DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10,12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fujishiro (US 20240179797).
Re claim 10:
Fujishiro discloses a method for managing paging for multicast and broadcast services (MBS), the method implemented in a distributed unit (DU) of a distributed base station and comprising: (Fig. 14 ref. CU and DU and Para.[0059] The MBS is a service in which the NG-RAN 10 can provide broadcast or multicast):
receiving, from a central unit (CU) of the distributed base station, an identifier for an MBS session and an identifier for a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 14 ref. S305 First Paging Message and Para.[0127] In Step S104, the AMF 300A generates a PAGING message (first paging message) to be transmitted to the gNB 200. When the gNB 200 supports the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes the MBS session identifier (Session ID, TMGI, Source Specific IP Multicast Address, etc.) in the PAGING message. Alternatively, another message (for example, a newly defined message) may be used instead of the PAGING message. When the gNB 200 does not support the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes, in the PAGING message, the identifiers (5G-S-TMSI) of UEs 100 that are participating in the MBS session and that are in a CM_IDLE state. Note that these identifiers may be included in the message in a list format (plurality of identifiers));
transmitting, to the UE, a paging message including the identifier for the MBS session; (Fig. 14 ref. S306 Second Paging Message and Para.[0130] The UE 100 receiving the second paging message from the gNB 200 checks whether the second paging message includes the MBS session identifier of the MBS session that the UE 100 is participating in (i.e., the MBS session that the UE 100 is interested in receiving) or the UE identifier of the UE 100 itself. When the second paging message includes such an identifier, the UE 100 starts an operation for receiving MBS data of the MBS session. For example, the UE 100 performs a random access procedure on the gNB 200 to transition to the RRC connected state (Step S107) and receives an MBS reception configuration (MTCH configuration) from the gNB 200 by UE-dedicated RRC signaling (e.g., RRC Reconfiguration message) (Step S108). The UE 100 then receives MBS data from the gNB 200).
subsequently to the transmitting, broadcasting, to the UE in accordance with one or more MBS resource configurations, one or more MBS data packets (Fig. 14 ref. S309 MBS Data and Para.[0059] The MBS is a service in which the NG-RAN 10 can provide broadcast or multicast).
Re claim 12:
Fujishiro discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising: transmitting, for each of a plurality of UEs, a respective paging message including the identifier for the MBS session (Para.[0127] In Step S104, the AMF 300A generates a PAGING message (first paging message) to be transmitted to the gNB 200. When the gNB 200 supports the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes the MBS session identifier (Session ID, TMGI, Source Specific IP Multicast Address, etc.) in the PAGING message. Alternatively, another message (for example, a newly defined message) may be used instead of the PAGING message. When the gNB 200 does not support the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes, in the PAGING message, the identifiers (5G-S-TMSI) of UEs 100 that are participating in the MBS session and that are in a CM_IDLE state. Note that these identifiers may be included in the message in a list format (plurality of identifiers) and Fig.7 shows unicasting).
Re claim 14:
Fujishiro discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the identifier for the MBS session includes a Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI) (Para,[0078] Each MBS session is identified by at least one selected from the group consisting of a Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro (US 20240179797) in view of Wang (US 20230141637).
Re claim 1:
Fujishiro discloses a method for managing paging for multicast and broadcast services (MBS), the method implemented in a central unit (CU) of a distributed base station and comprising (Fig. 14 ref. CU and DU and Para.[0059] The MBS is a service in which the NG-RAN 10 can provide broadcast or multicast):
receiving, at the CU from a core network (CN), an identifier for an MBS session and an identifier for a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 12 and Para.[0127] In Step S104, the AMF 300A generates a PAGING message (first paging message) to be transmitted to the gNB 200. When the gNB 200 supports the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes the MBS session identifier (Session ID, TMGI, Source Specific IP Multicast Address, etc.) in the PAGING message. Alternatively, another message (for example, a newly defined message) may be used instead of the PAGING message. When the gNB 200 does not support the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes, in the PAGING message, the identifiers (5G-S-TMSI) of UEs 100 that are participating in the MBS session and that are in a CM_IDLE state. Note that these identifiers may be included in the message in a list format (plurality of identifiers));
transmitting, to a distributed unit (DU) of the distributed base station, (i) the identifier for the MBS session, (ii) the identifier for the UE, and (iii) one or more parameters for paging associated with the MBS session (Fig. 14 ref. S305 First Paging Message); and
transmitting, to the DU, one or more MBS data packets to be broadcast to the UE in accordance with the one or more parameters (Fig. 14 ref. S309 MBS Data and Para.[0059] The MBS is a service in which the NG-RAN 10 can provide broadcast or multicast).
As shown above, Fujishiro discloses a gNB receiving information from a CN and also discloses a CU sending information to a DU.
Fujishiro does not explicitly disclose receiving, at the CU from a core network (CN).
Wang discloses receiving, at the CU from a core network (CN) (Fig. 6 ref. S601).
Fujishiro and Wang are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujishiro to include receiving at the CU from a CN as taught by Wang in order to improve the utilization efficiency of network resources (Wang Para.[0016]).
Re claim 2:
Fujishiro discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the CN, a message including at least the identifier for the MBS session and the one or more parameters for paging (Fig. 12 and Para.[0127] In Step S104, the AMF 300A generates a PAGING message (first paging message) to be transmitted to the gNB 200. When the gNB 200 supports the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes the MBS session identifier (Session ID, TMGI, Source Specific IP Multicast Address, etc.) in the PAGING message. Alternatively, another message (for example, a newly defined message) may be used instead of the PAGING message. When the gNB 200 does not support the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes, in the PAGING message, the identifiers (5G-S-TMSI) of UEs 100 that are participating in the MBS session and that are in a CM_IDLE state. Note that these identifiers may be included in the message in a list format (plurality of identifiers));
generating one or more MBS resource configurations based on at least the one or more parameters for paging; and transmitting the one or more MBS resource configurations to the DU (Para.[ 0130] The UE 100 receiving the second paging message from the gNB 200 checks whether the second paging message includes the MBS session identifier of the MBS session that the UE 100 is participating in (i.e., the MBS session that the UE 100 is interested in receiving) or the UE identifier of the UE 100 itself. When the second paging message includes such an identifier, the UE 100 starts an operation for receiving MBS data of the MBS session. For example, the UE 100 performs a random access procedure on the gNB 200 to transition to the RRC connected state (Step S107) and receives an MBS reception configuration (MTCH configuration) from the gNB 200 by UE-dedicated RRC signaling (e.g., RRC Reconfiguration message) (Step S108). The UE 100 then receives MBS data from the gNB 200).
Fujishiro does not explicitly disclose receiving, at the CU from a core network (CN).
Wang discloses receiving, at the CU from a core network (CN) (Fig. 6 ref. S601).
Fujishiro and Wang are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujishiro to include receiving at the CU from a CN as taught by Wang in order to improve the utilization efficiency of network resources (Wang Para.[0016]).
Re claim 3:
Fujishiro discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, to each of a plurality of UEs, a respective message including the identifier for the MBS session and a respective identifier of the UE of the plurality of UEs (Para.[0127] In Step S104, the AMF 300A generates a PAGING message (first paging message) to be transmitted to the gNB 200. When the gNB 200 supports the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes the MBS session identifier (Session ID, TMGI, Source Specific IP Multicast Address, etc.) in the PAGING message. Alternatively, another message (for example, a newly defined message) may be used instead of the PAGING message. When the gNB 200 does not support the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes, in the PAGING message, the identifiers (5G-S-TMSI) of UEs 100 that are participating in the MBS session and that are in a CM_IDLE state. Note that these identifiers may be included in the message in a list format (plurality of identifiers) and Fig.7 shows unicasting).
Re claim 4:
Fujishiro discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, to a plurality of UEs, a shared message including the identifier for the MBS session and a listing of respective identifiers of the plurality of UEs (Fig. 7 ref. Shared MBS traffic delivery).
Re claim 5:
Fujishiro discloses the method of claim 3, further comprising: receiving, from the CN, a plurality of CN messages, each of the plurality of CN messages including the identifier for the MBS session and a respective identifier for a UE of the plurality of UEs (Para.[0127] In Step S104, the AMF 300A generates a PAGING message (first paging message) to be transmitted to the gNB 200. When the gNB 200 supports the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes the MBS session identifier (Session ID, TMGI, Source Specific IP Multicast Address, etc.) in the PAGING message. Alternatively, another message (for example, a newly defined message) may be used instead of the PAGING message. When the gNB 200 does not support the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes, in the PAGING message, the identifiers (5G-S-TMSI) of UEs 100 that are participating in the MBS session and that are in a CM_IDLE state. Note that these identifiers may be included in the message in a list format (plurality of identifiers)).
Re claim 6:
Fujishiro discloses the method of claim 3, further comprising: receiving, from the CN, a shared CN message including the identifier for the MBS session and a listing of respective identifiers for the plurality of UEs (Fig.7 and Para.[0191[ When Proposal 1 is agreed upon, it is necessary to discuss a method of integrating the group notification into the existing paging message. The current paging message includes a PagingRecordList, which is a list of paged UE-IDs, i.e., 5G-S-TMSIs or I-RNTIs).
Re claim 7:
Fujishiro discloses the method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the identifier for the MBS session is in response to determining that the DU pages the UE for the MBS session (Fig. 14 ref. S306 Second Paging Message and ref. S308 MBS Configuration).
Re claim 15: Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Re claim 16: Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Re claim 17: Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Re claim 18: Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Re claim 19: Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7.
Claim(s) 8,9, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro (US 20240179797) in view of Wang (US 20230141637) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Xin (WO 2022057173 – citing from the translation).
Re claim 8:
As discussed above, Fujishiro in view of Wang meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Fujishiro does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more parameters includes at least one of: a paging cycle configuration for the MBS session, or one or more paging cycle configurations for the UE.
Xin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more parameters includes at least one of: a paging cycle configuration for the MBS session, or one or more paging cycle configurations for the UE (Page 16 It should be understood that the paging messages (such as CN paging messages and/or RAN paging messages) in the above process shown in FIG. 3 may carry TMGI, and the paging occasion (PO) and the paging frame ( paging frame, PF). Paging messages are sent to all terminal devices in the cell, similar to paging with short message for SI change corresponding to system information (SI) change, rather than paging for call establishment information. The paging message (such as CN paging message and/or RAN paging message) may also carry the UE ID of the terminal device, and the paging occasion and paging frame are calculated by the UE ID. The paging message can be sent to all terminal equipments in the cell. However, since there are usually a large number of terminals receiving MBS services, paging through TMGI can reduce the size of the paging message and save space resources. It should be understood that the TMGI or UE ID mentioned in this application can also be replaced with any other information that can identify the multicast service, such as G-RNTI, MBS session ID or PDU session ID used to transmit multicast services, etc).
Fujishiro and Xin are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujishiro to include paging configuration as taught by Xin in order to improve MBS reliability (Xin Abstract).
Re claim 9:
As discussed above, Fujishiro in view of Wang meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Fujishiro does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 8, further comprising: determining a paging period in accordance with the paging cycle configuration and at least one of an identifier for the UE or the identifier for the MBS session; generating a paging message including the identifier for the MBS session and the identifier for the UE; and transmitting information about the paging period and the paging message to the DU.
Xin discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising: determining a paging period in accordance with the paging cycle configuration and at least one of an identifier for the UE or the identifier for the MBS session; generating a paging message including the identifier for the MBS session and the identifier for the UE; and transmitting information about the paging period and the paging message to the DU (Page 16 It should be understood that the paging messages (such as CN paging messages and/or RAN paging messages) in the above process shown in FIG. 3 may carry TMGI, and the paging occasion (PO) and the paging frame ( paging frame, PF). Paging messages are sent to all terminal devices in the cell, similar to paging with short message for SI change corresponding to system information (SI) change, rather than paging for call establishment information. The paging message (such as CN paging message and/or RAN paging message) may also carry the UE ID of the terminal device, and the paging occasion and paging frame are calculated by the UE ID. The paging message can be sent to all terminal equipments in the cell. However, since there are usually a large number of terminals receiving MBS services, paging through TMGI can reduce the size of the paging message and save space resources. It should be understood that the TMGI or UE ID mentioned in this application can also be replaced with any other information that can identify the multicast service, such as G-RNTI, MBS session ID or PDU session ID used to transmit multicast services, etc – Examiner Note: Fujishiro shows transmitting information to the DU).
Fujishiro and Xin are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujishiro to include paging configuration as taught by Xin in order to improve MBS reliability (Xin Abstract).
Re claim 20: Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 8.
Claim(s) 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro (US 20240179797) in view of Xin (WO 2022057173 – citing from the translation).
Re claim 11:
As discussed above, Fujishiro in view of Wang meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Fujishiro does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 10, wherein transmitting the paging message is in accordance with at least one of: a paging cycle configuration of the MBS session, or a paging cycle configuration of the UE.
Xin discloses the method of claim 10, wherein transmitting the paging message is in accordance with at least one of: a paging cycle configuration of the MBS session, or a paging cycle configuration of the UE (Page 16 It should be understood that the paging messages (such as CN paging messages and/or RAN paging messages) in the above process shown in FIG. 3 may carry TMGI, and the paging occasion (PO) and the paging frame ( paging frame, PF). Paging messages are sent to all terminal devices in the cell, similar to paging with short message for SI change corresponding to system information (SI) change, rather than paging for call establishment information. The paging message (such as CN paging message and/or RAN paging message) may also carry the UE ID of the terminal device, and the paging occasion and paging frame are calculated by the UE ID. The paging message can be sent to all terminal equipments in the cell. However, since there are usually a large number of terminals receiving MBS services, paging through TMGI can reduce the size of the paging message and save space resources. It should be understood that the TMGI or UE ID mentioned in this application can also be replaced with any other information that can identify the multicast service, such as G-RNTI, MBS session ID or PDU session ID used to transmit multicast services, etc).
Fujishiro and Xin are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujishiro to include paging configuration as taught by Xin in order to improve MBS reliability (Xin Abstract).
Re claim 13:
As discussed above, Fujishiro meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Fujishiro does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 12, wherein transmitting the paging messages includes: transmitting a first subset of the paging messages in accordance with a paging cycle of the MBS session; and transmitting a second subset of the paging messages in accordance with a respective paging cycle of the corresponding UE of the plurality of UEs.
Xin discloses the method of claim 12, wherein transmitting the paging messages includes: transmitting a first subset of the paging messages in accordance with a paging cycle of the MBS session; and transmitting a second subset of the paging messages in accordance with a respective paging cycle of the corresponding UE of the plurality of UEs (Page 16 It should be understood that the paging messages (such as CN paging messages and/or RAN paging messages) in the above process shown in FIG. 3 may carry TMGI, and the paging occasion (PO) and the paging frame ( paging frame, PF). Paging messages are sent to all terminal devices in the cell, similar to paging with short message for SI change corresponding to system information (SI) change, rather than paging for call establishment information. The paging message (such as CN paging message and/or RAN paging message) may also carry the UE ID of the terminal device, and the paging occasion and paging frame are calculated by the UE ID. The paging message can be sent to all terminal equipments in the cell. However, since there are usually a large number of terminals receiving MBS services, paging through TMGI can reduce the size of the paging message and save space resources. It should be understood that the TMGI or UE ID mentioned in this application can also be replaced with any other information that can identify the multicast service, such as G-RNTI, MBS session ID or PDU session ID used to transmit multicast services, etc – Examiner Note: Fujishiro shows transmitting information to the DU).
Fujishiro and Xin are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujishiro to include paging configuration as taught by Xin in order to improve MBS reliability (Xin Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Li (US 20230345310) shows transmitting an UE ID and Session ID from a core network to a RAN node.
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471