DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 31 January 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The spacing of the lines of the specification is such as to make reading difficult. New application papers with lines 1 1/2 or double spaced (see 37 CFR 1.52(b)(2)) on good quality paper are required.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because the lines are crowded too closely together, making reading difficult. Substitute claims with lines one and one-half or double spaced on good quality paper are required. See 37 CFR 1.52(b).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “reception unit configured to receive” in claims 1, 4, and 5, “control unit configured to determine” in claims 1-3, and “transmission unit configured to transmit” in claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,528,729. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-6 of the instant application are in the same scope as claims 1-4 of 11,528,729.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "each slot format" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “allocation of data to which two or more subcarrier spacings are applied” in lines 3-4 and “receiving the data” in line 6. It is unclear whether two or more subcarrier spacings are applied to the data or two or more subcarrier spacings are applied to a slot in which the data is allocated. It is also unclear whether two or mor subcarrier spacings are applied to the same data or different data. It is also unclear whether the data is only DL data or UL and DL data. Claim 1 recites the terminal transmitting a signal in the slot and receiving a signal in the slot. Additionally, the specification describes the SCS switch accompanying a transmission direction switch. Therefore, it is unclear whether the terminal receives some of the data or all of the data. For examining purposes, the examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claim 5 is rejected the same way as claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin et al. US 2022/0045831 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Lin”).
As to claim 1, Lin teaches a terminal (¶¶93-94; see figure 14) comprising:
a reception unit configured to receive signaling from a base station (¶¶83-84, 90, and 93-94; see figures 13-14: UE receives configuration from BS);
a control unit configured to determine a subcarrier spacing to be applied to each symbol included in a slot, based on the signaling (¶¶48, 83-84, and 93-94; see figures 1 and 13-14: determine, based on received configuration, SCS for each symbol); and
a transmission unit configured to transmit a signal in the slot, based on the determined subcarrier spacing (¶¶74, 90-91, and 93-94; see figures 11 and 13-14: transmit UL transmission in the slot according to the configured SCS), wherein
the reception unit receives a signal in the slot, based on the determined subcarrier spacing (¶¶74, 90-91, and 93-94; see figures 11 and 13-14: receive DL transmission in the slot according to the configured SCS).
As to claim 2, Lin teaches the terminal as claimed in claim 1, wherein
the control unit determines the subcarrier spacing for each slot format indicating that each symbol included in the slot is one of a downlink symbol, an uplink symbol, or a flexible symbol (¶¶12, 26, 53, 60, and 93-95; see figures 5 and 13-14: SCS applied to slots having DL-UL configurations).
As to claim 3, Lin teaches the terminal as claimed in claim 1, wherein
the control unit determines a period in which transmission and reception are not performed when switching the subcarrier spacing, based on a reference subcarrier spacing (¶¶52, 86-87, and 93-94; see figures 13-14: determine switching period according to a reference SCS based on which SCS is larger and which SCS is first).
As to claim 4, Lin teaches the terminal as claimed in claim 1, wherein
the reception unit receives scheduling information (¶¶74, 83-84, 90, and 93-94; see figures 13-14: UE receives configuration/scheduling from BS), and,
in a case where the scheduling information indicates allocation of data to which two or more subcarrier spacings are applied, the control unit determines a preparation time from a time point of receiving the scheduling information to a time point of receiving the data, based on one of the subcarrier spacings applied to the data (¶¶68, 74, 87-91, and 93-94; see figures 13-14: configuration/scheduling indicates data transmissions with different SCS, determine gap and SCS switching time period from the point of receiving the PDCCH to receiving scheduled transmission based on one of the configured SCSs).
As to claim 5, Lin teaches the terminal as claimed in claim 1, wherein
the reception unit receives scheduling information (¶¶74, 83-84, 90, and 93-94; see figures 13-14: UE receives configuration/scheduling from BS), and
in a case where the scheduling information indicates allocation of data to which two or more subcarrier spacings are applied, the control unit does not expect reception of another scheduling information during a time from a time point of receiving the scheduling information to a time point of receiving the data (¶¶4, 57, 74, 83-84, 90, and 93-94; see figures 13-14: configuration/scheduling indicates data transmissions with different SCS, determine gap and SCS switching time period, the switching time period is a guard period where UE is not scheduled and does not receive additional scheduling).
As to claim 6, claim 6 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Takeda et al., US 12,069,624 B2 – User Terminal and Radio Communication Method
Chen et al., US 2024/0214129 A1 – Method for Determining HARQ-ACK Transmission Resource, Terminal, and Storage Medium
Choi et al., US 2022/0353879 A1 – Method and Device for Transmitting/Receiving Signal in Wireless Communication System
Liu et al., WO 2020/228035 A1 – Time Division Duplexing Communication Method and Apparatus
Takeda et al., US 10,743,304 B2 – User Terminal, Radio Base Station, and Radio Communication Method
Harada et al., US 2018/0331816 A1 – User Terminal, Radio Base Station and Radio Communication Method
Harada et al., US 2018/0255572 A1 – User Terminal, Radio Base Station and Radio Communication Method
/JUSTIN T VAN ROIE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469