DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 16-21, 23, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aboul-Magd et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2022/0304051) in view of Da Silva et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2021/0288779).
Consider claim 1; Aboul-Magd discloses a method for Wi-Fi sensing carried out by a sensing initiator including a transmitting antenna, a receiving antenna, and at least one processor configured to execute instructions, the method comprising:
generating (par. 59, lines 1-3, 8-10; par. 61, lines 1-4), by the at least one processor (par. 118, lines 10-12), a compound sensing trigger message (par. 59, lines 1-3, 8-10; par. 61, lines 1-4);
transmitting (par. 61, lines 1-4), by the transmitting antenna [e.g. transceiver (par. 118, lines 10-12)], the compound sensing trigger message (par. 61, lines 1-4);
receiving (par. 99, lines 1-6), via the receiving antenna [e.g. transceiver (par. 118, lines 10-12)], a sensing response null data PPDU (NDP) (par. 99, lines 1-6); and
generating (par. 43, lines 3-6; par. 77, lines 1-4; par. 101, lines 4-6), by the at least one processor (par. 118, lines 10-12), a sensing measurement on the sensing response NDP (par. 99, lines 1-6).
Aboul-Magd discloses the claimed invention except: receiving, via the receiving antenna, a sensing response announcement transmitted by a sensing
In an analogous art Da Silva discloses receiving (par. 54, lines 1-8), via the receiving antenna (par. 50), a sensing response announcement transmitted by a sensing
It is an object of Aboul-Magd’s invention to provide a procedure and frame structure for Wi-Fi sensing. It is an object of Da Silva’s invention to provide wireless local area network sensing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Aboul-Magd by including a response announcement, as taught by Da Silva, for the purpose of effectively providing services in a telecommunication network.
Consider claim 2, as applied in claim 1; Da Silva discloses the compound sensing trigger message includes an indication for one or more sensing responders that a response may include two transmissions, the two transmissions including the sensing response announcement and the sensing response NDP (par. 54, lines 1-8).
Consider claim 3, as applied in claim 1; Aboul-Magd discloses the compound sensing trigger message includes a requested transmission configuration (par. 61, lines 1-4).
Consider claim 4, as applied in claim 3; Aboul-Magd discloses the compound sensing trigger message includes an indication for one or more sensing transmitters responders that a response may include two transmissions if the requested transmission configuration is incompatible with accurate demodulation of data in a sensing transmission [e.g. it is not incompatible (par. 60, lines 1-3; par. 63, lines 2-9)].
Consider claim 5, as applied in claim 3; Aboul-Magd discloses receiving (par. 99, lines 1-8), via the receiving antenna [e.g. transceiver (par. 118, lines 10-12)] and from a second sensing responder (par. 99, lines 1-8), a sensing response message having a delivered transmission configuration corresponding to the requested transmission configuration (par. 99, lines 1-8), wherein the sensing response message comprising comprises at least one data packet (par. 99, lines 1-8).
Consider claim 6, as applied in claim 1; Aboul-Magd discloses receiving the sensing response NDP approximately one short interframe space (e.g. SIFS) after receiving the sensing response announcement (par. 99, lines 1-8).
Consider claim 8, as applied in claim 1; Da Silva discloses receiving a sensing transmission that contains the sensing response announcement and at least one data packet (par. 54, lines 1-8).
Consider claim 10, as applied in claim 3; Aboul-Magd discloses processing the sensing response announcement to determine an expected delivered transmission configuration of the sensing response NDP (par. 99, lines 1-8; par. 101, lines 4-8) corresponding to a requested transmission configuration (par. 61, lines 1-4).
Consider claim 16; Aboul-Magd discloses a system for Wi-Fi sensing, the system comprising:
a sensing receiver initiator including a transmitting antenna, a receiving antenna, and at least one processor (par. 118, lines 10-12) configured to execute instructions for:
generating (par. 59, lines 1-3, 8-10; par. 61, lines 1-4), by the at least one processor (par. 118, lines 10-12), a compound sensing trigger message (par. 59, lines 1-3, 8-10; par. 61, lines 1-4);
transmitting (par. 61, lines 1-4), by the transmitting antenna [e.g. transceiver (par. 118, lines 10-12)], the compound sensing trigger message (par. 61, lines 1-4);
receiving (par. 99, lines 1-6), via the receiving antenna [e.g. transceiver (par. 118, lines 10-12)], a sensing response null data PPDU (NDP) (par. 99, lines 1-6); and
generating (par. 43, lines 3-6; par. 77, lines 1-4; par. 101, lines 4-6), by the at least one processor (par. 118, lines 10-12), a sensing measurement on the sensing response NDP (par. 99, lines 1-6).
Aboul-Magd discloses the claimed invention except: receiving, via the receiving antenna, a sensing response announcement transmitted by a sensing
In an analogous art Da Silva discloses receiving (par. 54, lines 1-8), via the receiving antenna (par. 50), a sensing response announcement transmitted by a sensing
It is an object of Aboul-Magd’s invention to provide a procedure and frame structure for Wi-Fi sensing. It is an object of Da Silva’s invention to provide wireless local area network sensing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Aboul-Magd by including a response announcement, as taught by Da Silva, for the purpose of effectively providing services in a telecommunication network.
Consider claim 17, as applied in claim 16; Da Silva discloses the compound sensing trigger message includes an indication for one or more sensing responders that a response may include two transmissions, the two transmissions including the sensing response announcement and the sensing response NDP (par. 54, lines 1-8).
Consider claim 18, as applied in claim 16; Aboul-Magd discloses the compound sensing trigger message includes a requested transmission configuration (par. 61, lines 1-4).
Consider claim 19, as applied in claim 18; Aboul-Magd discloses the compound sensing trigger message includes an indication for one or more sensing transmitters responders that a response may include two transmissions if the requested transmission configuration is incompatible with accurate demodulation of data in a sensing transmission [e.g. it is not incompatible (par. 60, lines 1-3; par. 63, lines 2-9)].
Consider claim 20, as applied in claim 18; Aboul-Magd discloses receiving (par. 99, lines 1-8), via the receiving antenna [e.g. transceiver (par. 118, lines 10-12)] and from a second sensing responder (par. 99, lines 1-8), a sensing response message having a delivered transmission configuration corresponding to the requested transmission configuration (par. 99, lines 1-8), wherein the sensing response message comprising comprises at least one data packet (par. 99, lines 1-8).
Consider claim 21, as applied in claim 16; Aboul-Magd discloses receiving the sensing response NDP approximately one short interframe space (e.g. SIFS) after receiving the sensing response announcement (par. 99, lines 1-8).
Consider claim 23, as applied in claim 16; Da Silva discloses receiving a sensing transmission that contains the sensing response announcement and at least one data packet (par. 54, lines 1-8).
Consider claim 25, as applied in claim 18; Aboul-Magd discloses processing the sensing response announcement to determine an expected delivered transmission configuration of the sensing response NDP (par. 99, lines 1-8; par. 101, lines 4-8) corresponding to the requested transmission configuration (par. 61, lines 1-4).
Claims 11, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aboul-Magd et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2022/0304051) in view of Verma et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2020/0404549).
Consider claim 11, as applied in claim 1; Aboul-Magd discloses the claimed invention except: transmitting, by the transmitting antenna and responsive to generating the sensing measurement, a Multi-Sta BlockAck.
In an analogous art, Verma discloses transmitting (par. 111, lines 10-11), by the transmitting antenna (par. 93, lines 9-13) and responsive to generating the sensing measurement (par. 138, lines 11-18), a Multi-Sta BlockAck (par. 111, lines 10-11).
It is an object of Aboul-Magd’s invention to provide a procedure and frame structure for Wi-Fi sensing. It is an object of Verma’s invention to provide sensing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Aboul-Magd by including a Multi-Sta BlockAck, as taught by Verma, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a data network.
Consider claim 26, as applied in claim 16; Aboul-Magd discloses the claimed invention except: transmitting, by the transmitting antenna and responsive to generating the sensing measurement, a Multi-Sta BlockAck.
In an analogous art, Verma discloses transmitting (par. 111, lines 10-11), by the transmitting antenna (par. 93, lines 9-13) and responsive to generating the sensing measurement (par. 138, lines 11-18), a Multi-Sta BlockAck (par. 111, lines 10-11).
It is an object of Aboul-Magd’s invention to provide a procedure and frame structure for Wi-Fi sensing. It is an object of Verma’s invention to provide sensing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Aboul-Magd by including a Multi-Sta BlockAck, as taught by Verma, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a data network.
Claims 12, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aboul-Magd et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2022/0304051) in view of Kneckt et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2017/0257888).
Consider claim 12, as applied in claim 1; Aboul-Magd discloses the compound sensing trigger message is a first compound sensing trigger message (par. 61, lines 1-4). Aboul-Magd discloses the claimed invention except: the method further comprising: generating, by the at least one processor, a second compound sensing trigger message; and transmitting, by the transmitting antenna, the second compound sensing trigger message within a same transmission opportunity period as the first compound sensing trigger message.
In an analogous art Kneckt discloses generating (par. 47, lines 1-9), by the at least one processor (par. 110, lines 18-31), a second compound sensing trigger message (par. 61, lines 1-5); and transmitting, by the transmitting antenna (par. 28, lines 3-7), the second compound sensing trigger message within a same transmission opportunity period as the first compound sensing trigger message (par. 61, lines 1-5).
It is an object of Aboul-Magd’s invention to provide a procedure and frame structure for Wi-Fi sensing. It is an object of Kneckt’s invention to provide a method for sensing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Aboul-Magd by including a second trigger message, as taught by Kneckt, for the purpose of ensuring communication in a wireless system.
Consider claim 27, as applied in claim 16; Aboul-Magd discloses the compound sensing trigger message is a first compound sensing trigger message (par. 61, lines 1-4). Aboul-Magd discloses the claimed invention except: the method further comprising: generating, by the at least one processor, a second compound sensing trigger message; and transmitting, by the transmitting antenna, the second compound sensing trigger message within a same transmission opportunity period as the first compound sensing trigger message.
In an analogous art Kneckt discloses generating (par. 47, lines 1-9), by the at least one processor (par. 110, lines 18-31), a second compound sensing trigger message (par. 61, lines 1-5); and transmitting, by the transmitting antenna (par. 28, lines 3-7), the second compound sensing trigger message within a same transmission opportunity period as the first compound sensing trigger message (par. 61, lines 1-5).
It is an object of Aboul-Magd’s invention to provide a procedure and frame structure for Wi-Fi sensing. It is an object of Kneckt’s invention to provide a method for sensing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Aboul-Magd by including a second trigger message, as taught by Kneckt, for the purpose of ensuring communication in a wireless system.
Sekiya is another reference that discloses the inventive concept.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Anderson can be reached on (571) 272-4177. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646