Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments with respect to claims 1, 4, 8, 13 and 14 have been fully considered. The objection of claims 1, 4, 8, 13 and 14 have been withdrawn
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 13 and 14 have been fully considered, a new ground for rejection has been made in view of amendment. Claims 1, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 (See 102 rejection of claims 1 and 14 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim is amended with the limitation “determine, from the plurality of configured FFPs, an initiated FFP based on a beam associated with the initiated FFP”. Applicant stated that the amendment is supported in [0010]-[0017] (Remarks at lines 3-4, page 8). The cited paragraphs are brief description of drawings and do not appear to support the amendment.
Claims 13 and 14 are amended with the similar limitation of claim 1 respectively, are thus rejected under similar rational.
Claims 2-12, 16-20 and 15 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 1, 13 and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 13-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2022086715 A1 (hereinafter Ye) (priority document: U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/104,198, October 22, 2020, hereinafter prov).
Regarding claim 1, Ye teaches A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication comprising
(Ye Fig. 1, UE 102; [0047] a wireless communication network 100 includes a UE 102 (prov [0046])):
at least one memory (Ye [0049] The UE 102 is equipped with processing hardware 120, which may include ... a non-transitory computer-readable memory (prov [0048])); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to (Ye [0049] The UE 102 is equipped with processing hardware 120, which may include one or more general-purpose processors (e.g., CPUs) and a non-transitory computer-readable memory storing instructions that the one or more general-purpose processors can execute (prov [0054]).):
receive a configuration for a plurality of fixed frame periods (FFPs), wherein each FFP is associated with a separate transmit beam for transmission within that FFP (Ye Fig. 12, [0078] The base station 104 transmits 1204 the FFP configurations for respective physical or logical parameters to the UE 102 (prov [0077]).
[0054] The FFP configurations may include a fixed frame start position, a fixed frame size, and/or a fixed frame period. The COT configuration module 134 may transmit different FFP configurations to the UE 102 for different physical or logical parameters, which may include physical or logical resources, such as configured grants, beams, … The UE 102 may transmit data packets to the base station 104 in accordance with an FFP configuration for a corresponding physical or logical parameter (prov [0053].).
[0077] the base station 104 determines 1202 to configure the UE 102 with FFP configurations each including a fixed frame start position, a fixed frame size, and/or a fixed frame period. Each FFP configuration may be different and may correspond to a different physical or logical parameter. the base station 104 may configure the UE 102 with a first FFP configuration for a first beam and a second FFP configuration for a second beam (prov [0076]).);
determine (Ye [0093] If the UE 102 changes from the first beam to the second beam, the UE 102 uses the second FFP configuration to determine the start of the next fixed frame. Likewise, if the UE 102 changes from the second beam to the first beam, the UE 102 uses the first FFP configuration to determine the start of the next fixed frame (prov [0092])), from the plurality of configured FFPs, an initiated FFP (the first FFP/ the second FFP) based on a beam (the first beam / the second beam) associated with the initiated FFP (Ye [0092] the base station 104 may configure the UE 102 with a first beam and a second beam. The base station 104 may associate the first beam with the first FFP configuration and the second beam with the second FFP configuration, and may transmit information indicating the first beam, the first FFP configuration, the association between the first beam and the first FFP configuration, the second beam, the second FFP configuration, and the association between the second beam and the second FFP configuration to the UE 102. Because the beams may have different traffic loads, a different FFP configuration may be necessary for each beam (prov [0091]).
[0093] In some implementations, the first and second beams are associated with first and second Synchronization Signal Blocks (SSBs), respectively. In other implementations, the first and second beams are associated with first and second Channel State Information Reference Signals (CSI-RSs), respectively. If the UE 102 changes from the first beam to the second beam, the UE 102 uses the second FFP configuration to determine the start of the next fixed frame. Likewise, if the UE 102 changes from the second beam to the first beam, the UE 102 uses the first FFP configuration to determine the start of the next fixed frame (prov [0092]).); and
perform communication activity during the initiated FFP using the beam corresponding to the initiated FFP, the communication activity comprising a transmission, a reception, or a combination thereof (Ye [0054] The COT configuration module 134 may transmit different FFP configurations to the UE 102 for different physical or logical parameters, which may include physical or logical resources, such as configured grants, beams, ... Then the UE 102 may transmit data packets to the base station 104 in accordance with an FFP configuration for a corresponding physical or logical parameter (prov [0053].).
[0081] the UE 102 transmits 1214 data using the particular physical or logical parameter in the fixed frame (prov [0080]).
Note: a corresponding physical or logical parameter is a beam.).
Claim 13 recites similar limitations of claim 1, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 14, Ye teaches A base station for wireless communication, comprising (Ye Fig.
1, base station 104. [0047] The wireless communication network 100 also includes a base station 104 (prov [0046])):
at least one memory (Ye [0052] The base station 104 is equipped with processing hardware
130, which may include … a non-transitory computer-readable memory (prov [0051]).); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to (Ye [0052] The base station 104 is equipped with processing hardware 130, which may include one or more general-purpose processors (e.g., CPUs) and a non-transitory computer-readable memory storing instructions that the one or more general-purpose processors can execute (prov [0051]).):
transmit a configuration for a plurality of fixed frame periods (FFPs) to a User Equipment (UE), wherein each FFP is associated with a separate transmit beam for transmission within that FFP (Ye Fig. 12, [0078] The base station 104 transmits 1204 the FFP configurations for respective physical or logical parameters to the UE 102 (prov [0077]).
[0054] The FFP configurations may include a fixed frame start position, a fixed frame size, and/or a fixed frame period. The COT configuration module 134 may transmit different FFP configurations to the UE 102 for different physical or logical parameters, which may include physical or logical resources, such as configured grants, beams, …. The UE 102 may transmit data packets to the base station 104 in accordance with an FFP configuration for a corresponding physical or logical parameter (prov [0053]).
[0077] the base station 104 determines 1202 to configure the UE 102 with FFP configurations each including a fixed frame start position, a fixed frame size, and/or a fixed frame period. Each FFP configuration may be different and may correspond to a different physical or logical parameter. the base station 104 may configure the UE 102 with a first FFP configuration for a first beam and a second FFP configuration for a second beam (prov [0076]).);
determine (Ye [0093] If the UE 102 changes from the first beam to the second beam, the UE 102 uses the second FFP configuration to determine the start of the next fixed frame. Likewise, if the UE 102 changes from the second beam to the first beam, the UE 102 uses the first FFP configuration to determine the start of the next fixed frame (prov [0092])), from the plurality of configured FFPs, an initiated FFP (the first FFP / the second FFP) based on a beam (the first beam / the second beam) associated with the initiated FFP (Ye [0092] the base station 104 may configure the UE 102 with a first beam and a second beam. The base station 104 may associate the first beam with the first FFP configuration and the second beam with the second FFP configuration, and may transmit information indicating the first beam, the first FFP configuration, the association between the first beam and the first FFP configuration, the second beam, the second FFP configuration, and the association between the second beam and the second FFP configuration to the UE 102. Because the beams may have different traffic loads, a different FFP configuration may be necessary for each beam (prov [0091]).
[0093] In some implementations, the first and second beams are associated with first and second Synchronization Signal Blocks (SSBs), respectively. In other implementations, the first and second beams are associated with first and second Channel State Information Reference Signals (CSI-RSs), respectively. If the UE 102 changes from the first beam to the second beam, the UE 102 uses the second FFP configuration to determine the start of the next fixed frame. Likewise, if the UE 102 changes from the second beam to the first beam, the UE 102 uses the first FFP configuration to determine the start of the next fixed frame (prov [0092]).); and
perform communication activity with the UE during the initiated FFP using a beam corresponding to the initiated FFP, the communication activity comprising a transmission, a reception, or a combination thereof (Ye [0054] The COT configuration module 134 may transmit different FFP configurations to the UE 102 for different physical or logical parameters, which may include physical or logical resources, such as configured grants, beams, ... Then the UE 102 may transmit data packets to the base station 104 in accordance with an FFP configuration for a corresponding physical or logical parameter (prov [0053].).
[0081] the UE 102 transmits 1214 data using the particular physical or logical parameter in the fixed frame (prov [0080]).
Note: a corresponding physical or logical parameter is a beam.).
Regarding claim 2, Ye teaches The UE of claim 1.
Ye teaches wherein the plurality of configured FFPs at least partially overlap in time (Ye [0124] a
fixed frame indicated by the second FFP configuration for the second respective physical or logical parameter that overlaps (in time) with a fixed frame indicated by the first FFP configuration for the first respective physical of logical parameter (prov [00123]).).
Claim 16 recites similar limitations of claim 2, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 7, Ye teaches The UE of claim 1.
Ye teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to receive a
semi-static association between a respective FFP and at least one respective beam (Ye [0092] the base station 104 may configure the UE 102 with a first beam and a second beam. The base station 104 may associate the first beam with the first FFP configuration and the second beam with the second FFP configuration, and may transmit information indicating the first beam, the first FFP configuration, the association between the first beam and the first FFP configuration, the second beam, the second FFP configuration, and the association between the second beam and the second FFP configuration to the UE 102 (prov [0091]).
[0078] The base station 104 transmits 1204 the FFP configurations for respective physical or logical parameters to the UE 102. For example, the base station 104 may transmit the information in a dedicated message such as RRC Recofiguration (prov [0077]).).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of US 20240008072 A1 (hereinafter Abreu) (priority document us-provisional-application US 63104287 20201022 (hereinafter prov4287)).
Regarding claim 3, Ye teaches The UE of claim 1.
Although Ye teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to
transmit using a beam that is not associated with the initiated FFP (Ye [0054] The COT configuration module 134 may transmit different FFP configurations to the UE 102 for different physical or logical parameters, which may include physical or logical resources, such as configured grants, beams, ... Then the UE 102 may transmit data packets to the base station 104 in accordance with an FFP configuration for a corresponding physical or logical parameter (prov [0053]).
[0077] the base station 104 may configure the UE 102 with a first FFP configuration for a first beam and a second FFP configuration for a second beam (prov [0076]).
Note: a corresponding physical or logical parameter is a beam. The first FFP is the initiated FFP. The UE transmits with the second FFP configuration using the second beam.), Ye does not explicitly teach transmit in the idle period of the initiated FFP.
Abreu in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches transmit in the idle period of the initiated FFP (Abreu [0117] In case (A) illustrated in FIG. 6, which basically corresponds to case (A) of FIG. 5, the gNB determines that it does not intend to communicate in the subsequent gNB FFP, namely that it does not intend to initiate/acquire the subsequent COT (i.e. the COT in the subsequent gNB FFP). Hence, the gNB provides/transmits the clearance indication (CI), which is illustrated by a black box. For monitoring for presence of the clearance indication (CI), the UE may need to stop transmitting (which is illustrated by way of a white/empty box) at the time which is configured as the (potential) clearance indication provision/transmission time according to a corresponding configuration by the gNB, as described above. In this configured monitoring time, the UE monitors/detects (presence of) the clearance indication (CI). Hence, the UE knows that the gNB does not intend to communicate in the subsequent gNB FFP and does not require the gNB idle period. Accordingly, the UE resumes its transmission right after (i.e. as soon as possible, see above) the monitoring period or occasion. As compared with case (A) of FIG. 5, the UE does not loose/miss its TTIs falling in or overlapping the gNB idle period (prov4287 page 21).
Note: as shown in the Fig. 6A, gNB FFP is the initiated FFP, the UE transmits in the idle period of gNB FFP.).
By modifying Yes’s teachings of wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause
the UE to transmit using a beam that is not associated with the initiated FFP
with Abreu’s teachings of transmit in the idle period of the initiated FFP,
the modification results in wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to transmit in an idle period of the initiated FFP using a beam that is not associated with the initiated FFP.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ye with Abreu’s above teachings. The motivation is enabling/realizing support for idle period communication (Abreu [0001] (prov4287 page 1)).
Claim 17 recites similar limitations of claim 3, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Claim(s) 4-5, 9-12, 15 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye as applied to claims 1, 13 and 14 above, and further in view of US 20240107579 A1 (hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 4, Ye teaches The UE of claim 1.
Although Ye teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE
to: perform a first clear channel assessment (CCA) on a respective channel for a FFP; and perform the communication activity in response to determining that the respective channel is clear based on the first CCA (Ye [0006] the UE may perform a clear channel assessment (CCA) via an LBT procedure (prov [0005]).
[0079] For a particular physical or logical parameter, the UE 102 performs 1206 an LBT procedure with the base station 104 at or prior to the beginning of a fixed frame for the particular physical or logical parameter according to the corresponding FFP configuration from the base station 104 (prov [0078]).
[0081] If the LBT procedure is successful 1212, the UE 102 transmits 1214 data using the particular physical or logical parameter in the fixed frame (prov [0080]).), Ye does not explicitly teach wherein the configuration for the plurality of FFPs configures a common FFP, and a FFP is a common FFP.
Yang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the configuration for the plurality of FFPs configures a common FFP, and a FFP is a common FFP (Yang [0087] Some aspects described herein relate to techniques and apparatuses for configuring a transmission pattern that includes one or more idle periods for a UE and/or multiple TRPs that are communicating in an FBE mode (e.g., using an FFP structure with a channel occupancy time followed by an idle period). For example, in some aspects, the multiple TRPs may be configured with a common FFP structure (e.g., the same period and offset) such that the idle periods of the multiple TRPs are aligned in time.).
By modifying Ye’s teachings of wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: perform a first clear channel assessment (CCA) on a respective channel for a FFP; and perform the communication activity in response to determining that the respective channel is clear based on the first CCA
with Yang’s teachings of wherein the configuration for the plurality of FFPs configures a common FFP, and a FFP is a common FFP,
the modification results in wherein the configuration for the plurality of FFPs configures a common FFP, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: perform a first clear channel assessment (CCA) on a respective channel for the common FFP; and perform the communication activity in response to determining that the respective channel is clear based on the first CCA.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ye with Yang’s above teachings. The motivation is improving access, efficiency, and/or latency for an unlicensed channel (Yang [0079]).
Regarding claim 5, Ye in view of Yang teaches The UE of claim 4.
Ye teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to perform
an additional CCA for a respective beam corresponding to at least one of the plurality of FFPs in response to determining that the respective channel is not clear based on the first CCA (Ye [0006] the UE may perform a clear channel assessment (CCA) via an LBT procedure (prov [0005]).
[0080] If the LBT procedure fails 1208, the UE 102 waits 1210 until the end of the fixed frame and does not transmit data using the particular physical or logical parameter during the fixed frame. Then, after the end of the fixed frame, the UE 102 may again perform 1206 the LBT procedure (prov [0079]).).
Claims 18 and 19 recite similar limitations of claims 4 and 15 respectively, are thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 9, Ye teaches The UE of claim 1.
Although Ye teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to
receive, by the UE, an association between a respective FFP and a respective beam for transmission by the UE (Ye [0092] the base station 104 may configure the UE 102 with a first beam and a second beam. The base station 104 may associate the first beam with the first FFP configuration and the second beam with the second FFP configuration, and may transmit information indicating the first beam, the first FFP configuration, the association between the first beam and the first FFP configuration, the second beam, the second FFP configuration, and the association between the second beam and the second FFP configuration to the UE 102 (prov [0091]).
[0054] The COT configuration module 134 may transmit different FFP configurations to the UE 102 for different physical or logical parameters, which may include beams, ... Then the UE 102 may transmit data packets to the base station 104 in accordance with an FFP configuration for a corresponding physical or logical parameter (prov [0053]). ), Ye does not explicitly teach the UE is a responding device, the base station is an initiating device, the UE is configured to share a respective FFP initiated by the base station.
Yang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches teach the UE is a responding device, the
base station is an initiating device, the UE is configured to share a respective FFP initiated by the base station (Yang [0076] FIG. 5A depicts an example FFP 510 that a base station may use to communicate in unlicensed spectrum. As shown in FIG. 5A, the FFP 510 may include a channel occupancy time (COT) 512 during which the base station may transmit one or more downlink communications. In some cases, as described below with reference to FIG. 5B, the base station may share the channel occupancy time 512 with a UE, which may enable the UE to transmit one or more uplink communications during the channel occupancy time 512 that is initiated by the base station and shared with the UE.).
By modifying Ye’s teachings of wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to receive, by the UE, an association between a respective FFP and a respective beam for transmission by the UE
with Yang’s teachings of the UE is a responding device, the base station is an initiating device, the UE is configured to share a respective FFP initiated by the base station,
the modification results in wherein the UE is a responding device configured to share a respective FFP initiated by an initiating device, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to receive, by the responding device, an association between the respective FFP and a respective beam for transmission by the responding device.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ye with Yang’s above teachings. The motivation is improving access, efficiency, and/or latency for an unlicensed channel (Yang [0079]).
Regarding claim 10, Ye in view of Yang teaches The UE of claim 9.
Although Ye teaches wherein, to receive the association between the respective FFP and the
respective beam for transmission by the UE, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a semi-static configuration that indicates a respective association between a set of beams that can be used for transmission by the UE and the respective FFP (Ye [0092] the base station 104 may configure the UE 102 with a first beam and a second beam. The base station 104 may associate the first beam with the first FFP configuration and the second beam with the second FFP configuration, and may transmit information indicating the first beam, the first FFP configuration, the association between the first beam and the first FFP configuration, the second beam, the second FFP configuration, and the association between the second beam and the second FFP configuration to the UE 102 (prov [0091]).
[0054] The COT configuration module 134 may transmit different FFP configurations to the UE 102 for different physical or logical parameters, which may include beams, ... Then the UE 102 may transmit data packets to the base station 104 in accordance with an FFP configuration for a corresponding physical or logical parameter (prov [0053]).
[0078] The base station 104 transmits 1204 the FFP configurations for respective physical or logical parameters to the UE 102. For example, the base station 104 may transmit the information in a dedicated message such as RRC Recofiguration (prov [0077]).), Ye does not explicitly teach the UE is a responding device, the base station is an initiating device, the respective FFP is initiated by the base station.
Yang teaches the UE is a responding device, the base station is an initiating device, the respective FFP is initiated by the base station (Yang [0076] FIG. 5A depicts an example FFP 510 that a base station may use to communicate in unlicensed spectrum. As shown in FIG. 5A, the FFP 510 may include a channel occupancy time (COT) 512 during which the base station may transmit one or more downlink communications. In some cases, as described below with reference to FIG. 5B, the base station may share the channel occupancy time 512 with a UE, which may enable the UE to transmit one or more uplink communications during the channel occupancy time 512 that is initiated by the base station and shared with the UE.).
By modifying Ye’s teachings of wherein, to receive the association between the respective FFP and the respective beam for transmission by the UE, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a semi-static configuration that indicates a respective association between a set of beams that can be used for transmission by the UE and the respective FFP
with Yang’s teachings of the UE is a responding device, the base station is an initiating device, the respective FFP is initiated by the base station,
the modification results in wherein, to receive the association between the respective FFP and the respective beam for transmission by the responding device, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a semi-static configuration that indicates a respective association between a set of beams that can be used for transmission by the responding device and the respective FFP of the initiating device.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ye with Yang’s above teachings. The motivation is improving access, efficiency, and/or latency for an unlicensed channel (Yang [0079]).
Regarding claim 11, Ye in view of Yang teaches The UE of claim 9.
Although Ye teaches wherein, to receive the association between the respective FFP and the
respective beam for transmission by the UE, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive dynamic signaling that indicates a respective association between a set of beams that can be used for transmission by the UE and the respective FFP (Ye [0092] the base station 104 may configure the UE 102 with a first beam and a second beam. The base station 104 may associate the first beam with the first FFP configuration and the second beam with the second FFP configuration, and may transmit information indicating the first beam, the first FFP configuration, the association between the first beam and the first FFP configuration, the second beam, the second FFP configuration, and the association between the second beam and the second FFP configuration to the UE 102 (prov [0091]).
[0054] The COT configuration module 134 may transmit different FFP configurations to the UE 102 for different physical or logical parameters, which may include beams, ... Then the UE 102 may transmit data packets to the base station 104 in accordance with an FFP configuration for a corresponding physical or logical parameter (prov [0053]).
[0098] To change the FFP configuration for a particular physical or logical parameter, the base station 104 may transmit information to the UE 102 indicating the change in the FFP configuration for a respective physical or logical parameter. the base station 104 may transmit a DCI that indicates a new FFP configuration (prov [0097]).), Ye does not explicitly teach the UE is a responding device, the base station is an initiating device, the respective FFP is initiated by the base station.
Yang teaches the UE is a responding device, the base station is an initiating device, the respective FFP is initiated by the base station (Yang [0076] FIG. 5A depicts an example FFP 510 that a base station may use to communicate in unlicensed spectrum. As shown in FIG. 5A, the FFP 510 may include a channel occupancy time (COT) 512 during which the base station may transmit one or more downlink communications. In some cases, as described below with reference to FIG. 5B, the base station may share the channel occupancy time 512 with a UE, which may enable the UE to transmit one or more uplink communications during the channel occupancy time 512 that is initiated by the base station and shared with the UE.).
By modifying Ye’s teachings of wherein, to receive the association between the respective FFP
and the respective beam for transmission by the UE, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive dynamic signaling that indicates a respective association between a set of beams that can be used for transmission by the UE and the respective FFP
with Yang’s teachings of the UE is a responding device, the base station is an initiating device, the respective FFP is initiated by the base station,
the modification results in wherein, to receive the association between the respective FFP and the respective beam for transmission by the responding device, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive dynamic signaling that indicates a respective association between a set of beams that can be used for transmission by the responding device and the respective FFP of the initiating device.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ye with Yang’s above teachings. The motivation is improving access, efficiency, and/or latency for an unlicensed channel (Yang [0079]).
Regarding claim 12, Ye in view of Yang teaches The UE of claim 9.
Although Ye teaches wherein the communication activity comprises a scheduled transmission associated with a particular beam, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to initiate a second FFP associated with the particular beam in response to determining that the respective FFP initiated is not associated with the particular beam (Ye [0092] the base station 104 may configure the UE 102 with a first beam and a second beam. The base station 104 may associate the first beam with the first FFP configuration and the second beam with the second FFP configuration, and may transmit information indicating the first beam, the first FFP configuration, the association between the first beam and the first FFP configuration, the second beam, the second FFP configuration, and the association between the second beam and the second FFP configuration to the UE 102 (prov [0091]).
[0093] If the UE 102 changes from the first beam to the second beam, the UE 102 uses the second FFP configuration to determine the start of the next fixed frame. Likewise, if the UE 102 changes from the second beam to the first beam, the UE 102 uses the first FFP configuration to determine the start of the next fixed frame (prov [0092]).
Note: the first FFP is the respective FFP. The second beam is the particular beam.), Ye does not explicitly teach the base station is an initiating device, the respective FFP is initiated by the base station.
Yang teaches the base station is an initiating device, the respective FFP is initiated by the base station (Yang [0076] FIG. 5A depicts an example FFP 510 that a base station may use to communicate in unlicensed spectrum. As shown in FIG. 5A, the FFP 510 may include a channel occupancy time (COT) 512 during which the base station may transmit one or more downlink communications. In some cases, as described below with reference to FIG. 5B, the base station may share the channel occupancy time 512 with a UE, which may enable the UE to transmit one or more uplink communications during the channel occupancy time 512 that is initiated by the base station and shared with the UE.).
By modifying Ye’s teachings of wherein the communication activity comprises a scheduled transmission associated with a particular beam, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to initiate a second FFP associated with the particular beam in response to determining that the respective FFP initiated is not associated with the particular beam
with Yang’s teachings of the base station is an initiating device, the respective FFP is initiated by the base station,
the modification results in wherein the communication activity comprises a scheduled transmission associated with a particular beam, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to initiate a second FFP associated with the particular beam in response to determining that the respective FFP initiated by the initiating device is not associated with the particular beam.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ye with Yang’s above teachings. The motivation is improving access, efficiency, and/or latency for an unlicensed channel (Yang [0079]).
Regarding claim 15, Ye teaches The base station of claim 14.
Although Ye teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the base
station to transmit, to the UE, an association between a respective FFP and a respective beam for transmission by the UE (Ye [0092] the base station 104 may configure the UE 102 with a first beam and a second beam. The base station 104 may associate the first beam with the first FFP configuration and the second beam with the second FFP configuration, and may transmit information indicating the first beam, the first FFP configuration, the association between the first beam and the first FFP configuration, the second beam, the second FFP configuration, and the association between the second beam and the second FFP configuration to the UE 102 (prov [0091]).
[0054] The COT configuration module 134 may transmit different FFP configurations to the UE 102 for different physical or logical parameters, which may include beams, ... Then the UE 102 may transmit data packets to the base station 104 in accordance with an FFP configuration for a corresponding physical or logical parameter (prov [0053]).), Ye does not explicitly teach the base station is an initiating device configured to share a respective FFP with the UE.
Yang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the base station is an initiating device configured to share a respective FFP with the UE (Yang [0076] FIG. 5A depicts an example FFP 510 that a base station may use to communicate in unlicensed spectrum. As shown in FIG. 5A, the FFP 510 may include a channel occupancy time (COT) 512 during which the base station may transmit one or more downlink communications. In some cases, as described below with reference to FIG. 5B, the base station may share the channel occupancy time 512 with a UE, which may enable the UE to transmit one or more uplink communications during the channel occupancy time 512 that is initiated by the base station and shared with the UE.).
By modifying Ye’s teachings of wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the base station to transmit, to the UE, an association between a respective FFP and a respective beam for transmission by the UE
with Yang’s teachings of the base station is an initiating device configured to share a respective FFP with the UE,
the modification results in wherein the base station is an initiating device configured to share a respective FFP with the UE, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the base station to transmit, to the UE, an association between the respective FFP and a respective beam for transmission by the UE.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ye with Yang’s above teachings. The motivation is improving access, efficiency, and/or latency for an unlicensed channel (Yang [0079]).
Claim(s) 6 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of US 20230354275 A1 (hereinafter Moon).
Regarding claim 6, Ye teaches The UE of claim 1.
Although Ye teaches wherein the configuration for the plurality of FFPs configures at least two
FFPs corresponding to the two separate beams and at least two transmissions on two separate beams (Ye [0077] the base station 104 may configure the UE 102 with a first FFP configuration for a first beam and a second FFP configuration for a second beam (prov [0076].
[0054] The COT configuration module 134 may transmit different FFP configurations to the UE 102 for different physical or logical parameters, which may include beams, ... Then the UE 102 may transmit data packets to the base station 104 in accordance with an FFP configuration for a corresponding physical or logical parameter (prov [0053]).), Ye does not explicitly teach initiate at least two FFPs simultaneously and perform at least two transmissions simultaneously.
Moon in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches initiate at least two FFPs simultaneously and perform at least two transmissions simultaneously (Moon [0232] a terminal may receive configuration information of both a downlink FFP(s) and an uplink FFP(s) for channel(s) from a base station. That is, both a downlink FFP and an uplink FFP for channel(s) may be configured to the terminal. A channel access and transmission operation by the downlink FFP may be performed simultaneously with a channel access and transmission operation by the uplink FFP.).
By modifying Ye’s teachings of wherein the configuration for the plurality of FFPs configures at
least two FFPs corresponding to the two separate beams and at least two transmissions on two separate beams
with Moon’s teachings of initiate at least two FFPs simultaneously and perform at least two transmissions simultaneously,
the modification results in wherein the configuration for the plurality of FFPs configures at least two simultaneous transmissions on two separate beams, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to initiate at least two FFPs simultaneously corresponding to the two separate beams.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ye with Moon’s above teachings. The motivation is improving a channel access method and a transmission method to effectively support (e.g., URLLC) in unlicensed band communication (Moon [0003]).
Claim 20 recites similar limitations of claim 6, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20230300881 A1 (hereinafter Myung).
Regarding claim 8, Ye teaches The UE of claim 1.
Ye does not explicitly teach wherein the configuration for the plurality of FFPs indicates that a
respective FFP can be associated with a plurality of beams, wherein the respective FFP can be initiated and used for transmission on any of beam from the plurality of beams.
Myung in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the configuration for the plurality of FFPs indicates that a respective FFP can be associated with a plurality of beams, wherein the respective FFP can be initiated and used for transmission on any of beam from the plurality of beams (Myung [0386] Each FFP may be associated with a specific beam group. Within the COT of the FFP, DL/UL signals may be transmitted on time-division multiplexed (TDMed) beams in a predetermined order.
[0395] According to Embodiment #4-2, an FFP may be linked with a specific beam group. For example, when FFP #3 is associated with beam A and beam B, only if the UE or BS successfully performs LBT per beam group (LBT not based on random backoff such as Cat-1 LBT or Cat-2 LBT) in the direction of beam A and beam B within the idle period of FFP #2 located immediately before FFP #3), the UE or BS may be allowed to perform DL and UL transmission/reception and COT sharing associated with each beam direction by applying time division multiplexing (TDM) of the COT of FFP #3 to a transmission period in the direction of beam A and a transmission period in the direction of beam B.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ye with Myung’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing the possibility of collision between signals due to the COT sharing (Myung [0020]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418