DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 18 fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends because claim 1 has been amended to include the exact subject matter of claim 18 (see lines 14-17 of claim 1). Claim 19 fails to further limit the subject matter upon which it depends because “3D surface contour data and a point cloud” (see lines 17-18 of claim 1) each comprise “3D surface contour data” as in claim 19 (because a point cloud includes 3D surface contour data). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 18-23, 25-27 and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karimpour (WO 2017/083674)1 in view of Boyden et al. (PG PUB 2014/0121637).
Re claim 1, Karimpour discloses a bird vaccination system (as shown in Fig 4; it is noted that all reference characters cited below refer to Fig 4 unless otherwise noted) operative to perform a vaccination of a bird while the bird is retained on a conveying mechanism and transported by the conveying mechanism along a first direction (it is noted that the italicized text constitutes functional language and, therefore, “a conveying mechanism” is not a part of the claimed invention; this limitation is met in view of conveying mechanism 34 and Page 7, Lines 20-22; wherein the “first direction” is horizontal in Fig 4), the bird vaccination system comprising: a fluid discharge device 42 (Page 7, Line 13) comprising a fluid discharge opening (seen above device 44 in Fig 4 and labeled in Fig A below; from which the substance is delivered to the chick 13, as described on Page 7, Lines 20-21) operative to discharge at least one vaccination fluid to the bird (Page 7, Lines 20-22); at least one actuator (each of the rollers labeled in Fig A below that move the platform 45 is an “actuator”) operative to effect a displacement of at least the fluid discharge opening (Page 7, Lines 28-29); at least one control circuit (“conveyor control system 40” – Page 8, Line 1) operative to control the at least one actuator (Page 8, Line 1; Page 9, Lines 21-22); and a data acquisition device 36 operative to capture image data of the bird retained on the conveying mechanism (Page 7, Lines 29-31; Page 8, Lines 26-27); wherein the at least one control circuit is operative to control the at least one actuator to adjust a position of the fluid discharge opening relative to the bird based on the image data for performing the vaccination while the bird is being moved by the conveying mechanism (Page 8, Lines 28-33); wherein the at least one control circuit comprises at least one integrated circuit (“image processor” - Page 8, Line 4) operative to determine data regarding the position/orientation of the chick (Page 8, Lines 27-28; Page 8, Line 33 – Page 9, Line 2), wherein the at least one control circuit is operative to control the at least one actuator based on this data (Page 8, Line 33 – Page 9, Line 2). Karimpour discloses that the data acquisition device is a camera and that the at least one integrated circuit uses the image captured by the camera to determine the data regarding the position/orientation of the chick (Page 8, Lines 26-29); Karimpour does not explicitly disclose that the data is surface contour data that comprises at least one of 3D surface contour data and a point cloud. Boyden, however, teaches a camera (“three-dimensional sensing system consisting of two or more digital cameras and one or more projectors”, “the camera position and shutter can be adjusted to a body region, which is exposed to structured light” – Para 187) to take images and using these images to compute surface contour data comprising at least one of 3D surface contour data and a point cloud (Para 187,256; Para 192 – “point clouds of data […] are reconstructed using one or more three-dimensional modeling algorithms to form a three-dimensional digital model of the body region”) for the purpose of guiding an injection (Para 60,61). Therefore, it would have bene obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Karimpour to include the integrated circuit such that it uses the camera images to compute at least one of 3D surface contour data and a point cloud, as taught by Boyden, for the purpose of guiding an injection (Para 60,61).
Re claim 2, Karimpour discloses that the at least one control circuit is operative to adjust the position of the fluid discharge opening based on the image data such that the fluid discharge opening impinges on the bird at a target position identified based on the image data (Page 8, Lines 2-10).
Re claim 3, Karimpour discloses that the data acquisition device comprises a 2D camera, a 3D camera system, or an infrared camera (Page 8, Line 5).
Re claim 4, Karimpour as modified by Boyden in the rejection of claim 1 disclose all the claimed features with Boyden teaching that the data acquisition device comprises a structured-light imaging system (“three-dimensional sensing system consisting of two or more digital cameras and one or more projectors”, “the camera position and shutter can be adjusted to a body region, which is exposed to structured light” – Para 187). The motivation cited in the rejection of claim 1 above also applies to this claim.
Re claim 18, Karimpour as modified by Boyden in the rejection of claim 1 disclose that the data acquisition device or the at least one control circuit comprises at least one integrated circuit operative to compute surface contour data of the bird, wherein the at least control circuit is operative to control the at least one actuator based on the surface contour data (since this exact limitation is recited in claim 1, please see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Re claim 19, Karimpour as modified by Boyden in the rejection of claim 1 discloses that the surface contour data comprises 3D surface contour data (Para 192 of Boyden sets forth that that “point clouds of data […] are reconstructed using one or more three-dimensional modeling algorithms to form a three-dimensional digital model of the body region”).
Re claim 20, Karimpour discloses that the at least one control circuit is operative to control the at least one actuator to adjust the position of the fluid discharge opening relative to the bird at least along the first direction (Page 9, Lines 19-22).
Re claim 21, Karimpour discloses that the at least one control circuit is operative to control the at least one actuator to adjust the position of the fluid discharge opening relative to the bird along the first direction (Page 9, Lines 19-22) and a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (when the carrier rotates hingedly so that the bird falls downward (Page 9, Lines 11-13).
Re claim 22, Karimpour discloses that the conveying mechanism is operative to move the bird in the first direction at a transport speed, and the at least one control circuit is operative to control the at least one actuator such that the fluid discharge opening is displaced along the first direction at a second speed that is equal to the transport speed while the at least one vaccination fluid is being discharged via the fluid discharge opening (Page 7, Lines 28-29; Page 8, Lines 23-25).
Re claim 23, Karimpour discloses a support (platform 45) and an applicator carrier (connecting 44 to 45, labeled in Fig A above) moveably mounted on the support, wherein the at least one actuator is operative to displace the applicator carrier relative to the support to displace the fluid discharge opening (Page 7, Lines 28-29; Page 9, Lines 19-21).
Re claim 25, Karimpour discloses a suspension between the fluid discharge device and the applicator carrier (as seen in Fig 4, the fluid delivery device is above the applicator carrier and, therefore, there is a suspension between the two).
Re claim 26, Karimpour discloses an abutment member (carrier members 32 + the platform of 34 upon which they are attached) operative for abutment on the bird (as seen in Fig 4), the abutment member comprising an opening (through the carrier member 32) through which the fluid discharge opening is positioned or positionable for performing the vaccination (since Page 9, Lines 6-7 discloses that the injection head 44 can be “in contact with the chick 13” and the chick is within the abutment member 32, there must be an opening in the abutment member 32).
Re claim 27, Karimpour discloses that the abutment member comprises a coupling mechanism (the platform of 34 upon which carrier members 32 are attached) for reversibly releasable attachment of the abutment member to the applicator carrier (the attachment is via the injection head 44 contacting the chick 13, as described on Page 9, Lines 7-8), and wherein the abutment member comprises at least one additional opening through which at least one additional fluid discharge opening is positionable (in order for the injection head 44 to contact each chick 13 in their carrier members 32, the platform of 34 must have multiple openings through which the injection head extends; it is noted that the use of the term “positionable” does not require the system to include “at least one additional fluid discharge opening”).
Re claim 29, Karimpour discloses a bird handling system (as seen in Fig 4; it is noted that all reference characters cited below refer to Fig 4 unless otherwise noted), comprising: a conveying mechanism 34 operative to transport a bird (Page 7, Lines 7-8); and the bird vaccination system of claim 1 for vaccinating the bird (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Re claim 30, Karimpour discloses that the conveying mechanism comprises a retaining bracket 32 operative to retain the bird (Page 7, Lines 5-7) and the at least one control circuit is operative to determine a position of the bird relative to the retaining bracket or physiological characteristics of the bird, to determine a target position of the fluid discharge opening based on the position of the bird relative to the retaining bracket or based on the physiological characteristics of the bird, and to control the at least one actuator based on the target position (Page 8, Lines 25-33).
Re claim 31, Karimpour discloses a method of controlling at least one actuator (each of the rollers labeled in Fig A above, that move the platform 45 is an “actuator”) of a bird vaccination system (seen in Fig 4) (Page 8, Lines 22-33), the bird vaccination system comprising a fluid discharge device 44 comprising a fluid discharge opening (seen above device 44 in Fig 4 and labeled in Fig A above; from which the substance is delivered to the chick 13, as described on Page 7, Lines 20-21) for discharging at least one vaccination fluid to the bird (Page 7, Lines 20-22), and at least one actuator (each of the rollers labeled in Fig A above, that move the platform 45 is an “actuator”) operative to effect a displacement of at least the fluid discharge opening (Page 7, Lines 28-29), the method comprising: receiving, by at least one control circuit (“conveyor control system 40” – Page 8, Line 1), image data of the bird from a data acquisition device 36 (Page 7, Lines 29-31; Page 8, Lines 26-27); computing, by at least one integrated circuit (“image processor” – Page 8, Line 4) of the data acquisition device or the at least one control circuit, data of the bird from the image data (Page 8, Lines 27-28; Page 8, Line 33 – Page 9, Line 2); and controlling, by the at least one control circuit, the at least one actuator to position the fluid discharge opening relative to the bird based on the image data prior to performing the vaccination and while the bird is being moved by the conveying mechanism (Page 8, Lines 28-33). Karimpour discloses that the data acquisition device is a camera and that the at least one integrated circuit uses the image captured by the camera to determine the data regarding the position/orientation of the chick (Page 8, Lines 26-29); Karimpour does not explicitly disclose that the data is surface contour data that comprises at least one of 3D surface contour data and a point cloud. Boyden, however, teaches using camera images to compute surface contour data comprising at least one of 3D surface contour data and a point cloud (Para 187,256; Para 192 – “point clouds of data […] are reconstructed using one or more three-dimensional modeling algorithms to form a three-dimensional digital model of the body region”) for the purpose of guiding an injection (Para 60,61). Therefore, it would have bene obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Karimpour to include the integrated circuit such that it uses the camera images to compute at least one of 3D surface contour data and a point cloud, as taught by Boyden, for the purpose of guiding an injection (Para 60,61).
Claims 5, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karimpour (WO 2017/083674)/Boyden et al. (PG PUB 2014/0121637) in view of Rossol et al. (US Pat 4,105,925).
Re claims 5, 16 and 17, Karimpour discloses all the claimed features except that the data acquisition device comprises a projector operative to output a line of visible or infrared light and an image sensor operative to capture an image of the line projected onto the bird (as required by claim 5), wherein the image sensor is operative to capture a series of frames while the conveying mechanism moves the bird across the line of visible or infrared light, and wherein the at least one control circuit is operative to control the at least one actuator based on several time-sequentially captured frames of the series of frames (as required by claim 16), and wherein the line of visible or infrared light is positioned upstream, relative to the first direction, of the fluid discharge device (as required by claim 17). Rossol, however, teaches a system (seen in Fig 1) comprising a conveying mechanism 10 (Fig 1) with items 12 (Fig 1) thereupon – similar to the conveying mechanism 34 and the items 13 of Karimpour – wherein the system includes a data acquisition device 14+16+26 (Fig 1) comprising a projector 14 (Fig 1) operative to output a line of visible or infrared light 22 (Fig 1) and an image sensor 24 (Fig 1) operative to capture an image of the line projected on the item (Col 2, Lines 11-23), wherein the image sensor is operative to capture a series of frames while the conveying mechanism moves the item across the line of light (Col 3, Lines 5-8), wherein a control circuit 30 (Fig 1) is operative to control an element configured to interact with the item (Col 1, Lines 60-63) – similar to discharge device 44 that interacts with items 13 of Karimpour – and wherein the line of light is positioned upstream, relative to a first direction which the item moves, of the element configured to interact with the item (Col 1, Lines 60-63) for the purpose of establishing the boundaries of the items and enabling item dimension information to be correlated with item position in order to control an element that is configured to interact with the item (Col 1, Lines 41-48 and Lines 60-63) without human intervention (Col 1, Lines 5-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Karimpour to include the data acquisition device as one with a projector outputting a line of light and an image sensor operative to capture an image of the line, as taught by Rossol, for the purpose of establishing the boundaries of the bird and enabling dimension information to be correlated with bird’s position in order to control the discharge device that is configured to interact with the bird (Col 1, Lines 41-48 and Lines 60-63) without human intervention (Col 1, Lines 5-8).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karimpour (WO 2017/083674)/Boyden et al. (PG PUB 2014/0121637) in view of Smith (PG PUB 2007/0093747).
Re claim 24, Karimpour discloses all the claimed features except explicitly disclosing that the fluid delivery device is mounted such that the fluid discharge opening is displaceable relative to the applicator carrier, and wherein the fluid discharge opening is arranged for pivoting or translatory movement relative to the applicator carrier. Smith, however, teaches a fluid delivery device 08 (Fig 1,2) that is mounted such that its discharge opening (to the left in Fig 1,2) is displaceable relative to an applicator carrier 07 (Fig 1,2) (Para 22), wherein the fluid discharge opening is arranged for pivoting or translatory movement relative to the applicator carrier (translatory movement – Para 22) for the purpose of providing an automatic refilling arrangement for the fluid delivery device (Para 23,24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Karimpour to include the fluid delivery device and the applicator carrier such that the fluid discharge opening is arranged for translatory movement relative to the applicator carrier, as taught by Smith, for the purpose of providing an automatic refilling arrangement for the fluid delivery device (Para 23,24).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karimpour (WO 2017/083674)/Boyden et al. (PG PUB 2014/0121637) in view of Forner Domenech et al. (PG PUB 2019/0029228).
Re claim 28, Karimpour discloses all the claimed features except that the bird vaccination system is operative to perform one or several of a breast vaccination, a wing vaccination, an eye vaccination, while the bird is being held on the conveying mechanism by its scapula-humeral joint. Forner Domenech, however, teaches a conveying mechanism (Fig 6) that holds a bird by its scapula-humeral joint (Para 8) and delivers a breast, wing, or eye vaccination (Para 68) for the purpose of securing the birds in a gentle way that ensures the welfare of the birds (Para 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Karimpour to hold the bird by its scapula-humeral joint for breast, wing or eye vaccination, as taught by Forner Domenech, for the purpose of securing the birds in a gentle way that ensures the welfare of the birds (Para 8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 8/25/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the present rejections that no longer utilize Hofman. It is noted that the amendment to claim 1 changed the scope of the claims (by setting forth that the surface contour data could be a point cloud – which was not an option in the previous set of claims) and this amendment resulted in Hofman no longer being one of the closest prior arts of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAMI A BOSWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783
1 A copy of this reference was provided by the Applicant on 1/31/2024.