Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/30/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the UE" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner interprets “the UE” as “a UE” for the examination purpose and recommends the correction accordingly. Claims 2 and 4-6 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the UE" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner interprets “the UE” as “a UE” for the examination purpose and recommends the correction accordingly. Claims 8-10 and 12-14 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 7.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the UE" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner interprets “the UE” as “a UE” for the examination purpose and recommends the correction accordingly. Claims 16-21 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 15.
Claim 20 recites the limitation " the CU-to-DU message" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner interprets “The DU of claim 15” as “The DU of claim 19” for the examination purpose and recommends the correction accordingly.
Claim 21 recites the limitation " the CU-to-DU message" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner interprets “The DU of claim 15” as “The DU of claim 19” for the examination purpose and recommends the correction accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by “5G;
NG-RAN; F1 Application Protocol (F1AP)”, 3GPP TS 38.473 version 16.5.0 (2021-04) (hereinafter 38.473).
Regarding claim 1, 38.473 teaches A method implemented in a central unit (CU) of a distributed base station, the distributed base station including the CU and a distributed unit (DU), the method comprising (38.473 page 39, gNB-CU and gNB-DU in Figure 8.3.1.2-1: UE Context Setup Request procedure.):
generating, by the CU, a CU-to-DU message, related to control of data communication with the
UE, the generating including (38.473 page 39, The purpose of the UE Context Setup procedure is to establish the UE Context including, among others, SRB, DRB, BHRLC channel, and SL DRB configuration. The procedure uses UE-associated signalling. The gNB-CU initiates the procedure by sending UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message to the gNB-DU.):
when the data communication with the UE requires the DU to perform a radio function which
includes one of (i) a discontinuous reception operation, (ii) a measurement gap operation, or (iii) a reference signal transmission, including an indication in the CU-to-DU message to enable the radio function (38.473 page 105-106, 9.2.2.1 UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST
This message is sent by the gNB-CU to request the setup of a UE context.
Direction: gNB-CU → gNB-DU.
UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST contains optional information element DRX Cycle.
Page 179, 9.3.1.24 DRX Cycle
The DRX Cycle IE is to indicate the desired DRX cycle.
DRX Cycle IE contains Long DRX Cycle Length, Short DRX Cycle length and Short DRX Cycle
Timer.
page 40, If the DRX Cycle IE is contained in the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message, the
gNB-DU shall use the provided value from the gNB-CU.), and
when the data communication with the UE does not require the DU to perform the radio function, excluding the indication from the CU-to-DU message (38.473 page 105-106, 9.2.2.1 UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST
This message is sent by the gNB-CU to request the setup of a UE context.
Direction: gNB-CU → gNB-DU.
UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST contains optional information element DRX Cycle.
Page 179, 9.3.1.24 DRX Cycle
The DRX Cycle IE is to indicate the desired DRX cycle.
DRX Cycle IE contains Long DRX Cycle Length, Short DRX Cycle length and Short DRX Cycle
Timer.
page 40, If the DRX Cycle IE is contained in the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message, the
gNB-DU shall use the provided value from the gNB-CU.
Note: Since DRX Cycle IE is optional, UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST also supports excluding DRX Cycle. i.e. the gNB-DU does not apply DRX. ); and
when the data communication with the UE does not require the DU to perform the radio
function, excluding the indication from the CU-to-DU message (Another rejection: given non-patentable weight since this method claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. See MPEP 2111.04(II) for more information); and
transmitting, from the CU to the DU, the CU-to-DU message (38.473 page 39, Figure 8.3.1.2-1; The gNB-CU initiates the procedure by sending UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message to the gNB-DU.).
Regarding claim 4, 38.473 teaches The method of claim 1.
38.473 teaches wherein transmitting the CU-to-DU message includes: transmitting a request to set up a context of the UE (38.473 page 39, Figure 8.3.1.2-1; The purpose of the UE Context Setup procedure is to establish the UE Context including, among others, SRB, DRB, BHRLC channel, and SL DRB configuration. The procedure uses UE-associated signalling. The gNB-CU initiates the procedure by sending UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message to the gNB-DU.).
Regarding claim 5, 38.473 teaches The method of claim 1.
38.473 teaches wherein the indication includes a configuration for the radio function (38.473 page 105-106, 9.2.2.1 UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST
This message is sent by the gNB-CU to request the setup of a UE context.
Direction: gNB-CU → gNB-DU.
UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST contains optional information element DRX Cycle.
Page 179, 9.3.1.24 DRX Cycle
The DRX Cycle IE is to indicate the desired DRX cycle.
DRX Cycle IE contains Long DRX Cycle Length, Short DRX Cycle length and Short DRX Cycle
Timer.
Note: DRX Cycle IE contains configuration for the DRX.).
Regarding claim 6, 38.473 teaches The method of claim 5.
38.473 teaches wherein the configuration is an information element formatted in accordance with a protocol for controlling radio resources (38.473 page 105-106, 9.2.2.1 UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST
This message is sent by the gNB-CU to request the setup of a UE context.
Direction: gNB-CU → gNB-DU.
UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST contains optional information element DRX Cycle.
Page 179, 9.3.1.24 DRX Cycle
The DRX Cycle IE is to indicate the desired DRX cycle.
DRX Cycle IE contains Long DRX Cycle Length, Short DRX Cycle length and Short DRX Cycle
Timer.
Note: DRX Cycle IE contains configuration for the DRX. DRX Cycle IE is formatted per F1 application protocol.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 38.473 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20220086944 A1 (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 2, 38.473 teaches The method of claim 1.
Although 38.473 teaches further comprising: determining that the data communication requires
the DU to perform the radio function when the data communication is a data communication started when the UE is in RRC connected state (i.e. normal data communication) (38.473 page 39, The purpose of the UE Context Setup procedure is to establish the UE Context including, among others, SRB, DRB, BHRLC channel, and SL DRB configuration. The procedure uses UE-associated signalling. The gNB-CU initiates the procedure by sending UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message to the gNB-DU.
page 105-106, 9.2.2.1 UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST
This message is sent by the gNB-CU to request the setup of a UE context.
Direction: gNB-CU → gNB-DU.
UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST contains optional information element DRX Cycle.
Page 179, 9.3.1.24 DRX Cycle
The DRX Cycle IE is to indicate the desired DRX cycle.
DRX Cycle IE contains Long DRX Cycle Length, Short DRX Cycle length and Short DRX Cycle
Timer.
page 40, If the DRX Cycle IE is contained in the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message, the
gNB-DU shall use the provided value from the gNB-CU.), 38.473 does not explicitly teach the data communication started when the UE is in RRC connected state is not early data communication.
Kim in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the early data communication is a data communication started before the UE entering RRC connected state (Kim [0004] With the introduction of the new RRC state (i.e., RRC-INACTIVE state) in NR, the UE may incur minimum signaling, minimize power consumption, minimize resource costs in the network. In order to support this concept in NR, the UE may also be able to transmit the data without state transition from the RRC-INACTIVE to the RRC-CONNECTED. Early data transmission (EDT) refers to the operation of transmitting data before the RRC connection setup is completed, if the size of the data to be transmitted is small. In other words, according to the EDT, data transmission is allowed even when the UE is not in the RRC connection state.).
Since the data communication started when the UE is in RRC connected state is not the same as a data communication started before the UE entering RRC connected state, therefore 38.473 in combination with Kim teaches the data communication started when the UE is in RRC connected state is not early data communication.
By modifying 38.473’s teachings of further comprising: determining that the data communication requires the DU to perform the radio function when the data communication is a data communication started when the UE is in RRC connected state (i.e. normal data communication) with Kim’s teachings of the early data communication is a data communication started before the UE entering RRC connected state, the modification results in further comprising: determining that the data communication requires the DU to perform the radio function when the data communication is not early data communication.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified 38.473 with Kim’s above teachings. The motivation is improving the UE's experience (Kim [0008]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Kim prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (38.473 prior art) based on design incentives (improving the UE's experience) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 7, 10 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 38.473 in view of US 20230397286 A1 (hereinafter Dai).
Regarding claim 7, 38.473 teaches A method implemented in a distributed unit (DU) of a
distributed base station, the distributed base station including the DU and a central unit (CU), the method comprising (38.473 page 39, gNB-CU and gNB-DU in Figure 8.3.1.2-1: UE Context Setup Request procedure):
when the UE is operating in the inactive state, refraining from enabling a radio function at the DU, the radio function including one of (i) a discontinuous reception operation, (ii) a measurement gap operation, or (iii) a reference signal transmission (given non-patentable weight since this method claim
having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include
steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. See
MPEP 2111.04(II) for more information.); and
when the UE is not operating in the inactive state, enabling the radio function at the DU (38.473 page 39, Figure 8.3.1.2-1; The purpose of the UE Context Setup procedure is to establish the UE Context including, among others, SRB, DRB, BHRLC channel, and SL DRB configuration. The procedure uses UE-associated signalling. The gNB-CU initiates the procedure by sending UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message to the gNB-DU.
page 105-106, 9.2.2.1 UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST
This message is sent by the gNB-CU to request the setup of a UE context.
Direction: gNB-CU → gNB-DU.
UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST contains optional information element DRX Cycle.
Page 179, 9.3.1.24 DRX Cycle
The DRX Cycle IE is to indicate the desired DRX cycle.
DRX Cycle IE contains Long DRX Cycle Length, Short DRX Cycle length and Short DRX Cycle
Timer.
page 40, If the DRX Cycle IE is contained in the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message, the
gNB-DU shall use the provided value from the gNB-CU.
Note: DRX Cycle IE contains configuration for the DRX. Using DRX Cycle at the DU is enabling DRX radio function.).
38.473 does not explicitly teach determining, by the DU, whether the UE is operating in an inactive state associated with a protocol for controlling radio resources.
Dai in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches determining, by the DU, whether the UE is operating in an inactive state associated with a protocol for controlling radio resources (Dai [0062] As shown in FIG. 3 in combination with FIG. 2, in the operation 210, the gNB-CU 330 determines the UE 310 to enter into RRC inactive state but keep (i.e., not release) the UE context in the gNB-DU 320 at least for SDT; in the operation 220, the gNB-CU 330 sends a UE context suspension indication 340 and a UE ID of SDT 350 to the gNB-DU 320; in the operation 230, when the gNB-DU 320 receives the UE context suspension indication 340, the gNB-DU 320 stores the UE ID of SDT 350 and keep the UE contexts of the UE 310 at least for SDT; and in the operation 240, at the same time, the gNB-DU 320 treats the UE 310 as in the RRC_INACTIVE state, and forwards an RRC release message 360 to the UE 310.
[0063] The UE context suspension indication 340 is to indicate the gNB-DU 320 to keep the UE context of the UE 310 at least for SDT when UE 310 goes to the RRC_INACTIVE state; and the UE ID of SDT 350 which is used in a Uu interface is used for identifying the UE context of SDT for the UE 310.
[0064] In some embodiments, the gNB-CU 330 may send the message at least including the UE context suspension indication 340 and the UE ID of SDT 350 to at least one gNB-DU. The at least one gNB-DU may include the gNB-DU 320 and other gNB-DUs that are not shown in FIG. 3. Each of the at least one gNB-DU, when receiving the message, may store the UE ID of SDT 350, keep the UE context of SDT for the UE 310 at least for SDT, and treat the UE 310 as in the RRC_INACTIVE state.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified 38.473 to incorporate the teachings of Dai to determine whether the UE is operating in an inactive state, in order to reduce power consumption and signaling overhead (Dai [0002]).
Regarding claim 10, 38.473 in view of Dai (hereinafter combination) teaches The method of
claim 7.
38.473 teaches wherein enabling the radio function includes applying a configuration for the radio function at the DU (38.473 page 105-106, 9.2.2.1 UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST
This message is sent by the gNB-CU to request the setup of a UE context.
Direction: gNB-CU → gNB-DU.
UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST contains optional information element (IE) DRX Cycle.
Page 179, 9.3.1.24 DRX Cycle
The DRX Cycle IE is to indicate the desired DRX cycle.
DRX Cycle IE contains Long DRX Cycle Length, Short DRX Cycle length and Short DRX Cycle
Timer.
page 40, If the DRX Cycle IE is contained in the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message, the
gNB-DU shall use the provided value from the gNB-CU.
Note: DRX Cycle IE contains configuration for the DRX. Using DRX Cycle at the DU is applying a configuration for the radio function (DRX).).
Regarding claim 12, the combination teaches The method of claim 7.
38.473 teaches further comprising: receiving, from the CU, a CU-to-DU message related to
control of data communication with the UE; wherein the enabling or the refraining from enabling the radio function is in response to receiving the CU-to-DU message (38.473 page 39, Figure 8.3.1.2-1; The purpose of the UE Context Setup procedure is to establish the UE Context including, among others, SRB, DRB, BHRLC channel, and SL DRB configuration. The procedure uses UE-associated signalling. The gNB-CU initiates the procedure by sending UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message to the gNB-DU.
page 105-106, 9.2.2.1 UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST
This message is sent by the gNB-CU to request the setup of a UE context.
Direction: gNB-CU → gNB-DU.
UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST contains optional information element DRX Cycle.
Page 179, 9.3.1.24 DRX Cycle
The DRX Cycle IE is to indicate the desired DRX cycle.
DRX Cycle IE contains Long DRX Cycle Length, Short DRX Cycle length and Short DRX Cycle
Timer.
page 40, If the DRX Cycle IE is contained in the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message, the
gNB-DU shall use the provided value from the gNB-CU.
Note: DRX Cycle IE contains configuration for the DRX. Using DRX Cycle at the DU is enabling DRX radio function.).
Regarding claim 13, the combination teaches The method of claim 12.
38.473 teaches wherein receiving the CU-to-DU message includes: receiving a request to set up
a context of the UE (38.473 page 39, Figure 8.3.1.2-1; The purpose of the UE Context Setup procedure is to establish the UE Context including, among others, SRB, DRB, BHRLC channel, and SL DRB configuration. The procedure uses UE-associated signalling. The gNB-CU initiates the procedure by sending UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message to the gNB-DU.).
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches The method of claim 12.
38.473 teaches wherein the CU-to-DU message includes an information element formatted in
accordance with a protocol for signaling between the CU and the DU, the information element for enabling the radio function for communicating with the UE (38.473 page 39, Figure 8.3.1.2-1; The purpose of the UE Context Setup procedure is to establish the UE Context including, among others, SRB, DRB, BHRLC channel, and SL DRB configuration. The procedure uses UE-associated signalling. The gNB-CU initiates the procedure by sending UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message to the gNB-DU.
page 105-106, 9.2.2.1 UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST
This message is sent by the gNB-CU to request the setup of a UE context.
Direction: gNB-CU → gNB-DU.
UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST contains optional information element (IE) DRX Cycle.
Page 179, 9.3.1.24 DRX Cycle
The DRX Cycle IE is to indicate the desired DRX cycle.
DRX Cycle IE contains Long DRX Cycle Length, Short DRX Cycle length and Short DRX Cycle
Timer.
page 40, If the DRX Cycle IE is contained in the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message, the
gNB-DU shall use the provided value from the gNB-CU.
Note: DRX Cycle IE contains configuration for the DRX. DRX Cycle IE is formatted per F1 application protocol.).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 38.473 in view of Dai as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of US 20240214457 A1 (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches The method of claim 7.
The combination does not explicitly teach where refraining from enabling the radio function includes refraining from applying a configuration for the radio function at the DU.
Li in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches where refraining from enabling the radio function includes refraining from applying a configuration for the radio function at the DU (Li Fig. 18, step 1803. [0290] sending, by the first node to the second node, information for requesting deactivating pre-configuration, the information for requesting deactivating pre-configuration may include one or more pre-configuration IDs (e.g., a preConfigGapID); and deactivating, by the second node, pre-configuration corresponding to the pre-configuration ID according to the information.
[0291] if the first node is a CU and the second node is a DU, the information for requesting deactivating pre-configuration may be included in the F1AP message for transmission; the F1AP message may be a Measurement Deactivation message.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified 38.473 as modified by Dai to incorporate the teachings of Li to refrain from enabling the radio function includes refraining from applying a configuration for the radio function at the DU, in order to reduce power consumption of the UE (Li [0010]).
Regarding claim 9, 38.473 in view of Dai and Li teaches The method of claim 8.
Dai teaches wherein determining that the UE is operating in the inactive state includes determining that the DU is performing early data communication with the UE (Dai [0064] In some embodiments, the gNB-CU 330 may send the message at least including the UE context suspension indication 340 and the UE ID of SDT 350 to at least one gNB-DU. The at least one gNB-DU may include the gNB-DU 320 and other gNB-DUs that are not shown in FIG. 3. Each of the at least one gNB-DU, when receiving the message, may store the UE ID of SDT 350, keep the UE context of SDT for the UE 310 at least for SDT, and treat the UE 310 as in the RRC_INACTIVE state).
The motivation for modification set forth above (Dai) regarding claim 7 is applicable to claim 9.
Claim(s) 15-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 38.473 in view of Dai and Li.
Regarding claim 15, 38.473 teaches A distributed unit (DU) of a distributed base station (38.473
38.473 page 39, gNB-CU and gNB-DU in Figure 8.3.1.2-1: UE Context Setup Request procedure), the DU configured to:
when the UE is not operating in the inactive state, enable the radio function at the DU (38.473 page 39, Figure 8.3.1.2-1; The purpose of the UE Context Setup procedure is to establish the UE Context including, among others, SRB, DRB, BHRLC channel, and SL DRB configuration. The procedure uses UE-associated signalling. The gNB-CU initiates the procedure by sending UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message to the gNB-DU.
page 105-106, 9.2.2.1 UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST
This message is sent by the gNB-CU to request the setup of a UE context.
Direction: gNB-CU → gNB-DU.
UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST contains optional information element DRX Cycle.
Page 179, 9.3.1.24 DRX Cycle
The DRX Cycle IE is to indicate the desired DRX cycle.
DRX Cycle IE contains Long DRX Cycle Length, Short DRX Cycle length and Short DRX Cycle
Timer.
page 40, If the DRX Cycle IE is contained in the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message, the
gNB-DU shall use the provided value from the gNB-CU.
Note: DRX Cycle IE contains configuration for the DRX. Using DRX Cycle at the DU is enabling DRX radio function.).
38.473 does not explicitly teach the DU including processing hardware, determine, by the DU, whether the UE is operating in an inactive state associated with a protocol for controlling radio resources; when the UE is operating in the inactive state, refrain from enabling a radio function at the DU, the radio function including one of (i) a discontinuous reception operation, (ii) a measurement gap operation, or (iii) a reference signal transmission;
Dai in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the DU including processing hardware (Dai Fig. 1, [0053] A gNB may consist of two parts: a gNB central unit (gNB-CU) and at least one gNB distributed unit (gNB-DU). [0032] an apparatus includes … a processor … to implement a method performed by a gNB.):
determine, by the DU, whether the UE is operating in an inactive state associated with a protocol for controlling radio resources; when the UE is operating in the inactive state (Dai [0062] As shown in FIG. 3 in combination with FIG. 2, in the operation 210, the gNB-CU 330 determines the UE 310 to enter into RRC inactive state but keep (i.e., not release) the UE context in the gNB-DU 320 at least for SDT; in the operation 220, the gNB-CU 330 sends a UE context suspension indication 340 and a UE ID of SDT 350 to the gNB-DU 320; in the operation 230, when the gNB-DU 320 receives the UE context suspension indication 340, the gNB-DU 320 stores the UE ID of SDT 350 and keep the UE contexts of the UE 310 at least for SDT; and in the operation 240, at the same time, the gNB-DU 320 treats the UE 310 as in the RRC_INACTIVE state, and forwards an RRC release message 360 to the UE 310.
[0063] The UE context suspension indication 340 is to indicate the gNB-DU 320 to keep the UE context of the UE 310 at least for SDT when UE 310 goes to the RRC_INACTIVE state; and the UE ID of SDT 350 which is used in a Uu interface is used for identifying the UE context of SDT for the UE 310.
[0064] In some embodiments, the gNB-CU 330 may send the message at least including the UE context suspension indication 340 and the UE ID of SDT 350 to at least one gNB-DU. The at least one gNB-DU may include the gNB-DU 320 and other gNB-DUs that are not shown in FIG. 3. Each of the at least one gNB-DU, when receiving the message, may store the UE ID of SDT 350, keep the UE context of SDT for the UE 310 at least for SDT, and treat the UE 310 as in the RRC_INACTIVE state.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified 38.473 to incorporate the teachings of Dai to determine whether the UE is operating in an inactive state, in order to reduce power consumption and signaling overhead (Dai [0002]).
38.473 in view of Dai does not explicitly teach when the UE is operating in the inactive state, refrain from enabling a radio function at the DU, the radio function including one of (i) a discontinuous reception operation, (ii) a measurement gap operation, or (iii) a reference signal transmission;
Li in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches when the UE is operating in the inactive state
(Li [0066] The present disclosure provides an information transmission method; when the UE in an inactive state needs to exchange information (e.g., positioning information) with the network, the information transmission method provided by the present disclosure enables the UE in the inactive state to exchange information with the network as well without entering an RRC connection process. ),
refrain from enabling a radio function at the DU, the radio function including one of (i) a discontinuous reception operation, (ii) a measurement gap operation, or (iii) a reference signal transmission (Li Fig. 18, step 1803. [0290] sending, by the first node to the second node, information for requesting deactivating pre-configuration, the information for requesting deactivating pre-configuration may include one or more pre-configuration IDs (e.g., a preConfigGapID); and deactivating, by the second node, pre-configuration corresponding to the pre-configuration ID according to the information.
[0291] if the first node is a CU and the second node is a DU, the information for requesting activating or deactivating pre-configuration may be included in the F1AP message for transmission; the F1AP message may be a Measurement Deactivation message.);
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified 38.473 as modified by Dai to incorporate the teachings of Li to refrain from enabling a radio function at the DU when the UE is operating in the inactive state, in order to reduce power consumption of the UE (Li [0010]).
Regarding claim 16, 38.473 in view of Dai and Li teaches The DU of claim 15.
Li teaches wherein to refrain from enabling the radio function, the DU is configured to: refrain from applying a configuration for the radio function at the DU (Li Fig. 18, step 1803. [0290] sending, by the first node to the second node, information for requesting deactivating pre-configuration, the information for requesting deactivating pre-configuration may include one or more pre-configuration IDs (e.g., a preConfigGapID); and deactivating, by the second node, pre-configuration corresponding to the pre-configuration ID according to the information.
[0291] if the first node is a CU and the second node is a DU, the information for requesting deactivating pre-configuration may be included in the F1AP message for transmission; the F1AP message may be a Measurement Deactivation message.).
The motivation for modification set forth above (Li) regarding claim 15 is applicable to claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, 38.473 in view of Dai and Li teaches The DU of claim 16.
Dai teaches wherein to determine that the UE is operating in the inactive state, the DU
configured to: determine that the DU is performing early data communication with the UE (Dai [0064] In some embodiments, the gNB-CU 330 may send the message at least including the UE context suspension indication 340 and the UE ID of SDT 350 to at least one gNB-DU. The at least one gNB-DU may include the gNB-DU 320 and other gNB-DUs that are not shown in FIG. 3. Each of the at least one gNB-DU, when receiving the message, may store the UE ID of SDT 350, keep the UE context of SDT for the UE 310 at least for SDT, and treat the UE 310 as in the RRC_INACTIVE state).
The motivation for modification set forth above (Dai) regarding claim 15 is applicable to claim
17.
Regarding claim 18, 38.473 in view of Dai and Li teaches The DU of claim 15.
38.473 teaches wherein to enable the radio function, the DU is configured to: apply a
configuration for the radio function at the DU (38.473 page 105-106, 9.2.2.1 UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST
This message is sent by the gNB-CU to request the setup of a UE context.
Direction: gNB-CU → gNB-DU.
UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST contains optional information element (IE) DRX Cycle.
Page 179, 9.3.1.24 DRX Cycle
The DRX Cycle IE is to indicate the desired DRX cycle.
DRX Cycle IE contains Long DRX Cycle Length, Short DRX Cycle length and Short DRX Cycle
Timer.
page 40, If the DRX Cycle IE is contained in the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message, the
gNB-DU shall use the provided value from the gNB-CU.
Note: DRX Cycle IE contains configuration for the DRX. Using DRX Cycle at the DU is applying a configuration for the radio function (DRX)).
Regarding claim 19, 38.473 in view of Dai and Li teaches The DU of claim 15.
38.473 teaches wherein the DU is further configured to: receive, from the CU, a CU-to-DU
message related to control of data communication with the UE; wherein the enabling or the refraining from enabling the radio function is in response to receiving the CU-to-DU message (38.473 page 39, Figure 8.3.1.2-1; The purpose of the UE Context Setup procedure is to establish the UE Context including, among others, SRB, DRB, BHRLC channel, and SL DRB configuration. The procedure uses UE-associated signalling. The gNB-CU initiates the procedure by sending UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message to the gNB-DU.
page 105-106, 9.2.2.1 UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST
This message is sent by the gNB-CU to request the setup of a UE context.
Direction: gNB-CU → gNB-DU.
UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST contains optional information element DRX Cycle.
Page 179, 9.3.1.24 DRX Cycle
The DRX Cycle IE is to indicate the desired DRX cycle.
DRX Cycle IE contains Long DRX Cycle Length, Short DRX Cycle length and Short DRX Cycle
Timer.
page 40, If the DRX Cycle IE is contained in the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message, the
gNB-DU shall use the provided value from the gNB-CU.
Note: DRX Cycle IE contains configuration for the DRX. Using DRX Cycle at the DU is enabling DRX radio function.).
Regarding claim 20, 38.473 in view of Dai and Li teaches The DU of claim 15.
38.473 teaches wherein to receive the CU-to-DU message, the DU is configured to: receive a
request to set up a context of the UE (38.473 page 39, Figure 8.3.1.2-1; The purpose of the UE Context Setup procedure is to establish the UE Context including, among others, SRB, DRB, BHRLC channel, and SL DRB configuration. The procedure uses UE-associated signalling. The gNB-CU initiates the procedure by sending UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message to the gNB-DU).
Regarding claim 21, 38.473 in view of Dai and Li teaches The DU of claim 15.
38.473 teaches wherein the CU-to-DU message includes an information element formatted in accordance with a protocol for signaling between the CU and the DU, the information element for enabling the radio function for communicating with the UE (38.473 page 39, Figure 8.3.1.2-1; The purpose of the UE Context Setup procedure is to establish the UE Context including, among others, SRB, DRB, BHRLC channel, and SL DRB configuration. The procedure uses UE-associated signalling. The gNB-CU initiates the procedure by sending UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message to the gNB-DU.
page 105-106, 9.2.2.1 UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST
This message is sent by the gNB-CU to request the setup of a UE context.
Direction: gNB-CU → gNB-DU.
UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST contains optional information element (IE) DRX Cycle.
Page 179, 9.3.1.24 DRX Cycle
The DRX Cycle IE is to indicate the desired DRX cycle.
DRX Cycle IE contains Long DRX Cycle Length, Short DRX Cycle length and Short DRX Cycle
Timer.
page 40, If the DRX Cycle IE is contained in the UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message, the
gNB-DU shall use the provided value from the gNB-CU.
Note: DRX Cycle IE contains configuration for the DRX. DRX Cycle IE is formatted per F1 application protocol.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park et al. US 20230199900 A1 Data For Small Data Transmission.
/D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418