Claim Objections
2. Claims 1-5 and 7-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“The base station" in claim 1 (line 10) and claim 11 (line 10) should be replaced with - - the base station apparatus - - to be consistent with the first citation of “base station apparatus” in claim 1 (line 1) and claim 11 (line 1-2), respectively.
Claim 2 (line 2-4) recites “the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each CSI-RS Resource Set configuration” and it should be - - a number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each CSI-RS Resource Set configuration - -, as “the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each CSI-RS Resource Set configuration” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 3 (line 3-4) recites “the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each CSI-RS Resource Set configuration” and it should be - - a number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each CSI-RS Resource Set configuration - -, as “the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each CSI-RS Resource Set configuration” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 4 (line 3-4) recites “the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each trigger state configuration” and it should be - - a number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each trigger state configuration - -, as “the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each trigger state configuration” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 5 (line 2-4) recites “the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each trigger state configuration” and it should be - - a number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each trigger state configuration - -, as “the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each trigger state configuration” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 7 (line 2-4) recites “the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each CSI-RS Resource Set configuration” and it should be - - a number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each CSI-RS Resource Set configuration - -, as “the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each CSI-RS Resource Set configuration” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 8 (line 3-4) recites “the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each CSI-RS Resource Set configuration” and it should be - - a number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each CSI-RS Resource Set configuration - -, as “the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each CSI-RS Resource Set configuration” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 9 (line 3-4) recites “the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each trigger state configuration” and it should be - - a number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each trigger state configuration - -, as “the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each trigger state configuration” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 10 (line 2-4) recites “the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each trigger state configuration” and it should be - - a number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each trigger state configuration - -, as “the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each trigger state configuration” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 11 (line 11-13) recites “the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each CSI-RS Resource Set configuration” and it should be - - a number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each CSI-RS Resource Set configuration - -, as “the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each CSI-RS Resource Set configuration” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 11 (line 15-16) recites “the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each CSI-RS Resource Set configuration” and it should be - - a number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each CSI-RS Resource Set configuration - -, as “the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each CSI-RS Resource Set configuration” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 11 (line 19-20) recites “the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each trigger state configuration” and it should be - - a number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each trigger state configuration - -, as “the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each trigger state configuration” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda ‘763 (US 2022/0124763, “Takeda ‘763”), in view of 3GPP ‘353 (MediaTek Inc., "Enhancement on multi-beam operation", R1- 2105353, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #105-e, e-Meeting, May 10th - 27th, 2021, “3GPP ‘353”), and further in view of 3GPP ‘220 (Moderator (Samsung), "Moderator summary for multi-beam enhancement", R1-2103220, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #104b-e, e-Meeting, April 12th - 20th, 2021, “3GPP ‘220”).
Regarding claim 1, Takeda ‘763 discloses user equipment (UE) that communicates with a base station apparatus (FIG. 3, para 52-53; UE communicates with a base station), comprising:
receiving circuitry (FIG. 10, para 210 and 214; UE includes a reception circuit) configured to:
receive a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising first information (para 148 and 274; UE receives a RRC connection setup message; thus, UE receives a RRC message comprising connection setup information; connection setup information reads on first information);
receive an RRC message comprising second information (para 148 and 274; UE receives a RRC connection reconfiguration message; thus, UE receives a RRC message comprising connection reconfiguration information; connection reconfiguration information reads on second information); and
transmitting circuitry (FIG. 10, para 210 and 214; UE includes a transmission circuit) configured to
transmit, to the base station, a CSI report (FIG. 3, para 113-116; UE transmits CSI included in uplink control information (UCI), to the base station, via a relay station).
Although Takeda ‘763 discloses receive a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising first information, Takeda ‘763 does not specifically disclose first information used for indicating multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements for inter-cell multiple Transmission Reception Points (mTRP) is enabled. Further, although Takeda ‘763 discloses receive an RRC message comprising second information, Takeda ‘763 does not specifically disclose second information used for indicating a maximum total number (K) of channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource index(es) associated with all corresponding non-serving cells reported in a Channel State Information (CSI) reporting instance.
3GPP ‘353 teaches first information used for indicating multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements for inter-cell multiple Transmission Reception Points (mTRP) is enabled (Section 2.2 Issue 2, Section 2.2.1; as part of multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility and inter-cell mTRP, UE reports quality of up to K beams associated with non-serving cells, in a single CSI reporting instance; the number of beams K is configured by network based on UE capability; thus, by configuring the number of beams K, the network indicates that multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility and inter-cell mTRP is enabled; the number of beams K reads on first information);
second information used for indicating a maximum total number (K) of channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource index(es) associated with all corresponding non-serving cells reported in a Channel State Information (CSI) reporting instance (Section 2.2 Issue 2, Section 2.2.1, Section 2.4 Issue 4; as part of multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility and inter-cell mTRP, UE reports quality of up to K beams associated with non-serving cells, in a single CSI reporting instance; the number of beams K is configured by network based on UE capability; a panel entity is activated for the purpose of beam CSI measurement/reporting, where the panel entity corresponds to a CSI-RS resource index in a beam CSI reporting index; thus, by configuring the number of beams K, the network indicates a maximum total number K of CSI-RS resource index(es) associated with non-serving cells reported in a CSI reporting instance; the maximum number of beams K reads on second information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Takeda ‘763’s UE that transmits a CSI report, to include 3GPP ‘353’s multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements. The motivation for doing so would have been to address issues for multi-beam operation, including inter-cell mobility enhancement (3GPP ‘353, Introduction).
Although Takeda ‘763 in combination with 3GPP ‘353 discloses second information used for indicating a maximum total number (K) of channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource index(es) associated with all corresponding non-serving cells reported in a Channel State Information (CSI) reporting instance, Takeda ‘763 in combination with 3GPP ‘353 does not specifically disclose non-zero power channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource index(es).
3GPP ‘220 teaches non-zero power channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource index(es) (page 10, lines 35-55, page 35, Table 12, lines 32-38; non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resource information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined UE of Takeda ‘763 and 3GPP ‘353, to include 3GPP ‘220’s NZP CSI-RS resource information. The motivation for doing so would have been to identify and specify features to facilitate more efficient (lower latency and overhead) DL/UL beam management to support higher intra- and L 1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility and/or a larger number of configured TCI states (3GPP ‘220, Introduction).
Regarding claim 6, Takeda ‘763 discloses a base station apparatus that communicates with a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 3, para 52-53; base station communicates with a UE), comprising:
transmitting circuitry (FIG. 9, para 183 and 187; base station includes a transmission circuit) configured to:
transmit a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising first information (para 148 and 274; base station transmits a RRC connection setup message; thus, base station transmits a RRC message comprising connection setup information; connection setup information reads on first information);
transmit an RRC message comprising second information (para 148 and 274; base station transmits a RRC connection reconfiguration message; thus, UE receives a RRC message comprising connection reconfiguration information; connection reconfiguration information reads on second information); and
receiving circuitry (FIG. 9, para 183 and 187; base station includes a reception circuit) configured to
receive, from the UE, a CSI report (FIG. 3, para 113-116; base station receives CSI included in uplink control information (UCI), from the UE, via a relay station).
Although Takeda ‘763 discloses transmit a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising first information, Takeda ‘763 does not specifically disclose first information used for indicating multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements for inter-cell multiple Transmission Reception Points (mTRP) is enabled. Further, although Takeda ‘763 discloses transmit an RRC message comprising second information, Takeda ‘763 does not specifically disclose second information used for indicating a maximum total number (K) of channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource index(es) associated with all corresponding non-serving cells reported in a Channel State Information (CSI) reporting instance.
3GPP ‘353 teaches first information used for indicating multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements for inter-cell multiple Transmission Reception Points (mTRP) is enabled (Section 2.2 Issue 2, Section 2.2.1; as part of multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility and inter-cell mTRP, UE reports quality of up to K beams associated with non-serving cells, in a single CSI reporting instance; the number of beams K is configured by network based on UE capability; thus, by configuring the number of beams K, the network indicates that multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility and inter-cell mTRP is enabled; the number of beams K reads on first information).
second information used for indicating a maximum total number (K) of channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource index(es) associated with all corresponding non-serving cells reported in a Channel State Information (CSI) reporting instance (Section 2.2 Issue 2, Section 2.2.1, Section 2.4 Issue 4; as part of multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility and inter-cell mTRP, UE reports quality of up to K beams associated with non-serving cells, in a single CSI reporting instance; the number of beams K is configured by network based on UE capability; a panel entity is activated for the purpose of beam CSI measurement/reporting, where the panel entity corresponds to a CSI-RS resource index in a beam CSI reporting index; thus, by configuring the number of beams K, the network indicates a maximum total number K of CSI-RS resource index(es) associated with non-serving cells reported in a CSI reporting instance; the maximum number of beams K reads on second information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Takeda ‘763’s base station that transmits a CSI report, to include 3GPP ‘353’s multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements. The motivation for doing so would have been to address issues for multi-beam operation, including inter-cell mobility enhancement (3GPP ‘353, Introduction).
Although Takeda ‘763 in combination with 3GPP ‘353 discloses second information used for indicating a maximum total number (K) of channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource index(es) associated with all corresponding non-serving cells reported in a Channel State Information (CSI) reporting instance, Takeda ‘763 in combination with 3GPP ‘353 does not specifically disclose non-zero power channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource index(es).
3GPP ‘220 teaches non-zero power channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource index(es) (page 10, lines 35-55, page 35, Table 12, lines 32-38; non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resource information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined base station of Takeda ‘763 and 3GPP ‘353, to include 3GPP ‘220’s NZP CSI-RS resource information. The motivation for doing so would have been to identify and specify features to facilitate more efficient (lower latency and overhead) DL/UL beam management to support higher intra- and L 1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility and/or a larger number of configured TCI states (3GPP ‘220, Introduction).
Regarding claims 2 and 7, Takeda ‘763 in combination with 3GPP ‘353 and 3GPP ‘220 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 6, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, 3GPP ‘353 teaches wherein in case that periodic CSI reporting is configured, the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each CSI-RS Resource Set configuration is not expected to be more than K (Section 2.2 Issue 2, Section 2.2.1, Section 2.4 Issue 4; as part of multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility and inter-cell mTRP, UE reports quality of up to K beams associated with non-serving cells, in a single CSI reporting instance; the number of beams K is configured by network based on UE capability; a panel entity is activated for the purpose of beam CSI measurement/reporting, where the panel entity corresponds to a CSI-RS resource index in a beam CSI reporting index; periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic measurements/reporting are supported; thus, in case periodic CSI reporting is configured, by configuring the number of beams K, the network indicates a maximum total number K of CSI-RS resources in a set of CSI-RS resources associated with non-serving cells reported in a CSI reporting instance).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined UE of Takeda ‘763, 3GPP ‘353, and 3GPP ‘220, to further include 3GPP ‘353’s periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic measurements/reporting. The motivation for doing so would have been to address issues for multi-beam operation, including inter-cell mobility enhancement (3GPP ‘353, Introduction).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, Takeda ‘763 in combination with 3GPP ‘353 and 3GPP ‘220 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 6, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Takeda ‘763 teaches wherein in case that CSI reporting on physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) is configured (FIG. 3, para 113-118; UE transmits CSI included in UCI, to the base station, via the relay station, where the UCI is transmitted via a PUCCH; transmission of the UCI via the PUCCH is configured by the base station).
Furthermore, 3GPP ‘353 teaches wherein in case that semi-persistent CSI reporting is configured, the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each CSI-RS Resource Set configuration is not expected to be more than K (Section 2.2 Issue 2, Section 2.2.1, Section 2.4 Issue 4; as part of multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility and inter-cell mTRP, UE reports quality of up to K beams associated with non-serving cells, in a single CSI reporting instance; the number of beams K is configured by network based on UE capability; a panel entity is activated for the purpose of beam CSI measurement/reporting, where the panel entity corresponds to a CSI-RS resource index in a beam CSI reporting index; periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic measurements/reporting are supported; thus, in case semi-persistent CSI reporting is configured, by configuring the number of beams K, the network indicates a maximum total number K of CSI-RS resources in a set of CSI-RS resources associated with non-serving cells reported in a CSI reporting instance).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined UE of Takeda ‘763, 3GPP ‘353, and 3GPP ‘220, to further include 3GPP ‘353’s periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic measurements/reporting. The motivation for doing so would have been to address issues for multi-beam operation, including inter-cell mobility enhancement (3GPP ‘353, Introduction).
5. Claims 4-5 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda ‘763, in view of 3GPP ‘353, further in view of 3GPP ‘220, further in view of Yuan ‘640 (US 2023/0216640, “Yuan ‘640”).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Takeda ‘763 in combination with 3GPP ‘353 and 3GPP ‘220 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 6, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Takeda ‘763 teaches wherein in case that CSI reporting on physical uplink control channel (PUSCH) is configured (FIG. 3, para 113-118 and 141; UE transmits CSI included in UCI, to the base station, via the relay station, where the UCI is transmitted via a PUSCH; transmission of the PUSCH is configured).
Furthermore, 3GPP ‘353 teaches wherein in case that semi-persistent CSI reporting is configured, the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each configuration is not expected to be more than K (Section 2.2 Issue 2, Section 2.2.1, Section 2.4 Issue 4; as part of multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility and inter-cell mTRP, UE reports quality of up to K beams associated with non-serving cells, in a single CSI reporting instance; the number of beams K is configured by network based on UE capability; a panel entity is activated for the purpose of beam CSI measurement/reporting, where the panel entity corresponds to a CSI-RS resource index in a beam CSI reporting index; periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic measurements/reporting are supported; thus, in case semi-persistent CSI reporting is configured, by configuring the number of beams K, the network indicates a maximum total number K of CSI-RS resources in a set of CSI-RS resources associated with non-serving cells reported in a CSI reporting instance).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined UE of Takeda ‘763, 3GPP ‘353, and 3GPP ‘220, to further include 3GPP ‘353’s periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic measurements/reporting. The motivation for doing so would have been to address issues for multi-beam operation, including inter-cell mobility enhancement (3GPP ‘353, Introduction).
Although Takeda ‘763 in combination with 3GPP ‘353 and 3GPP ‘220 discloses wherein in case that semi-persistent CSI reporting is configured, the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each configuration is not expected to be more than K, Takeda ‘763 in combination with 3GPP ‘353 and 3GPP ‘220 does not specifically disclose cells in each trigger state configuration.
Yuan ‘640 teaches cells in each trigger state configuration (FIG. 18, para 79, 148, and 151; a base station transmits a trigger state configuration, where the base station includes cells).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined UE of Takeda ‘763, 3GPP ‘353, and 3GPP ‘220, to include Yuan ‘640’s trigger state configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce latency in CSI reporting (Yuan ‘640, para 75).
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Takeda ‘763 in combination with 3GPP ‘353 and 3GPP ‘220 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 6, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, 3GPP ‘353 teaches wherein in case that aperiodic CSI reporting is configured, the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each configuration is not expected to be more than K (Section 2.2 Issue 2, Section 2.2.1, Section 2.4 Issue 4; as part of multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility and inter-cell mTRP, UE reports quality of up to K beams associated with non-serving cells, in a single CSI reporting instance; the number of beams K is configured by network based on UE capability; a panel entity is activated for the purpose of beam CSI measurement/reporting, where the panel entity corresponds to a CSI-RS resource index in a beam CSI reporting index; periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic measurements/reporting are supported; thus, in case aperiodic CSI reporting is configured, by configuring the number of beams K, the network indicates a maximum total number K of CSI-RS resources in a set of CSI-RS resources associated with non-serving cells reported in a CSI reporting instance).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined UE of Takeda ‘763, 3GPP ‘353, and 3GPP ‘220, to further include 3GPP ‘353’s periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic measurements/reporting. The motivation for doing so would have been to address issues for multi-beam operation, including inter-cell mobility enhancement (3GPP ‘353, Introduction).
Although Takeda ‘763 in combination with 3GPP ‘353 and 3GPP ‘220 discloses wherein in case that aperiodic CSI reporting is configured, the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each configuration is not expected to be more than K, Takeda ‘763 in combination with 3GPP ‘353 and 3GPP ‘220 does not specifically disclose cells in each trigger state configuration.
Yuan ‘640 teaches cells in each trigger state configuration (FIG. 18, para 79, 148, and 151; a base station transmits a trigger state configuration, where the base station includes cells).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined UE of Takeda ‘763, 3GPP ‘353, and 3GPP ‘220, to include Yuan ‘640’s trigger state configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce latency in CSI reporting (Yuan ‘640, para 75).
Regarding claim 11, Takeda ‘763 discloses a communication method of a user equipment (UE) that communicates with a base station apparatus (FIG. 3, para 52-53; UE communicates with a base station), comprising:
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising first information (para 148 and 274; UE receives a RRC connection setup message; thus, UE receives a RRC message comprising connection setup information; connection setup information reads on first information);
receiving an RRC message comprising second information (para 148 and 274; UE receives a RRC connection reconfiguration message; thus, UE receives a RRC message comprising connection reconfiguration information; connection reconfiguration information reads on second information); and
transmitting, to the base station, a CSI report (FIG. 3, para 113-116; UE transmits CSI included in uplink control information (UCI), to the base station, via a relay station),
wherein in case that CSI reporting on physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) is configured (FIG. 3, para 113-118; UE transmits CSI included in UCI, to the base station, via the relay station, where the UCI is transmitted via a PUCCH; transmission of the UCI via the PUCCH is configured by the base station),
in case that CSI reporting on physical uplink control channel (PUSCH) is configured (FIG. 3, para 113-118 and 141; UE transmits CSI included in UCI, to the base station, via the relay station, where the UCI is transmitted via a PUSCH; transmission of the PUSCH is configured).
Although Takeda ‘763 discloses transmit a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising first information, Takeda ‘763 does not specifically disclose first information used for indicating multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements for inter-cell multiple Transmission Reception Points (mTRP) is enabled. Further, although Takeda ‘763 discloses transmit an RRC message comprising second information, Takeda ‘763 does not specifically disclose second information used for indicating a maximum total number (K) of channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource index(es) associated with all corresponding non-serving cells reported in a Channel State Information (CSI) reporting instance. Furthermore, although Takeda ‘763 discloses wherein in case that CSI reporting on physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) is configured, Takeda ‘763 does not specifically disclose in case that semi-persistent CSI reporting is configured, the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each CSI-RS Resource Set configuration is not expected to be more than K. Moreover, although Takeda ‘763 discloses in case that CSI reporting on physical uplink control channel (PUSCH) is configured, Takeda ‘763 does not specifically disclose wherein in case that semi-persistent CSI reporting is configured, the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each configuration is not expected to be more than K.
3GPP ‘353 teaches first information used for indicating multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements for inter-cell multiple Transmission Reception Points (mTRP) is enabled (Section 2.2 Issue 2, Section 2.2.1; as part of multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility and inter-cell mTRP, UE reports quality of up to K beams associated with non-serving cells, in a single CSI reporting instance; the number of beams K is configured by network based on UE capability; thus, by configuring the number of beams K, the network indicates that multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility and inter-cell mTRP is enabled; the number of beams K reads on first information).
second information used for indicating a maximum total number (K) of channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource index(es) associated with all corresponding non-serving cells reported in a Channel State Information (CSI) reporting instance (Section 2.2 Issue 2, Section 2.2.1, Section 2.4 Issue 4; as part of multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility and inter-cell mTRP, UE reports quality of up to K beams associated with non-serving cells, in a single CSI reporting instance; the number of beams K is configured by network based on UE capability; a panel entity is activated for the purpose of beam CSI measurement/reporting, where the panel entity corresponds to a CSI-RS resource index in a beam CSI reporting index; thus, by configuring the number of beams K, the network indicates a maximum total number K of CSI-RS resource index(es) associated with non-serving cells reported in a CSI reporting instance; the maximum number of beams K reads on second information), and
wherein in case that periodic CSI reporting is configured, the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each CSI-RS Resource Set configuration is not expected to be more than K (Section 2.2 Issue 2, Section 2.2.1, Section 2.4 Issue 4; as part of multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility and inter-cell mTRP, UE reports quality of up to K beams associated with non-serving cells, in a single CSI reporting instance; the number of beams K is configured by network based on UE capability; a panel entity is activated for the purpose of beam CSI measurement/reporting, where the panel entity corresponds to a CSI-RS resource index in a beam CSI reporting index; periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic measurements/reporting are supported; thus, in case periodic CSI reporting is configured, by configuring the number of beams K, the network indicates a maximum total number K of CSI-RS resources in a set of CSI-RS resources associated with non-serving cells reported in a CSI reporting instance);
in case that semi-persistent CSI reporting is configured, the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each CSI-RS Resource Set configuration is not expected to be more than K (Section 2.2 Issue 2, Section 2.2.1, Section 2.4 Issue 4; as part of multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility and inter-cell mTRP, UE reports quality of up to K beams associated with non-serving cells, in a single CSI reporting instance; the number of beams K is configured by network based on UE capability; a panel entity is activated for the purpose of beam CSI measurement/reporting, where the panel entity corresponds to a CSI-RS resource index in a beam CSI reporting index; periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic measurements/reporting are supported; thus, in case semi-persistent CSI reporting is configured, by configuring the number of beams K, the network indicates a maximum total number K of CSI-RS resources in a set of CSI-RS resources associated with non-serving cells reported in a CSI reporting instance);
in case that semi-persistent CSI reporting is configured, the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each configuration is not expected to be more than K (Section 2.2 Issue 2, Section 2.2.1, Section 2.4 Issue 4; as part of multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility and inter-cell mTRP, UE reports quality of up to K beams associated with non-serving cells, in a single CSI reporting instance; the number of beams K is configured by network based on UE capability; a panel entity is activated for the purpose of beam CSI measurement/reporting, where the panel entity corresponds to a CSI-RS resource index in a beam CSI reporting index; periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic measurements/reporting are supported; thus, in case semi-persistent CSI reporting is configured, by configuring the number of beams K, the network indicates a maximum total number K of CSI-RS resources in a set of CSI-RS resources associated with non-serving cells reported in a CSI reporting instance).
in case that aperiodic CSI reporting is configured, the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each configuration is not expected to be more than K (Section 2.2 Issue 2, Section 2.2.1, Section 2.4 Issue 4; as part of multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility and inter-cell mTRP, UE reports quality of up to K beams associated with non-serving cells, in a single CSI reporting instance; the number of beams K is configured by network based on UE capability; a panel entity is activated for the purpose of beam CSI measurement/reporting, where the panel entity corresponds to a CSI-RS resource index in a beam CSI reporting index; periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic measurements/reporting are supported; thus, in case aperiodic CSI reporting is configured, by configuring the number of beams K, the network indicates a maximum total number K of CSI-RS resources in a set of CSI-RS resources associated with non-serving cells reported in a CSI reporting instance).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Takeda ‘763’s UE that transmits a CSI report, to include 3GPP ‘353’s multi-beam measurement/reporting enhancements. The motivation for doing so would have been to address issues for multi-beam operation, including inter-cell mobility enhancement (3GPP ‘353, Introduction).
Although Takeda ‘763 in combination with 3GPP ‘353 discloses second information used for indicating a maximum total number (K) of channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource index(es) associated with all corresponding non-serving cells reported in a Channel State Information (CSI) reporting instance, Takeda ‘763 in combination with 3GPP ‘353 does not specifically disclose non-zero power channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource index(es).
3GPP ‘220 teaches non-zero power channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource index(es) (page 10, lines 35-55, page 35, Table 12, lines 32-38; non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resource information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined UE of Takeda ‘763 and 3GPP ‘353, to include 3GPP ‘220’s NZP CSI-RS resource information. The motivation for doing so would have been to identify and specify features to facilitate more efficient (lower latency and overhead) DL/UL beam management to support higher intra- and L 1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility and/or a larger number of configured TCI states (3GPP ‘220, Introduction).
Although Takeda ‘763 in combination with 3GPP ‘353 and 3GPP ‘220 discloses wherein in case that semi-persistent CSI reporting is configured, the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each configuration is not expected to be more than K, Takeda ‘763 in combination with 3GPP ‘353 and 3GPP ‘220 does not specifically disclose cells in each trigger state configuration. Further, although Takeda ‘763 in combination with 3GPP ‘353 and 3GPP ‘220 discloses wherein in case that aperiodic CSI reporting is configured, the number of CSI Reference Signal (CSI-RS) Resources corresponding to beam(s) associated with all non-serving cells in each configuration is not expected to be more than K, Takeda ‘763 in combination with 3GPP ‘353 and 3GPP ‘220 does not specifically disclose cells in each trigger state configuration.
Yuan ‘640 teaches cells in each trigger state configuration (FIG. 18, para 79, 148, and 151; a base station transmits a trigger state configuration, where the base station includes cells),
cells in each trigger state configuration (FIG. 18, para 79, 148, and 151; a base station transmits a trigger state configuration, where the base station includes cells).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined UE of Takeda ‘763, 3GPP ‘353, and 3GPP ‘220, to include Yuan ‘640’s trigger state configuration. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce latency in CSI reporting (Yuan ‘640, para 75).
Conclusion
Internet Communication
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only. (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/NEVENA ZECEVIC SANDHU/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474