DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 1/31/2024.
Claims 1-14 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/31/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because Figs 1A-1B are blurry and difficult to read. When reproduced, these drawings may not be clear.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “an industrial automation system, comprising: a processor, and a processor, and; a memory,” which should read “an industrial automation system, comprising: a processor, and Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 3 recites “wherein the one or more simulation models include mathematical or physics models of an underlying discipline. cost-performance engine includes algorithms that generate mathematical or physics models of an underlying discipline or simulation models, for analysis of predicted performance improvement using a candidate upgrade device or service.” which should read “wherein the one or more simulation models include mathematical or physics models of an underlying discipline, and wherein the cost-performance engine includes algorithms that generate mathematical or physics models of an underlying discipline or simulation models, for analysis of predicted performance improvement using a candidate upgrade device or service..” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Under Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes, the claims must be directed to one of the four statutory categories. All the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories (YES).
Under Step 2A of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG), it is determined whether the claims are directed to a judicially recognized exception. Step 2A is a two-prong inquiry.
Under Prong 1, it is determined whether the claim recites a judicial exception (YES). Taking Claim 1 as representative, the claim recites limitations that fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity groupings of abstract ideas, including:
A computer-based system for promoting candidate plans of upgrade in vendor provided devices and services of an industrial automation system, comprising:
a processor, and a processor, and
a memory having instructions stored in modules executable by the processor, the modules comprising:
a context engine configured to generate an automation context term for a target application using inference algorithms based on a retrieved ontology of the industrial automation system, wherein the ontology includes information regarding connected devices, control variable names, and control function blocks related to devices of the industrial automation system;
a mapping engine configured to query a digital catalog for candidate upgrade devices or services related to the context term and to map key performance indicators related to the context term for each candidate device or service; and
a cost-performance engine configured to:
estimate performance improvement for each of the candidate upgrade devices or services, the cost-performance engine comprising algorithms that generate one or more simulation models for computing estimated performance improvements and an extraction component to extract cost information from the digital catalog;
rank the candidate upgrade devices or services according to cost, performance, or cost-performance benefit; and
deliver a ranked list of candidate upgrade plans for upgrade of devices or services with cost and performance information to one or more graphical user interfaces in the automation system for display to a one or more users..
Certain methods of organizing human activity include:
fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, and mitigating risk)
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; and business relations)
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)
The limitations as emphasized, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a commercial interaction. That is, other than reciting that the catalog is digital, and the estimated performance improvements are computed using generated simulation models, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed by people. For example, “generate, query, map, estimate, and rank” in the context of this claim encompasses advertising, and marketing or sales activities.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a commercial interaction but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Under Prong 2, it is determined whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (NO).
The claim recites additional elements beyond the judicial exception(s), including:
A computer-based system for promoting candidate plans of upgrade in vendor provided devices and services of an industrial automation system, comprising:
a processor, and a processor, and
a memory having instructions stored in modules executable by the processor, the modules comprising:
a context engine configured to generate an automation context term for a target application using inference algorithms based on a retrieved ontology of the industrial automation system, wherein the ontology includes information regarding connected devices, control variable names, and control function blocks related to devices of the industrial automation system;
a mapping engine configured to query a digital catalog for candidate upgrade devices or services related to the context term and to map key performance indicators related to the context term for each candidate device or service; and
a cost-performance engine configured to:
estimate performance improvement for each of the candidate upgrade devices or services, the cost-performance engine comprising algorithms that generate one or more simulation models for computing estimated performance improvements and an extraction component to extract cost information from the digital catalog;
rank the candidate upgrade devices or services according to cost, performance, or cost-performance benefit; and
deliver a ranked list of candidate upgrade plans for upgrade of devices or services with cost and performance information to one or more graphical user interfaces in the automation system for display to a one or more users..
These limitations (deemphasized) are not indicative of integration into a practical application because:
The additional elements of claim 1 are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as generic computing hardware) such that they amount to nothing more than mere instructions to implement or apply the abstract idea on a generic computing hardware (or, merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea.) Specifically, the additional element of an industrial automation system, a processor, a memory, modules, a context engine, connected devices, devices of the industrial automation system, a mapping engine, a digital catalog, and a cost-performance engine, are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of connecting to a platform on a network) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. Further, the additional elements to no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (such as computers or computing networks). For example, stating that the cost5 performance engine comprises algorithms that generate one or more simulation models for computing estimated performance improvements, only generally links the commercial interactions and management of relationships or interactions between people to a computer environment. Employing well-known computer functions to execute an abstract idea, even when limiting the use of the idea to one particular environment, does not integrate the exception into a practical application.
Additionally, the additional elements are insufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the claim fails to i) reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, ii) apply the judicial exception with, or use the judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, iii) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or iv) apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Under Step 2B, it is determined whether the claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims of the present application do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (NO).
In the case of system claim 1, taken individually or as a whole, the additional elements of claim 1 do not provide an inventive concept. As discussed above under step 2A (prong 2) with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements used to perform the claimed functions amount to no more than a general link to a technological environment.
Even considered as an ordered combination (as a whole), the additional elements do not add anything significantly more than when considered individually.
Therefore, claim 1 does not provide an inventive concept and does not qualify as eligible subject matter.
Claim 8 is a method reciting similar functions as claim 1, and does not qualify as eligible subject matter for similar reasons.
Claims 2-7 and 9-14 are dependencies of claims 1, and 8. The dependent claims do not add “significantly more” to the abstract idea. They recite additional functions that describe the abstract idea and only generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, including:
wherein the one or more simulation models include mathematical or physics models of an underlying discipline. cost-performance engine includes algorithms that generate mathematical or physics models of an underlying discipline or simulation models, for analysis of predicted performance improvement using a candidate upgrade device or service. (further limiting the simulation models and algorithms does not make the abstract idea less abstract)
Accordingly, the Examiner concludes that there are no meaningful limitations in the claim that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. The analysis above applies to all statutory categories of invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application No. 2016/0274558 A1 to STROHMENGER in view of U.S. Patent Application No. 2021/0081836 A1 to POLLERI in further view of U.S. Patent Application No. 2006/0195365 A1 to KARABETSOS.
Regarding Claim 1, STROHMENGER discloses A computer-based system for promoting candidate plans of upgrade in vendor provided devices and services of an industrial automation system, comprising: a processor, and a processor, and a memory having instructions stored in modules executable by the processor, the modules comprising:
a context engine … a context term … includes information regarding connected devices, control variable names, and control function blocks related to devices of the industrial automation system; ([0145] the cloud gateway 1308 of FIG. 13 or cloud gateway 1408 of FIG. 14 can tag the collected industrial data (e.g., 1314 or 1414) with contextual metadata prior to pushing the data as cloud data (e.g., 1304 or 1404) to the cloud platform. Such contextual metadata can include, for example, a time stamp, a location of the device at the time the data was generated, or other contextual information. In another example, some cloud-aware devices can comprise smart devices capable of determining their own context within the plant or enterprise environment. Such devices can determine their location within a hierarchical plant context or device topology … Cloud-based applications and services that model an enterprise according to such an organizational hierarchy can represent industrial controllers, devices, machines, or processes as data structures (e.g., type instances) within this organizational hierarchy to provide context for data generated by respective devices within the enterprise relative to the enterprise as a whole. Such a convention can replace the flat name structure that is employed by some industrial applications. [0064] respective variables associated with the industrial automation system 104 that can indicate suitable (e.g., optimal, acceptable, preferred) operation of the industrial automation system 104, or portion thereof, wherein the respective variables can be variables that can affect output of the industrial automation system 104, [0078] information relating functional or geographical relationships between industrial assets (e.g., 210, 212, 214) or between an industrial asset (e.g., 210, 212, 214) and a network-related device of the network component 216, information relating to a layout (e.g., functional layout, logic layout, geographical layout) of an industrial automation system 204, communication network connections, or other information. [0130] data structures (e.g., user data, metadata); code structure(s) (e.g., modules, objects, classes, procedures), commands, or instructions; industrial data or other data associated with industrial automation systems or industrial enterprises; )
a mapping engine configured to [determine] candidate upgrade devices or services related to the context term and to map key performance indicators related to the context term for each candidate device or service; and ([0071] the analytics component 102 can generate and maintain an asset strategy library that can be employed to facilitate managing the use, maintenance or servicing, replacement, and/or other aspects of a set of industrial assets (e.g., 110, 112, 114) associated with an industrial automation system(s) 104. Based at least in part on the results of the analysis of the data, the analytics management component 118 can determine use, maintenance, and replacement strategies and schedules for use in managing the industrial assets. )
a cost-performance engine configured to: estimate performance improvement for each of the candidate upgrade devices or services, ([0066] the determined or estimated (e.g., by the analytics management component 118) effect of altering operation of the one or more industrial assets with respect to the deviation or potential for deviation, ) the cost-performance engine comprising algorithms that generate one or more simulation models for computing estimated performance improvements ([0120] facilitating performing simulation operations using a model (e.g., simulation model) in connection with an industrial automation system,)
rank the candidate upgrade devices or services according to cost, performance, or cost-performance benefit; and ([0091] The visualization component 322 also can generate and present the respective correlations relating to the industrial automation system 304 in a desired ranked order (e.g., highest ranked priority correlation to lowest ranked priority correlation) or can emphasize correlations that have higher priority (e.g., display higher priority correlations in a larger form than lower priority correlations, display higher priority correlations using a different color than that of lower priority correlations). The analytics management component 318 or visualization component 322 can determine and assign respective priority rankings for respective correlations, based at least in part on the relative importance of the respective correlations with respect to each other and/or the relative impact on a goal(s) (e.g., production goal and/or other goal) relating to the industrial automation system 304 with respect to each other. [0174] the one or more factors can relate to the relative impact or importance on respective defined goals (e.g., production output, revenue from products, profits from products, minimization of waste or breakage associated with production) of the respective correlations)
deliver a ranked list of candidate upgrade plans for upgrade of devices or services with cost and performance information to one or more graphical user interfaces in the automation system for display to a one or more users., ([0091] The visualization component 322 also can generate and present the respective correlations relating to the industrial automation system 304 in a desired ranked order [0097] The information display 600 of FIG. 6 can comprise a first information portion 602 that can comprise a first subset of information relating to the industrial automation system 304, and a second information portion 604 that can comprise a second subset of information relating to the industrial automation system 304.)
But does not explicitly disclose configured to generate an automation context term for a target application using inference algorithms based on a retrieved ontology of the industrial automation system, wherein the ontology includes information; query a digital catalog; and an extraction component to extract cost information from the digital catalog;
POLLERI, on the other hand, teaches configured to generate an automation context term for a target application using inference algorithms based on a retrieved ontology of the industrial automation system, ([0336] In various embodiments, context aware semantic Machine Learning (ML) services can enables a user to perform a high-precision search of services and automated composition of machine learning deployment services based on formal ontology-based representations of service semantics that can include QoS and product KPIs. This forms a scalable means for a high-precision search of relevant services to compose pipelines 136, shown in FIG. 1, with minimal human intervention to define self-adaptive machine learning architecture. [0192] When capturing an event, additional information associated with the event may also be collected, where the additional information may indicate a present context in which the event is generated.(cost)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system, as taught by STROHMENGER, the features as taught by POLLERI, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify STROHMENGER, to include the teachings of POLLERI, in order to improve system performance (POLLERI, [0113]).
KARABETSOS, on the other hand, teaches query a digital catalog; and an extraction component to extract cost information from the digital catalog; ([0022] The service provider database, comprising a plurality of service provider resumes, is searched. [0072] Installation Type prompt 38 provides the user with information about each selection such as cost and the type of service included for each installation type. [0079] a cost estimate for the desired handyman service,)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system, as taught by STROHMENGER, the features as taught by KARABETSOS, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify STROHMENGER, to include the teachings of KARABETSOS, in order to provide a method for providing services (KARABETSOS, [0002]).
Regarding Claim 2, STROHMENGER in view of POLLERI and KARABETSOS teaches the system of claim 1.
STROHMENGER discloses wherein the cost-performance engine is further configured to rank the list of candidate upgrade plans according to cost, cost-performance benefit, number of replacement devices, or a combination thereof.. ([0091] The visualization component 322 also can generate and present the respective correlations relating to the industrial automation system 304 in a desired ranked order (e.g., highest ranked priority correlation to lowest ranked priority correlation) or can emphasize correlations that have higher priority (e.g., display higher priority correlations in a larger form than lower priority correlations, display higher priority correlations using a different color than that of lower priority correlations). The analytics management component 318 or visualization component 322 can determine and assign respective priority rankings for respective correlations, based at least in part on the relative importance of the respective correlations with respect to each other and/or the relative impact on a goal(s) (e.g., production goal and/or other goal) relating to the industrial automation system 304 with respect to each other. [0174] the one or more factors can relate to the relative impact or importance on respective defined goals (e.g., production output, revenue from products, profits from products, minimization of waste or breakage associated with production) of the respective correlations)
Regarding Claim 3, STROHMENGER in view of POLLERI teaches the system of claim 1.
STROHMENGER discloses wherein the one or more simulation models include mathematical or physics models of an underlying discipline. cost-performance engine includes algorithms that generate mathematical or physics models of an underlying discipline or simulation models, for analysis of predicted performance improvement using a candidate upgrade device or service. (([0120] facilitating performing simulation operations using a model (e.g., simulation model) in connection with an industrial automation system,) [0087] wherein the data aggregation can be modeled, in the model 224, on the physical structure of the industrial automation system 204. Such data aggregation and structuring can allow (e.g., enable) the analytics management component 218 to locate respective industrial assets (e.g., 210, 212, 214) and/or network-related devices within the industrial-automation-system context (e.g., the analytics management component 218 can identify an asset, a device, or production area in the industrial automation system 204 in which a sensor resides, based at least in part on the data aggregation and data structuring associated with the model 224.))
Regarding Claim 4, STROHMENGER in view of POLLERI and KARABETSOS teaches the system of claim 1.
STROHMENGER does not explicitly disclose further comprising: an order processing engine configured to: receive, from the one or more graphical user interfaces, a user selection of one or more devices or services for placement of an order; submit the order to a vendor ordering system using a connected communication network; and forward confirmation of the order placement to the one or more graphical user interfaces.
KARABETSOS teaches further comprising: an order processing engine configured to: receive, from the one or more graphical user interfaces, a user selection of one or more devices or services for placement of an order; submit the order to a vendor ordering system using a connected communication network; and forward confirmation of the order placement to the one or more graphical user interfaces.. (([0061] user selects a sub-service category … multiple service categories … selection between scheduling a single service provider or scheduling several service providers, see Fig. 7 [0097] selecting at least one service provider resume from the select service provider grouping; and selecting at least one calendar day and at least one appointment time from the availability calendar. [claim 2] providing a handyman service appointment confirmation to a select network member via the communication network, [0091] the system comprises a service provider appointment confirmation, the service provider appointment confirmation being provided to a select network member via the communication network and the data output means. ))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system, as taught by STROHMENGER, the features as taught by KARABETSOS, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify STROHMENGER, to include the teachings of KARABETSOS, in order to provide a method for providing services (KARABETSOS, [0002]).
Regarding Claim 5, STROHMENGER in view of POLLERI and KARABETSOS teaches the system of claim 4.
STROHMENGER does not explicitly disclose wherein the order processing engine is further configured to: present vendor delivery options using the one or more graphical user interfaces, and submit a user selected delivery option to the vendor ordering system.
KARABETSOS teaches wherein the order processing engine is further configured to: present vendor delivery options using the one or more graphical user interfaces, and submit a user selected delivery option to the vendor ordering system. (([0061] user selects a sub-service category … multiple service categories … selection between scheduling a single service provider or scheduling several service providers, see Fig. 7 [0097] selecting at least one service provider resume from the select service provider grouping; and selecting at least one calendar day (delivery option) and at least one appointment time from the availability calendar. [claim 2] providing a handyman service appointment confirmation to a select network member via the communication network, [0091] the system comprises a service provider appointment confirmation, the service provider appointment confirmation being provided to a select network member via the communication network and the data output means. ))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system, as taught by STROHMENGER, the features as taught by KARABETSOS, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify STROHMENGER, to include the teachings of KARABETSOS, in order to provide a method for providing services (KARABETSOS, [0002]).
Regarding Claim 6, STROHMENGER in view of POLLERI and KARABETSOS teaches the system of claim 4.
STROHMENGER does not explicitly disclose wherein the order processing engine is further configured to autonomously schedule an installation appointment with sales and distribution channels of the vendor via communications with a vendor server over a communication network connection..
KARABETSOS teaches wherein the order processing engine is further configured to autonomously schedule an installation appointment with sales and distribution channels of the vendor via communications with a vendor server over a communication network connection. (([0017] enable consumers to schedule installation, replacements and other services from remote locations, [0061] user selects a sub-service category … multiple service categories … selection between scheduling a single service provider or scheduling several service providers, see Fig. 7 [0097] selecting at least one service provider resume from the select service provider grouping; and selecting at least one calendar day (delivery option) and at least one appointment time from the availability calendar. [claim 2] providing a handyman service appointment confirmation to a select network member via the communication network, [0091] the system comprises a service provider appointment confirmation, the service provider appointment confirmation being provided to a select network member via the communication network and the data output means. ))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system, as taught by STROHMENGER, the features as taught by KARABETSOS, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify STROHMENGER, to include the teachings of KARABETSOS, in order to provide a method for providing services (KARABETSOS, [0002]).
Regarding Claim 7, STROHMENGER in view of POLLERI and KARABETSOS teaches the system of claim 4.
STROHMENGER does not explicitly disclose wherein the order processing engine is further configured to provide delivery options and autonomous installation scheduling to the user on a display screen of the one or more graphical user interfaces.
KARABETSOS teaches wherein the order processing engine is further configured to provide delivery options and autonomous installation scheduling to the user on a display screen of the one or more graphical user interfaces.. (([0017] enable consumers to schedule installation, replacements and other services from remote locations, [0061] user selects a sub-service category … multiple service categories … selection between scheduling a single service provider or scheduling several service providers, see Fig. 7 [0097] selecting at least one service provider resume from the select service provider grouping; and selecting at least one calendar day (delivery option) and at least one appointment time (installation scheduling) from the availability calendar. [claim 2] providing a handyman service appointment confirmation to a select network member via the communication network, [0091] the system comprises a service provider appointment confirmation, the service provider appointment confirmation being provided to a select network member via the communication network and the data output means. ))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system, as taught by STROHMENGER, the features as taught by KARABETSOS, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify STROHMENGER, to include the teachings of KARABETSOS, in order to provide a method for providing services (KARABETSOS, [0002]).
Regarding Claim 8, STROHMENGER discloses computer-based method for promoting candidate plans of upgrade in vendor provided devices or services of an industrial automation system, comprising:
a context term… includes information regarding connected devices, control variable names, and control function blocks related to devices of the industrial automation system; ([0145] the cloud gateway 1308 of FIG. 13 or cloud gateway 1408 of FIG. 14 can tag the collected industrial data (e.g., 1314 or 1414) with contextual metadata prior to pushing the data as cloud data (e.g., 1304 or 1404) to the cloud platform. Such contextual metadata can include, for example, a time stamp, a location of the device at the time the data was generated, or other contextual information. In another example, some cloud-aware devices can comprise smart devices capable of determining their own context within the plant or enterprise environment. Such devices can determine their location within a hierarchical plant context or device topology … Cloud-based applications and services that model an enterprise according to such an organizational hierarchy can represent industrial controllers, devices, machines, or processes as data structures (e.g., type instances) within this organizational hierarchy to provide context for data generated by respective devices within the enterprise relative to the enterprise as a whole. Such a convention can replace the flat name structure that is employed by some industrial applications. [0064] respective variables associated with the industrial automation system 104 that can indicate suitable (e.g., optimal, acceptable, preferred) operation of the industrial automation system 104, or portion thereof, wherein the respective variables can be variables that can affect output of the industrial automation system 104, [0078] information relating functional or geographical relationships between industrial assets (e.g., 210, 212, 214) or between an industrial asset (e.g., 210, 212, 214) and a network-related device of the network component 216, information relating to a layout (e.g., functional layout, logic layout, geographical layout) of an industrial automation system 204, communication network connections, or other information. [0130] data structures (e.g., user data, metadata); code structure(s) (e.g., modules, objects, classes, procedures), commands, or instructions; industrial data or other data associated with industrial automation systems or industrial enterprises; )
[determining] candidate upgrade devices or services related to the context term and mapping key performance indicators related to the context term for each candidate device or service; and ([0071] the analytics component 102 can generate and maintain an asset strategy library that can be employed to facilitate managing the use, maintenance or servicing, replacement, and/or other aspects of a set of industrial assets (e.g., 110, 112, 114) associated with an industrial automation system(s) 104. Based at least in part on the results of the analysis of the data, the analytics management component 118 can determine use, maintenance, and replacement strategies and schedules for use in managing the industrial assets. )
estimating performance improvement for each of the candidate upgrade devices or services, ([0066] the determined or estimated (e.g., by the analytics management component 118) effect of altering operation of the one or more industrial assets with respect to the deviation or potential for deviation, ) the cost-performance engine comprising algorithms that generate one or more simulation models for computing estimated performance improvements ([0120] facilitating performing simulation operations using a model (e.g., simulation model) in connection with an industrial automation system,)
ranking the candidate upgrade devices or services according to cost, performance, or cost-performance benefit; and ([0091] The visualization component 322 also can generate and present the respective correlations relating to the industrial automation system 304 in a desired ranked order (e.g., highest ranked priority correlation to lowest ranked priority correlation) or can emphasize correlations that have higher priority (e.g., display higher priority correlations in a larger form than lower priority correlations, display higher priority correlations using a different color than that of lower priority correlations). The analytics management component 318 or visualization component 322 can determine and assign respective priority rankings for respective correlations, based at least in part on the relative importance of the respective correlations with respect to each other and/or the relative impact on a goal(s) (e.g., production goal and/or other goal) relating to the industrial automation system 304 with respect to each other. [0174] the one or more factors can relate to the relative impact or importance on respective defined goals (e.g., production output, revenue from products, profits from products, minimization of waste or breakage associated with production) of the respective correlations)
delivering a ranked list of candidate upgrade plans for upgrade of devices or services with cost and performance information to one or more graphical user interfaces in the automation system for display to a one or more users., ([0091] The visualization component 322 also can generate and present the respective correlations relating to the industrial automation system 304 in a desired ranked order [0097] The information display 600 of FIG. 6 can comprise a first information portion 602 that can comprise a first subset of information relating to the industrial automation system 304, and a second information portion 604 that can comprise a second subset of information relating to the industrial automation system 304.)
But does not explicitly disclose generating an automation context term for a target application using inference algorithms based on a retrieved ontology of the industrial automation system, wherein the ontology includes information; querying a digital catalog; and an extraction component to extract cost information from the digital catalog;
POLLERI, on the other hand, teaches generating an automation context term for a target application using inference algorithms based on a retrieved ontology of the industrial automation system, ([0336] In various embodiments, context aware semantic Machine Learning (ML) services can enables a user to perform a high-precision search of services and automated composition of machine learning deployment services based on formal ontology-based representations of service semantics that can include QoS and product KPIs. This forms a scalable means for a high-precision search of relevant services to compose pipelines 136, shown in FIG. 1, with minimal human intervention to define self-adaptive machine learning architecture. [0192] When capturing an event, additional information associated with the event may also be collected, where the additional information may indicate a present context in which the event is generated.(cost)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system, as taught by STROHMENGER, the features as taught by POLLERI, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify STROHMENGER, to include the teachings of POLLERI, in order to improve system performance (POLLERI, [0113]).
KARABETSOS, on the other hand, teaches querying a digital catalog; and an extraction component to extract cost information from the digital catalog; ([0022] The service provider database, comprising a plurality of service provider resumes, is searched. [0072] Installation Type prompt 38 provides the user with information about each selection such as cost and the type of service included for each installation type. [0079] a cost estimate for the desired handyman service,)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system, as taught by STROHMENGER, the features as taught by KARABETSOS, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify STROHMENGER, to include the teachings of KARABETSOS, in order to provide a method for providing services (KARABETSOS, [0002]).
Claim 9 recites a method comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 2. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 2.
Claim 10 recites a method comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 3. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 3.
Claim 11 recites a method comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 4. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 4.
Claim 12 recites a method comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 5. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 5.
Claim 13 recites a method comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 6. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 6.
Claim 14 recites a method comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 7. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 7.
Conclusion
/MICHELLE T KRINGEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3688