DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This is a response to the applicant’s response filed on 05/20/2026. Claims 1-8 and 19-30 are currently presented in the instant application. Claims 9-18 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page, filed on 05/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-8 and 19-30 under 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8, 19-20, 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (US Patent No.: 12,356,300, hereinafter, “Zhu”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu teaches a method comprising:
establishing a Bluetooth connection to each of a first device and a second device (see figure 6, Bluetooth headset, mobile phone A, mobile phone B, step 301-302, col. 19, ln.28-33);
playing audio of a first call from the first device (see figure 6, step 303, col.19, ln.33-40);
holding playing the audio of the first call, and playing an outgoing call prompt tone or incoming call prompt tone of the second device (see ringtone), when the second device initiates a call to a third device or the second device receives a call from the third device (see figure 6, steps 304-309, it is clearly seen that the mobile phone B is received the incoming call from a third mobile phone, the applicant use the alternative language A or B or C, examiner select C to exam); and
either:
a) playing audio of a second call from the second device and controlling the first device to hold or drop the first call when the second device connects the second call (see figure 6, steps 308-319, col.20, ln.1-55, the applicant use the alternative language A or B, examiner select A to exam) or
b) continuing to play the audio of the first call from the first device when the second device rejects the second call (not select B to exam).
Regarding claims 2 and 20, Zhu further teaches playing audio of the second call from the second device and controlling the first device to hold or drop the first call when the second device connects the second call comprises:
either c) controlling the second device to answer the second call, playing the audio of the second call from the second device, and controlling the first device to hold the first call when a Bluetooth headset receives a first operation; or d) controlling the second device to answer the second call, playing the audio of the second call from the second device, and controlling the first device to drop the first call when the Bluetooth headset receives a second operation, wherein the second operation is different from the first operation (see figures 2-3 and 5-6, steps 304-309, hold or hang up, select A to exam. Therefore, it is only read on first operation, not a second operation).
Regarding claims 6 and 24, Zhu further teaches playing audio of the second call from the second device when the second device connects the second call comprises: disconnecting from a first synchronous connection oriented (SCO) link to the first device; setting up a second SCO link to the second device; and receiving the audio of the second call through the second SCO link and playing the audio of the second call (see figures 2-3 and 5-6, steps 304-309, hold or hang up).
Regarding claims 7 and 25, Zhu further teaches after receiving the audio of the second call through the second SCO link, the method further comprises: disconnecting from the second SCO link to the second device when the second device drops the second call; setting up the first SCO link to the first device; and receiving the audio of the first call through the first SCO link and playing the audio of the first call (see figures 2-3 and 5-6, steps 320-330).
Regarding claims 8 and 26, Zhu further teaches playing the audio of the first call from the first device when the second device rejects the second call comprises: holding a first synchronous connection oriented (SCO) link to the first device; and continuing to receive the audio of the first call through the first SCO link and playing the audio of the first call (see figures 2-3 and 5-6, steps 320-330).
Regarding claim 19, Zhu teaches a method, comprising:
establishing a Bluetooth connection to each of a first device and a second device (see figure 6, Bluetooth headset, mobile phone A, mobile phone B, step 301-302, col. 19, ln.28-33);
playing audio of a first call from the first device (see figure 6, step 303, col.19, ln.33-40);
playing the audio of the first call and playing an outgoing call prompt tone (read on ringtone) or incoming call prompt tone (read on ringtone) of the second device in response to (see figure 6, steps 304-309, the applicant use the alternative language A or B, examiner select B to exam)
either:
a) the second device initiating a call to a third device or b) the second device receiving a call from the third device (see figure 6, steps 304-309, it is clearly seen that the mobile phone B is received the incoming call from a third mobile phone, the applicant use the alternative language A or B, examiner select B to exam); and
either:
c) playing audio of a second call from the second device and controlling the first device to hold or drop the first call in response to the second device connecting the second call (see figure 6, steps 308-319, col.20, ln.1-55, the applicant use the alternative language C or D, examiner select C to exam); or d) playing the audio of the first call from the first device in response to the second device rejecting the second call (not select D to exam).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US Patent No.: 12,356,300, hereinafter, “Zhu”) in view of Goldin (US Pub. No.: 2010/0054518) and further in view of Ni et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0325145, hereinafter, “Ni.”).
Regarding claims 3 and 21, Zhu disclosed invention, but fails to teach the first operation comprises an operation of tapping the Bluetooth headset, wherein the second operation comprises an operation of tapping the Bluetooth headset, and wherein g) a tapping count of the first operation is different from a tapping count of the second operation. However, Goldin teaches the first operation comprises an operation of tapping the Bluetooth headset, wherein the second operation comprises an operation of tapping the Bluetooth headset, and wherein g) a tapping count of the first operation is different from a tapping count of the second operation (see figure 1, headset 10, [0035-0037], tap 1 time for accept incoming call, tap twice for rejecting or ending call).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Goldin into view of Zhu in order to provide hands-free functionality.
Zhu and Goldin, in combination, fails to teach the first operation is directed to one side of the Bluetooth headset and the second operation is directed to another side of the Bluetooth headset. However, Ni teaches the operation is directed to one side of the Bluetooth headset and another side of the Bluetooth headset (see [0520]). It appear to examiner that arrange the first operation is directed to one side of the Bluetooth headset and the second operation is directed to another side of the Bluetooth headset would depend more upon the choice of the manufacturer and the choice of engineering, than on any inventive concept.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Ni into view of Zhu and Goldin in order to provide hands-free functionality.
Regarding claims 4 and 22, Zhu further teaches playing the audio of the first call from the first device in response to the second device rejecting the second call comprises controlling the second device to reject the second call and playing the audio of the first call from the first device in response to the Bluetooth headset receiving a third operation, wherein the third operation is different from the first operation and the second operation (see col.19-20, steps 307-322, answer or not answer the incoming call and holding the call).
Regarding claims 5 and 23, Zhu further teaches the outgoing call prompt tone and the incoming call prompt tone are stored by a Bluetooth headset, and wherein playing the audio of the first call and playing the outgoing call prompt tone or incoming call prompt tone of the second device in response to the second device initiating a call to a third device or the second device receiving a call from the third device comprises: either j) mixing the incoming call prompt tone and the audio of the first call and playing the incoming call prompt tone and the audio of the first call that are mixed in response to a call state of the second device being an incoming call state; or k) mixing the outgoing call prompt tone and the audio of the first call and playing the outgoing call prompt tone and the audio of the first call that are mixed in response to the call state of the second device being an outgoing call state (see col.19-20, steps 307-322, answer or not answer the incoming call and holding the call, It is clearly seen that the ringtone is stored on headset. The user can make outgoing call or receiving incoming call).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27-30 are allowed.
Regarding claim 27, the prior art made of record fails to clearly teach or fairly suggest the feature of play the audio of the first call and play an outgoing call prompt tone in response to the second device initiating a call to a third device; play the audio of the first call and play an incoming call prompt tone of the second device in response to the second device receiving a call from the third device, in combination with other limitations, as specified in the claim 27, and further limitations of their respective dependent claims 28-30.
Conclusion
/TUAN PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649