DETAILED ACTION
A preliminary amendment received on 11/15/2023 amending claims 1-2 and 5-6, canceling claims 3-4 and 7-15, and adding claims 16-31 has been entered by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 4/30/2024 and 5/21/2025 have been entered and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2,5-6 and 16-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gao et al (US2023/0171040 A1).
Regarding claims 1,16, and 23, Gao teaches a method/user equipment (UE)/ processor performed by a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications (Abstract; Para. 0049), the method comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to (Para. 0049):
receiving a set of first downlink control information (DCI) formats for scheduling a first group of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs), each of the first DCI formats scheduling at least one PDSCH on a serving cell of the UE (Paras. 0005-0012, 0087-0095, and 0108; Step 41: receiving one or more DCIs, wherein the one or more DCIs include one or more first DCIs used for scheduling a plurality of PDSCHs; It should be further noted that the first DCI and the second DCI are two DCI formats; i.e. If the base station is sending DCI and PDSCH to the UE, it is serving the UE) and indicating a first downlink assignment indicator (DAI), and the first DAI indicating an accumulative number of PDSCHs among the first group of PDSCHs (Paras. 0005-0012, 0023, 0087-0095, and 0108; generating HARQ-ACKs of A*B bits for the PDSCHs or the SPS PDSCH release scheduled by the DCI; mapping the HARQ-ACKs of the A*B bits to locations, determined according to the DAI in the corresponding DCI, in the HARQ-ACK sub-codebook; determining a size of the HARQ-ACK sub-codebook according to the DAI in the DCI in the DCI group; generating a NACK at a location, in the HARQ-ACK sub-codebook, where information is not received, wherein A is a quantity of HARQ-ACK bits corresponding to each PDSCH or each SPS PDSCH release scheduled by the DCI, B is a quantity of PDSCHs scheduled by the DCI; i.e. B would indicate the number of PDSCHs);
receiving a set of second DCI formats for scheduling a second group of PDSCHs, each of the second DCI formats scheduling a maximum of one PDSCH on a serving cell of the UE and indicating a second DAI, and the second DAI indicating an accumulative number of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions carrying the second DCI formats (Paras. 0005-0012, 0023, 0087-0095; the one or more DCIs further include a second DCI used to indicate a Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) PDSCH release or schedule one PDSCH; i.e. one PDSCH would read on a maximum of one PDSCH and each DCI would contain DAI); and
transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook including a first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook for the first group of PDSCHs and a second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook for the second group of PDSCHs (Paras. 0005-0012, 0023, 0087-0095; generating a HARQ-ACK sub-codebook for each DCI group of the one or more DCI groups; generating an HARQ-ACK codebook according to the HARQ-ACK sub-codebook for each DCI group; transmitting the HARQ-ACK codebook).
Regarding claims 2, 17, 24, and 29, Gao teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Gao further teaches wherein DAIs of the first DCI formats and DAIs of the second DCI formats are counted independently (Paras. 0005-0012, 0023, 0087-0095, and 0108; generating HARQ-ACKs of A*B bits for the PDSCHs or the SPS PDSCH release scheduled by the DCI; mapping the HARQ-ACKs of the A*B bits to locations, determined according to the DAI in the corresponding DCI, in the HARQ-ACK sub-codebook; determining a size of the HARQ-ACK sub-codebook according to the DAI in the DCI in the DCI group; generating a NACK at a location, in the HARQ-ACK sub-codebook, where information is not received, wherein A is a quantity of HARQ-ACK bits corresponding to each PDSCH or each SPS PDSCH release scheduled by the DCI, B is a quantity of PDSCHs scheduled by the DCI; i.e. each DCI could have a different number of PDSCHs and thus would be counted independently).
Regarding claims 5, 20, 26, and 30, Gao teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Gao further teaches wherein the first DAI indicates one of: an accumulative number of dynamically scheduled PDSCHs plus a number of PDCCH transmissions for semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) PDSCH release; an accumulative number of dynamically scheduled PDSCHs and SPS PDSCHs plus the number of PDCCH transmissions for SPS PDSCH release; an accumulative number of dynamically scheduled PDSCHs; and an accumulative number of dynamically scheduled PDSCHs and SPS PDSCHs (Paras. 0005-0012, 0023, 0087-0095, and 0108; generating HARQ-ACKs of A*B bits for the PDSCHs or the SPS PDSCH release scheduled by the DCI; mapping the HARQ-ACKs of the A*B bits to locations, determined according to the DAI in the corresponding DCI, in the HARQ-ACK sub-codebook; determining a size of the HARQ-ACK sub-codebook according to the DAI in the DCI in the DCI group; generating a NACK at a location, in the HARQ-ACK sub-codebook, where information is not received, wherein A is a quantity of HARQ-ACK bits corresponding to each PDSCH or each SPS PDSCH release scheduled by the DCI, B is a quantity of PDSCHs scheduled by the DCI; i.e. B would indicate the number of PDSCHs which are scheduled by the DCI so would be dynamically scheduled).
Regarding claims 6, 21, 27, and 31, Gao teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Gao further teaches wherein: the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook is placed in a front of the HARQ-ACK codebook, followed by the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook; or the second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook is placed in the front of the HARQ-ACK codebook, followed by the first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook (Paras. 0005-0012, 0023, 0087-0095, and 0108; generating the HARQ-ACK codebook according to the HARQ-ACK sub-codebook for each DCI group includes: concatenating at least two HARQ-ACK sub-codebooks for the at least two DCI groups in a predetermined order to form the HARQ-ACK codebook).
Regarding claims 18 and 25, Gao teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Gao further teaches wherein a number of bits of the first DAI is determined based on a maximum number of PDSCHs scheduled by the first DCI format (Paras. 0005-0012, 0023, 0087-0095, and 0108-0110; when a HARQ-ACK sub-codebook is generated for this group, the maximum number of PDSCHs scheduled by a DCI in the group needs to be taken as the number of PDSCHs scheduled by one DCI in the group, that is, a value B in the following when determining the sub-codebook).
Regarding claims 19 and 22, Gao teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Gao further teaches wherein a number of bits of the second DAI is smaller than the number of bits of the first DAT (Paras. 0005-0012, 0023, 0087-0095, and 0108; the one or more DCIs further include a second DCI used to indicate a Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) PDSCH release or schedule one PDSCH; generating HARQ-ACKs of A*B bits for the PDSCHs or the SPS PDSCH release scheduled by the DCI; mapping the HARQ-ACKs of the A*B bits to locations, determined according to the DAI in the corresponding DCI, in the HARQ-ACK sub-codebook; determining a size of the HARQ-ACK sub-codebook according to the DAI in the DCI in the DCI group; generating a NACK at a location, in the HARQ-ACK sub-codebook, where information is not received, wherein A is a quantity of HARQ-ACK bits corresponding to each PDSCH or each SPS PDSCH release scheduled by the DCI, B is a quantity of PDSCHs scheduled by the DCI; i.e. B would indicate the number of PDSCHs which are scheduled by the DCI so would be dynamically scheduled; i.e. if there is only one PDSCH in the second DCI/DAI, there would be less bits needed to convey that).
Regarding claim 28, Gao teaches a base station for wireless communications (Abstract; Para. 0049), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to (Para. 0049):
transmit a set of first downlink control information (DCI) formats for scheduling a first group of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs), each of the first DCI formats scheduling at least one PDSCH on a cell (Paras. 0005-0016, 0087-0095, and 0108; Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request Acknowledge (HARQ-ACK) transmission method performed by a network side device is further provided in the present disclosure. The method includes: transmitting one or more DCIs, wherein the one or more DCIs include one or more first DCIs used for scheduling a plurality of PDSCHs; It should be further noted that the first DCI and the second DCI are two DCI formats; i.e. If the base station is sending DCI and PDSCH to the UE, it is serving the UE) and indicating a first downlink assignment indicator (DAI), and the first DAI indicating an accumulative number of PDSCHs among the first group of PDSCHs (Paras. 0005-0012, 0023, 0087-0095, and 0108; generating HARQ-ACKs of A*B bits for the PDSCHs or the SPS PDSCH release scheduled by the DCI; mapping the HARQ-ACKs of the A*B bits to locations, determined according to the DAI in the corresponding DCI, in the HARQ-ACK sub-codebook; determining a size of the HARQ-ACK sub-codebook according to the DAI in the DCI in the DCI group; generating a NACK at a location, in the HARQ-ACK sub-codebook, where information is not received, wherein A is a quantity of HARQ-ACK bits corresponding to each PDSCH or each SPS PDSCH release scheduled by the DCI, B is a quantity of PDSCHs scheduled by the DCI; i.e. B would indicate the number of PDSCHs);
transmit a set of second DCI formats for scheduling a second group of PDSCHs, each of the second DCI formats scheduling a maximum of one PDSCH on a cell and indicating a second DAI, and the second DAI indicating an accumulative number of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions carrying the second DCI formats (Paras. 0005-0012, 0023, 0087-0095; the one or more DCIs further include a second DCI used to indicate a Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) PDSCH release or schedule one PDSCH; i.e. one PDSCH would read on a maximum of one PDSCH and each DCI would contain DAI); and
receive a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook including a first HARQ-ACK sub-codebook for the first group of PDSCHs and a second HARQ-ACK sub-codebook for the second group of PDSCHs (Paras. 0005-0016, 0023, 0087-0095; receiving a HARQ-ACK codebook and obtaining a HARQ-ACK sub-codebook corresponding to each DCI group of one or more DCI groups, wherein the one or more DCI groups are obtained by grouping the one or more DCIs according to a quantity of PDSCHs scheduled by each of the one or more DCIs).
Conclusion
/KENT KRUEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474