DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The claim element “in response to” in claims 11 (line 10), 18, and 25 is interpreted to mean that water feeding to the floor cleaning component may be controlled when the clothes cleaning component is in a water feeding state. It is not narrowly interpreted to require the clothes cleaning component to be in a water feeding state as a “triggering” event or prerequisite for controlling water feeding to the floor cleaning component. Based on the disclosure, it is understood that water feeding to the floor cleaning component may take place independent of water feeding to the clothes cleaning component.
The claim element “to the floor cleaning component” in claim 11 (lines 11-12), 18, and 25 is interpreted to mean that water is fed from a source to the component which encompasses a base station water tank, a movable member water tank, and a base station washing tank as recited in the claim. The further limitations directed to the base station water tank feeding water to the movable member water tank or the base station water tank are not interpreted to be feeding water “to the floor cleaning component” since water is not fed to the component; rather, water already within the component is being fed from one part of the component to another.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: “water fed flow to the second component” (last two lines) should be “water fed to the second component”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: “water fed flow to the second component” (last two lines) should be “water fed to the second component”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities: “water fed flow to the second component” (last two lines) should be “water fed to the second component”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-15, 19-22, and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 states that the two components include a first component and a second component. Claim 11, from which claim 12 depends, states that the two components include a floor cleaning component and a clothes cleaning component. It is unclear in claims 12 and 13 if the first and second components are in addition to the floor cleaning and clothes cleaning components or are referring back to the floor cleaning and clothes cleaning components. It is assumed for purposes of examination that the first and second components refer to the floor cleaning and clothes cleaning components.
In claim 12 is it unclear if “a water feeding request for the second component” is referring to a water feeding request recited in claim 11.
Claim 14 refers to controlling water fed to the base station water tank to reach a threshold. The language of claim 14 suggests that water has already been controlled to feed the base station water tank. However, neither claim 14 nor claim 11, from which it depends, recites feeding water to the base station water tank.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the threshold" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites that the control module is further configured to perform certain operations, “after controlling water fed to the base station water tank.” However, neither claim 15 nor claim 11, from which the claim depends, recites that water is fed to the base station water tank. It is unclear when and under what conditions the water feeding takes place.
Claim 19 states that the two components include a first component and a second component. Claim 18, from which claim 19 depends, states that the two components include a floor cleaning component and a clothes cleaning component. It is unclear in claims 19 and 20 if the first and second components are in addition to the floor cleaning and clothes cleaning components or are referring back to the floor cleaning and clothes cleaning components. It is assumed for purposes of examination that the first and second components refer to the floor cleaning and clothes cleaning components.
In claim 19 is it unclear if “a water feeding request for the second component” is referring to a water feeding request recited in claim 18.
Claim 21 refers to controlling water fed to the base station water tank to reach a threshold. The language of claim 21 suggests that water has already been controlled to feed the base station water tank. However, neither claim 21 nor claim 18, from which it depends, recites feeding water to the base station water tank.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the threshold" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 26 states that the two components include a first component and a second component. Claim 25, from which claim 26 depends, states that the two components include a floor cleaning component and a clothes cleaning component. It is unclear in claims 26 and 27 if the first and second components are in addition to the floor cleaning and clothes cleaning components or are referring back to the floor cleaning and clothes cleaning components. It is assumed for purposes of examination that the first and second components refer to the floor cleaning and clothes cleaning components.
In claim 26 is it unclear if “a water feeding request for the second component” is referring to a water feeding request recited in claim 25.
Claim 28 refers to controlling water fed to the base station water tank to reach a threshold. The language of claim 28 suggests that water has already been controlled to feed the base station water tank. However, neither claim 28 nor claim 25, from which it depends, recites feeding water to the base station water tank.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "the threshold" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 29 recites that the control module is further configured to perform certain operations, “after controlling water fed to the base station water tank.” However, neither claim 29 nor claim 25, from which the claim depends, recites that water is fed to the base station water tank. It is unclear when and under what conditions the water feeding takes place.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 12, 14, 15, 18, 19, 21, 22, 25, 26, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN215016834U by Liu et al.
As to claim 11, Liu teaches a control apparatus comprising an obtaining module (i.e. a controller or controller function inherent to the apparatus) configured to obtain a water feeding request for each of a floor cleaning component and a clothes cleaning component (para. 34), the floor cleaning component including a base station water tank 50 (fig. 2), a movable member water tank 32 (fig. 4), and a base station washing tank 41 (fig. 3); and a control module configured determine that one of the components is in a water feeding state (para. 34, controlling of inlet valve 22 would necessarily include a determination that a component is in a water feeding state); and control water feeding to another of the components based on a water feeding request for the another component (para. 34, water inlet may be controlled to feed both components at the same time), controlling the base station water tank 50 to feed water to the movable member water tank 32 (para. 43, water can be fed from the base station 40 which may be include base station water tank 50 as the water source, para. 38), and controlling the base station water tank 50 to feed water to the base station washing tank 41 (paras. 38-39).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious a control module configuration that includes controlling water feeding to the floor cleaning component based on a water feeding request in response to (i.e. during) a water feeding state of the clothes cleaning component based on the teachings of Liu. Liu teaches that water may be fed to both components alone or at the same time (para. 34). Liu thus provides evidence that such simultaneous water feeding was known and would be expected to perform as intended. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success of the claimed controller configuration, in particular determining that one component is in a water feeding state, controlling water feeding to another of the components upon a feeding request, and further in particular feeding water to the floor cleaning component based on a feeding request in response to the clothes cleaning component being in a water feeding state.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
As to claim 12, Liu teaches that each of the components includes a water inlet valve 22 (para. 34) and controlling the valve to open to feed water to either or both of the components through respective first and second passages of a three-way passage structure (valve 22, see fig. 1). As discussed above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to determine that a component is in a water feeding state and control water feeding to another component based on a feeding request.
As to claim 14, Liu teaches controlling water feeding to the base station water tank 50 to reach a threshold (para. 38).
As to claim 15, Liu teaches automatically controlling water feeding to the base station water tank 50 when the water level is lower than a second threshold (para. 38). Based on this teaching of Liu, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to stop water feeding once a first threshold has been reached. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized as obvious that automatic filling would require obtaining a current water volume, or a representative water level, and that water would be feed if the water volume is smaller than a second threshold. The second threshold would necessarily be smaller than or equal to the first since water feeding is commanded at the second threshold and the feeding would stop at a higher or substantially equal first threshold.
As to claim 18, Liu teaches a cleaning assembly comprising a processor and a memory storing a computer program (i.e. a controller or controller function inherent to the assembly), the program causing the processor to obtain a water feeding request for each of a floor cleaning component and a clothes cleaning component (para. 34), the floor cleaning component including a base station water tank 50 (fig. 2), a movable member water tank 32 (fig. 4), and a base station washing tank 41 (fig. 3); determine that one of the components is in a water feeding state (para. 34, controlling of inlet valve 22 would necessarily include a determination that a component is in a water feeding state); and control water feeding to another of the components based on a water feeding request for the another component (para. 34, water inlet may be controlled to feed both components at the same time), controlling the base station water tank 50 to feed water to the movable member water tank 32 (para. 43, water can be fed from the base station 40 which may be include base station water tank 50 as the water source, para. 38), and controlling the base station water tank 50 to feed water to the base station washing tank 41 (paras. 38-39).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious a processor configuration that includes controlling water feeding to the floor cleaning component based on a water feeding request in response to (i.e. during) a water feeding state of the clothes cleaning component based on the teachings of Liu. Liu teaches that water may be fed to both components alone or at the same time (para. 34). Liu thus provides evidence that such simultaneous water feeding was known and would be expected to perform as intended. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success of the claimed processor configuration, in particular determining that one component is in a water feeding state, controlling water feeding to another of the components upon a feeding request, and further in particular feeding water to the floor cleaning component based on a feeding request in response to the clothes cleaning component being in a water feeding state.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
As to claim 19, Liu teaches that each of the components includes a water inlet valve 22 (para. 34) and controlling the valve to open to feed water to either or both of the components through respective first and second passages of a three-way passage structure (valve 22, see fig. 1). As discussed above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to determine that a component is in a water feeding state and control water feeding to another component based on a feeding request.
As to claim 21, Liu teaches controlling water feeding to the base station water tank 50 to reach a threshold (para. 38).
As to claim 22, Liu teaches automatically controlling water feeding to the base station water tank 50 when the water level is lower than a second threshold (para. 38). Based on this teaching of Liu, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to stop water feeding once a first threshold has been reached. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized as obvious that automatic filling would require obtaining a current water volume, or a representative water level, and that water would be feed if the water volume is smaller than a second threshold. The second threshold would necessarily be smaller than or equal to the first since water feeding is commanded at the second threshold and the feeding would stop at a higher or substantially equal first threshold.
As to claim 25, Liu teaches a computer readable storage medium (part of a controller inherent to the apparatus of Liu) with instructions to cause a processor to obtain a water feeding request for each of a floor cleaning component and a clothes cleaning component (para. 34), the floor cleaning component including a base station water tank 50 (fig. 2), a movable member water tank 32 (fig. 4), and a base station washing tank 41 (fig. 3); determine that one of the components is in a water feeding state (para. 34, controlling of inlet valve 22 would necessarily include a determination that a component is in a water feeding state); and control water feeding to another of the components based on a water feeding request for the another component (para. 34, water inlet may be controlled to feed both components at the same time), controlling the base station water tank 50 to feed water to the movable member water tank 32 (para. 43, water can be fed from the base station 40 which may be include base station water tank 50 as the water source, para. 38), and controlling the base station water tank 50 to feed water to the base station washing tank 41 (paras. 38-39).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious a processor configuration that includes controlling water feeding to the floor cleaning component based on a water feeding request in response to (i.e. during) a water feeding state of the clothes cleaning component based on the teachings of Liu. Liu teaches that water may be fed to both components alone or at the same time (para. 34). Liu thus provides evidence that such simultaneous water feeding was known and would be expected to perform as intended. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success of the claimed processor configuration, in particular determining that one component is in a water feeding state, controlling water feeding to another of the components upon a feeding request, and further in particular feeding water to the floor cleaning component based on a feeding request in response to the clothes cleaning component being in a water feeding state.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
As to claim 26, Liu teaches that each of the components includes a water inlet valve 22 (para. 34) and controlling the valve to open to feed water to either or both of the components through respective first and second passages of a three-way passage structure (valve 22, see fig. 1). As discussed above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to determine that a component is in a water feeding state and control water feeding to another component based on a feeding request.
As to claim 28, Liu teaches controlling water feeding to the base station water tank 50 to reach a threshold (para. 38).
As to claim 29, Liu teaches automatically controlling water feeding to the base station water tank 50 when the water level is lower than a second threshold (para. 38). Based on this teaching of Liu, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to stop water feeding once a first threshold has been reached. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized as obvious that automatic filling would require obtaining a current water volume, or a representative water level, and that water would be feed if the water volume is smaller than a second threshold. The second threshold would necessarily be smaller than or equal to the first since water feeding is commanded at the second threshold and the feeding would stop at a higher or substantially equal first threshold.
Claims 13, 16, 17, 20, 23, 24, 27, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN215016834U by Liu et al. in view of CN112890696A by Li et al.
As to claim 13, Liu does not teach controlling an inlet valve to open and adjust an opening degree to control a flow rate of water. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to control a valve to adjust an opening degree. Li teaches an apparatus with a floor cleaning component and a water inlet to supply water to the component, the water inlet having a valve with an adjustable opening degree to control a flow rate of water fed to the component (paras. 199-200). Li teaches that the valve is adjustable so that a desired flow rate may be achieved (para. 199). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to control an opening degree of water inlet valves to the clothes cleaning component and the floor cleaning component of Liu in order to achieve a desired flow rate based on the teachings of Li. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
As to claim 16, Liu teaches feeding water to the movable member water tank, but does not teach a particular means of delivery. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to use a water suction pump to feed water to the movable member water tank. Li teaches using a pump to transfer water from a tank to a movable member water tank (para. 198). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the suitability of a pump for its intended purpose of feeding water based on the teachings of Li. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that pumps were well-known and common in the art for feeding water. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
As to claim 17, Liu teaches feeding water to the base station washing tank, but does not teach a particular means of delivery. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to use a water pump to feed water to the washing tank. Li teaches using a pump to transfer water from a tank (para. 198). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the suitability of a pump for its intended purpose of feeding water based on the teachings of Li. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that pumps were well-known and common in the art for feeding water. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
As to claim 20, Liu does not teach controlling an inlet valve to open and adjust an opening degree to control a flow rate of water. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to control a valve to adjust an opening degree. Li teaches an apparatus with a floor cleaning component and a water inlet to supply water to the component, the water inlet having a valve with an adjustable opening degree to control a flow rate of water fed to the component (paras. 199-200). Li teaches that the valve is adjustable so that a desired flow rate may be achieved (para. 199). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to control an opening degree of water inlet valves to the clothes cleaning component and the floor cleaning component of Liu in order to achieve a desired flow rate based on the teachings of Li. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
As to claim 23, Liu teaches feeding water to the movable member water tank, but does not teach a particular means of delivery. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to use a water suction pump to feed water to the movable member water tank. Li teaches using a pump to transfer water from a tank to a movable member water tank (para. 198). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the suitability of a pump for its intended purpose of feeding water based on the teachings of Li. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that pumps were well-known and common in the art for feeding water. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
As to claim 24, Liu teaches feeding water to the base station washing tank, but does not teach a particular means of delivery. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to use a water pump to feed water to the washing tank. Li teaches using a pump to transfer water from a tank (para. 198). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the suitability of a pump for its intended purpose of feeding water based on the teachings of Li. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that pumps were well-known and common in the art for feeding water. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
As to claim 27, Liu does not teach controlling an inlet valve to open and adjust an opening degree to control a flow rate of water. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to control a valve to adjust an opening degree. Li teaches an apparatus with a floor cleaning component and a water inlet to supply water to the component, the water inlet having a valve with an adjustable opening degree to control a flow rate of water fed to the component (paras. 199-200). Li teaches that the valve is adjustable so that a desired flow rate may be achieved (para. 199). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to control an opening degree of water inlet valves to the clothes cleaning component and the floor cleaning component of Liu in order to achieve a desired flow rate based on the teachings of Li. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
As to claim 30, Liu teaches feeding water to the movable member water tank, but does not teach a particular means of delivery. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to use a water suction pump to feed water to the movable member water tank. Li teaches using a pump to transfer water from a tank to a movable member water tank (para. 198). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the suitability of a pump for its intended purpose of feeding water based on the teachings of Li. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that pumps were well-known and common in the art for feeding water. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
Conclusion
/SPENCER E. BELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711