DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwamoto et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0071663). Regarding Claim 1, Iwamoto discloses a power outlet, comprising: a case (50); a contact device including a fixed contact (111), a movable contact (121) facing the fixed contact, and a movable piece (122) to be connected to the movable contact; an operation member (40) movable relative to the case; a moving mechanism including a movable member (140, 160) and a return spring (170), the moving mechanism being configured to move the movable piece in response to operation of the operation member, wherein the movable member is movable between a closed position at which the movable contact is in contact with the fixed contact and an open position at which the movable contact is separated from the fixed contact, and wherein the return spring is a separate member from the movable piece and urges the movable member toward the open position; and a holding mechanism (142) configured to hold the movable member at the closed position, the holding mechanism releasing a holding state in which the movable member is held at the closed position in response to operation of the operation member, wherein the movable member, when released from the holding state, moves from the closed position to the open position by urging force of the return spring.
Regarding Claim 2, Iwamoto discloses the return spring being a coil spring (43).
Regarding Claim 8, Iwamoto discloses the movable piece including a contact support portion (121) configured to support the movable contact, a base portion (body of 122), and a first fulcrum (123) disposed between the contact support portion and the base portion, and the movable piece is pivotable around the first fulcrum, and the movable member is configured to move the movable contact away from the fixed contact by pressing the base portion and to move the movable contact toward the fixed contact by pressing the contact support portion.
Regarding Claim 9, Iwamoto discloses a restriction mechanism (70), wherein the case has a recess (21-23) into which an electric plug (200) is inserted, the restriction mechanism is configured to, while the electric plug is not inserted into the recess, restrict movement of the movable member from the open position to the closed position, the movement being caused by operation of the operation member.
Regarding Claim 10, Iwamoto discloses a retaining mechanism (70) configured to prevent an electric plug (200) from coming out of the case when the movable member is in the closed position, wherein the retaining mechanism includes a retaining member (70) movable toward and away from an engagement hole (212) that is positioned in the electric plug and a second biasing member configured to urge the retaining member toward the operation member, and the retaining member includes an inclined portion (Fig. 22) configured to be pressed against the operation member in response to movement of the operation member.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The references fail to teach, disclose, or suggest, either alone or in combination, the holding mechanism including a locking pawl configured to lock the movable member at the closed position, and the operation member includes a first operation section configured to move the movable member from the open position to the closed position and a second operation section configured to release the locked state in which the movable member is locked by the locking pawl at the closed position and in combination with the rest of the limitations of the base and intermediate claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses power outlets, similar to Applicant’s claimed invention, having fixed and movable contacts, springs and holding and moving mechanisms.
/EDWIN A. LEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833