DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okada et al. 2011/0241340.
In regard to claim 1, Okada et al. discloses a screw-threaded joint for pipes comprising a first pipe length 1 having a pin screw threaded portion 11 at one end and a second pipe length 2 having a box portion at one end, the ends each having a screw thread 11, 21 complementary to that on the other pipe length, the threads being adapted to inter-engage along the greater part of the axial length thereof, the threads being inclined in the same direction and at an acute angle to the central longitudinal axis of the joint, the pin thread extending at least to a stop shoulder 14 having a head portion having a substantially conical cross-section which is positioned adjacent a complementary stop shoulder 24 on the box portion, the head portion comprising a sealing surface 13, a torque surface 14 and a link surface 15 linking the sealing surface 13 to the torque surface 14 (15 indirectly links surfaces 14 and 13), the complementary stop shoulder 24 comprising a cone receiver having a substantially conical cross-section, the cone receiver adapted to sealingly receive the head portion and comprising a sealing surface 23, a torque surface 24 and a link surface 25 linking the sealing surface 23 to the torque surface 24 (25 indirectly links 14 to 23), a link surface 15 on the pin section having a planar cross-section to sealingly engage a corresponding substantially planar link surface 25 on the cone receiver of the box section, wherein the angle 43 subtended by each of the substantially planar link surfaces to the joint axis is from 29.5° — 30.5° (see paragraph 51), and
wherein the sealing surface 13 of the pin section engages the sealing surface 23 of the box section on make-up of the screw-threaded joint.
In regard to claim 2, wherein the final pin thread is cropped by removal of the foremost surface of the final crest (see the last pin thread 11 in fig. 1(A) where a corner of the thread is removed).
In regard to claim 3, wherein the lengths of the sealing surface and link surface on the pin section are different from the lengths on the corresponding sealing and link surfaces of the box section (see fig. 1 where the planar surface 18 is shown to be shorter than the planar surface of the box member facing 18).
In regard to claim 4, wherein the combined axial lengths of the sealing surface 13 and the link surface 15 of the pin section are greater than the combined axial lengths of the corresponding sealing surface 23 and the link surfaces 25 on the box section (see fig. 1 where surface 13 is shown to be longer than surface 23 of the box member and surfaces 15 and 25 are the same length).
In regard to claim 5, wherein the angle 42 subtended by the torque shoulders 14, 24 with respect to the perpendicular to the pin and box sections’ axes is 20° +/- 0.5° (see paragraph 50).
In regard to claim 6, wherein the angle subtended by each of the substantially planar link surfaces to the joint axis is 30.0° (see paragraph 51).
In regard to claim 7, wherein the sealing surfaces on the pin and box sections are substantially planar (see 18 and the surface of the box facing surface 18 in fig. 1(A)).
In regard to claim 8, wherein there is clearance between sealing surfaces of the pin and box sections on make-up of the joint (see the space at 18 in fig. 1(A)), to enable grease to be evenly distributed between the pin and box sections to prevent hydraulicing.
In regard to claim 9, Okada et al. discloses a pipe section 1 having at an end a pin screw threaded portion, the thread being adapted to interengage along the greater part of the axial length thereof with a complementary thread 21 on a pipe section having a box screw-threaded portion, the pin thread extending at least to a stop shoulder having a head portion comprising a substantially conical cross-section having a substantially planar surface 15, wherein the angle subtended by the substantially planar surface to the pipe section axis is from 29.5°-30.5° (see paragraph 51).
In regard to claim 10, Okada et al. discloses a pipe section having at an end a box screw threaded portion 2, the thread being adapted to interengage along the greater part of the axial length thereof with a complementary thread on a pipe section having a pin screw-threaded portion, the box thread extending at least to a stop shoulder having a head portion comprising a complementary stop shoulder on the box portion, the complementary stop shoulder comprising a cone receiver 24 having a substantially conical cross-section, the cone receiver adapted to sealingly receive a head portion of a pin section, the cone receiver of the box section having a substantially planar surface 25, wherein the angle subtended by the substantially planar surface to the pipe section axis is from 29.5° - 30.5° (see paragraph 51).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/29/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Okada, Applicant argues that Okada fails to disclose a sealing surface, link surface and a torque surface. The Examiner disagrees, as Okada discloses a sealing surface 13, link surface 15 and torque surface 14 where 15 links 14 to 13 via 18. Similarly Okada discloses a box with seal surface 23, link surface 25 and torque surface 24, where 25 indirectly links surfaces 24 and 23. The link surfaces 15 and 25 are disclosed as being able to be designed to contact one another in paragraph 52, and would create a seal. Therefore the Okada rejection has been maintained.
Conclusion
/DAVID BOCHNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679