DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, and 6 of copending Application No. 18/293688 (reference application) and further in view of Zhu (2022/0417909; support in provisional 63218132 filed 2 July 2021).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the instant Application conflicts with claim 1 of Application No. 18/293688. Claim 1 of the instant Application does not have the receive step for PDSCH. Claim 1 of Application No. 18/293688 does not explicitly disclose wherein the first TCI state and second TCI state are for PDCCH. However, Zhu does disclose wherein the first TCI state and second TCI state are for PDCCH. (See Zhu para. 103; TCI state indication for PDSCH, PDCCH) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Claim 1 of Application No. 18/293688 to include the teaching of wherein the first TCI state and second TCI state are for PDCCH of Zhu with the motivation being to conform to the 5G NR 3GPP standard and provide compatibility and further each channel’s TCI state is adjusted based upon channel conditions, reliability constraints, and required throughput (including considering latency); and further to fine tune channel characteristics based upon requirements (reliability, throughput, latency, etc.).
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 of the instant Application conflicts with claim 1 of Application No. 18/293688. Claim 1 of Application No. 18/293688 does not explicitly repeat the method again. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Claim 1 of Application No. 18/293688 to include the teaching of repeat the method again with the motivation being it is a duplication of parts under MPEP 2144.04 (that is, it is just performing the steps that is already disclosed again) and further it is common sense (that is, it is just performing the steps that is already disclosed again; and further not ever performing the steps again in the life of the UE is wasteful as wireless conditions change) and further one of ordinary skill possessing ordinary creativity would realize that the network would need to perform the steps already performed once in Claim 1 of Application No. 18/293688 multiple times over the life of a UE and network. Therefore, this is an obvious variant.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 of the instant Application conflicts with claim 6 of Application No. 18/293688. Claim 6 of Application No. 18/293688 does not explicitly disclose wherein the first TCI state and second TCI state are for PDCCH. However, Zhu does disclose wherein the first TCI state and second TCI state are for PDCCH. (See Zhu para. 103; TCI state indication for PDSCH, PDCCH) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Claim 6 of Application No. 18/293688 to include the teaching of wherein the first TCI state and second TCI state are for PDCCH of Zhu with the motivation being to conform to the 5G NR 3GPP standard and provide compatibility and further each channel’s TCI state is adjusted based upon channel conditions, reliability constraints, and required throughput (including considering latency); and further to fine tune channel characteristics based upon requirements (reliability, throughput, latency, etc.).
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 of the instant Application conflicts with claim 6 of Application No. 18/293688. Claim 6 of Application No. 18/293688 does not explicitly repeat the method again. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Claim 6 of Application No. 18/293688 to include the teaching of repeat the method again with the motivation being it is a duplication of parts under MPEP 2144.04 (that is, it is just performing the steps that is already disclosed again) and further it is common sense (that is, it is just performing the steps that is already disclosed again; and further not ever performing the steps again in the life of the UE is wasteful as wireless conditions change) and further one of ordinary skill possessing ordinary creativity would realize that the network would need to perform the steps already performed once in Claim 6 of Application No. 18/293688 multiple times over the life of a UE and network. Therefore, this is an obvious variant.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 of the instant Application conflicts with claim 11 of Application No. 18/293688. Claim 3 of the instant Application does not have the receive step for PDSCH. Claim 11 of Application No. 18/293688 does not explicitly disclose wherein the first TCI state and second TCI state are for PDCCH. However, Zhu does disclose wherein the first TCI state and second TCI state are for PDCCH. (See Zhu para. 103; TCI state indication for PDSCH, PDCCH) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Claim 11 of Application No. 18/293688 to include the teaching of wherein the first TCI state and second TCI state are for PDCCH of Zhu with the motivation being to conform to the 5G NR 3GPP standard and provide compatibility and further each channel’s TCI state is adjusted based upon channel conditions, reliability constraints, and required throughput (including considering latency); and further to fine tune channel characteristics based upon requirements (reliability, throughput, latency, etc.). Claim 11 of Application No. 18/293688 does not explicitly disclose receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising fifth information used for indicating a third list of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state(s) for beam(s) associated with non-serving cell(s) and/or Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state(s) for beam(s) associated with serving cell(s); and receiving a third media access control (MAC) Control Element (CE) message comprising sixth information used for indicating a third TCI state for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) from the third list. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method to include the teaching of receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising fifth information used for indicating a third list of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state(s) for beam(s) associated with non-serving cell(s) and/or Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state(s) for beam(s) associated with serving cell(s); and receiving a third media access control (MAC) Control Element (CE) message comprising sixth information used for indicating a third TCI state for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) from the third list with the motivation being it is a duplication of parts under MPEP 2144.04 (that is, it is just performing the steps that already disclosed again) and further it is common sense (that is, it is just performing the steps disclosed again; and further not ever performing the steps again in the life of the UE is wasteful as wireless conditions change) and further one of ordinary skill possessing ordinary creativity would realize that the network would need to perform the steps already performed once multiple times over the life of a UE and network.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 recites ‘…A user equipment (UE) of Claim 1, comprising…’ It is unclear if this is a dependent claim which further limits (the user equipment) or if this is an independent claim (A user equipment) which just imports all of the limitations of claim 1. Please clarify.
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 recites ‘…A base station of Claim 2, comprising…’ It is unclear if this is a dependent claim which further limits (the base station) or if this is an independent claim (A base station) which just imports all of the limitations of claim 2. Please clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (2022/0417909; support in provisional 63218132 filed 2 July 2021), and further in view of Cao (2023/0044880; Foreign priority 27 Feb 2020).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu discloses a user equipment (UE) that communicates with a base station apparatus, comprising: (See Zhu fig. 1; UEs communicating with base station)
receiving circuitry configured to: (See Zhu fig. 3, para. 15, 64; UE with transceiver that receives)
receive a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising first information used for indicating a first list of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state(s) associated with non-serving cell(s); (See Zhu para. 322, 323; UE configured by network via RRC TCI states for two lists/pool (e.g. first information is the 0 and 1 that indicate TCI states for non-serving); including a serving cell and non serving cell; (e.g. portion of RRC message with TCI states for non-serving cell is a radio resource control (RRC) message))
receive an RRC message comprising second information used for indicating a second list of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state(s) associated with serving cell(s); (See Zhu para. 322, 323; UE configured by network via RRC TCI states for two lists/pool (e.g. second information is the 0 and 1 that indicate TCI states for serving); including a serving cell and non serving cell; (e.g. portion of RRC message with TCI states for serving cell is an RRC message)
receive a first media access control (MAC) Control Element (CE) message comprising third information used for indicating a first TCI state for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) from the first list; and (See Zhu para. 326; UE receives a MAC CE commands for PDCCH beam activation which indicate TCI states (e.g. 0 and 1s are third information); for non-serving cell (e.g. from first list))
receive a second media access control (MAC) Control Element (CE) message comprising fourth information used for indicating a second TCI state for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) from the second list. (See Zhu para. 326; UE receives more than one MAC CE commands for PDCCH beam activation which indicate TCI states (e.g. 0 and 1s are fourth information) for serving cell (e.g. from second list))
Zhu does not explicitly disclose wherein the TCI states are associated with a non-zero power channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource index. However, Cao does disclose wherein the TCI states are associated with a non-zero power channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource index. (See Cao fig. 1, para. 31; TCI state is associated with parameters including an NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceID (e.g. resource Index)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Zhu to include the teaching of wherein the TCI states are associated with a non-zero power channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource index of Cao with the motivation being to provide the UE with specific, configurable reference signals for essential network functions, supporting robust beamforming, accurate channel quality measurements and efficient mobility management.
Regarding claim 4, Zhu in view of Cao discloses a user equipment (UE) of claim 1, comprising:
receiving circuitry configured to: (See Zhu fig. 3, para. 15, 64; UE with transceiver that receives)
Zhu discloses performing the steps of claim 1 once. (See Zhu para. 322, 323; UE configured by network via RRC TCI states for two lists/pool (e.g. first information is the 0 and 1 that indicate TCI states for non-serving); including a serving cell and non serving cell; (e.g. portion of RRC message with TCI states for non-serving cell is a radio resource control (RRC) message)) (See Zhu para. 322, 323; UE configured by network via RRC TCI states for two lists/pool (e.g. second information is the 0 and 1 that indicate TCI states for serving); including a serving cell and non serving cell; (e.g. portion of RRC message with TCI states for serving cell is an RRC message)) (See Zhu para. 326; UE receives a MAC CE commands for PDCCH beam activation which indicate TCI states (e.g. 0 and 1s are third information); for non-serving cell (e.g. from first list))
Zhu does not explicitly disclose receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising fifth information used for indicating a third list of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state(s) for beam(s) associated with non-serving cell(s) and/or Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state(s) for beam(s) associated with serving cell(s); and receiving a third media access control (MAC) Control Element (CE) message comprising sixth information used for indicating a third TCI state for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) from the third list. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Zhu to include the teaching of receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising fifth information used for indicating a third list of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state(s) for beam(s) associated with non-serving cell(s) and/or Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state(s) for beam(s) associated with serving cell(s); and receiving a third media access control (MAC) Control Element (CE) message comprising sixth information used for indicating a third TCI state for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) from the third list with the motivation being it is a duplication of parts under MPEP 2144.04 (that is, it is just performing the steps that Zhu already disclosed again) and further it is common sense (that is, it is just performing the steps that Zhu already disclosed again; and further not ever performing the steps again in the life of the UE is wasteful as wireless conditions change) and further one of ordinary skill possessing ordinary creativity would realize that the network would need to perform the steps already performed once in Zhu multiple times over the life of a UE and network.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (2022/0417909; support in provisional 63218132 filed 2 July 2021), and further in view of Cao (2023/0044880; Foreign priority 27 Feb 2020).
Regarding claim 2, Zhu discloses a base station apparatus that communicates with a user equipment (UE), comprising: (See Zhu fig. 1; UEs communicating with base station)
transmitting circuitry configured to: (See Zhu fig. 2, para. 14, 55; gNB/base station with transceiver that transmits/receives)
transmit a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising first information used for indicating a first list of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state(s) associated with non-serving cell(s); (See Zhu para. 322, 323; UE configured by network via RRC TCI states for two lists/pool (e.g. first information is the 0 and 1 that indicate TCI states for non-serving); including a serving cell and non serving cell; (e.g. portion of RRC message with TCI states for non-serving cell is a radio resource control (RRC) message))
transmit an RRC message comprising second information used for indicating a second list of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state(s) associated with serving cell(s); (See Zhu para. 322, 323; UE configured by network via RRC TCI states for two lists/pool (e.g. second information is the 0 and 1 that indicate TCI states for serving); including a serving cell and non serving cell; (e.g. portion of RRC message with TCI states for serving cell is an RRC message)
transmit a first media access control (MAC) Control Element (CE) message comprising third information used for indicating a first TCI state for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) from the first list; and (See Zhu para. 326; UE receives a MAC CE commands for PDCCH beam activation which indicate TCI states (e.g. 0 and 1s are third information); for non-serving cell (e.g. from first list))
transmit a second media access control (MAC) Control Element (CE) message comprising fourth information used for indicating a second TCI state for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) from the second list. (See Zhu para. 326; UE receives more than one MAC CE commands for PDCCH beam activation which indicate TCI states (e.g. 0 and 1s are fourth information) for serving cell (e.g. from second list))
Zhu does not explicitly disclose wherein the TCI states are associated with a non-zero power channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource index. However, Cao does disclose wherein the TCI states are associated with a non-zero power channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource index. (See Cao fig. 1, para. 31; TCI state is associated with parameters including an NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceID (e.g. resource Index)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Zhu to include the teaching of wherein the TCI states are associated with a non-zero power channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource index of Cao with the motivation being to provide the UE with specific, configurable reference signals for essential network functions, supporting robust beamforming, accurate channel quality measurements and efficient mobility management.
Regarding claim 5, Zhu in view of Cao discloses a base station apparatus of claim 2, comprising:
transmitting circuitry configured to: (See Zhu fig. 2, para. 14, 55; gNB/base station with transceiver that transmits/receives)
Zhu discloses performing the steps of claim 2 once. (See Zhu para. 322, 323; UE configured by network via RRC TCI states for two lists/pool (e.g. first information is the 0 and 1 that indicate TCI states for non-serving); including a serving cell and non serving cell; (e.g. portion of RRC message with TCI states for non-serving cell is a radio resource control (RRC) message)) (See Zhu para. 322, 323; UE configured by network via RRC TCI states for two lists/pool (e.g. second information is the 0 and 1 that indicate TCI states for serving); including a serving cell and non serving cell; (e.g. portion of RRC message with TCI states for serving cell is an RRC message)) (See Zhu para. 326; UE receives a MAC CE commands for PDCCH beam activation which indicate TCI states (e.g. 0 and 1s are third information); for non-serving cell (e.g. from first list))
Zhu does not explicitly disclose transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising fifth information used for indicating a third list of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state(s) for beam(s) associated with non-serving cell(s) and/or Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state(s) for beam(s) associated with serving cell(s); and transmitting a third media access control (MAC) Control Element (CE) message comprising sixth information used for indicating a third TCI state for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) from the third list. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Zhu to include the teaching of transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising fifth information used for indicating a third list of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state(s) for beam(s) associated with non-serving cell(s) and/or Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state(s) for beam(s) associated with serving cell(s); and transmitting a third media access control (MAC) Control Element (CE) message comprising sixth information used for indicating a third TCI state for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) from the third list with the motivation being it is a duplication of parts under MPEP 2144.04 (that is, it is just performing the steps that Zhu already disclosed again) and further it is common sense (that is, it is just performing the steps that Zhu already disclosed again; and further not ever performing the steps again in the life of the UE is wasteful as wireless conditions change) and further one of ordinary skill possessing ordinary creativity would realize that the network would need to perform the steps already performed once in Zhu multiple times over the life of a UE and network.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (2022/0417909; support in provisional 63218132 filed 2 July 2021), and further in view of Cao (2023/0044880; Foreign priority 27 Feb 2020).
Regarding claim 3, Zhu discloses a communication method of a user equipment (UE) that communicates with a base station apparatus, comprising: (See Zhu fig. 1; UEs communicating with base station)
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising first information used for indicating a first list of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state(s) associated with non-serving cell(s); (See Zhu para. 322, 323; UE configured by network via RRC TCI states for two lists/pool (e.g. first information is the 0 and 1 that indicate TCI states for non-serving); including a serving cell and non serving cell; (e.g. portion of RRC message with TCI states for non-serving cell is a radio resource control (RRC) message))
receiving an RRC message comprising second information used for indicating a second list of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state(s) associated with serving cell(s); (See Zhu para. 322, 323; UE configured by network via RRC TCI states for two lists/pool (e.g. second information is the 0 and 1 that indicate TCI states for serving); including a serving cell and non serving cell; (e.g. portion of RRC message with TCI states for serving cell is an RRC message)
receiving a first media access control (MAC) Control Element (CE) message comprising third information used for indicating a first TCI state for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) from the first list; (See Zhu para. 326; UE receives a MAC CE commands for PDCCH beam activation which indicate TCI states (e.g. 0 and 1s are third information); for non-serving cell (e.g. from first list))
receiving a second media access control (MAC) Control Element (CE) message comprising fourth information used for indicating a second TCI state for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) from the second list; (See Zhu para. 326; UE receives more than one MAC CE commands for PDCCH beam activation which indicate TCI states (e.g. 0 and 1s are fourth information) for serving cell (e.g. from second list))
Zhu does not explicitly disclose receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising fifth information used for indicating a third list of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state(s) for beam(s) associated with non-serving cell(s) and/or Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state(s) for beam(s) associated with serving cell(s); and receiving a third media access control (MAC) Control Element (CE) message comprising sixth information used for indicating a third TCI state for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) from the third list. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Zhu to include the teaching of receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising fifth information used for indicating a third list of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state(s) for beam(s) associated with non-serving cell(s) and/or Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state(s) for beam(s) associated with serving cell(s); and receiving a third media access control (MAC) Control Element (CE) message comprising sixth information used for indicating a third TCI state for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) from the third list with the motivation being it is a duplication of parts under MPEP 2144.04 (that is, it is just performing the steps that Zhu already disclosed again) and further it is common sense (that is, it is just performing the steps that Zhu already disclosed again; and further not ever performing the steps again in the life of the UE is wasteful as wireless conditions change) and further one of ordinary skill possessing ordinary creativity would realize that the network would need to perform the steps already performed once in Zhu multiple times over the life of a UE and network.
Zhu does not explicitly disclose wherein the TCI states are associated with a non-zero power channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource index. However, Cao does disclose wherein the TCI states are associated with a non-zero power channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource index. (See Cao fig. 1, para. 31; TCI state is associated with parameters including an NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceID (e.g. resource Index)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Zhu to include the teaching of wherein the TCI states are associated with a non-zero power channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource index of Cao with the motivation being to provide the UE with specific, configurable reference signals for essential network functions, supporting robust beamforming, accurate channel quality measurements and efficient mobility management.
Conclusion
/Stephen J Clawson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461