DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishi et al. (JP 2021-8679). Note: A machine translation is being used for JP 2021-8679.
Considering Claim 22: Ishi et al. teaches an artificial leather comprising a base material layer comprising a fiber base material (pg. 3), wherein the base layer comprises a protein/polymeric substance (pg. 8) that is a recombinant protein that is preferably a modified spider silk fibroin (pg. 8). Ishi et al. teaches the artificial leather a base fibrous layer, an adhesive layer and a skin layer (Fig. 2 and 3).
Claim(s) 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishi et al. (JP 2021-8679). Note: A machine translation is being used for JP 2021-8679.
Considering Claim 23: Ishi et al. teaches an artificial leather comprising a base material layer comprising a fiber base material (pg. 3), wherein the base layer comprises a protein/polymeric substance (pg. 8) that is a recombinant protein that is preferably a modified spider silk fibroin (pg. 8). Ishi et al. teaches the polypeptide as having a hydrophibicity of 0.3 to more (pg. 23). Ishi et al. teaches the artificial leather a base fibrous layer, an adhesive layer and a skin layer (Fig. 2 and 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishi et al. (JP 2021-8679) in view of Li et al. (US 2008/0175991). Note: A machine translation is being used for JP 2021-8679.
Considering Claims 1, 7, 8, 11-14: Ishi et al. teaches an artificial leather comprising a base material layer comprising a fiber base material (pg. 3), wherein the base layer or epidermis layer comprises a protein (pg. 8) that is a recombinant protein that is preferably a modified spider silk fibroin (pg. 8).
Ishi et al. does not teach that that the peptide is bonded to a second segment that contains a molecular group having a plasticizing function. However, Li et al. teaches a silk fibroin peptide (¶0007) modified with a polyether segment (¶0031-32). The modified peptide is applied to a fibrous substrate. Ishi et al. and Li et al. are analogous as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely modifying fibrous substrates with fibroin peptides. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the recombinant protein of Ishi et al. with the polyether segment of Li et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Li et al. suggests, to increase the strength of the fibrous substrate to which the peptide is applied (¶0031).
Considering Claims 9 and 10: Ishi et al. teaches the polypeptide as having a hydrophibicity of 0.3 to more (pg. 23).
Considering Claims 15-17: Ishi et al. teaches the artificial leather as comprising a base fibrous layer, a porous layer, and a skin layer, or a base fibrous layer, an adhesive layer and a skin layer (Fig. 2 and 3). The protein can be in the skin layer (pg. 8), which may be porous (pg. 8).
Considering Claim 19: Ishi et al. teaches the silk fibroin as comprising serine units (pg. 10), which contain a hydroxyl group. Hydroxyl groups are known initiators for ethylene oxide polymerization to produce polyethylene oxide polyethers.
Claim 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishi et al. (JP 2021-8679) in view of Li et al. (US 2008/0175991). Note: A machine translation is being used for JP 2021-8679.
Considering Claim 2: Ishi et al. teaches an artificial leather comprising a base material layer comprising a fiber base material (pg. 3), wherein the base layer or epidermis layer comprises a protein (pg. 8) that is a recombinant protein that is preferably a modifed spider silk fibroin (pg. 8). Ishi et al. teaches the polypeptide as having a hydrophibicity of 0.3 to more (pg. 23).
Ishi et al. does not teach that that the peptide is bonded to a second segment that contains a molecular group having a plasticizing function. However, Li et al. teaches a silk fibroin peptide (¶0007) modified with a polyether segment (¶0031-32). The modified peptide is applied to a fibrous substrate. Ishi et al. and Li et al. are analogous as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely modifying fibrous substrates with fibroin peptides. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the recombinant protein of Ishi et al. with the polyether segment of Li et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Li et al. suggests, to increase the strength of the fibrous substrate to which the peptide is applied (¶0031).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishi et al. (JP 2021-8679) in view of Li et al. (US 2008/0175991). Note: A machine translation is being used for JP 2021-8679.
Considering Claim 20: Ishi et al. teaches an artificial leather comprising a base material layer comprising a fiber base material (pg. 3), wherein the base layer or epidermis layer comprises a protein (pg. 8) that is a recombinant protein that is preferably a modifed spider silk fibroin (pg. 8). Ishi et al. teaches the polypeptide as having a hydrophibicity of 0.3 to more (pg. 23). Ishi et al. teaches the artificial leather as comprising a base fibrous layer, a porous layer, and a skin layer, or a base fibrous layer, an adhesive layer and a skin layer (Fig. 2 and 3).
Ishi et al. does not teach that that the peptide is bonded to a second segment that contains a molecular group having a plasticizing function. However, Li et al. teaches a silk fibroin peptide (¶0007) modified with a polyether segment (¶0031-32). The modified peptide is applied to a fibrous substrate. Ishi et al. and Li et al. are analogous as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely modifying fibrous substrates with fibroin peptides. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the recombinant protein of Ishi et al. with the polyether segment of Li et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Li et al. suggests, to increase the strength of the fibrous substrate to which the peptide is applied (¶0031).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishi et al. (JP 2021-8679) in view of Li et al. (US 2008/0175991). Note: A machine translation is being used for JP 2021-8679.
Considering Claim 21: Ishi et al. teaches an artificial leather comprising a base material layer comprising a fiber base material (pg. 3), wherein the base layer or epidermis layer comprises a protein (pg. 8) that is a recombinant protein that is preferably a modifed spider silk fibroin (pg. 8). Ishi et al. teaches the polypeptide as having a hydrophibicity of 0.3 to more (pg. 23). Ishi et al. teaches the artificial leather as comprising a base fibrous layer, a porous layer, and a skin layer, or a base fibrous layer, an adhesive layer and a skin layer (Fig. 2 and 3).
Ishi et al. does not teach that that the peptide is bonded to a second segment that contains a molecular group having a plasticizing function. However, Li et al. teaches a silk fibroin peptide (¶0007) modified with a polyether segment (¶0031-32). The modified peptide is applied to a fibrous substrate. Ishi et al. and Li et al. are analogous as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely modifying fibrous substrates with fibroin peptides. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the recombinant protein of Ishi et al. with the polyether segment of Li et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Li et al. suggests, to increase the strength of the fibrous substrate to which the peptide is applied (¶0031).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767