DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zorgui et al. (US20230008390).
Regarding claim 1, Zorgui teaches A wireless communication system comprising: a terminal device (Fig. 5 “506”); and a controller (Fig. 5 “502”, [0035] “GERAN is the radio component of GSM/EDGE, together with the network that joins the base stations (for example, the Ater and Abis interfaces) and the base station controllers (A interfaces, etc.)”, (Examiner’s Note: controller ==base station controller) configured to control a wireless communication device that is used in wireless communication with the terminal device ([0124] “A user equipment (UE) 506 communicates with a base station (BS) 502 as described, for example, with the system 100 of FIG. 1 . The UE 506 may receive a transmission directly from the BS 502 along path RgNB. Repeaters 504A-B may be positioned near BS 502 to retransmit a signal from BS 502, (Examiner’s note: based on applicants Fig. 1 and 2 wireless communication device 10 is both the access points and the base station, so wireless communication device ==base station 502 and repeaters 504A-B”)
wherein the wireless communication device includes an electromagnet ([0124] “ In some embodiments, one or more of the repeaters 504A-B may be a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS), such as a smart radio surface with many small antennas or reflecting metamaterial elements that receive and relay electromagnetic (EM) waves with the capability of controlling the phase-shifts. In some embodiments, one or more of the repeaters 504A-B may be controlled, such as between an on and off state, by the BS 502, (Examiner’s Note: relaying em waves == electromagnet),
the terminal device includes a magnetic sensor ([0078] “The UE 302 may include one or more sensors 344 coupled to the processing system 332 to provide means for sensing or detecting movement and/or orientation information that is independent of motion data derived from signals received by the WWAN transceiver 310, the short-range wireless transceiver 320, and/or the SPS receiver 330. By way of example, the sensor(s) 344 may include an accelerometer (e.g., a micro-electrical mechanical systems (MEMS) device), a gyroscope, a geomagnetic sensor (e.g., a compass), an altimeter (e.g., a barometric pressure altimeter), and/or any other type of movement detection sensor. Moreover, the sensor(s) 344 may include a plurality of different types of devices and combine their outputs in order to provide motion information. For example, the sensor(s) 344 may use a combination of a multi-axis accelerometer and orientation sensors to provide the ability to compute positions in 2D and/or 3D coordinate systems”, (Examiner’s Note: for example magnetic sensor == SPS receiver”),
and the controller (Fig. 5 “502”, [0035] “GERAN is the radio component of GSM/EDGE, together with the network that joins the base stations (for example, the Ater and Abis interfaces) and the base station controllers (A interfaces, etc.)”, (Examiner’s Note: controller ==base station controller)”) is configured to: switch on and off the electromagnet ([0124] “In some embodiments, one or more of the repeaters 504A-B may be controlled, such as between an on and off state, by the BS 502”);
acquire information on a first magnetic field detected by the magnetic sensor from the terminal device, when the electromagnet is off ([0153-154]” At block 902, the base station transmits an instruction for a UE to perform a first signal measurement at a first time and a second signal measurement at a second time … At block 904, the base station transmits an instruction for a repeater to repeat a first signal originating from the base station corresponding to the first signal measurement during the first time and to not repeat a second signal originating from the base station corresponding to the second signal measurement during the second time”, (Examiner’s Note: measurement of second signal == electromagnet is off), [0179] “Those of skill in the art would understand that information and signals may be represented … electromagnetic waves, magnetic fields”);
acquire information on a second magnetic field detected by the magnetic sensor from the terminal device, when the electromagnet is on ([0153-154]” At block 902, the base station transmits an instruction for a UE to perform a first signal measurement at a first time and a second signal measurement at a second time … At block 904, the base station transmits an instruction for a repeater to repeat a first signal originating from the base station corresponding to the first signal measurement during the first time and to not repeat a second signal originating from the base station corresponding to the second signal measurement during the second time”, (Examiner’s Note: measurement of first signal == electromagnet is on), [0179] “Those of skill in the art would understand that information and signals may be represented … electromagnetic waves, magnetic fields”);
and estimate a direction from the wireless communication device to the terminal device based on a difference between the first magnetic field and the second magnetic field ([0156] “At block 908, the base station obtains a position of the UE based on the first signal characteristic and the second signal characteristic… In some implementations, the determination of the position in UE-assisted positioning operations may involve receiving, by the BS at block 908, a measurement report comprising a first signal characteristic corresponding to the first signal measurement and a second signal characteristic corresponding to the second signal measurement. Subsequently, at block 910, the BS may determine the location of the UE based on the first signal characteristic and the second signal characteristic and/or other data… In some embodiments, the location obtained at block 910 may be determined by the BS, by a location server, or by cooperation between the BS and the location server”, [0090] “In an OTDOA or DL-TDOA positioning procedure, a UE measures the differences between the times of arrival (ToAs) of reference signals (e.g., PRS, TRS, CSI-RS, SSB, etc.) received from pairs of base stations, referred to as reference signal time difference (RSTD) or time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurements, and reports them to a positioning entity”, (Examiner’s Note the position entity can be the BS == wireless communication device).
Regarding claim 6, Zorgul teaches A wireless communication system management method for managing a wireless communication system including a terminal device (Fig. 5 “506”) and a wireless communication device (Fig. 5 “502”, [0035] “GERAN is the radio component of GSM/EDGE, together with the network that joins the base stations (for example, the Ater and Abis interfaces) and the base station controllers (A interfaces, etc.)”, (Examiner’s Note: controller ==base station controller) that is used in wireless communication with the terminal device ([0124] “A user equipment (UE) 506 communicates with a base station (BS) 502 as described, for example, with the system 100 of FIG. 1 . The UE 506 may receive a transmission directly from the BS 502 along path RgNB. Repeaters 504A-B may be positioned near BS 502 to retransmit a signal from BS 502, (Examiner’s note: based on applicants Fig. 1 and 2 wireless communication device 10 is both the access points and the base station, so wireless communication device ==base station 502 and repeaters 504A-B”),
the wireless communication system management method comprising: switching on and off ([0124] “In some embodiments, one or more of the repeaters 504A-B may be controlled, such as between an on and off state, by the BS 502”) an electromagnet included in the wireless communication device ([0124] “ In some embodiments, one or more of the repeaters 504A-B may be a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS), such as a smart radio surface with many small antennas or reflecting metamaterial elements that receive and relay electromagnetic (EM) waves with the capability of controlling the phase-shifts. In some embodiments, one or more of the repeaters 504A-B may be controlled, such as between an on and off state, by the BS 502, (Examiner’s Note: relaying em waves == electromagnet);
acquiring information on a first magnetic field detected by a magnetic sensor included in the terminal device, when the electromagnet is off ([0153-154]” At block 902, the base station transmits an instruction for a UE to perform a first signal measurement at a first time and a second signal measurement at a second time … At block 904, the base station transmits an instruction for a repeater to repeat a first signal originating from the base station corresponding to the first signal measurement during the first time and to not repeat a second signal originating from the base station corresponding to the second signal measurement during the second time”, (Examiner’s Note: measurement of second signal == electromagnet is off), [0179] “Those of skill in the art would understand that information and signals may be represented … electromagnetic waves, magnetic fields”);
acquiring information on a second magnetic field detected by the magnetic sensor, when the electromagnet is on ([0153-154]” At block 902, the base station transmits an instruction for a UE to perform a first signal measurement at a first time and a second signal measurement at a second time … At block 904, the base station transmits an instruction for a repeater to repeat a first signal originating from the base station corresponding to the first signal measurement during the first time and to not repeat a second signal originating from the base station corresponding to the second signal measurement during the second time”, (Examiner’s Note: measurement of first signal == electromagnet is on), [0179] “Those of skill in the art would understand that information and signals may be represented … electromagnetic waves, magnetic fields”);
and estimating a direction from the wireless communication device to the terminal device based on a difference between the first magnetic field and the second magnetic field ([0156] “At block 908, the base station obtains a position of the UE based on the first signal characteristic and the second signal characteristic… In some implementations, the determination of the position in UE-assisted positioning operations may involve receiving, by the BS at block 908, a measurement report comprising a first signal characteristic corresponding to the first signal measurement and a second signal characteristic corresponding to the second signal measurement. Subsequently, at block 910, the BS may determine the location of the UE based on the first signal characteristic and the second signal characteristic and/or other data… In some embodiments, the location obtained at block 910 may be determined by the BS, by a location server, or by cooperation between the BS and the location server”, [0090] “In an OTDOA or DL-TDOA positioning procedure, a UE measures the differences between the times of arrival (ToAs) of reference signals (e.g., PRS, TRS, CSI-RS, SSB, etc.) received from pairs of base stations, referred to as reference signal time difference (RSTD) or time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurements, and reports them to a positioning entity”, (Examiner’s Note the position entity can be the BS == wireless communication device).
Regarding claim 8, Zorgui teaches A controller (Fig. 5 “506”); and a controller (Fig. 5 “502”, [0035] “GERAN is the radio component of GSM/EDGE, together with the network that joins the base stations (for example, the Ater and Abis interfaces) and the base station controllers (A interfaces, etc.)”, (Examiner’s Note: controller ==base station controller) that controls a wireless communication device that is used in wireless communication with a terminal device ([0124] “A user equipment (UE) 506 communicates with a base station (BS) 502 as described, for example, with the system 100 of FIG. 1 . The UE 506 may receive a transmission directly from the BS 502 along path RgNB. Repeaters 504A-B may be positioned near BS 502 to retransmit a signal from BS 502, (Examiner’s note: based on applicants Fig. 1 and 2 wireless communication device 10 is both the access points and the base station, so wireless communication device ==base station 502 and repeaters 504A-B”)
, the controller comprising processing circuitry ([0014] “The apparatus includes at least one transceiver, at least one processor coupled to the at least one transceiver, and a memory coupled to the at least one processor. The at least one processor is configured to transmit, by the base station”),
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: switch on and off ([0124] “In some embodiments, one or more of the repeaters 504A-B may be controlled, such as between an on and off state, by the BS 502”) an electromagnet included in the wireless communication device ([0124] “ In some embodiments, one or more of the repeaters 504A-B may be a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS), such as a smart radio surface with many small antennas or reflecting metamaterial elements that receive and relay electromagnetic (EM) waves with the capability of controlling the phase-shifts. In some embodiments, one or more of the repeaters 504A-B may be controlled, such as between an on and off state, by the BS 502, (Examiner’s Note: relaying em waves == electromagnet);
acquire, from the terminal device, information on a first magnetic field detected by a magnetic sensor included in the terminal device, when the electromagnet is off ([0153-154]” At block 902, the base station transmits an instruction for a UE to perform a first signal measurement at a first time and a second signal measurement at a second time … At block 904, the base station transmits an instruction for a repeater to repeat a first signal originating from the base station corresponding to the first signal measurement during the first time and to not repeat a second signal originating from the base station corresponding to the second signal measurement during the second time”, (Examiner’s Note: measurement of second signal == electromagnet is off), [0179] “Those of skill in the art would understand that information and signals may be represented … electromagnetic waves, magnetic fields”);
acquire information on a second magnetic field detected by the magnetic sensor from the terminal device, when the electromagnet is on ([0153-154]” At block 902, the base station transmits an instruction for a UE to perform a first signal measurement at a first time and a second signal measurement at a second time … At block 904, the base station transmits an instruction for a repeater to repeat a first signal originating from the base station corresponding to the first signal measurement during the first time and to not repeat a second signal originating from the base station corresponding to the second signal measurement during the second time”, (Examiner’s Note: measurement of first signal == electromagnet is on), [0179] “Those of skill in the art would understand that information and signals may be represented … electromagnetic waves, magnetic fields”);
and estimate a direction from the wireless communication device to the terminal device based on a difference between the first magnetic field and the second magnetic field ([0156] “At block 908, the base station obtains a position of the UE based on the first signal characteristic and the second signal characteristic… In some implementations, the determination of the position in UE-assisted positioning operations may involve receiving, by the BS at block 908, a measurement report comprising a first signal characteristic corresponding to the first signal measurement and a second signal characteristic corresponding to the second signal measurement. Subsequently, at block 910, the BS may determine the location of the UE based on the first signal characteristic and the second signal characteristic and/or other data… In some embodiments, the location obtained at block 910 may be determined by the BS, by a location server, or by cooperation between the BS and the location server”, [0090] “In an OTDOA or DL-TDOA positioning procedure, a UE measures the differences between the times of arrival (ToAs) of reference signals (e.g., PRS, TRS, CSI-RS, SSB, etc.) received from pairs of base stations, referred to as reference signal time difference (RSTD) or time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurements, and reports them to a positioning entity”, (Examiner’s Note the position entity can be the BS == wireless communication device).
Regarding claim 2, Zorgui teaches wherein the controller is configured to transmit a first feedback request to the terminal device after switching off the electromagnet ([0153-154]” At block 902, the base station transmits an instruction for a UE to perform a first signal measurement at a first time and a second signal measurement at a second time … At block 904, the base station transmits an instruction for a repeater to repeat a first signal originating from the base station corresponding to the first signal measurement during the first time and to not repeat a second signal originating from the base station corresponding to the second signal measurement during the second time”, (Examiner’s Note: measurement of second signal == electromagnet is off), [0179] “Those of skill in the art would understand that information and signals may be represented … electromagnetic waves, magnetic fields”, first feedback request==instruction for a UE to perform a second signal measurement),
the terminal device is configured to transmit first feedback information indicating the first magnetic field detected by the magnetic sensor to the controller in response to the first feedback request field ([0156] “At block 908, the base station obtains a position of the UE based on the first signal characteristic and the second signal characteristic… In some implementations, the determination of the position in UE-assisted positioning operations may involve receiving, by the BS at block 908, a measurement report comprising a first signal characteristic corresponding to the first signal measurement and a second signal characteristic corresponding to the second signal measurement. Subsequently, at block 910, the BS may determine the location of the UE based on the first signal characteristic and the second signal characteristic and/or other data… In some embodiments, the location obtained at block 910 may be determined by the BS, by a location server, or by cooperation between the BS and the location server”, [0090] “In an OTDOA or DL-TDOA positioning procedure, a UE measures the differences between the times of arrival (ToAs) of reference signals (e.g., PRS, TRS, CSI-RS, SSB, etc.) received from pairs of base stations, referred to as reference signal time difference (RSTD) or time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurements, and reports them to a positioning entity”, (Examiner’s Note the position entity can be the BS == wireless communication device, first feedback information ==second signal characteristic/measurement),
the controller is configured to transmit a second feedback request to the terminal device after switching on the electromagnet ([0153-154]” At block 902, the base station transmits an instruction for a UE to perform a first signal measurement at a first time and a second signal measurement at a second time … At block 904, the base station transmits an instruction for a repeater to repeat a first signal originating from the base station corresponding to the first signal measurement during the first time and to not repeat a second signal originating from the base station corresponding to the second signal measurement during the second time”, (Examiner’s Note: measurement of second signal == electromagnet is off), [0179] “Those of skill in the art would understand that information and signals may be represented … electromagnetic waves, magnetic fields”, second feedback request==instruction for a UE to perform a first signal measurement)),
and the terminal device is configured to transmit second feedback information indicating the second magnetic field detected by the magnetic sensor to the controller in response to the second feedback request field ([0156] “At block 908, the base station obtains a position of the UE based on the first signal characteristic and the second signal characteristic… In some implementations, the determination of the position in UE-assisted positioning operations may involve receiving, by the BS at block 908, a measurement report comprising a first signal characteristic corresponding to the first signal measurement and a second signal characteristic corresponding to the second signal measurement. Subsequently, at block 910, the BS may determine the location of the UE based on the first signal characteristic and the second signal characteristic and/or other data… In some embodiments, the location obtained at block 910 may be determined by the BS, by a location server, or by cooperation between the BS and the location server”, [0090] “In an OTDOA or DL-TDOA positioning procedure, a UE measures the differences between the times of arrival (ToAs) of reference signals (e.g., PRS, TRS, CSI-RS, SSB, etc.) received from pairs of base stations, referred to as reference signal time difference (RSTD) or time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurements, and reports them to a positioning entity”, (Examiner’s Note the position entity can be the BS == wireless communication device, second feedback information ==first signal characteristic/measurement)).
Regarding claim 3, Zorgui teaches wherein the wireless communication device is a reconfigurable intelligent surface ([0124] “In some embodiments, one or more of the repeaters 504A-B may be a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS)”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zorgui in view of Duan et al. (US20240056129).
Regarding claim 4, Zorgui teaches ([0124] “In some embodiments, one or more of the repeaters 504A-B may be a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS)”)
Zorgui does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to control a direction of reflection of radio waves based on the direction from the reconfigurable intelligent surface to the terminal device.
Duan teaches wherein the controller is configured to control a direction of reflection of radio waves based on the direction from the reconfigurable intelligent surface to the terminal device ([0172] “For example, the TRP 510 may use the beam 551 to transmit a signal 556 to the RIS 520, and control the RIS 520 to reflect the incoming signal into the beam 573 to transmit a reflected signal 576 toward the UE 531, thereby communicating with the UE 531 around the obstacle 540. The TRP 510 may configure the RIS 520 to reflect UL signals from the UE 531 into the beam 571 to the TRP 510”).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zorgui to incorporate the teachings of Duan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow create a more effective system.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable overZorgui in view of Kambara et al. (US20230010669).
Regarding claim 5, Zorgui does not explicitly teach wherein the electromagnet is installed so that a direction from a north pole to a south pole of the electromagnet is orthogonal to a reflecting surface of the reconfigurable intelligent surface.
Kambara teaches wherein the electromagnet is installed so that a direction from a north pole to a south pole of the electromagnet is orthogonal to a reflecting surface of the reconfigurable intelligent surface ([0061] “The electromagnetic wave reflected by the meta-reflector is not always a plane wave with a single angle of reflection. The incident electromagnetic wave may be diffused in a plurality of directions at different angles of reflection θref, as shown in FIG. 3C, by well-designing the surface impedance produced on the surface of the meta-reflector 102b. A technique for achieving the reflection shown in FIG. 3C is described in, for example, PHYSICAL REVIEW B97, “ARBITRARY BEAM CONTROL USING LOSSLESS METASURFACES ENABLED BY ORTHOGONALLY POLARIZED CUSTOM SURFACE WAVES”).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zorgui to incorporate the teachings of Kambara. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow create a more effective system to allow reflection with multiple angles.
Conclusion
/K.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411