Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/31/2024 and 02/24/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2021-0108477, filed on 01/31/2024.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a transfer unit, a vision unit, and a cutting unit, in claim 1, matching unit in claim 6
Three Prong Test:
Prong I: a transfer unit (Generic placeholder)
Prong II: configured to transfer an electrode (Function)
Prong III: No structure
The specification recites “ The transfer units 111 and 311 transfer the electrodes 11 and 12. For example, the transfer units 111 and 311 may be a conveyor belt. At this time, the transfer units 111 and 311 may transfer the electrodes 11 and 12 so that the electrodes 11 and 12 sequentially pass through a region measured by the vision units 112 and 312 and a region cut by the cutting units 113 and 313.”, on page 6 Line 15-21. The examiner will use the citation above to interpret the “a transfer unit”.
Three Prong Test:
Prong I: matching unit (Generic place holder)
Prong II: configured to measure a misaligned angle of the electrode (Function)
Prong III: No structure
The specification recites “ The matching vision unit 413 may also include a vision device, and for example, may include a vision device such as a camera, an X-ray device, or the like”. The examiner will use this citation to interpret the claim language.
Three Prong Test:
Prong I: a matching unit (Generic place holder)
Prong II: configured to match the cut first electrode (Function)
Prong III: No structure
The specification recites “the first matching unit 210 that matches the first electrode 11 and the separators 21 and 22 disposed on both surfaces of the first electrode 11 is illustrated, but the number of the electrodes and/or the separators that are matched by the first matching unit 210, the arrangement form, or the like is not particularly limited. The second matching unit 410 may include a nip roller 411 that matches the first matched product 31 including the first electrode 11 and the separators 21 and 22 and the cut second electrode 12, and a transfer unit 412 that transfers the second matched product 32. In particular, the second matching unit 410 may include a matching vision unit 413 that measures at least one of the first electrode 11 and the second electrode 12. The examiner will use the citation above to interpret this claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 102257083 B1 – Choi.
Regarding claim 1, Choi is directed towards manufacturing of secondary battery. Choi does teach a transfer unit configured to transfer an electrode; ([0030] The above transfer unit (120) is a type of conveyor in which the electrode sheet placed in the electrode supply unit (110) is unwound and transferred) a vision unit configured to measure a misaligned angle of the electrode ([0042] Accordingly, the control unit (180) can calculate the cutting angle between adjacent electrode plates using information obtained from the first vision unit (130)); a cutting unit including a cutter configured to cut the electrode; ([Claim 1] a cutting unit arranged on the transfer unit for cutting the sheet between adjacent electrode plates) and a control unit to control the cutter, wherein the control unit is configured to adjust a cutting angle of the cutter based on the misaligned angle of the electrode ([0010] In addition, the control unit may be characterized by calculating the cutting angle between adjacent electrode plates using information obtained from the first vision unit and varying the cutting angle of the cutting unit.) the cutting angle of the cutter is an angle formed by a blade of the cutter and an imaginary line perpendicular to a transfer direction of the electrode. ([0052] The above angle calculation step (s30) is a step of calculating the cutting angle between the electrode plates using the sheet spacing between the electrode plates measured by the control unit (180), and for example, the cutting angle can be determined by a virtual line that divides the area of the spacing between the two electrode plates in half.).
Regarding claim 2, Choi does teach the limitations of claim 1. Choi does teach the vision unit is configured to measure an angle formed by a planned cutting line of the electrode ([0042] Accordingly, the control unit (180) can calculate the cutting angle between adjacent electrode plates using information obtained from the first vision unit (130)); and the imaginary line perpendicular to the transfer direction of the electrode to measure the misaligned angle of the electrode. ([0052] The above angle calculation step (s30) is a step of calculating the cutting angle between the electrode plates using the sheet spacing between the electrode plates measured by the control unit (180), and for example, the cutting angle can be determined by a virtual line that divides the area of the spacing between the two electrode plates in half.).
Regarding claim 4, Choi does teach the limitations of claim 1. Choi does teach the control unit is configured to adjust the cutting angle of the cutter by the misaligned angle of the electrode so that the cutter cuts is configured to cut the electrode along a planned cutting line of the electrode ([0010] In addition, the control unit may be characterized by calculating the cutting angle between adjacent electrode plates using information obtained from the first vision unit and varying the cutting angle of the cutting unit.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 102257083 B1 – Choi as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of US 20200139569 A1 – Wi.
Regarding claim 3, Choi does teach the limitations of claim 2. Choi does not expressly teach the planned cutting line of the electrode is an imaginary line that connects grooves formed at each of first and second opposite end portions of the electrode (Figure 2 and [0034] Also, the first notching groove 11a and the second notching groove 11b are provided in plurality along a longitudinal direction of the electrode sheet 10.).
Wi is directed towards an apparatus for cutting electrode sheets. Wi does teach the planned cutting line of the electrode is an imaginary line that connects grooves formed at each of first and second opposite end portions of the electrode (Figure 2 and [0034] Also, the first notching groove 11a and the second notching groove 11b are provided in plurality along a longitudinal direction of the electrode sheet 10.).
The combination of the notching of Wi and the cutting device of Choi allows the cutting unit to locate the area for cutting the electrode sheets for accuracy.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi to include the planned cutting line of the electrode is an imaginary line that connects grooves formed at each of first and second opposite end portions of the electrode because the notching of Wi and the cutting device of Choi allows the cutting unit to locate the area for cutting the electrode sheets for accuracy.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 102257083 B1 – Choi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20200153016 A1 – Hong.
Regarding claim 5, Choi does teach the limitations of claim 1. Choi does not expressly teach the cutting unit includes a first rail and a second rail spaced apart from each other in a direction perpendicular to the transfer direction of the electrode, a body extending between the first rail and the second rail and connected to each of the first rail and the second rail, the cutter disposed on the body, a gripper disposed on the body and configured to fix a position of the electrode relative to the body, and a first motor and a second motor that each are configured to supply power to move the body along each of the first rail and the second rail.
Hong is directed towards an apparatus for cutting fuel cells. Hong does teach the cutting unit includes a first rail and a second rail spaced apart from each other in a direction perpendicular to the transfer direction of the electrode, a body extending between the first rail and the second rail and connected to each of the first rail and the second rail, the cutter disposed on the body, a gripper disposed on the body and configured to fix a position of the electrode relative to the body (Figure 4 [0119] the base member 41 on which the gripper modules 40 are mounted is guided along the guide rail 73 on the moving block 65 in a direction perpendicular to the feeding direction of the electrode assembly sheet 101.), and a first motor and a second motor that each are configured to supply power to move the body along each of the first rail and the second rail ([0111] The gripper driving unit 60 is configured on both sides of the feeding path of the membrane-electrode assembly sheet 101 corresponding to the above-mentioned base member 41 respectively. The gripper driving unit 60 includes a servo motor 61, a lead screw 63, a moving block 65, and a guide block 67 for reciprocating the base member 41 along the X-axis direction, i.e., in the feeding direction of the membrane-electrode assembly sheet 101.).
The combination of rails, gripper, and motors of Hong allows the cutting unit of Choi to grip and move the electrodes securely across the cutting process.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi to include the cutting unit includes a first rail and a second rail spaced apart from each other in a direction perpendicular to the transfer direction of the electrode, a body extending between the first rail and the second rail and connected to each of the first rail and the second rail, the cutter disposed on the body, a gripper disposed on the body and configured to fix a position of the electrode relative to the body and a first motor and a second motor that each are configured to supply power to move the body along each of the first rail and the second rail because the rails, gripper, and motors of Hong allows the cutting unit of Choi to grip and move the electrodes securely across the cutting process.
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 102257083 B1 – Choi in view of US 20220393222 A1 – Kim.
Regarding claim 6, Choi does teach first and second electrode cutting devices, at least one of the first or second electrode cutting devices being the electrode cutting device according to claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1).
Choi does not expressly teach the electrode of the first cutting device being a first electrode, the electrode of the second cutting device being a second electrode, a first matching unit configured to match the cut first electrode after it is cut with a separator to form a first matched product; and a second matching unit configured to match the second electrode after it is cut with the first matched product to form a second matched product.
Kim is directed towards apparatus for manufacturing electrode assembly. Kim does teach the electrode of the first cutting device being a first electrode ([0078] the first combination device 100 comprises a first electrode cutting part C1 for cutting a first electrode 11), the electrode of the second cutting device being a second electrode ([0105] the second combination device 200 may comprise a second electrode cutting part C2 for cutting the second electrode 21); a first matching unit configured to match the cut first electrode after it is cut with a separator to form a first matched product; and a second matching unit configured to match the second electrode after it is cut with the first matched product to form a second matched product ([0061] the positions of the electrodes and the separators may be detected through the first and second first-electrode position detection parts 140 and 180 and the first and second second-electrode position detection parts 240 and 280 to automatically correct the positions through the first and second separator meandering correction parts 150 and 250 and the first and second electrode meandering correction parts 160 and 260, thereby preventing the Y-axis meandering from occurring and improving the positioning accuracy of the electrode and the separators, and thus, the electrode assembly 40 may be improved in quality.)
The combination of the two paths for each electrode sheets including, two cutter units, two matching units and two separators of Kim allow the process of cutting of Choi to be precise by taking multiple measurements, having multiple sensors, and having multiple adjustment points to combine the first and second electrodes.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi to include the first cutting device being a first electrode, the electrode of the second cutting device being a second electrode, a first matching unit configured to match the cut first electrode after it is cut with a separator to form a first matched product; and a second matching unit configured to match the second electrode after it is cut with the first matched product to form a second matched product because the two paths for each electrode sheets including, two cutter units, two matching units and two separators of Kim allow the process of cutting of Choi to be precise by taking multiple measurements, having multiple sensors, and having multiple adjustment points to combine the first and second electrodes.
Regarding claim 7, Choi and Kim teach the limitations of claim 6. Choi does teach vision unit that is used to measure at least one of the cutting angle or a misaligned angle of each of the first electrode and the second electrode of the second matched product ([0010] In addition, the control unit may be characterized by calculating the cutting angle between adjacent electrode plates using information obtained from the first vision unit and varying the cutting angle of the cutting unit.))
Although Choi does not teach a second vision unit for this angle measurement, adding a second vision unit onto the second electrode cutting path would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to measure and adjust angles for processing since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 8, Choi and Kim teach the limitations of claim 7. Choi does teach a configured to measure an angle formed by a planned cutting line of each of the first electrode and the second electrode and an actual cutting line of each of the first electrode, so as to measure the cutting angle of each of the first electrode.(([0010] In addition, the control unit may be characterized by calculating the cutting angle between adjacent electrode plates using information obtained from the first vision unit and varying the cutting angle of the cutting unit.).
Although Choi does not teach a second vision unit for this angle measurement, adding a second vision unit onto the second electrode cutting path would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to measure and adjust angles for processing since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 9, Choi and Kim teach the limitations of claim 7. Choi does teach a control unit of the first electrode cutting device is configured to adjust the cutting angle of the cutter included in the first electrode cutting device additionally based on the cutting angle of the first electrode measured by the matching vision unit (([0010] In addition, the control unit may be characterized by calculating the cutting angle between adjacent electrode plates using information obtained from the first vision unit and varying the cutting angle of the cutting unit.).),
Although Choi does not expressly teach the control unit of the second electrode cutting device is configured to adjust the cutting angle of the cutter included in the second electrode cutting device additionally based on the cutting angle of the second electrode measured by the matching vision unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to measure and adjust angles for processing since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 10, Choi and Kim teach the limitations of claim 7. Choi does teach the matching vision unit is configured to measure an angle formed by an imaginary line perpendicular to a transfer direction of the second matched product and a side that connects first and second opposite end portions of each of the first electrode and the second electrode so as to measure the misaligned angle of each of the first electrode and the second electrode ([0052] The above angle calculation step (s30) is a step of calculating the cutting angle between the electrode plates using the sheet spacing between the electrode plates measured by the control unit (180), and for example, the cutting angle can be determined by a virtual line that divides the area of the spacing between the two electrode plates in half.).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 102257083 B1 – Choi and US 20220393222 A1 – Kim as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of US 20200153016 A1 - Hong.
Regarding claim 11, Choi and Kim does teach the limitations of claim 7. Choi and Kim does not expressly teach the first electrode cutting device further includes a gripper that is configured to fix a position the first electrode relative to the cutter of the first electrode cutting device, and the first electrode cutting device is configured to feed the first electrode after it is cut to the first matching unit, the control unit of the first electrode cutting device is configured to adjust a feeding angle of the gripper by the misaligned angle of the first electrode measured by the matching vision unit, and the feeding angle of the gripper is an angle formed by a side that connects first and second opposite end portions of the first electrode fixed by the gripper and an imaginary line perpendicular to the feeding direction of the first electrode.
Hong does teach the first electrode cutting device further includes a gripper that is configured to fix a position the first electrode relative to the cutter of the first electrode cutting device, and the first electrode cutting device is configured to feed the first electrode after it is cut to the first matching unit (Figure 4 [0119] the base member 41 on which the gripper modules 40 are mounted is guided along the guide rail 73 on the moving block 65 in a direction perpendicular to the feeding direction of the electrode assembly sheet 101.),the control unit of the first electrode cutting device is configured to adjust a feeding angle of the gripper by the misaligned angle of the first electrode measured by the matching vision unit, and the feeding angle of the gripper is an angle formed by a side that connects first and second opposite end portions of the first electrode fixed by the gripper and an imaginary line perpendicular to the feeding direction of the first electrode ([0148] The position aligning unit 20 corrects the position of the cutting press 10 in the X-axis direction, the Y-axis direction, and the angle about Z-Axis direction on the XY plane through the UVW stage 23 in accordance with the detection position of the electrode catalyst layer 5 (S18).).
The combination of the gripper and position aligning unit of Hong with the electrode cutter of Choi and Kim allow the electrode sheets to be feed through the system and change angles to reduce the possibly of jams.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi and Kim to include the first electrode cutting device further includes a gripper that is configured to fix a position the first electrode relative to the cutter of the first electrode cutting device, and the first electrode cutting device is configured to feed the first electrode after it is cut to the first matching unit and the control unit of the first electrode cutting device is configured to adjust a feeding angle of the gripper by the misaligned angle of the first electrode measured by the matching vision unit, and the feeding angle of the gripper is an angle formed by a side that connects first and second opposite end portions of the first electrode fixed by the gripper and an imaginary line perpendicular to the feeding direction of the first electrode because the electrode sheet of Choi and Kim can potentially jam and the gripper and adjust of the angle of the gripper greatly reduce the jamming from happening while increasing the accuracy of the cutting and combining process.
Regarding claim 12, Choi and Kim does teach the limitations of claim 7. Choi and Kim does not expressly teach the second electrode cutting device further includes a gripper that is configured to fix a position of the second electrode relative to the cutter of the second electrode cutting device, and the second electrode cutting device is configured to feed the second electrode after it is cut to the second matching unit, the control unit of the second electrode cutting device is configured to adjust a feeding angle of the gripper by the misaligned angle of the second electrode measured by the matching vision unit, and the feeding angle of the gripper is an angle formed by a side that connects first and second opposite end portions of the second electrode fixed by the gripper and an imaginary line perpendicular to the feeding direction of the second electrode.
Hong does teach the first electrode cutting device further includes a gripper that is configured to fix a position the first electrode relative to the cutter of the first electrode cutting device, and the first electrode cutting device is configured to feed the first electrode after it is cut to the first matching unit (Figure 4 [0119] the base member 41 on which the gripper modules 40 are mounted is guided along the guide rail 73 on the moving block 65 in a direction perpendicular to the feeding direction of the electrode assembly sheet 101.),the control unit of the first electrode cutting device is configured to adjust a feeding angle of the gripper by the misaligned angle of the first electrode measured by the matching vision unit, and the feeding angle of the gripper is an angle formed by a side that connects first and second opposite end portions of the first electrode fixed by the gripper and an imaginary line perpendicular to the feeding direction of the first electrode ([0148] The position aligning unit 20 corrects the position of the cutting press 10 in the X-axis direction, the Y-axis direction, and the angle about Z-Axis direction on the XY plane through the UVW stage 23 in accordance with the detection position of the electrode catalyst layer 5 (S18).).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi and Kim to include the first electrode cutting device further includes a gripper that is configured to fix a position the first electrode relative to the cutter of the first electrode cutting device, and the first electrode cutting device is configured to feed the first electrode after it is cut to the first matching unit and the control unit of the first electrode cutting device is configured to adjust a feeding angle of the gripper by the misaligned angle of the first electrode measured by the matching vision unit, and the feeding angle of the gripper is an angle formed by a side that connects first and second opposite end portions of the first electrode fixed by the gripper and an imaginary line perpendicular to the feeding direction of the first electrode because the electrode sheet of Choi and Kim can potentially jam and the gripper and adjust of the angle of the gripper greatly reduce the jamming from happening while increasing the accuracy of the cutting and combining process.
Although Hong does not expressly teach a second gripper and adjuster of the gripper, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to allow the gripper and the gripper to be adjusted do so the electrode sheet flows freely since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Conclusion
/KEITH BRIAN ASSANTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JUSTIN C DODSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761