DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagalla (US 10,354,126) in view of PARK et al (2022/0303455) (herein “PARK”). In regards to claims 1, 7 and 8, Nagalla teaches an electronic device comprising: a sensor including a first detection unit, wherein the first detection unit is configured to detect at least a part of a user body (See; Fig. 1 for imaging sensor 122 and Fig. 2 202 for detecting the presence of a user and step 204 where an image of the user’s face is captured. See; Column 15, lines 42-53. Where the detection of the user or the users face can be considered “at least a part of a user body”); and a processor including an activation processing unit, wherein the activation processing unit is configured to execute an activation processing (See; Column 15, lines 52-53 where the authentication process is activated in response to the presence of a user at the terminal) and the execution of the activation processing operation is based on the detection of at least the part of the user body (See; Column 15, lines 42-53 where a processor initiates an authentication process 200 in response to detecting the user). Nagalla fails to explicitly teach the activation processing unit is configured to execute an activation processing operation to activate the processor. However Park teaches an electronic device comprising: a sensor including a first detection unit, wherein the first detection unit is configured to detect at least a part of a user body; and a processor including an activation processing unit, wherein the activation processing unit is configured to execute an activation processing operation to activate the processor and the execution of the activation processing operation is based on the detection of at least the part of the user body (See; p[0098] where the face of the user is detected by the image sensor 400 as a user approached the terminal, where the image sensor triggers a signal to wake up the application processor in response to detecting the face of the user). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Nagalla to wake the processor in response to detecting the part of the user body for saving power when the terminal is not in use.
In regards to claim 2, Nagalla teaches wherein the sensor is configured to capture a first image,the processor further includes a recognition unit and the recognition unit is configured to recognize a user gesture based on the captured first image and the detection of at least the part of the user body (See; Fig. 2 , 210 and Column 16, lines 65-67 and Column 17, lines 34-50 where a dynamic facial gesture of the user is captured after the user has been detected in step 202). PARK also teaches in p[0098].
In regards to claim 3, Nagalla teaches wherein the sensor further includes a second detection unit, the second detection unit is configured to detect a user motion, and the first detection unit if further configured to detect at least the part of the user body based on the detection of the user motion (See; Column 15, lines 42-53 where the detected motion of the user could be detecting a person moving within a field of view of the imaging sensor, after the presence / motion is detected the face is imaged). PARK also teaches in p[0098].
In regards to claim 6, Nagalla teaches wherein the electronic device is a user terminal (See; Fig. 1 and Column 7, lines 1-22 where the authentication system may be included in a user terminal).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagalla (US 10,354,126) in view of PARK et al (2022/0303455) (herein “PARK”) and further in view of Liu et al (2021/0250554) (herein “Liu”). In regards to claim 4, Nagalla fails to explicitly teach wherein the sensor is further configured to generate a second image based on the captured first image, a resolution of the generated second image is less than a resolution of the captured first image, and the sensor is further configured to detect at least the part of the user body in the generated second image. However, Liu teaches wherein the sensor is further configured to generate a second image based on the captured first image, a resolution of the generated second image is less than a resolution of the captured first image, and the sensor is further configured to detect at least the part of the user body in the generated second image(See; Fig. 1 and p[0037] for a vehicle control system which authenticates a user using a first camera taking a low resolution image of an approaching user and a second camera for taking a higher resolution image for authentication of the user). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to only use the needed image definition for each specific capture process so as to reduce total power consumption of the cameras / sensors.
In regards to claim 5, Liu teaches wherein the sensor is further configured to generate a third image based on the captured first image, a resolution of the generated third image is less than the resolution of the captured second image, and the sensor is further configured to detect the user in the generated third image (See; p[0037] for a vehicle control system which authenticates a user using a first camera taking a low resolution image of an approaching user and a second camera for taking a higher resolution image for authentication of the user. Where it would be obvious in light of Liu’s power savings that detecting motion of a user would only require a minimal image definition and would be less than the images needed for authentication). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to only use the needed image definition for each specific capture process so as to reduce total power consumption of the cameras / sensors.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN A BOYD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627