DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: Please use the full term in place of “TD”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, and 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claims 1, 2, and 4-13, the amendment “feeding of the second transparent resin film and the T-die first transparent resin film includes bonding one surface of the T-die first transparent resin film to the second transparent resin film while being fed into the compression roll” is already met by lines 8-10 of claim 1 (“bonding the second transparent resin film to at least one surface of the T-die first transparent resin film in response to the T-die a first transparent resin film being discharged from the T-die and fed into the compression roll”).
With respect to claims 14 and 15, “Td” is used interchangeably as “diffusion transmittance” and a direction. Please choose one.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neill et al. (KR 10-2014-0063621) in view of Hah (KR 10-2017-0079231).
Neill et al. teach a method for producing a laminated polymer sheet, the method comprising the steps of:
injecting a first polymer material into an extrusion die (12) to extrude it into a transparent heavy-gauge polymer sheet;
transferring a polymer extrudate discharged from a die head (14) to a cooling roller stack (16); and
applying a compressive lamination force to perform lamination by passing a pre-formed polymer film formed from the transparent heavy-gauge polymer sheet and a second polymer material through a nip (17b) defined between two rollers (16b, 16c),
wherein the transparent heavy-gauge polymer sheet and the pre-formed polymer film are made of polymer materials, such as transparent acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene copolymer (TABS) and acrylonitrile-styrene-acrylate copolymer (ASA) (claims 1, 3, and 6-7; paragraphs [0011] and [0013]-[0016]; Figure 1).
Neill et al. do not teach a first transparent resin is a graft copolymer containing a conjugated diene-based polymer, and a second transparent resin is a graft copolymer containing an acrylic polymer, and that a T-die is used. However, Hah teaches that the feature of weather resistance is improved by manufacturing a two-layer sheet by laminating a skin layer of ASA resin on a base layer of ABS resin, which has weak weather resistance alone (abstract, paragraphs [0026], [0030], [0031], and [0036]. A person of ordinary skill in the art may intend to secure the weather resistance of a transparent sheet.
With respect to claim 2, Neill et al. teach that a polymer melt exiting the extruder has a temperature of 510° F (paragraph 0048).
With respect to claim 6, Neill et al. teach a temperature could be optimized by a person of ordinary skill in the art when laminating a sheet contact surface and a film contact surface (claim 6).
With respect to claims 7-13, Hah teaches a person of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the conditions of lamination and have the skin layer of acrylate-acrylonitrile-styrene (ASA) resin laminated on the base layer of acrylonitrile-butadienestyrene (ABS) resin (Hah: claim 1).
Conclusion
/SONYA M SENGUPTA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745