Applicant’s filing of claims 1-8 on 1/31/24 is acknowledged. Claims 1-8 are pending and are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/31/24 and 7/23/25 were acknowledged. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: dispensing mechanism configured to, cleaning unit configured to, and a control unit configured to in claims 1 and 4.
Claim Interpretation
The Office asserts that terms and phrases like “configured to” and “wherein” constitute recitations of intended use language for purposes of examination. The Office asserts that in the examined claims reciting such “configured to” language, the claim language that follows such recitations does not necessarily denote structure MPEP 2173.05(g). The functional limitation was evaluated and considered, for what it fairly conveys to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Similarly, a “wherein” clause may have a limiting effect on a claim if the language limits the claim to a particular structure. MPEP 2111.04. The determination of whether a “wherein” clause is a limitation in a claim depends on the specific facts of the case. While all words in each claim are considered in judging the patentability of the claim language, including functional claim limitations, not all limitations provide a patentable distinction.
During patent examination, the examined claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, unless a term has been given a special definition in the specification (“BRI”). See MPEP 2111.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oonuma et al. (“Oonuma,” US Pub. No. 2007/0175284, cited in IDS).
As to claim 1, Oonuma discloses in automatic analysis device in fig. 4 comprising: a dispensing mechanism in fig. 1 configured to aspirate and discharge a specimen; a cleaning unit configured to clean the dispensing mechanism; and a control unit configured to determine whether to perform additional cleaning in addition to normal cleaning performed at each dispensing, wherein the control unit is configured to perform the determination based on a use of a pre-specimen dispensed before a post-specimen to be dispensed by the dispensing mechanism. See e.g., [0049] et seq.
As to claim 2, Oonuma discloses a type of a control specimen of the pre-specimen, the control unit is configured to determine necessity or non-necessity of the additional cleaning in e.g., [0048] et seq.
As to claim 3, Oonuma discloses a type of calibrator of the pre-specimen, the control unit is configured to determine necessity or non-necessity of the additional cleaning in e.g., [0048] et seq.
As to claim 4, Oonuma discloses an automatic analysis device comprising: a dispensing mechanism configured to aspirate and discharge a specimen; a cleaning unit configured to clean the dispensing mechanism; and a control unit configured to determine whether to perform additional cleaning in addition to normal cleaning performed at each dispensing, wherein the control unit is configured to perform the determination based on the number of times a pre-specimen dispensed before a post-specimen to be dispensed by the dispensing mechanism is dispensed, and the number of times of dispensing is the number of times the same pre-specimen is dispensed after a dispensing target is switched to the pre-specimen. See fig. 1 et seq. and [0035] et seq.
As to claim 5, Oonuma discloses the control unit is configured to determine a predetermined pattern from a plurality of cleaning patterns related to the additional cleaning in e.g., [0040] et seq.
As to claim 6, Oonuma discloses the control unit is configured to determine whether to perform the additional cleaning in consideration of a test item of the post-specimen in e.g., [0040] et seq.
As to claim 7, Oonuma discloses the post-specimen is dispensed a plurality of times and is used for another test item, the additional cleaning is performed before first dispensing of the post-specimen when a test item on which the additional cleaning is to be performed is included in e.g., [0040] et seq.
As to claim 8, Oonuma teaches an automatic analysis method comprising: a dispensing step of aspirating and discharging a specimen by a dispensing mechanism; a normal cleaning step of cleaning the dispensing mechanism at each dispensing; and an additional cleaning step of performing an additional cleaning when a control unit determines necessity of the additional cleaning, wherein the control unit is configured to determine necessity or non-necessity of the additional cleaning based on a use of a pre-specimen dispensed before a post-specimen to be dispensed by the dispensing mechanism or the number of times the same pre-specimen is dispensed after a dispensing target is switched to the pre-specimen. See e.g., [0035] et seq.
/LORE R JARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797
6/27/2026