DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 4/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1,9-11, and 15 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As amended, claims 1,10, and 15 recite transmitting, to a distrusted unit (DU) of the distributed base station, a paging message include (i) the identifier for the MBS session, (ii) the identifier for the UE, and (iii) one or more parameters for paging associated with the MBS session”. After carefully examining the instant disclosure, the examiner respectfully submits that support for this amendment is lacking and the addition of said limitation is new matter. The specification does not disclose a paging message from the CU to the DU. As shown in the figures, the DU sends the paging message to the UE. The exchange of the listed parameters between the CU and DU is shown in Figure 4A ref. 408 and Figure 4C ref. 409, which is not a paging message. Therefore, support for a paging message from the CU to the DU with the listed parameters is new matters.
Claims 2-9,11-14, and 16-20 are rejected because they depend from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10,12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fujishiro (US 20240179797).
Re claim 10:
Fujishiro discloses a method for managing paging for multicast and broadcast services (MBS), the method implemented in a distributed unit (DU) of a distributed base station and comprising: (Fig. 14 ref. CU and DU and Para.[0059] The MBS is a service in which the NG-RAN 10 can provide broadcast or multicast):
receiving, from a central unit (CU) of the distributed base station, a first paging message including an identifier for an MBS session and an identifier for a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 14 ref. S305 First Paging Message and Para.[0127] In Step S104, the AMF 300A generates a PAGING message (first paging message) to be transmitted to the gNB 200. When the gNB 200 supports the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes the MBS session identifier (Session ID, TMGI, Source Specific IP Multicast Address, etc.) in the PAGING message. Alternatively, another message (for example, a newly defined message) may be used instead of the PAGING message. When the gNB 200 does not support the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes, in the PAGING message, the identifiers (5G-S-TMSI) of UEs 100 that are participating in the MBS session and that are in a CM_IDLE state. Note that these identifiers may be included in the message in a list format (plurality of identifiers) and Fig.17 and Fig. 18 and Para. [0192] Option A: The MBS session ID is described in the existing PagingRecord list (an example is illustrated in FIG. 15) and Para. [0193] Option B: The MBS session ID is indicated in a new list (an example is illustrated in FIG. 16));
transmitting, to the UE, a second paging message including the identifier for the MBS session; (Fig. 14 ref. S306 Second Paging Message and Para.[0130] The UE 100 receiving the second paging message from the gNB 200 checks whether the second paging message includes the MBS session identifier of the MBS session that the UE 100 is participating in (i.e., the MBS session that the UE 100 is interested in receiving) or the UE identifier of the UE 100 itself. When the second paging message includes such an identifier, the UE 100 starts an operation for receiving MBS data of the MBS session. For example, the UE 100 performs a random access procedure on the gNB 200 to transition to the RRC connected state (Step S107) and receives an MBS reception configuration (MTCH configuration) from the gNB 200 by UE-dedicated RRC signaling (e.g., RRC Reconfiguration message) (Step S108). The UE 100 then receives MBS data from the gNB 200).
subsequently to the transmitting, broadcasting, to the UE in accordance with one or more MBS resource configurations, one or more MBS data packets (Fig. 14 ref. S309 MBS Data and Para.[0059] The MBS is a service in which the NG-RAN 10 can provide broadcast or multicast).
Re claim 12:
Fujishiro discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising: transmitting, for each of a plurality of UEs, a respective paging message including the identifier for the MBS session (Para.[0127] In Step S104, the AMF 300A generates a PAGING message (first paging message) to be transmitted to the gNB 200. When the gNB 200 supports the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes the MBS session identifier (Session ID, TMGI, Source Specific IP Multicast Address, etc.) in the PAGING message. Alternatively, another message (for example, a newly defined message) may be used instead of the PAGING message. When the gNB 200 does not support the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes, in the PAGING message, the identifiers (5G-S-TMSI) of UEs 100 that are participating in the MBS session and that are in a CM_IDLE state. Note that these identifiers may be included in the message in a list format (plurality of identifiers) and Fig.7 shows unicasting).
Re claim 14:
Fujishiro discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the identifier for the MBS session includes a Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI) (Para,[0078] Each MBS session is identified by at least one selected from the group consisting of a Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro (US 20240179797) in view of Wang (US 20230141637).
Re claim 1:
Fujishiro discloses a method for managing paging for multicast and broadcast services (MBS), the method implemented in a central unit (CU) of a distributed base station and comprising (Fig. 14 ref. CU and DU and Para.[0059] The MBS is a service in which the NG-RAN 10 can provide broadcast or multicast):
receiving, at the CU from a core network (CN), an identifier for an MBS session and an identifier for a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 12 and Para.[0127] In Step S104, the AMF 300A generates a PAGING message (first paging message) to be transmitted to the gNB 200. When the gNB 200 supports the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes the MBS session identifier (Session ID, TMGI, Source Specific IP Multicast Address, etc.) in the PAGING message. Alternatively, another message (for example, a newly defined message) may be used instead of the PAGING message. When the gNB 200 does not support the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes, in the PAGING message, the identifiers (5G-S-TMSI) of UEs 100 that are participating in the MBS session and that are in a CM_IDLE state. Note that these identifiers may be included in the message in a list format (plurality of identifiers));
transmitting, to a distributed unit (DU) of the distributed base station, a paging message (i) the identifier for the MBS session, (ii) the identifier for the UE, and (iii) one or more parameters for paging associated with the MBS session (Fig. 14 ref. S305 First Paging Message and Fig.17 and Fig. 18 and Para. [0192] Option A: The MBS session ID is described in the existing PagingRecord list (an example is illustrated in FIG. 15) and Para. [0193] Option B: The MBS session ID is indicated in a new list (an example is illustrated in FIG. 16)); and
transmitting, to the DU, one or more MBS data packets to be broadcast to the UE in accordance with the one or more parameters (Fig. 14 ref. S309 MBS Data and Para.[0059] The MBS is a service in which the NG-RAN 10 can provide broadcast or multicast).
As shown above, Fujishiro discloses a gNB receiving information from a CN and also discloses a CU sending information to a DU.
Fujishiro does not explicitly disclose receiving, at the CU from a core network (CN).
Wang discloses receiving, at the CU from a core network (CN) (Fig. 6 ref. S601).
Fujishiro and Wang are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujishiro to include receiving at the CU from a CN as taught by Wang in order to improve the utilization efficiency of network resources (Wang Para.[0016]).
Re claim 2:
Fujishiro discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the CN, a message including at least the identifier for the MBS session and the one or more parameters for paging (Fig. 12 and Para.[0127] In Step S104, the AMF 300A generates a PAGING message (first paging message) to be transmitted to the gNB 200. When the gNB 200 supports the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes the MBS session identifier (Session ID, TMGI, Source Specific IP Multicast Address, etc.) in the PAGING message. Alternatively, another message (for example, a newly defined message) may be used instead of the PAGING message. When the gNB 200 does not support the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes, in the PAGING message, the identifiers (5G-S-TMSI) of UEs 100 that are participating in the MBS session and that are in a CM_IDLE state. Note that these identifiers may be included in the message in a list format (plurality of identifiers));
generating one or more MBS resource configurations based on at least the one or more parameters for paging; and transmitting the one or more MBS resource configurations to the DU (Para.[ 0130] The UE 100 receiving the second paging message from the gNB 200 checks whether the second paging message includes the MBS session identifier of the MBS session that the UE 100 is participating in (i.e., the MBS session that the UE 100 is interested in receiving) or the UE identifier of the UE 100 itself. When the second paging message includes such an identifier, the UE 100 starts an operation for receiving MBS data of the MBS session. For example, the UE 100 performs a random access procedure on the gNB 200 to transition to the RRC connected state (Step S107) and receives an MBS reception configuration (MTCH configuration) from the gNB 200 by UE-dedicated RRC signaling (e.g., RRC Reconfiguration message) (Step S108). The UE 100 then receives MBS data from the gNB 200).
Fujishiro does not explicitly disclose receiving, at the CU from a core network (CN).
Wang discloses receiving, at the CU from a core network (CN) (Fig. 6 ref. S601).
Fujishiro and Wang are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujishiro to include receiving at the CU from a CN as taught by Wang in order to improve the utilization efficiency of network resources (Wang Para.[0016]).
Re claim 3:
Fujishiro discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, to each of a plurality of UEs, a respective message including the identifier for the MBS session and a respective identifier of the UE of the plurality of UEs (Para.[0127] In Step S104, the AMF 300A generates a PAGING message (first paging message) to be transmitted to the gNB 200. When the gNB 200 supports the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes the MBS session identifier (Session ID, TMGI, Source Specific IP Multicast Address, etc.) in the PAGING message. Alternatively, another message (for example, a newly defined message) may be used instead of the PAGING message. When the gNB 200 does not support the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes, in the PAGING message, the identifiers (5G-S-TMSI) of UEs 100 that are participating in the MBS session and that are in a CM_IDLE state. Note that these identifiers may be included in the message in a list format (plurality of identifiers) and Fig.7 shows unicasting).
Re claim 4:
Fujishiro discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, to a plurality of UEs, a shared message including the identifier for the MBS session and a listing of respective identifiers of the plurality of UEs (Fig. 7 ref. Shared MBS traffic delivery).
Re claim 5:
Fujishiro discloses the method of claim 3, further comprising: receiving, from the CN, a plurality of CN messages, each of the plurality of CN messages including the identifier for the MBS session and a respective identifier for a UE of the plurality of UEs (Para.[0127] In Step S104, the AMF 300A generates a PAGING message (first paging message) to be transmitted to the gNB 200. When the gNB 200 supports the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes the MBS session identifier (Session ID, TMGI, Source Specific IP Multicast Address, etc.) in the PAGING message. Alternatively, another message (for example, a newly defined message) may be used instead of the PAGING message. When the gNB 200 does not support the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes, in the PAGING message, the identifiers (5G-S-TMSI) of UEs 100 that are participating in the MBS session and that are in a CM_IDLE state. Note that these identifiers may be included in the message in a list format (plurality of identifiers)).
Re claim 6:
Fujishiro discloses the method of claim 3, further comprising: receiving, from the CN, a shared CN message including the identifier for the MBS session and a listing of respective identifiers for the plurality of UEs (Fig.7 and Para.[0191[ When Proposal 1 is agreed upon, it is necessary to discuss a method of integrating the group notification into the existing paging message. The current paging message includes a PagingRecordList, which is a list of paged UE-IDs, i.e., 5G-S-TMSIs or I-RNTIs).
Re claim 7:
Fujishiro discloses the method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the identifier for the MBS session is in response to determining that the DU pages the UE for the MBS session (Fig. 14 ref. S306 Second Paging Message and ref. S308 MBS Configuration).
Re claim 15: Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Re claim 16: Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Re claim 17: Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Re claim 18: Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Re claim 19: Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7.
Claim(s) 8,9, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro (US 20240179797) in view of Wang (US 20230141637) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Xin (WO 2022057173 – citing from the translation).
Re claim 8:
As discussed above, Fujishiro in view of Wang meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Fujishiro does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more parameters includes at least one of: a paging cycle configuration for the MBS session, or one or more paging cycle configurations for the UE.
Xin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more parameters includes at least one of: a paging cycle configuration for the MBS session, or one or more paging cycle configurations for the UE (Page 16 It should be understood that the paging messages (such as CN paging messages and/or RAN paging messages) in the above process shown in FIG. 3 may carry TMGI, and the paging occasion (PO) and the paging frame ( paging frame, PF). Paging messages are sent to all terminal devices in the cell, similar to paging with short message for SI change corresponding to system information (SI) change, rather than paging for call establishment information. The paging message (such as CN paging message and/or RAN paging message) may also carry the UE ID of the terminal device, and the paging occasion and paging frame are calculated by the UE ID. The paging message can be sent to all terminal equipments in the cell. However, since there are usually a large number of terminals receiving MBS services, paging through TMGI can reduce the size of the paging message and save space resources. It should be understood that the TMGI or UE ID mentioned in this application can also be replaced with any other information that can identify the multicast service, such as G-RNTI, MBS session ID or PDU session ID used to transmit multicast services, etc).
Fujishiro and Xin are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujishiro to include paging configuration as taught by Xin in order to improve MBS reliability (Xin Abstract).
Re claim 9:
As discussed above, Fujishiro in view of Wang meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Fujishiro does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 8, further comprising: determining a paging period in accordance with the paging cycle configuration and at least one of an identifier for the UE or the identifier for the MBS session; generating the paging message including the identifier for the MBS session and the identifier for the UE; and transmitting information about the paging period and the paging message to the DU.
Xin discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising: determining a paging period in accordance with the paging cycle configuration and at least one of an identifier for the UE or the identifier for the MBS session; generating the paging message including the identifier for the MBS session and the identifier for the UE; and transmitting information about the paging period and the paging message to the DU (Page 16 It should be understood that the paging messages (such as CN paging messages and/or RAN paging messages) in the above process shown in FIG. 3 may carry TMGI, and the paging occasion (PO) and the paging frame ( paging frame, PF). Paging messages are sent to all terminal devices in the cell, similar to paging with short message for SI change corresponding to system information (SI) change, rather than paging for call establishment information. The paging message (such as CN paging message and/or RAN paging message) may also carry the UE ID of the terminal device, and the paging occasion and paging frame are calculated by the UE ID. The paging message can be sent to all terminal equipments in the cell. However, since there are usually a large number of terminals receiving MBS services, paging through TMGI can reduce the size of the paging message and save space resources. It should be understood that the TMGI or UE ID mentioned in this application can also be replaced with any other information that can identify the multicast service, such as G-RNTI, MBS session ID or PDU session ID used to transmit multicast services, etc – Examiner Note: Fujishiro shows transmitting information to the DU).
Fujishiro and Xin are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujishiro to include paging configuration as taught by Xin in order to improve MBS reliability (Xin Abstract).
Re claim 20: Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 8.
Claim(s) 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro (US 20240179797) in view of Xin (WO 2022057173 – citing from the translation).
Re claim 11:
As discussed above, Fujishiro in view of Wang meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Fujishiro does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 10, wherein transmitting the second paging message is in accordance with at least one of: a paging cycle configuration of the MBS session, or a paging cycle configuration of the UE.
Xin discloses the method of claim 10, wherein transmitting the second paging message is in accordance with at least one of: a paging cycle configuration of the MBS session, or a paging cycle configuration of the UE (Page 16 It should be understood that the paging messages (such as CN paging messages and/or RAN paging messages) in the above process shown in FIG. 3 may carry TMGI, and the paging occasion (PO) and the paging frame ( paging frame, PF). Paging messages are sent to all terminal devices in the cell, similar to paging with short message for SI change corresponding to system information (SI) change, rather than paging for call establishment information. The paging message (such as CN paging message and/or RAN paging message) may also carry the UE ID of the terminal device, and the paging occasion and paging frame are calculated by the UE ID. The paging message can be sent to all terminal equipments in the cell. However, since there are usually a large number of terminals receiving MBS services, paging through TMGI can reduce the size of the paging message and save space resources. It should be understood that the TMGI or UE ID mentioned in this application can also be replaced with any other information that can identify the multicast service, such as G-RNTI, MBS session ID or PDU session ID used to transmit multicast services, etc).
Fujishiro and Xin are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujishiro to include paging configuration as taught by Xin in order to improve MBS reliability (Xin Abstract).
Re claim 13:
As discussed above, Fujishiro meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Fujishiro does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 12, wherein transmitting the paging messages includes: transmitting a first subset of the paging messages in accordance with a paging cycle of the MBS session; and transmitting a second subset of the paging messages in accordance with a respective paging cycle of the corresponding UE of the plurality of UEs.
Xin discloses the method of claim 12, wherein transmitting the paging messages includes: transmitting a first subset of the paging messages in accordance with a paging cycle of the MBS session; and transmitting a second subset of the paging messages in accordance with a respective paging cycle of the corresponding UE of the plurality of UEs (Page 16 It should be understood that the paging messages (such as CN paging messages and/or RAN paging messages) in the above process shown in FIG. 3 may carry TMGI, and the paging occasion (PO) and the paging frame ( paging frame, PF). Paging messages are sent to all terminal devices in the cell, similar to paging with short message for SI change corresponding to system information (SI) change, rather than paging for call establishment information. The paging message (such as CN paging message and/or RAN paging message) may also carry the UE ID of the terminal device, and the paging occasion and paging frame are calculated by the UE ID. The paging message can be sent to all terminal equipments in the cell. However, since there are usually a large number of terminals receiving MBS services, paging through TMGI can reduce the size of the paging message and save space resources. It should be understood that the TMGI or UE ID mentioned in this application can also be replaced with any other information that can identify the multicast service, such as G-RNTI, MBS session ID or PDU session ID used to transmit multicast services, etc – Examiner Note: Fujishiro shows transmitting information to the DU).
Fujishiro and Xin are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujishiro to include paging configuration as taught by Xin in order to improve MBS reliability (Xin Abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks, Applicant contends the cited elements of Fujishiro are with regards to an AMF transmitting to a gNB and Fujishiro is not clear that it would be transmitting an MBS identifier and a UE identifier from the CU to the DU.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The cited portions shows in Figure 14 are between a CU and a DU (Fig. 14 ref. DU 202 and ref. CU 201). With regards to transmitting an MBS identifier and a UE identifier, the paging procedure is as shown in the first and second example, respectively figures 12 and 13 (Para.[0144] In a manner same as, and/or similar to, the first and second examples, the CU 201 may perform a paging procedure (Steps S303 to S309) based on the MBS capability of the DU 202). Based on the capability of the DU, the first paging message group notification is modified. The description of the first paging message is given in relation to Figure 12 (Para.[0127] In Step S104, the AMF 300A generates a PAGING message (first paging message) to be transmitted to the gNB 200. When the gNB 200 supports the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes the MBS session identifier (Session ID, TMGI, Source Specific IP Multicast Address, etc.) in the PAGING message. Alternatively, another message (for example, a newly defined message) may be used instead of the PAGING message. When the gNB 200 does not support the MBS function, the AMF 300A includes, in the PAGING message, the identifiers (5G-S-TMSI) of UEs 100 that are participating in the MBS session and that are in a CM_IDLE state. Note that these identifiers may be included in the message in a list format (plurality of identifiers)). The CU steps are similar to the steps of the AMF in Figure 12 and the DU steps are similar to the steps of the gNB in Figure 12.
In the remarks, Applicant contends Fujishiro does not disclose transmitting the MBS session identifier and the identifiers of UEs because they are alternatives to one another.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The portion cited by Applicant is referring to what is used as the group notification. The MBS Session ID or the UE ID can be used as a group notification, depending on the capability of the device receiving the notification (See Para.[0127] as cited above). Regardless of what the group notification uses (e.g. either MBS Session ID or UE ID), the paging message includes an MBS Session ID and a UE ID. Two alternatives are shown in Figure 17 and Figure 18. Figure 17 shows when a group notification is added into the PagingRecord, which includes the UE ID as shown by “ue-Identity”. Figure 18 shows where a new field is added for the group notification called “GroupRecord”. Figure 17 shows the MBS session ID with the UE ID and Figure 18 shows the MBS Session ID and the paging recording, which as shown in Figure 17 includes the UE ID.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Qi (US 20230262734) shows a message transmitted from the CU to the DU that includes an MBS Session ID, UE ID, and other related parameters (Para.[0223]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471