DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to amendment filed on 4/7/26. Claims 1, 4-13, 17, and 19-26 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-13, 17, and 19-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TCL COMMUNICATION "UE feedback enhancements for HARQ-ACK" 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #104bis-e, R1-2102922, April 2021, 6 pages (hereinafter “TCL”).
Regarding claim 1, TCL teaches a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback, performed by a terminal device, comprising:
determining an initial slot where a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) transmission (SPS HARQ-ACK) is located (see “…for SPS HARQ-ACK deferral, to determine valid symbols in the initial slot/sub-slot a collision with semi-static OL symbols, SSB and CORESET#0 is regarded as "invalid' or 'no symbols for UL transmission'” [p.3, section 2.1.1, Proposal 3]);
determining that a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource on the initial slot is invalid (see “…for SPS HARQ-ACK deferral, to determine valid symbols in the initial slot/sub-slot a collision with semi-static OL symbols, SSB and CORESET#0 is regarded as ‘invalid' or 'no symbols for UL transmission'” [p.3, section 2.1.1, Proposal 3]), determining a valid second PUCCH resource (next (e.g., first) available PUCCH) (see “Option 1: Deferring HARQ-ACK until a next (e.g., first) available PUCCH)” [p.2, section 2.1, Agreements]), and sending the HARQ-ACK through the second PUCCH resource (see “For example, the first instance in time of a scheduled PUCCH that does not collide with any invalid or downlink symbols after the conflict occurs is selected to transmit the deferred HARQ-ACK feedback” [p. 3, section 2.1.1, Proposal 1]), wherein a slot where the second PUCCH resource is located is a slot after the initial slot (see “Option 1: Deferring HARQ-ACK until a next (e.g., first) available PUCCH)” [p.2, section 2.1, Agreements]) and no later than a last delay feedback slot (slot corresponding to k1def,max/maximum K1 value) for the HARQ-ACK (see “The deferral limitation should be given in the total PDSCH to HARQ-ACK delay/offset, i.e. k1eff = k1+k1def <= k1def,max and the k1def,max should be the maximum k1 value of the configured K1 set” [p. 3, section 2.1.1, Proposal 6]);
wherein the last delay feedback slot is determined based on the initial slot (k1) and a maximum delay feedback slot offset value (k1def) (see “Considering the HARQ-ACK feedback also requires a certain real-time performance and cannot allow an indefinite delay. Limitation on the maximum deferral in the time domain is required. The deferral limitation should be given in the total POSCH to HARQ-ACK delay/offset, i.e., k1eff = k1+k1def <= K1def,max” [p.3, section 2.1.1, Proposal 6] which suggests the claimed “maximum delay feedback slot offset value” when the value of k1def is the largest value that is less than or equal to k1def,max), the last delay feedback slot is determined from more than one candidate last delay feedback slot (see “The deferral limitation should be given in the total PDSCH to HARQ-ACK delay/offset, i.e. k1eff = k1+k1def <= K1def,max and the k1def,max should be the maximum k1 value of the configured K1 set” and “In order to minimize the specification impact, we propose that the value of k1eff should be limited to one of the existing k1 values in the configured K1 set” [p. 3, section 2.1.1, Proposal 6] which suggests the slot corresponding to k1def,max, or the “the last delay feedback slot”, may be determined to be the maximum k1 value or one of the existing k1 values in the configured K1 set which reads on the claimed “more than one candidate last delay feedback slot”), or the last delay feedback slot is determined based on a time-domain resource allocation (TDRA) table; or the last delay feedback slot corresponds to the first PUCCH resource.
Regarding claim 4, TCL teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising at least one of:
determining the maximum delay feedback slot offset value for the HARQ-ACK based on a protocol agreement (SPS configuration) (see “The SPS HARQ-ACK deferral is configured per SPS configuration” [p. 2, section 2.1.1, Agreements]);
determining more than one candidate maximum delay feedback slot offset value (K1 set) for the HARQ-ACK based on a protocol agreement, and determining the maximum delay feedback slot offset value (maximum k1 value) from the more than one candidate maximum delay feedback slot offset value (see “The deferral limitation should be given in the total PDSCH to HARQ-ACK delay/offset, i.e. k1eff = k1+k1def <= K1def,max and the k1def,max should be the maximum k1 value of the configured K1 set” [p. 3, section 2.1.1, Proposal 6] which suggests maximum k1 value is determined from “more than one candidate” k1 values of the configured K1 set);
expanding a time-domain resource allocation (TDRA) table based on a protocol agreement, and acquiring a corresponding slot offset value from the TDRA table, and determining the slot offset value as the maximum delay feedback slot offset value; or
acquiring a slot offset value corresponding to the first PUCCH resource based on a protocol agreement, and determining the slot offset value as the maximum delay feedback slot offset value.
Regarding claim 5, TCL teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
acquiring a maximum K1 value among more than one initial slot K1 configured for the HARQ-ACK (configured K1 set); and
determining the maximum delay feedback slot offset value based on the maximum K1 value (see “The deferral limitation should be given in the total PDSCH to HARQ-ACK delay/offset, i.e. k1eff = k1+k1def <= K1def,max and the k1def,max should be the maximum k1 value of the configured K1 set” [p. 3, section 2.1.1, Proposal 6]).
Regarding claim 6, TCL teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein determining the maximum delay feedback slot offset value based on the maximum K1 value comprises:
determining the maximum K1 value as the maximum delay feedback slot offset value (see “The deferral limitation should be given in the total PDSCH to HARQ-ACK delay/offset, i.e. k1eff = k1+k1def <= K1def,max and the k1def,max should be the maximum k1 value of the configured K1 set” [p. 3, section 2.1.1, Proposal 6]); or
performing an operation on the maximum K1 value according to a preset operation rule, and determining a value obtained from the operation as the maximum delay feedback slot offset value.
Regarding claim 7, TCL teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
determining a maximum number of delayable times for the initial slot; and
determining the maximum delay feedback slot offset value based on the maximum number of delayable times (see “The deferral limitation should be given in the total PDSCH to HARQ-ACK delay/offset, i.e. k1eff = k1+k1def <= K1def,max and the k1def,max should be the maximum k1 value of the configured K1 set” [p. 3, section 2.1.1, Proposal 6] wherein the number of k1 values of the configured K1 set reads on the claimed “maximum number of delayable times” since they are candidates for the maximum k1 value).
Regarding claim 8, TCL teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining the maximum delay feedback slot offset value for the HARQ-ACK based on a transmission cycle (periodicity) of a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (see “For different traffic types with different latency requirements, it may configure a specific SPS configuration with different periodicities” [p. 2, section 2.1.1] which suggests the claimed “transmission cycle of a SPS PDSCH” because specific SPS configurations, which include maximum k1 value(s), are used for PDSCH of different periodicities); or
determining the maximum delay feedback slot offset value for the HARQ-ACK based on a grouping binding size or a time window length of the SPS PDSCH (see “Considering the transmission reliability and less specification impact, it is feasible to use logical 'OR' to bundle SPS HARQ-ACK of N bits into a single bit. In this case, a time window or bundling bit size needs to be specified” [p.5, section 2.2, Proposal 9]).
Regarding claim 9, TCL teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a first configuration instruction sent by a network device, wherein the first configuration instruction is configured to indicate the maximum delay feedback slot offset value (see “The SPS HARQ-ACK deferral is configured per SPS configuration” [p. 2, section 2.1.1, Agreements]).
Regarding claim 10, TCL teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a second configuration instruction sent by a network device, and receiving an indication instruction sent by the network device, determining, based on the indication instruction, one slot offset value among more than one candidate maximum delay feedback slot offset value indicated by the second configuration instruction, and determining the determined slot offset value as the maximum delay feedback slot offset value (see “The SPS HARQ-ACK deferral is configured per SPS configuration” [p. 2, section 2.1.1, Agreements] and “The deferral limitation should be given in the total PDSCH to HARQ-ACK delay/offset, i.e. k1eff = k1+k1def <= K1def,max and the k1def,max should be the maximum k1 value of the configured K1 set” [p. 3, section 2.1.1, Proposal 6] which suggests that a second SPS configuration may be received by the UE with another maximum k1 value).
Regarding claim 11, TCL teaches a method for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback, performed by a network device, comprising:
receiving a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) sent by a terminal device on a valid physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource (see “For example, the first instance in time of a scheduled PUCCH that does not collide with any invalid or downlink symbols after the conflict occurs is selected to transmit the deferred HARQ-ACK feedback” [p. 3, section 2.1.1, Proposal 1]), wherein a slot where the PUCCH resource is located is a slot after an initial slot where the HARQ-ACK is located (see “Option 1: Deferring HARQ-ACK until a next (e.g., first) available PUCCH)” [p.2, section 2.1, Agreements]) and no later than a last delay feedback slot (maximum k1 value) (see “The deferral limitation should be given in the total PDSCH to HARQ-ACK delay/offset, i.e. k1eff = k1+k1def <= K1def,max and the k1def,max should be the maximum k1 value of the configured K1 set” [p. 3, section 2.1.1, Proposal 6]);
wherein the last delay feedback slot is determined based on the initial slot (k1) and a maximum delay feedback slot offset value (k1eff), or the last delay feedback slot is determined from more than one candidate last delay feedback slot (see “The deferral limitation should be given in the total PDSCH to HARQ-ACK delay/offset, i.e. k1eff = k1+k1def <= K1def,max and the k1def,max should be the maximum k1 value of the configured K1 set” [p. 3, section 2.1.1, Proposal 6] which suggests maximum k1 value “is determined from more than one candidate” k1 values of the configured K1 set), or the last delay feedback slot is determined based on a time-domain resource allocation (TDRA) table; or the last delay feedback slot corresponds to a first PUCCH resource.
Regarding claim 12, TCL teaches 1 the method according to claim 11, further comprising:
sending a first configuration instruction to the terminal device, wherein the first configuration instruction is configured to indicate the maximum delay feedback slot offset value (see “The SPS HARQ-ACK deferral is configured per SPS configuration” [p. 2, section 2.1.1, Agreements]).
Regarding claim 13, TCL teaches the method according to claim 11, further comprising:
sending a second configuration instruction to the terminal device, and sending an indication instruction to the terminal device, wherein the second configuration instruction comprises more than one candidate maximum delay feedback slot offset value, the indication instruction is configured to indicate one slot offset value among the more than one candidate maximum delay feedback slot offset value (see “The SPS HARQ-ACK deferral is configured per SPS configuration” [p. 2, section 2.1.1, Agreements] and “The deferral limitation should be given in the total PDSCH to HARQ-ACK delay/offset, i.e. k1eff = k1+k1def <= K1def,max and the k1def,max should be the maximum k1 value of the configured K1 set” [p. 3, section 2.1.1, Proposal 6] which suggests that a second SPS configuration may be transmitted to the UE with another maximum k1 value).
Claim 19 recites subject matter similar to claim 1 and is therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claims 20 and 21 recite subject matter similar to claim 11 and are therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim 22 recites subject matter similar to claim 4 and is therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim 23 recites subject matter similar to claim 5 and is therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim 24 recites subject matter similar to claim 7 and is therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim 25 recites subject matter similar to claim 8 and is therefore rejected on the same basis.
Claim 26 recites subject matter similar to claim 10 and is therefore rejected on the same basis.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/7/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that TCL does not teach or suggest (i) wherein a slot where the second PUCCH resource is located is a slot after the initial slot and no later than a last delay feedback slot for the HARQ-ACK and (ii) wherein the last delay feedback slot is determined based on the initial slot and a maximum delay feedback slot offset value for which the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding limitation (i), TCL discloses “The deferral limitation should be given in the total PDSCH to HARQ-ACK delay/offset, i.e. k1eff = k1+k1def <= k1def,max and the k1def,max should be the maximum k1 value of the configured K1 set” [p. 4, section 2.1.1, Proposal 6]). In this disclosure, k1eff reads on the claimed “slot where the second PUCCH resource is located” because it is the effective slot for the deferred HARQ as defined. The slot corresponding to k1def,max reads on the claimed “last delay feedback slot” because it is a slot corresponding to the maximum offset for the deferred PUCCH/HARQ transmission. When k1def,max is the maximum k1 value of the configured K1 set, the maximum k1 value reads on the claimed “last delay feedback slot” because it is the last slot configured for the UE. Limitation (i) is therefore taught by this disclosure because k1eff must be less than or equal to a slot corresponding to k1def,max , or the maximum k1 value of the configured K1 set.
Regarding limitation (ii), TCL further discloses “Considering the HARQ-ACK feedback also requires a certain real-time performance and cannot allow an indefinite delay. Limitation on the maximum deferral in the time domain is required. The deferral limitation should be given in the total POSCH to HARQ-ACK delay/offset, i.e., k1eff = k1+k1def <= k1def,max” [p.3, section 2.1.1, Proposal 6]. In this disclosure K1def reads on the claimed “delay feedback slot offset value” because it is the slot offset between the initial, dropped PUCCH/HARQ and the slot of the deferred PUCCH/HARQ transmission. TCL further discloses that the delay may be indefinite which suggests that the value of K1def is not fixed. Therefore it is within the scope of TCL for the value of K1def to be the maximum value that does not exceed k1def,max. Limitation (ii) is therefore taught in the case when the slot corresponding to k1def,max is determined from k1, or the “initial slot”, and the value of k1def is the largest value that does not exceed k1def,max, which reads on the claimed “maximum delay feedback slot offset value”.
Aside from these arguments, the Examiner submits that TCL also teaches “the last delay feedback slot is determined from more than one candidate last delay feedback slot” which was not addressed by Applicant. TCL discloses “In order to minimize the specification impact, we propose that the value of k1eff should be limited to one of the existing k1 values in the configured K1 set” [p.4, section 2.1.1, Proposal 6]. This disclosure in addition to the disclosures above suggest that the slot corresponding to k1def,max, or the “the last delay feedback slot”, may be determined to be the maximum k1 value or one of the existing k1 values in the configured K1 set which reads on the claimed “more than one candidate last delay feedback slot” and satisfies the requirements of the claim.
For these reasons, TCL teaches all the limitations of claim 1 including at least “wherein a slot where the second PUCCH resource is located is a slot after the initial slot and no later than a last delay feedback slot for the HARQ-ACK; wherein the last delay feedback slot is determined based on the initial slot and a maximum delay feedback slot offset value, or the last delay feedback slot is determined from more than one candidate last delay feedback slot” and the ground(s) of rejection from the previous office action have been maintained. Independent claims 11 and 17 are within the same scope and are not patentable over TCL for the same reasons.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAM T HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647