Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoyoshi (US 2013/0170655) in view of Benway (US 2018/0151168).
Regarding claim 1, Satoyoshi teaches A masking device comprising: a spoken voice volume evaluation circuitry configured to generate an evaluation value for a volume of a spoken voice (hereinafter referred to as a spoken voice volume evaluation value) from a spoken voice signal by using, as the spoken voice signal, a sound collection signal output by a microphone installed for collecting the spoken voice which is a voice of a speaking person (Satoyoshi ¶0049, “a masking sound is in a mode where the volume is changed in accordance with the level of the picked up speaker voice. In the case where the level of the picked up speaker voice is low… In the case where the level of the picked up speaker voice is high”); a masking sound signal generation circuitry configured to generate a signal for emitting a masking sound from a speaker (hereinafter referred to as a masking sound signal) (Satoyoshi figure 2, masking sound producing section 73) corresponding to the spoken voice volume evaluation value (Satoyoshi ¶0049, “Therefore, also the level of the masking sound can be lowered…masking sound is set to high”), the masking sound preventing the spoken voice from being heard by surrounding persons other than the speaking person (Satoyoshi ¶0033, “This causes the third persons H3 to hear the voice of the speaker H1 and the masking sound from the same position, and the cocktail party effect is adequately suppressed”); however does not explicitly teach a masking video signal generation circuitry configured to generate a signal for presenting a video corresponding to the masking sound (hereinafter referred to as a masking video signal) from a video presentation device.
Benway teaches a masking video signal generation circuitry configured to generate a signal for presenting a video corresponding to the masking sound (hereinafter referred to as a masking video signal) from a video presentation device (Benway ¶0028, “masking application 6 includes or interfaces with a digital audio player and a digital video player at computing device 4. Noise masking application 6 outputs (i.e., plays) the selected noise masking sound audio file at loudspeaker(s) 14 and outputs (i.e., plays) the selected video file at video display 16. Although only a single video display 16 is shown, multiple displays may be utilized to output the selected video file”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Benway to improve the known masking device of Satoyoshi to achieve the predictable result of increasing the user’s psychological comfort with an increase noise masking level (Benway ¶0024).
Regarding claim 3, Satoyoshi teaches A masking device comprising: a microphone array processing circuitry configured to generate an integrated sound collection signal from N (where N is an integer of 2 or more) sound collection signals output by a microphone array including N microphones installed (Satoyoshi figure 2, microphone array 1) for collecting a spoken voice that is a voice of a speaking person and to set (See pertinent art Laroche, ¶0093 it is obvious and well known in the art that audio devices use a VAD to determine the signal picked up by a microphone is a voice signal) the integrated sound collection signal as a spoken voice signal (Satoyoshi figure 1, ¶0033 “picks up the voice of the speaker H1”); a spoken voice volume evaluation circuitry configured to generate an evaluation value for a volume of the spoken voice (hereinafter referred to as a spoken voice volume evaluation value) from the spoken voice signal (Satoyoshi ¶0049, “a masking sound is in a mode where the volume is changed in accordance with the level of the picked up speaker voice. In the case where the level of the picked up speaker voice is low… In the case where the level of the picked up speaker voice is high”); a masking sound signal generation circuitry configured to generate a signal for emitting a masking sound (hereinafter referred to as a masking sound signal) corresponding to the spoken voice volume evaluation value (Satoyoshi ¶0049, “Therefore, also the level of the masking sound can be lowered…masking sound is set to high”) from a speaker array including M (where M is an integer of 2 or more) speakers (Satoyoshi figure 2, masking sound producing section 73 and speaker array 2), the masking sound preventing the spoken voice from being heard by surrounding persons other than the speaking person (Satoyoshi ¶0033, “This causes the third persons H3 to hear the voice of the speaker H1 and the masking sound from the same position, and the cocktail party effect is adequately suppressed”); and a speaker array processing circuitry configured to generate M individual masking sound signals for emitting sound from the speakers included in the speaker array from the masking sound signal (Satoyoshi figure 2 and ¶0033), however does not explicitly teach a masking video signal generation circuitry configured to generate a signal for presenting a video corresponding to the masking sound (hereinafter referred to as a masking video signal) from a video presentation device.
Benway teaches a masking video signal generation circuitry configured to generate a signal for presenting a video corresponding to the masking sound (hereinafter referred to as a masking video signal) from a video presentation device (Benway ¶0028, “masking application 6 includes or interfaces with a digital audio player and a digital video player at computing device 4. Noise masking application 6 outputs (i.e., plays) the selected noise masking sound audio file at loudspeaker(s) 14 and outputs (i.e., plays) the selected video file at video display 16. Although only a single video display 16 is shown, multiple displays may be utilized to output the selected video file”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Benway to improve the known masking device of Satoyoshi to achieve the predictable result of increasing the user’s psychological comfort with an increase noise masking level (Benway ¶0024).
Regarding claim 6, Satoyoshi teaches A masking method comprising: a spoken voice volume evaluation step of generating, by a masking device, an evaluation value for a volume of a spoken voice (hereinafter referred to as a spoken voice volume evaluation value) from a spoken voice signal by using, as the spoken voice signal (Satoyoshi ¶0049, “a masking sound is in a mode where the volume is changed in accordance with the level of the picked up speaker voice. In the case where the level of the picked up speaker voice is low… In the case where the level of the picked up speaker voice is high”), a sound collection signal output by a microphone installed for collecting the spoken voice which is a voice of a speaking person (Satoyoshi figure 2, microphone array 1); a masking sound signal generation step of generating, by the masking device, a signal for emitting a masking sound from a speaker (hereinafter referred to as a masking sound signal) corresponding to the spoken voice volume evaluation value (Satoyoshi ¶0049, “Therefore, also the level of the masking sound can be lowered…masking sound is set to high”), the masking sound preventing the spoken voice from being heard by surrounding persons other than the speaking person (Satoyoshi ¶0033, “This causes the third persons H3 to hear the voice of the speaker H1 and the masking sound from the same position, and the cocktail party effect is adequately suppressed”); however does not explicitly teach a masking video signal generation step of generating, by the masking device, a signal for presenting a video corresponding to the masking sound (hereinafter referred to as a masking video signal) from a video presentation device.
Benway teaches a masking video signal generation step of generating, by the masking device, a signal for presenting a video corresponding to the masking sound (hereinafter referred to as a masking video signal) from a video presentation device (Benway ¶0028, “masking application 6 includes or interfaces with a digital audio player and a digital video player at computing device 4. Noise masking application 6 outputs (i.e., plays) the selected noise masking sound audio file at loudspeaker(s) 14 and outputs (i.e., plays) the selected video file at video display 16. Although only a single video display 16 is shown, multiple displays may be utilized to output the selected video file”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Benway to improve the known masking device of Satoyoshi to achieve the predictable result of increasing the user’s psychological comfort with an increase noise masking level (Benway ¶0024).
Regarding claim 7, Satoyoshi teaches A masking method comprising: a microphone array processing step of generating, by a masking device, an integrated sound collection signal from N (where N is an integer of 2 or more) sound collection signals output by a microphone array including N microphones installed (Satoyoshi figure 2, microphone array 1) for collecting a spoken voice that is a voice of a speaking person and to set (See pertinent art Laroche, ¶0093 it is obvious and well known in the art that audio devices use a VAD to determine the signal picked up by a microphone is a voice signal) the integrated sound collection signal as a spoken voice signal (Satoyoshi figure 1, ¶0033 “picks up the voice of the speaker H1”); a spoken voice volume evaluation step of generating, by the masking device, an evaluation value for a volume of the spoken voice (hereinafter referred to as a spoken voice volume evaluation value) from the spoken voice signal (Satoyoshi ¶0049, “a masking sound is in a mode where the volume is changed in accordance with the level of the picked up speaker voice. In the case where the level of the picked up speaker voice is low… In the case where the level of the picked up speaker voice is high”); a masking sound signal generation step of generating, by the masking device, a signal for emitting a masking sound (hereinafter referred to as a masking sound signal) corresponding to the spoken voice volume evaluation value (Satoyoshi ¶0049, “Therefore, also the level of the masking sound can be lowered…masking sound is set to high”) from a speaker array including M (where M is an integer of 2 or more) speakers (Satoyoshi figure 2, masking sound producing section 73 and speaker array 2), the masking sound preventing the spoken voice from being heard by surrounding persons other than the speaking person (Satoyoshi ¶0033, “This causes the third persons H3 to hear the voice of the speaker H1 and the masking sound from the same position, and the cocktail party effect is adequately suppressed”); and a speaker array processing step of generating, by the masking device, M individual masking sound signals for emitting sound from the speakers included in the speaker array from the masking sound signal (Satoyoshi figure 2 and ¶0033), however does not explicitly teach a masking video signal generation step of generating, by the masking device, a signal for presenting a video corresponding to the masking sound (hereinafter referred to as a masking video signal) from a video presentation device.
Benway teaches a masking video signal generation step of generating, by the masking device, a signal for presenting a video corresponding to the masking sound (hereinafter referred to as a masking video signal) from a video presentation device (Benway ¶0028, “masking application 6 includes or interfaces with a digital audio player and a digital video player at computing device 4. Noise masking application 6 outputs (i.e., plays) the selected noise masking sound audio file at loudspeaker(s) 14 and outputs (i.e., plays) the selected video file at video display 16. Although only a single video display 16 is shown, multiple displays may be utilized to output the selected video file”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Benway to improve the known masking device of Satoyoshi to achieve the predictable result of increasing the user’s psychological comfort with an increase noise masking level (Benway ¶0024).
Regarding claim 8, Satoyoshi in view of Benway teaches a program causing a computer to function as the masking device according to claim 1 (Satoyoshi figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, Satoyoshi in view of Benway teaches a program causing a computer to function as the masking device according to claim 3 (Satoyoshi figure 2).
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoyoshi (US 2013/0170655) in view of Benway (US 2018/0151168) in further view of Kobayashi (US 2013/0163772).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Satoyoshi in view of Benway does not explicitly teach a masking sound erasing circuitry configured to generate a signal in which a component caused by the masking sound included in the sound collection signal is erased by using the sound collection signal and the masking sound signal, and to use the signal as the spoken voice signal.
Kobayashi teaches a masking sound erasing circuitry configured to generate a signal in which a component caused by the masking sound included in the sound collection signal is erased by using the sound collection signal and the masking sound signal, and to use the signal as the spoken voice signal (Kobayashi figure 2, and ¶0029 echo cancelling section 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Kobayashi to improve the known masking device of Satoyoshi in view of Benway to achieve the predictable result of a masking sounds with minimal echo (Kobayashi ¶0015).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoyoshi (US 2013/0170655) in view of Kim (US 2016/0080537).
Regarding claim 5, Satoyoshi teaches A masking device comprising: a microphone array processing circuitry configured to generate an integrated sound collection signal from N (where N is an integer of 2 or more) sound collection signals output by a microphone array including N microphones installed (Satoyoshi figure 2, microphone array 1) for collecting a spoken voice that is a voice of a speaking person and to set (See pertinent art Laroche, ¶0093 it is obvious and well known in the art that audio devices use a VAD to determine the signal picked up by a microphone is a voice signal) the integrated sound collection signal as a spoken voice signal (Satoyoshi figure 1, ¶0033 “picks up the voice of the speaker H1”); a spoken voice volume evaluation circuitry configured to generate an evaluation value for a volume of the spoken voice (hereinafter referred to as a spoken voice volume evaluation value) from the spoken voice signal (Satoyoshi ¶0049, “a masking sound is in a mode where the volume is changed in accordance with the level of the picked up speaker voice. In the case where the level of the picked up speaker voice is low… In the case where the level of the picked up speaker voice is high”); a masking sound signal generation circuitry configured to generate a signal for emitting a masking sound (hereinafter referred to as a masking sound signal) corresponding to the spoken voice volume evaluation value (Satoyoshi ¶0049, “Therefore, also the level of the masking sound can be lowered…masking sound is set to high”) from a speaker array including M (where M is an integer of 2 or more) speakers (Satoyoshi figure 2, masking sound producing section 73 and speaker array 2), the masking sound preventing the spoken voice from being heard by surrounding persons other than the speaking person (Satoyoshi ¶0033, “This causes the third persons H3 to hear the voice of the speaker H1 and the masking sound from the same position, and the cocktail party effect is adequately suppressed”); and a speaker array processing circuitry configured to generates M individual masking sound signals for emitting sound from the speakers included in the speaker array from the masking sound signal (Satoyoshi figure 2 and ¶0033), is a signal such that the higher the spoken voice volume evaluation value indicates, the greater the sound emitted by the signal is (Satoyoshi ¶0049, “In the case where the level of the picked up speaker voice is low, the speaker voice reaches the third persons H3 at a low level, and the content of a conversation is hardly understood. Therefore, also the level of the masking sound can be lowered. In the case where the level of the picked up speaker voice is high, by contrast, the speaker voice reaches the third persons H3 at a high level”), however does not explicitly teach wherein, of the M individual masking sound signals, an individual masking sound signal directed to a direction of the speaking person.
Kim teaches wherein, of the M individual masking sound signals, an individual masking sound signal directed to a direction of the speaking person (Kim ¶0048, “he locations/directions/phases of the speakers in device 300 may be adjusted such that the masking noise is nullified at or around the ear of the user while the masking noise sounds with a greater volume in the surroundings of the ear”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Kim to improve the known masking device of Satoyoshi to achieve the predictable result of controlled noise masking at wanted and unwanted areas.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Laroche (US 2021/0104222).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Va. 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, for formal communications intended for entry and for
informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”.
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Arlington, VA 22314
/NORMAN YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693