DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/29/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that Liu and Li, taken alone or in combination, do not disclose or suggest using two different pumps to transfer water from a single water tank to two different tanks (movable member water tank and a base station water tank) in response to the clothes cleaning component being in the water feeding state. However, as previously set forth, Liu teaches transferring water to two different tanks, a movable member water tank and a base station water tank, from a single water tank, a base station water tank. Liu does not teach the use of pumps to transfer water, but one of ordinary skill in the art would have readily recognized the use of pumps to have been well-known and common in the art. It was well-established to use pumps to transfer fluids from one source to another, including from one tank to another tank. Li provides evidence that pumps for such purpose were known and also used in a similar apparatus. Providing pumps to transfer liquid does not have patentable significance due to being clearly obvious for their established purpose.
Response to Amendments
Amendments to the claims overcome the objections to claims 13, 20, and 27 set forth in the prior Office action. Therefore, the objections are withdrawn.
Amendments to the claims overcome the rejection of claims 12-15, 19-22, and 26-29 under 35 USC 112(b) set forth in the prior Office action. Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn.
The rejections of claims 11-30 under 35 USC 103 set forth in the prior Office action are withdrawn in order to present new rejections in view of amendments to the claims.
Claim Interpretation
The claim element “in response to” in claims 11, 18, and 25 is interpreted to mean that water feeding to the floor cleaning component may be controlled when the clothes cleaning component is in a water feeding state. It is not narrowly interpreted to require the clothes cleaning component to be in a water feeding state as a “triggering” event or prerequisite for controlling water feeding to the floor cleaning component. Based on the disclosure, it is understood that water feeding to the floor cleaning component may take place independent of water feeding to the clothes cleaning component.
The claim element “to the floor cleaning component” in claim 11, 18, and 25 is interpreted to mean that water is fed from a source to the component which encompasses a base station water tank, a movable member water tank, and a base station washing tank as recited in the claim. The further limitations directed to the base station water tank feeding water to the movable member water tank and the base station water tank are not interpreted to be feeding water “to the floor cleaning component” since water is not fed to the component; rather, water already within the component is being fed from one part of the component to another.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-15, 18-22, 25-29, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN215016834U by Liu et al. in view of CN112890696A by Li et al.
As to claim 11, Liu teaches a control apparatus comprising an obtaining module (i.e. a controller or controller function inherent to the apparatus) configured to obtain a water feeding request for each of a floor cleaning component and a clothes cleaning component (para. 34), the floor cleaning component including a base station water tank 50 (fig. 2), a movable member water tank 32 (fig. 4), and a base station washing tank 41 (fig. 3); and a control module configured determine that one of the components is in a water feeding state (para. 34, controlling of inlet valve 22 would necessarily include a determination that a component is in a water feeding state); and control water feeding to another of the components based on a water feeding request for the another component (para. 34, water inlet may be controlled to feed both components at the same time), controlling the base station water tank 50 to feed water to the movable member water tank 32 (para. 43, water can be fed from the base station 40 which may be include base station water tank 50 as the water source, para. 38), and controlling the base station water tank 50 to feed water to the base station washing tank 41 (paras. 38-39).
Liu does not teach a movable member water suction pump and a base station water pump and that the base station water tank feeds water to the movable member through the movable member water suction pump and feeds water to the base station water tank through the base station water pump. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to have these pumps in the apparatus taught by Liu. Li teaches a similar apparatus to that of Liu, the apparatus of Li using a pump to transfer water from a tank to another tank (para. 198). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the suitability of a pump for its intended purpose of feeding water based on the teachings of Li. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that pumps were well-known and common in the art for feeding water. Thus, it would have been obvious to employ a movable member water suction pump and a base station water pump in order to convey water based on the well-known and established purpose and function of a pump.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized as obvious a control module configuration that includes controlling water feeding to the floor cleaning component based on a water feeding request in response to (i.e. during) a water feeding state of the clothes cleaning component based on the teachings of Liu. Liu teaches that water may be fed to both components alone or at the same time (para. 34). Liu thus provides evidence that such simultaneous water feeding was known and would be expected to perform as intended. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success of the claimed controller configuration, in particular determining that one component is in a water feeding state, controlling water feeding to another of the components upon a feeding request, and further in particular feeding water to the floor cleaning component based on a feeding request in response to the clothes cleaning component being in a water feeding state.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
As to claim 12, Liu teaches that each of the components includes a water inlet valve 22 (para. 34) and controlling the valve to open to feed water to each of the two components through respective first and second passages of a three-way passage structure (valve 22, see fig. 1). As discussed above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to determine that a component is in a water feeding state and control water feeding to another component based on a feeding request.
As to claim 13, Liu does not teach controlling an inlet valve to open and adjust an opening degree to control a flow rate of water. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to control a valve to adjust an opening degree. Li teaches an apparatus with a floor cleaning component and a water inlet to supply water to the component, the water inlet having a valve with an adjustable opening degree to control a flow rate of water fed to the component (paras. 199-200). Li teaches that the valve is adjustable so that a desired flow rate may be achieved (para. 199). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to control an opening degree of water inlet valves to the clothes cleaning component and the floor cleaning component of Liu in order to achieve a desired flow rate based on the teachings of Li. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
As to claim 14, Liu teaches controlling water feeding to the base station water tank 50 to reach a threshold (para. 38).
As to claim 15, Liu teaches automatically controlling water feeding to the base station water tank 50 when the water level is lower than a second threshold (para. 38). Based on this teaching of Liu, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to stop water feeding once a first threshold has been reached. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized as obvious that automatic filling would require obtaining a current water volume, or a representative water level, and that water would be feed if the water volume is smaller than a second threshold. The second threshold would necessarily be smaller than or equal to the first since water feeding is commanded at the second threshold and the feeding would stop at a higher or substantially equal first threshold.
As to claim 18, Liu teaches a cleaning assembly comprising a processor and a memory storing a computer program (i.e. a controller or controller function inherent to the assembly), the program causing the processor to obtain a water feeding request for each of a floor cleaning component and a clothes cleaning component (para. 34), the floor cleaning component including a base station water tank 50 (fig. 2), a movable member water tank 32 (fig. 4), and a base station washing tank 41 (fig. 3); determine that one of the components is in a water feeding state (para. 34, controlling of inlet valve 22 would necessarily include a determination that a component is in a water feeding state); and control water feeding to another of the components based on a water feeding request for the another component (para. 34, water inlet may be controlled to feed both components at the same time), controlling the base station water tank 50 to feed water to the movable member water tank 32 (para. 43, water can be fed from the base station 40 which may be include base station water tank 50 as the water source, para. 38), and controlling the base station water tank 50 to feed water to the base station washing tank 41 (paras. 38-39).
Liu does not teach a movable member water suction pump and a base station water pump and that the base station water tank feeds water to the movable member through the movable member water suction pump and feeds water to the base station water tank through the base station water pump. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to have these pumps in the apparatus taught by Liu. Li teaches a similar apparatus to that of Liu, the apparatus of Li using a pump to transfer water from a tank to another tank (para. 198). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the suitability of a pump for its intended purpose of feeding water based on the teachings of Li. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that pumps were well-known and common in the art for feeding water. Thus, it would have been obvious to employ a movable member water suction pump and a base station water pump in order to convey water based on the well-known and established purpose and function of a pump.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized as obvious a processor configuration that includes controlling water feeding to the floor cleaning component based on a water feeding request in response to (i.e. during) a water feeding state of the clothes cleaning component based on the teachings of Liu. Liu teaches that water may be fed to both components alone or at the same time (para. 34). Liu thus provides evidence that such simultaneous water feeding was known and would be expected to perform as intended. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success of the claimed processor configuration, in particular determining that one component is in a water feeding state, controlling water feeding to another of the components upon a feeding request, and further in particular feeding water to the floor cleaning component based on a feeding request in response to the clothes cleaning component being in a water feeding state.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
As to claim 19, Liu teaches that each of the components includes a water inlet valve 22 (para. 34) and controlling the valve to open to feed water to each of the two components through respective first and second passages of a three-way passage structure (valve 22, see fig. 1). As discussed above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to determine that a component is in a water feeding state and control water feeding to another component based on a feeding request.
As to claim 20, Liu does not teach controlling an inlet valve to open and adjust an opening degree to control a flow rate of water. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to control a valve to adjust an opening degree. Li teaches an apparatus with a floor cleaning component and a water inlet to supply water to the component, the water inlet having a valve with an adjustable opening degree to control a flow rate of water fed to the component (paras. 199-200). Li teaches that the valve is adjustable so that a desired flow rate may be achieved (para. 199). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to control an opening degree of water inlet valves to the clothes cleaning component and the floor cleaning component of Liu in order to achieve a desired flow rate based on the teachings of Li. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
As to claim 21, Liu teaches controlling water feeding to the base station water tank 50 to reach a threshold (para. 38).
As to claim 22, Liu teaches automatically controlling water feeding to the base station water tank 50 when the water level is lower than a second threshold (para. 38). Based on this teaching of Liu, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to stop water feeding once a first threshold has been reached. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized as obvious that automatic filling would require obtaining a current water volume, or a representative water level, and that water would be feed if the water volume is smaller than a second threshold. The second threshold would necessarily be smaller than or equal to the first since water feeding is commanded at the second threshold and the feeding would stop at a higher or substantially equal first threshold.
As to claim 25, Liu teaches a computer readable storage medium (part of a controller inherent to the apparatus of Liu) with instructions to cause a processor to obtain a water feeding request for each of a floor cleaning component and a clothes cleaning component (para. 34), the floor cleaning component including a base station water tank 50 (fig. 2), a movable member water tank 32 (fig. 4), and a base station washing tank 41 (fig. 3); determine that one of the components is in a water feeding state (para. 34, controlling of inlet valve 22 would necessarily include a determination that a component is in a water feeding state); and control water feeding to another of the components based on a water feeding request for the another component (para. 34, water inlet may be controlled to feed both components at the same time), controlling the base station water tank 50 to feed water to the movable member water tank 32 (para. 43, water can be fed from the base station 40 which may be include base station water tank 50 as the water source, para. 38), and controlling the base station water tank 50 to feed water to the base station washing tank 41 (paras. 38-39).
Liu does not teach a movable member water suction pump and a base station water pump and that the base station water tank feeds water to the movable member through the movable member water suction pump and feeds water to the base station water tank through the base station water pump. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to have these pumps in the apparatus taught by Liu. Li teaches a similar apparatus to that of Liu, the apparatus of Li using a pump to transfer water from a tank to another tank (para. 198). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the suitability of a pump for its intended purpose of feeding water based on the teachings of Li. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that pumps were well-known and common in the art for feeding water. Thus, it would have been obvious to employ a movable member water suction pump and a base station water pump in order to convey water based on the well-known and established purpose and function of a pump.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized as obvious a processor configuration that includes controlling water feeding to the floor cleaning component based on a water feeding request in response to (i.e. during) a water feeding state of the clothes cleaning component based on the teachings of Liu. Liu teaches that water may be fed to both components alone or at the same time (para. 34). Liu thus provides evidence that such simultaneous water feeding was known and would be expected to perform as intended. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success of the claimed processor configuration, in particular determining that one component is in a water feeding state, controlling water feeding to another of the components upon a feeding request, and further in particular feeding water to the floor cleaning component based on a feeding request in response to the clothes cleaning component being in a water feeding state.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
As to claim 26, Liu teaches that each of the components includes a water inlet valve 22 (para. 34) and controlling the valve to open to feed water to each of the two components through respective first and second passages of a three-way passage structure (valve 22, see fig. 1). As discussed above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to determine that a component is in a water feeding state and control water feeding to another component based on a feeding request.
As to claim 27, Liu does not teach controlling an inlet valve to open and adjust an opening degree to control a flow rate of water. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to control a valve to adjust an opening degree. Li teaches an apparatus with a floor cleaning component and a water inlet to supply water to the component, the water inlet having a valve with an adjustable opening degree to control a flow rate of water fed to the component (paras. 199-200). Li teaches that the valve is adjustable so that a desired flow rate may be achieved (para. 199). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to control an opening degree of water inlet valves to the clothes cleaning component and the floor cleaning component of Liu in order to achieve a desired flow rate based on the teachings of Li. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious at its effective filing date.
As to claim 28, Liu teaches controlling water feeding to the base station water tank 50 to reach a threshold (para. 38).
As to claim 29, Liu teaches automatically controlling water feeding to the base station water tank 50 when the water level is lower than a second threshold (para. 38). Based on this teaching of Liu, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to stop water feeding once a first threshold has been reached. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized as obvious that automatic filling would require obtaining a current water volume, or a representative water level, and that water would be feed if the water volume is smaller than a second threshold. The second threshold would necessarily be smaller than or equal to the first since water feeding is commanded at the second threshold and the feeding would stop at a higher or substantially equal first threshold.
As to claim 31, as discussed above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized as obvious to have a movable member water suction pump and a base station water pump and to feed water to the movable member water tank and base station washing tank accordingly. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized as obvious to feed water through each of the respective pumps simultaneously based on Liu’s teaching that water may be fed to both components at the same time (para. 34).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SPENCER E. BELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711