DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 31 January 2024 and 15 April 2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 10-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10 and 12 of copending Application No. 18/288,013 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 10-13 of the instant application are in the same scope as claims 10 and 12 of 18/288,013.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. US 2020/0008117 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Yang”) in view of 3GPP “Introduction of DL RRC Segmentation” (hereinafter referred to as “3GPP”). Note Yang and 3GPP were cited by the applicant in the IDS received 15 April 2025.
As to claim 1, Yang teaches a method performed by a remote user equipment (¶¶185 and 187; figure 8), the method comprising:
receiving an indication, which is transmitted by a relay user equipment in a case that cell reselection occurs in the relay user equipment (¶¶185 and 201-205; figure 8: second (remote) terminal device receives handover indication from first (relay) terminal indicating handover is occurring at the first (relay) terminal); and
in response to receiving the indication, considering cell reselection occurs and performing actions, wherein
the actions are actions for a case where the remote user equipment considers the cell reselection occurs (¶207; figure 8: based on receiving the handover indication, second (remote) terminal performs the handover scheme).
Although Yang teaches “A method…reselection occurs,” Yang does not explicitly disclose “the actions…is running”.
However, 3GPP teaches the actions include stopping a timer T390 for all access categories in a case the timer T390 is running (page 64: if cell reselection occurs while T390 is running, the terminal stops T390 for all access categories).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Yang by including “the actions…is running” as taught by 3GPP because it provides Yang’s method with the enhanced capability of performing UE operations according to the standard (3GPP, page 64).
As to claim 10, Yang teaches a remote user equipment (¶¶185, 187, and 316; figures 8 and 16) comprising:
a processor; and
a memory storing instructions,
wherein the instructions, when run by the processor, cause the remote user equipment to (¶¶316-321; figure 16):
receive an indication, which is transmitted by a relay user equipment in a case that cell reselection occurs in the relay user equipment (¶¶185 and 201-205; figure 8: second (remote) terminal device receives handover indication from first (relay) terminal indicating handover is occurring at the first (relay) terminal); and
in response to receiving the indication, considering cell reselection occurs and performing actions, wherein
the actions are actions for a case where the remote user equipment considers the cell reselection occurs (¶207; figure 8: based on receiving the handover indication, second (remote) terminal performs the handover scheme).
Although Yang teaches “A remote…reselection occurs,” Yang does not explicitly disclose “the actions…is running”.
However, 3GPP teaches the actions include stopping a timer T390 for all access categories in a case the timer T390 is running (page 64: if cell reselection occurs while T390 is running, the terminal stops T390 for all access categories).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Yang by including “the actions…is running” as taught by 3GPP because it provides Yang’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of performing UE operations according to the standard (3GPP, page 64).
As to claim 11, Yang in view of 3GPP teaches the remote user equipment according to claim 10.
3GPP further teaches the actions further include actions which are performed upon going to RRC_IDLE with release cause 'RRC connection failure' in a case that a timer T302 is running (page 64: UE enters RRC_IDLE with release cause ‘RRC Resume failure’ when reselection occurs while T302 is running).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Yang in view of 3GPP by including “the actions…is running” as further taught by 3GPP for the same rationale as set forth in claim 10 (3GPP, page 64).
As to claim 12, Yang teaches a relay user equipment (¶¶185, 187, and 310; figures 8 and 15) comprising:
a processor; and
a memory storing instructions,
wherein the instructions, when run by the processor, cause the remote user equipment to (¶¶310-315; figure 15):
transmit, to a remote user equipment, an indication, in a case that cell reselection occurs in the relay user equipment (¶¶185 and 201-205; figure 8: second (remote) terminal device receives handover indication from first (relay) terminal indicating handover is occurring at the first (relay) terminal); and
the indication causes the remote user equipment to consider cell reselection occurs and to perform actions,
the actions are actions for a case where the remote user equipment considers the cell reselection occurs (¶207; figure 8: based on receiving the handover indication, second (remote) terminal performs the handover scheme).
Although Yang teaches “A relay…reselection occurs,” Yang does not explicitly disclose “the actions…is running”.
However, 3GPP teaches the actions include stopping a timer T390 for all access categories in a case the timer T390 is running (page 64: if cell reselection occurs while T390 is running, the terminal stops T390 for all access categories).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Yang by including “the actions…is running” as taught by 3GPP because it provides Yang’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of performing UE operations according to the standard (3GPP, page 64).
As to claim 13, Yang in view of 3GPP teaches the remote user equipment according to claim 12.
3GPP further teaches the actions further include actions which are performed upon going to RRC_IDLE with release cause 'RRC connection failure' in a case that a timer T302 is running (page 64: UE enters RRC_IDLE with release cause ‘RRC Resume failure’ when reselection occurs while T302 is running).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Yang in view of 3GPP by including “the actions…is running” as further taught by 3GPP for the same rationale as set forth in claim 12 (3GPP, page 64).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Back et al. US 2024/0056951 A1 – Method and Apparatus for Access Control in Wireless Communication System
Yang US 2025/0039754 A1 – Access Control Method and Apparatus
3GPP 38.311 V16.4.1 Release 16
/JUSTIN T VAN ROIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469