or more user devices 120 and/or may include channel measurement frames, and/or channel measurement reports used to perform Wi-Fi sensing.” (par. 54, lines 1-11)].
Consider claim 6, as applied in claim 1; Aboul-Magd discloses receiving the first sensing response NDP approximately one short interframe space (SIFS) after receiving the first sensing response announcement and receiving the second sensing response NDP approximately one SIFS after receiving the second sensing response announcement [“…a station that receives a sensing NDP request transmits either multiple NDPs consecutively with short intervals between them…or multiple consecutive transmissions of an NDP announcement followed by an NDP…In both cases, the interval between the packets is SIFS.” (par. 65, lines 11-16)].
Consider claim 8, as applied in claim 1; Da Silva discloses receiving a first sensing transmission that contains the first sensing response announcement and at least one data packet [“…a station that receives a sensing NDP request transmits either multiple NDPs consecutively with short intervals between them…or multiple consecutive transmissions of an NDP announcement followed by an NDP...” (par. 65, lines 11-15)].
Consider claim 10, as applied in claim 3; Aboul-Magd discloses processing the first sensing response announcement to determine an expected delivered transmission configuration of the first sensing response NDP (par. 99, lines 1-8; par. 101, lines 4-8) corresponding to the requested transmission configuration (par. 61, lines 1-4).
Consider claim 16; Aboul-Magd discloses a system for Wi-Fi sensing, the system comprising:
a sensing receiver initiator including a transmitting antenna, a receiving antenna, and at least one processor (par. 118, lines 10-12) configured to execute instructions for:
generating (par. 59, lines 1-3, 8-10; par. 61, lines 1-4), by the at least one processor (par. 118, lines 10-12), a compound sensing trigger message (par. 59, lines 1-3, 8-10; par. 61, lines 1-4);
transmitting (par. 61, lines 1-4), by the transmitting antenna [e.g. transceiver (par. 118, lines 10-12)], the compound sensing trigger message (par. 61, lines 1-4);
receiving (par. 99, lines 1-6), via the receiving antenna [e.g. transceiver (par. 118, lines 10-12)], in a first frequency channel [“…sensing may be done at low frequency bands…and high frequency millimeter-Wave (mm-Wave) bands…in which Wi-Fi devices operate. Sensing in higher frequencies may provide better sensing accuracy due to increased channel width.” (par. 87, lines 5-10)], a first sensing response transmitted by a first sensing
receiving (par. 99, lines 1-6), via the receiving antenna [e.g. transceiver (par. 118, lines 10-12)], in a second frequency channel [“…sensing may be done at low frequency bands…and high frequency millimeter-Wave (mm-Wave) bands…in which Wi-Fi devices operate. Sensing in higher frequencies may provide better sensing accuracy due to increased channel width.” (par. 87, lines 5-10)] and simultaneous with the first sensing response [“…sensing responders 106 (e.g. sensing responder 112 and sensing responder 114) may send to the sensing initiator 102, at the same time 938, sensing feedback 952 and 954…” (par. 99, lines 2-5)], a second sensing response transmitted by a second sensing
receiving (par. 99, lines 1-6), via the receiving antenna [e.g. transceiver (par. 118, lines 10-12)], in the first frequency channel [“…sensing may be done at low frequency bands…and high frequency millimeter-Wave (mm-Wave) bands…in which Wi-Fi devices operate. Sensing in higher frequencies may provide better sensing accuracy due to increased channel width.” (par. 87, lines 5-10)], a first sensing response null data PPDU (NDP) transmitted by the first sensing responder [“…sensing responders 106 (e.g. sensing responder 112 and sensing responder 114) may send to the sensing initiator 102, at the same time 938, sensing feedback 952 and 954 may be NDP-like frames…” (par. 99, lines 2-6)];
receiving (par. 99, lines 1-6), via the receiving antenna [e.g. transceiver (par. 118, lines 10-12)], in the second frequency channel [“…sensing may be done at low frequency bands…and high frequency millimeter-Wave (mm-Wave) bands…in which Wi-Fi devices operate. Sensing in higher frequencies may provide better sensing accuracy due to increased channel width.” (par. 87, lines 5-10)] and simultaneous with the first sensing response NDP [“…sensing responders 106 (e.g. sensing responder 112 and sensing responder 114) may send to the sensing initiator 102, at the same time 938, sensing feedback 952 and 954 may be NDP-like frames…” (par. 99, lines 2-6)], a second sensing response NDP transmitted by the second sensing responder [“…sensing responders 106 (e.g. sensing responder 112 and sensing responder 114) may send to the sensing initiator 102, at the same time 938, sensing feedback 952 and 954 may be NDP-like frames…” (par. 99, lines 2-6)]; and
generating [“Upon receiving the sensing frames 952 and 954, the sensing initiator 102 may extract the changes in CSI…” (par. 101, lines 4-5) “The CSI training sequence, as may be appreciated by a person skilled in the art, may be designed to measure the channel characteristics between a transmitter and a receiver.” (par. 43, lines 3-6) “…multiple sensing frames…may be needed to perform the requirement measurements…” (par. 77, lines 1-4)], by the at least one processor (par. 118, lines 10-12), a first sensing measurement [“Upon receiving the sensing frames 952 and 954, the sensing initiator 102 may extract the changes in CSI…” (par. 101, lines 4-5) “The CSI training sequence, as may be appreciated by a person skilled in the art, may be designed to measure the channel characteristics between a transmitter and a receiver.” (par. 43, lines 3-6) “…multiple sensing frames…may be needed to perform the requirement measurements…” (par. 77, lines 1-4)] on the first sensing response NDP [“…sensing responders 106 (e.g. sensing responder 112 and sensing responder 114) may send to the sensing initiator 102, at the same time 938, sensing feedback 952 and 954 may be NDP-like frames…” (par. 99, lines 2-6)] and a second sensing measurement on the second sensing response NDP [“…sensing responders 106 (e.g. sensing responder 112 and sensing responder 114) may send to the sensing initiator 102, at the same time 938, sensing feedback 952 and 954 may be NDP-like frames…” (par. 99, lines 2-6)];
wherein the first frequency channel and the second channel frequency channel [“…sensing may be done at low frequency bands…and high frequency millimeter-Wave (mm-Wave) bands…in which Wi-Fi devices operate. Sensing in higher frequencies may provide better sensing accuracy due to increased channel width.” (par. 87, lines 5-10)] represent different resource unit (RU) allocations [“…the RU or the spatial resource assignments may be indicated in the SFR TF 250 for the simultaneous transmission of sensing feedback.” (par. 62, lines 7-9)].
Aboul-Magd discloses the claimed invention except: receiving a sensing response announcement transmitted by a sensing
In an analogous art Da Silva discloses receiving (par. 54, lines 1-8) a sensing response announcement transmitted by a sensing
It is an object of Aboul-Magd’s invention to provide a procedure and frame structure for Wi-Fi sensing. It is an object of Da Silva’s invention to provide wireless local area network sensing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Aboul-Magd by including a response announcement, as taught by Da Silva, for the purpose of effectively providing services in a telecommunication network.
Consider claim 17, as applied in claim 16; Da Silva discloses the compound sensing trigger message includes an indication for two or more sensing responders that a response may include two transmissions, the two transmissions including either the first sensing response announcement and the first sensing response NDP or the second sensing response announcement and the second sensing response NDP (par. 54, lines 1-8).
Consider claim 18, as applied in claim 16; Aboul-Magd discloses the compound sensing trigger message includes a requested transmission configuration (par. 61, lines 1-4).
Consider claim 19, as applied in claim 18; Aboul-Magd discloses the compound sensing trigger message includes an indication for one or more sensing transmitters responders that a response may include two transmissions if the requested transmission configuration is incompatible with accurate demodulation of data in a sensing transmission [e.g. it is not incompatible (par. 60, lines 1-3; par. 63, lines 2-9)].
Consider claim 20, as applied in claim 18; Da Silva discloses receiving [‘…AP 102 may facilitate receiver diversity for Wi-Fi sensing with one or more user devices 120. For example, the AP 102 and the one or more user devices 120 may exchange packets 140 (e.g. Sensing NDP requests and responses, NDP announcements, NDPS, other frames… which may include a negotiation between the AP 102 and the one or more user devices 120 and/or may include channel measurement frames, and/or channel measurement reports used to perform Wi-Fi sensing.” (par. 54, lines 1-11)], via the receiving antenna and from a second sensing responder [‘…AP 102 may facilitate receiver diversity for Wi-Fi sensing with one or more user devices 120. For example, the AP 102 and the one or more user devices 120 may exchange packets 140 (e.g. Sensing NDP requests and responses, NDP announcements, NDPS, other frames… which may include a negotiation between the AP 102 and the one or more user devices 120 and/or may include channel measurement frames, and/or channel measurement reports used to perform Wi-Fi sensing.” (par. 54, lines 1-11)], a sensing response message having a delivered transmission configuration corresponding to the requested transmission configuration [‘…AP 102 may facilitate receiver diversity for Wi-Fi sensing with one or more user devices 120. For example, the AP 102 and the one or more user devices 120 may exchange packets 140 (e.g. Sensing NDP requests and responses, NDP announcements, NDPS, other frames… which may include a negotiation between the AP 102 and the one or more user devices 120 and/or may include channel measurement frames, and/or channel measurement reports used to perform Wi-Fi sensing.” (par. 54, lines 1-11)], wherein the sensing response message comprising comprises at least one data packet [‘…AP 102 may facilitate receiver diversity for Wi-Fi sensing with one or more user devices 120. For example, the AP 102 and the one or more user devices 120 may exchange packets 140 (e.g. Sensing NDP requests and responses, NDP announcements, NDPS, other frames… which may include a negotiation between the AP 102 and the one or more user devices 120 and/or may include channel measurement frames, and/or channel measurement reports used to perform Wi-Fi sensing.” (par. 54, lines 1-11)].
Consider claim 21, as applied in claim 16; Aboul-Magd discloses receiving the first sensing response NDP approximately one short interframe space (SIFS) after receiving the first sensing response announcement and receiving the second sensing response NDP approximately one SIFS after receiving the second sensing response announcement [“…a station that receives a sensing NDP request transmits either multiple NDPs consecutively with short intervals between them…or multiple consecutive transmissions of an NDP announcement followed by an NDP…In both cases, the interval between the packets is SIFS.” (par. 65, lines 11-16)].
Consider claim 23, as applied in claim 16; Da Silva discloses receiving a first sensing transmission that contains the first sensing response announcement and at least one data packet [“…a station that receives a sensing NDP request transmits either multiple NDPs consecutively with short intervals between them…or multiple consecutive transmissions of an NDP announcement followed by an NDP...” (par. 65, lines 11-15)].
Consider claim 25, as applied in claim 18; Aboul-Magd discloses processing the first sensing response announcement to determine an expected delivered transmission configuration of the first sensing response NDP (par. 99, lines 1-8; par. 101, lines 4-8) corresponding to the requested transmission configuration (par. 61, lines 1-4).
Claims 11, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aboul-Magd et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2022/0304051) in view of Verma et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2020/0404549).
Consider claim 11, as applied in claim 1; Aboul-Magd discloses the claimed invention except: transmitting, by the transmitting antenna and responsive to generating the first sensing measurement and the second sensing measurement, a Multi-Sta BlockAck.
In an analogous art, Verma discloses transmitting (par. 111, lines 10-11), by the transmitting antenna (par. 93, lines 9-13) and responsive to generating the first sensing measurement and the second sensing measurement (par. 138, lines 11-18), a Multi-Sta BlockAck (par. 111, lines 10-11).
It is an object of Aboul-Magd’s invention to provide a procedure and frame structure for Wi-Fi sensing. It is an object of Verma’s invention to provide sensing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Aboul-Magd by including a Multi-Sta BlockAck, as taught by Verma, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a data network.
Consider claim 26, as applied in claim 16; Aboul-Magd discloses the claimed invention except: transmitting, by the transmitting antenna and responsive to generating the first sensing measurement and the second sensing measurement, a Multi-Sta BlockAck.
In an analogous art, Verma discloses transmitting (par. 111, lines 10-11), by the transmitting antenna (par. 93, lines 9-13) and responsive to generating the first sensing measurement and the second sensing measurement (par. 138, lines 11-18), a Multi-Sta BlockAck (par. 111, lines 10-11).
It is an object of Aboul-Magd’s invention to provide a procedure and frame structure for Wi-Fi sensing. It is an object of Verma’s invention to provide sensing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Aboul-Magd by including a Multi-Sta BlockAck, as taught by Verma, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a data network.
Claims 12, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aboul-Magd et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2022/0304051) in view of Kneckt et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2017/0257888).
Consider claim 12, as applied in claim 1; Aboul-Magd discloses the compound sensing trigger message is a first compound sensing trigger message (par. 61, lines 1-4). Aboul-Magd discloses the claimed invention except: the method further comprising: generating, by the at least one processor, a second compound sensing trigger message; and transmitting, by the transmitting antenna, the second compound sensing trigger message within a same transmission opportunity period as the first compound sensing trigger message.
In an analogous art Kneckt discloses generating (par. 47, lines 1-9), by the at least one processor (par. 110, lines 18-31), a second compound sensing trigger message (par. 61, lines 1-5); and transmitting, by the transmitting antenna (par. 28, lines 3-7), the second compound sensing trigger message within a same transmission opportunity period as the first compound sensing trigger message (par. 61, lines 1-5).
It is an object of Aboul-Magd’s invention to provide a procedure and frame structure for Wi-Fi sensing. It is an object of Kneckt’s invention to provide a method for sensing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Aboul-Magd by including a second trigger message, as taught by Kneckt, for the purpose of ensuring communication in a wireless system.
Consider claim 27, as applied in claim 16; Aboul-Magd discloses the compound sensing trigger message is a first compound sensing trigger message (par. 61, lines 1-4). Aboul-Magd discloses the claimed invention except: the method further comprising: generating, by the at least one processor, a second compound sensing trigger message; and transmitting, by the transmitting antenna, the second compound sensing trigger message within a same transmission opportunity period as the first compound sensing trigger message.
In an analogous art Kneckt discloses generating (par. 47, lines 1-9), by the at least one processor (par. 110, lines 18-31), a second compound sensing trigger message (par. 61, lines 1-5); and transmitting, by the transmitting antenna (par. 28, lines 3-7), the second compound sensing trigger message within a same transmission opportunity period as the first compound sensing trigger message (par. 61, lines 1-5).
It is an object of Aboul-Magd’s invention to provide a procedure and frame structure for Wi-Fi sensing. It is an object of Kneckt’s invention to provide a method for sensing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Aboul-Magd by including a second trigger message, as taught by Kneckt, for the purpose of ensuring communication in a wireless system.
Sekiya is another reference that discloses the inventive concept.
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within
TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not
mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the
shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any
extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Examiner should be directed to Joel Ajayi whose telephone number is (571) 270-1091. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday from 7:30am to 5:00pm and Friday 7:30am to 4:00 pm.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Jeanette Parker can be reached on (571) 270-3647. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646