DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on December 23, 2024 and January 14, 2025 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Preliminary Amendment
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on January 31, 2024 as modified by the preliminary amendment also filed on the same date. Claims 1-8 and 17-28 are pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea), and if so, it must additionally be determined whether the claim is a patent-eligible application of the exception. If an abstract idea is present in the claim, any element or combination of elements in the claim must be sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Examples of abstract ideas include fundamental economic practices; certain methods of organizing human activities; an idea itself; and mathematical relationships/ formulas. (Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al. US Supreme Court, No. 13-298, June 19, 2014).
Claims 1-8, 17-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception of an abstract idea without significantly more.
Analysis
(1) Claims 1, 17 and 18 is directed to a process/machine
(2a) Claims 1 is directed to a process including the steps
determine/determining a paging monitoring parameter of an inactive-state UE according to a configuration situation of an inactive-sate extended Discontinues Reception (eDRX) parameter and an idle-state eDRX parameter.
The process is to evaluate a parameter, therefore, is a mental process which is identified as organizing human activity by courts.
The claims includes additional elements including UE, device, non-transitory computer readable medium, memory and processor to perform the process.
(2b) However, UE, device, non-transitory computer readable medium, memory and processor are simply part of a generic computer and therefore do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Therefore, the claims are not eligible are rejected under 35 USC 101.
Further, dependent claims 2-8 and 18-28 similarly include processes of evaluating the parameter based on comparisons of parameters are also mental processes, therefore do not appear to provide further limitations that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-8, 17-19, and 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sogabe et al. (US 2024/0107625, “Sogabe”).
Regarding claim 1, Sogabe teaches a method for determining a paging monitoring parameter, performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
determining a paging monitoring parameter of an inactive-state UE according to a configuration situation of an inactive-state extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) parameter and an idle-state eDRX parameter ([0048] “the terminal 10 in the idle state or the inactive state monitors downlink control channel candidates in PO periods within each period called a PTW (Paging Time Window) to receive paging signals” [0077] “the terminal 10 configures the starting position of the PTW in the inactive state to be the same as the starting position of the PTW in the idle state.” [0078] “the terminal 10 performs eDRX control in accordance with the eDRX parameter for the idle state and the eDRX parameter for the inactive state with the starting position of the PTW being configured to be the same as that of the idle state.”)
Regarding claim 2, Sogabe teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein determining the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the configuration situation of the inactive-state eDRX parameter and the idle-state eDRX parameter comprises at least one of:
in response to the idle-state eDRX parameter being configured and no inactive-state eDRX parameter being configured, determining the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the idle-state eDRX parameter;
in response to the idle-state eDRX parameter being configured and the inactive-state eDRX parameter ([0078] “the terminal 10 performs eDRX control in accordance with the eDRX parameter for the idle state and the eDRX parameter for the inactive state with the starting position of the PTW being configured to be the same as that of the idle state.”) not including a paging time window (PTW), determining the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the idle-state eDRX parameter ([0077] “the terminal 10 configures the starting position of the PTW in the inactive state to be the same as the starting position of the PTW in the idle state.” It is understood “the starting position of the PTW” is not preconfigured for terminal 10); or
in response to the idle-state eDRX parameter being configured and the inactive-state eDRX parameter being configured, determining the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to a first PTW included in the idle-state eDRX parameter and a second PTW included in the inactive-state eDRX parameter.
Regarding claim 5, Sogabe teaches claim 2 and further teaches wherein the inactive-state eDRX parameter comprises an inactive-state eDRX cycle, the idle-state eDRX parameter comprises an idle-state eDRX cycle ([0067] “the terminal 10 configures the eDRX parameter for the idle state, included in the NAS message (that is, the terminal 10 stores the eDRX parameter for the idle state in a storage device)”, [0070] “the terminal 10 configures the eDRX parameter for the inactive state, included in the RRC Release message (the terminal 10 stores the eDRX parameter in the storage device)”); and
determining a paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the first PTW included in the idle-state eDRX parameter and the second PTW included in the inactive-state eDRX parameter comprises: in response to the first PTW being greater than the second PTW ([0084] “it is assumed that the starting position of the PTW in the idle state is SFN=0 and the ending position of the PTW is SFN=299 (that is, the time length of the PTW is three seconds). Further, it is assumed that the starting position of the PTW in the inactive state is SFN=0 and the ending position of the PTW is SFN=99 (that is, the time length of the PTW is one second)”) and no time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining the paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a RAN paging within the second PTW of the inactive-state eDRX cycle ([0062] “In the example of FIG. 6, the PH in the inactive state overlaps with the PH in the idle state at the fifth H-SFN In the meantime, unlike FIG. 5, the PTW in the idle state and the PTW in the inactive state do not overlap with each other. In this case, in the fifth H-SFN, the terminal 10 performs such an operation that the terminal 10 starts the receiving circuit in accordance with the PTW in the idle state to monitor downlink control channel candidates, stops the receiver circuit when the TW is ended, and then, the terminal 10 starts the receiving circuit in accordance with the PTW in the inactive state to monitor downlink control channel candidates and stops the receiver circuit when the PTW is ended. That is, in the same H-SFN, the terminal 10 performs a process of starting the receiving circuit twice”).
Regarding claim 6, Sogabe teaches claim 2 and further teaches wherein the inactive-state eDRX parameter comprises an inactive-state eDRX cycle, the idle-state eDRX parameter comprises an idle-state eDRX cycle ([0067] “the terminal 10 configures the eDRX parameter for the idle state, included in the NAS message (that is, the terminal 10 stores the eDRX parameter for the idle state in a storage device)”, [0070] “the terminal 10 configures the eDRX parameter for the inactive state, included in the RRC Release message (the terminal 10 stores the eDRX parameter in the storage device)”); and
determining the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the first PTW included in the idle-state eDRX parameter and the second PTW included in the inactive-state eDRX parameter comprises at least one of:
in response to the first PTW being greater than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining the paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a CN paging and a RAN paging within the second PTW;
in response to the first PTW being greater than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining the paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to stop paging monitoring when a CN paging is monitored once or a RAN paging is monitored once within the second PTW;
in response to the first PTW being greater than the second PTW ([0084] “it is assumed that the starting position of the PTW in the idle state is SFN=0 and the ending position of the PTW is SFN=299 (that is, the time length of the PTW is three seconds). Further, it is assumed that the starting position of the PTW in the inactive state is SFN=0 and the ending position of the PTW is SFN=99 (that is, the time length of the PTW is one second)”) and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining the paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to stop paging monitoring when a CN paging is monitored once or a RAN paging is monitored once within the first PTW ([0076] “the “specific flag” may be defined as an information element to, in a case where the PTW in the idle state and the PTW in the inactive state overlap.” [0077] “the terminal 10 configures the starting position of the PTW in the inactive state to be the same as the starting position of the PTW in the idle state, for the PH where the PTW in the idle state and the PTW in the inactive state overlap with each other”);
in response to the first PTW being greater than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining the paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a CN paging within a part of the first PTW not overlapping with the second PTW; or
in response to the first PTW being greater than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining the paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to stop paging monitoring when a CN paging is monitored once within a part of the first PTW not overlapping with the second PTW.
Regarding claim 7, Sogabe teaches claim 2 and further teaches wherein the inactive-state eDRX parameter comprises an inactive-state eDRX cycle, the idle-state eDRX parameter comprises an idle-state eDRX cycle ([0067] “the terminal 10 configures the eDRX parameter for the idle state, included in the NAS message (that is, the terminal 10 stores the eDRX parameter for the idle state in a storage device)”, [0070] “the terminal 10 configures the eDRX parameter for the inactive state, included in the RRC Release message (the terminal 10 stores the eDRX parameter in the storage device)”); and determining the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the first PTW included in the idle-state eDRX parameter and the second PTW included in the inactive-state eDRX parameter comprises at least one of:
in response to the first PTW being greater than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining the paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a CN paging and a RAN paging within the first PTW ([0076] “the “specific flag” may be defined as an information element to, in a case where the PTW in the idle state and the PTW in the inactive state overlap.” [0077] “the terminal 10 configures the starting position of the PTW in the inactive state to be the same as the starting position of the PTW in the idle state, for the PH where the PTW in the idle state and the PTW in the inactive state overlap with each other”); or
in response to the first PTW being greater than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining the paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to stop paging monitoring when a CN paging is monitored once or a RAN paging is monitored once within the first PTW.
Regarding claim 8, Sogabe teaches claim 2 and further teaches wherein the idle-state eDRX parameter comprises an idle-state eDRX cycle and the first PTW, and the inactive-state eDRX parameter comprises an inactive-state eDRX cycle and the second PTW ([0076] “the “specific flag” may be defined as an information element to, in a case where the PTW in the idle state and the PTW in the inactive state overlap.” [0077] “the terminal 10 configures the starting position of the PTW in the inactive state to be the same as the starting position of the PTW in the idle state, for the PH where the PTW in the idle state and the PTW in the inactive state overlap with each other”); and
when the idle-state eDRX cycle overlaps with the inactive-state eDXR cycle in a time domain, a time-domain starting point position of the first PTW and a time-domain starting point position of the second PTW are the same ([0077] “the terminal 10 configures the starting position of the PTW in the inactive state to be the same as the starting position of the PTW in the idle state, for the PH where the PTW in the idle state and the PTW in the inactive state overlap with each other”).
Regarding claim 17, Sogabe teaches a communication device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a program executable by the processor ([0120]), wherein the processor is configured to:
determine a paging monitoring parameter of an inactive-state user equipment (UE) according to a configuration situation of an inactive-state extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) parameter and an idle-state eDRX parameter ([0048] “the terminal 10 in the idle state or the inactive state monitors downlink control channel candidates in PO periods within each period called a PTW (Paging Time Window) to receive paging signals” [0077] “the terminal 10 configures the starting position of the PTW in the inactive state to be the same as the starting position of the PTW in the idle state.” [0078] “the terminal 10 performs eDRX control in accordance with the eDRX parameter for the idle state and the eDRX parameter for the inactive state with the starting position of the PTW being configured to be the same as that of the idle state.”)
Regarding claim 18, Sogabe teaches a non-transitory computer storage medium having stored thereon an executable program that, when executed by a processor ([0120]), causes the processor to perform a method for determining a paging monitoring parameter, the method comprising: determining a paging monitoring parameter of an inactive-state user equipment (UE) according to a configuration situation of an inactive-state extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) parameter and an idle-state eDRX parameter ([0048] “the terminal 10 in the idle state or the inactive state monitors downlink control channel candidates in PO periods within each period called a PTW (Paging Time Window) to receive paging signals” [0077] “the terminal 10 configures the starting position of the PTW in the inactive state to be the same as the starting position of the PTW in the idle state.” [0078] “the terminal 10 performs eDRX control in accordance with the eDRX parameter for the idle state and the eDRX parameter for the inactive state with the starting position of the PTW being configured to be the same as that of the idle state.”)
Regarding claim 19, Sogabe teaches claim 17 and further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to perform at least one of:
in response to the idle-state eDRX parameter being configured and no inactive-state eDRX parameter being configured, determining the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the idle-state eDRX parameter;
in response to the idle-state eDRX parameter being configured and the inactive-state eDRX parameter ([0078] “the terminal 10 performs eDRX control in accordance with the eDRX parameter for the idle state and the eDRX parameter for the inactive state with the starting position of the PTW being configured to be the same as that of the idle state.”) not including a paging time window (PTW), determining the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the idle-state eDRX parameter ([0077] “the terminal 10 configures the starting position of the PTW in the inactive state to be the same as the starting position of the PTW in the idle state.” It is understood “the starting position of the PTW” is not preconfigured for terminal 10); or
in response to the idle-state eDRX parameter being configured and the inactive-state eDRX parameter being configured, determining the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to a first PTW included in the idle-state eDRX parameter and a second PTW included in the inactive-state eDRX parameter.
22. The communication device according to claim 19, wherein the inactive-state eDRX parameter comprises an inactive-state eDRX cycle, the idle-state eDRX parameter comprises an idle-state eDRX cycle; and the processor is further configured to: in response to the first PTW being greater than the second PTW and no time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determine the paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a RAN paging within the second PTW of the inactive-state eDRX cycle.
Regarding claim 23, Sogabe teaches claim 19 and further teaches wherein the inactive-state eDRX parameter comprises an inactive-state eDRX cycle, the idle-state eDRX parameter comprises an idle-state eDRX cycle ([0067] “the terminal 10 configures the eDRX parameter for the idle state, included in the NAS message (that is, the terminal 10 stores the eDRX parameter for the idle state in a storage device)”, [0070] “the terminal 10 configures the eDRX parameter for the inactive state, included in the RRC Release message (the terminal 10 stores the eDRX parameter in the storage device)”); and the processor is further configured to perform at least one of:
in response to the first PTW being greater than the second PTW ([0084] “it is assumed that the starting position of the PTW in the idle state is SFN=0 and the ending position of the PTW is SFN=299 (that is, the time length of the PTW is three seconds). Further, it is assumed that the starting position of the PTW in the inactive state is SFN=0 and the ending position of the PTW is SFN=99 (that is, the time length of the PTW is one second)”) and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining the paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a CN paging and a RAN paging within the second PTW ([0062] “In the example of FIG. 6, the PH in the inactive state overlaps with the PH in the idle state at the fifth H-SFN In the meantime, unlike FIG. 5, the PTW in the idle state and the PTW in the inactive state do not overlap with each other. In this case, in the fifth H-SFN, the terminal 10 performs such an operation that the terminal 10 starts the receiving circuit in accordance with the PTW in the idle state to monitor downlink control channel candidates, stops the receiver circuit when the TW is ended, and then, the terminal 10 starts the receiving circuit in accordance with the PTW in the inactive state to monitor downlink control channel candidates and stops the receiver circuit when the PTW is ended. That is, in the same H-SFN, the terminal 10 performs a process of starting the receiving circuit twice”);
in response to the first PTW being greater than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining the paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to stop paging monitoring when a CN paging is monitored once or a RAN paging is monitored once within the second PTW; in response to the first PTW being greater than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining the paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to stop paging monitoring when a CN paging is monitored once or a RAN paging is monitored once within the first PTW; in response to the first PTW being greater than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining the paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a CN paging within a part of the first PTW not overlapping with the second PTW; or in response to the first PTW being greater than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining the paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to stop paging monitoring when a CN paging is monitored once within a part of the first PTW not overlapping with the second PTW.
Regarding claim 24, Sogabe teaches claim 19 and further teaches wherein the inactive-state eDRX parameter comprises an inactive-state eDRX cycle, the idle-state eDRX parameter comprises an idle-state eDRX cycle ([0067] “the terminal 10 configures the eDRX parameter for the idle state, included in the NAS message (that is, the terminal 10 stores the eDRX parameter for the idle state in a storage device)”, [0070] “the terminal 10 configures the eDRX parameter for the inactive state, included in the RRC Release message (the terminal 10 stores the eDRX parameter in the storage device)”); and the processor is further configured to perform at least one of:
in response to the first PTW being greater than the second PTW ([0084] “it is assumed that the starting position of the PTW in the idle state is SFN=0 and the ending position of the PTW is SFN=299 (that is, the time length of the PTW is three seconds). Further, it is assumed that the starting position of the PTW in the inactive state is SFN=0 and the ending position of the PTW is SFN=99 (that is, the time length of the PTW is one second)”) and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining the paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a CN paging and a RAN paging within the first PTW ([0076] “the “specific flag” may be defined as an information element to, in a case where the PTW in the idle state and the PTW in the inactive state overlap.” [0077] “the terminal 10 configures the starting position of the PTW in the inactive state to be the same as the starting position of the PTW in the idle state, for the PH where the PTW in the idle state and the PTW in the inactive state overlap with each other”); or
in response to the first PTW being greater than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining the paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to stop paging monitoring when a CN paging is monitored once or a RAN paging is monitored once within the first PTW.
Regarding claim 25, Sogabe teaches claim 19 and further teaches wherein the idle-state eDRX parameter comprises an idle-state eDRX cycle and the first PTW, and the inactive-state eDRX parameter comprises an inactive-state eDRX cycle and the second PTW ([0067] “the terminal 10 configures the eDRX parameter for the idle state, included in the NAS message (that is, the terminal 10 stores the eDRX parameter for the idle state in a storage device)”, [0070] “the terminal 10 configures the eDRX parameter for the inactive state, included in the RRC Release message (the terminal 10 stores the eDRX parameter in the storage device)”); and when the idle-state eDRX cycle overlaps with the inactive-state eDXR cycle in a time domain, a time-domain starting point position of the first PTW and a time-domain starting point position of the second PTW are the same ([0077] “the terminal 10 configures the starting position of the PTW in the inactive state to be the same as the starting position of the PTW in the idle state, for the PH where the PTW in the idle state and the PTW in the inactive state overlap with each other”).
Regarding claim 26, Sogabe teaches claim 19 and further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to perform at least one of:
in response to the idle-state eDRX parameter being configured and no inactive-state eDRX parameter being configured, determining the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the idle-state eDRX parameter;
in response to the idle-state eDRX parameter being configured and the inactive-state eDRX parameter ([0078] “the terminal 10 performs eDRX control in accordance with the eDRX parameter for the idle state and the eDRX parameter for the inactive state with the starting position of the PTW being configured to be the same as that of the idle state”) not including a paging time window (PTW), determining the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the idle-state eDRX parameter ([0077] “the terminal 10 configures the starting position of the PTW in the inactive state to be the same as the starting position of the PTW in the idle state.” It is understood “the starting position of the PTW” is not preconfigured for terminal 10); or
in response to the idle-state eDRX parameter being configured and the inactive-state eDRX parameter being configured, determining the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to a first PTW included in the idle-state eDRX parameter and a second PTW included in the inactive-state eDRX parameter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 20, 21, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sogabe in view of Ai et al. (US 2023/0292288, “Ai”).
Regarding claim 3, Sogabe teaches claim 2 but fails to teach wherein determining the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the first PTW included in the idle-state eDRX parameter and the second PTW included in the inactive-state eDRX parameter comprises: determining the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the idle-state eDRX parameter in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW.
Ai teaches wherein determining the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the first PTW included in the idle-state eDRX parameter and the second PTW included in the inactive-state eDRX parameter comprises: determining the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the idle-state eDRX parameter in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW ([0197] “in the case if the PTW lengths for the RRC idle state and the RRC inactive state differs, the PTW length for the RRC idle state, or the longest PTW length, or the PTW length for the RRC inactive state is used”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein determining the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the first PTW included in the idle-state eDRX parameter and the second PTW included in the inactive-state eDRX parameter comprises: determining the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the idle-state eDRX parameter in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW, as taught Ai in Sogabe reduce UE power consumption.
Regarding claim 4, Sogabe teaches claim 2 and further teaches wherein the inactive-state eDRX parameter comprises an inactive-state eDRX cycle, the idle-state eDRX parameter comprises an idle-state eDRX cycle ([0067] “the terminal 10 configures the eDRX parameter for the idle state, included in the NAS message (that is, the terminal 10 stores the eDRX parameter for the idle state in a storage device)”, [0070] “the terminal 10 configures the eDRX parameter for the inactive state, included in the RRC Release message (the terminal 10 stores the eDRX parameter in the storage device)”); {and
determining the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the first PTW included in the idle-state eDRX parameter and the second PTW included in the inactive-state eDRX parameter comprises at least one of:
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and no time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a radio access network (RAN) paging within the second PTW of the inactive-state eDRX cycle;
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a core network (CN) paging and a RAN paging within the first PTW; or
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to stop monitoring the paging within the first PTW when a CN paging or a RAN paging is monitored once within the first PTW.}
Sogabe does not teach determining the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the first PTW included in the idle-state eDRX parameter and the second PTW included in the inactive-state eDRX parameter comprises at least one of:
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and no time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a radio access network (RAN) paging within the second PTW of the inactive-state eDRX cycle;
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a core network (CN) paging and a RAN paging within the first PTW; or
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to stop monitoring the paging within the first PTW when a CN paging or a RAN paging is monitored once within the first PTW.
Tan teaches determining the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the first PTW included in the idle-state eDRX parameter and the second PTW included in the inactive-state eDRX parameter comprises at least one of:
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and no time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a radio access network (RAN) paging within the second PTW of the inactive-state eDRX cycle;
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a core network (CN) paging and a RAN paging within the first PTW ([0197] “in the case if the PTW lengths for the RRC idle state and the RRC inactive state differs, the PTW length for the RRC idle state, or the longest PTW length, or the PTW length for the RRC inactive state is used”. It should be noted, Sogabe teaches [0062] “In the example of FIG. 6, the PH in the inactive state overlaps with the PH in the idle state at the fifth H-SFN In the meantime, unlike FIG. 5, the PTW in the idle state and the PTW in the inactive state do not overlap with each other. In this case, in the fifth H-SFN, the terminal 10 performs such an operation that the terminal 10 starts the receiving circuit in accordance with the PTW in the idle state to monitor downlink control channel candidates, stops the receiver circuit when the TW is ended, and then, the terminal 10 starts the receiving circuit in accordance with the PTW in the inactive state to monitor downlink control channel candidates and stops the receiver circuit when the PTW is ended. That is, in the same H-SFN, the terminal 10 performs a process of starting the receiving circuit twice”); or
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to stop monitoring the paging within the first PTW when a CN paging or a RAN paging is monitored once within the first PTW.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature determining the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the first PTW included in the idle-state eDRX parameter and the second PTW included in the inactive-state eDRX parameter comprises at least one of:
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and no time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a radio access network (RAN) paging within the second PTW of the inactive-state eDRX cycle;
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a core network (CN) paging and a RAN paging within the first PTW; or
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to stop monitoring the paging within the first PTW when a CN paging or a RAN paging is monitored once within the first PTW, as taught Ai in Sogabe reduce UE power consumption.
Regarding claim 20, Sogabe teaches claim 19 but fails to teach wherein the processor is further configured to: determine the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the idle-state eDRX parameter in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW.
Ai teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: determine the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the idle-state eDRX parameter in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW ([0197] “in the case if the PTW lengths for the RRC idle state and the RRC inactive state differs, the PTW length for the RRC idle state, or the longest PTW length, or the PTW length for the RRC inactive state is used”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the processor is further configured to: determine the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the idle-state eDRX parameter in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW, as taught Ai in Sogabe reduce UE power consumption.
Regarding claim 21, Sogabe teaches claim 19 and further teaches wherein the inactive-state eDRX parameter comprises an inactive-state eDRX cycle, the idle-state eDRX parameter comprises an idle-state eDRX cycle ([0067] “the terminal 10 configures the eDRX parameter for the idle state, included in the NAS message (that is, the terminal 10 stores the eDRX parameter for the idle state in a storage device)”, [0070] “the terminal 10 configures the eDRX parameter for the inactive state, included in the RRC Release message (the terminal 10 stores the eDRX parameter in the storage device)”); {and
and the processor is further configured to perform at least one of:
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and no time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a radio access network (RAN) paging within the second PTW of the inactive-state eDRX cycle;
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a core network (CN) paging and a RAN paging within the first PTW; or
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to stop monitoring the paging within the first PTW when a CN paging or a RAN paging is monitored once within the first PTW.}
Sogabe does not teach the processor is further configured to perform at least one of:
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and no time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a radio access network (RAN) paging within the second PTW of the inactive-state eDRX cycle;
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a core network (CN) paging and a RAN paging within the first PTW; or
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to stop monitoring the paging within the first PTW when a CN paging or a RAN paging is monitored once within the first PTW.
Tan teaches and the processor is further configured to perform at least one of:
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and no time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a radio access network (RAN) paging within the second PTW of the inactive-state eDRX cycle;
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a core network (CN) paging and a RAN paging within the first PTW ([0197] “in the case if the PTW lengths for the RRC idle state and the RRC inactive state differs, the PTW length for the RRC idle state, or the longest PTW length, or the PTW length for the RRC inactive state is used”. It should be noted, Sogabe teaches [0062] “In the example of FIG. 6, the PH in the inactive state overlaps with the PH in the idle state at the fifth H-SFN In the meantime, unlike FIG. 5, the PTW in the idle state and the PTW in the inactive state do not overlap with each other. In this case, in the fifth H-SFN, the terminal 10 performs such an operation that the terminal 10 starts the receiving circuit in accordance with the PTW in the idle state to monitor downlink control channel candidates, stops the receiver circuit when the TW is ended, and then, the terminal 10 starts the receiving circuit in accordance with the PTW in the inactive state to monitor downlink control channel candidates and stops the receiver circuit when the PTW is ended. That is, in the same H-SFN, the terminal 10 performs a process of starting the receiving circuit twice”); or
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to stop monitoring the paging within the first PTW when a CN paging or a RAN paging is monitored once within the first PTW.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature and the processor is further configured to perform at least one of:
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and no time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a radio access network (RAN) paging within the second PTW of the inactive-state eDRX cycle;
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a core network (CN) paging and a RAN paging within the first PTW; or
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to stop monitoring the paging within the first PTW when a CN paging or a RAN paging is monitored once within the first PTW, as taught Ai in Sogabe reduce UE power consumption.
Regarding claim 27, Sogabe teaches claim 26 but fails to teach wherein the processor is further configured to: determine the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the idle-state eDRX parameter in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW.
Ai teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: determine the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the idle-state eDRX parameter in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW ([0197] “in the case if the PTW lengths for the RRC idle state and the RRC inactive state differs, the PTW length for the RRC idle state, or the longest PTW length, or the PTW length for the RRC inactive state is used”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the processor is further configured to: determine the paging monitoring parameter of the inactive-state UE according to the idle-state eDRX parameter in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW, as taught Ai in Sogabe reduce UE power consumption.
Regarding claim 28, Sogabe teaches claim 26 and further teaches wherein the inactive-state eDRX parameter comprises an inactive-state eDRX cycle, the idle-state eDRX parameter comprises an idle-state eDRX cycle ([0067] “the terminal 10 configures the eDRX parameter for the idle state, included in the NAS message (that is, the terminal 10 stores the eDRX parameter for the idle state in a storage device)”, [0070] “the terminal 10 configures the eDRX parameter for the inactive state, included in the RRC Release message (the terminal 10 stores the eDRX parameter in the storage device)”); {and
and the processor is further configured to perform at least one of:
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and no time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a radio access network (RAN) paging within the second PTW of the inactive-state eDRX cycle;
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a core network (CN) paging and a RAN paging within the first PTW; or
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to stop monitoring the paging within the first PTW when a CN paging or a RAN paging is monitored once within the first PTW.}
Sogabe does not teach the processor is further configured to perform at least one of:
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and no time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a radio access network (RAN) paging within the second PTW of the inactive-state eDRX cycle;
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a core network (CN) paging and a RAN paging within the first PTW; or
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to stop monitoring the paging within the first PTW when a CN paging or a RAN paging is monitored once within the first PTW.
Tan teaches and the processor is further configured to perform at least one of:
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and no time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a radio access network (RAN) paging within the second PTW of the inactive-state eDRX cycle;
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a core network (CN) paging and a RAN paging within the first PTW ([0197] “in the case if the PTW lengths for the RRC idle state and the RRC inactive state differs, the PTW length for the RRC idle state, or the longest PTW length, or the PTW length for the RRC inactive state is used”. It should be noted, Sogabe teaches [0062] “In the example of FIG. 6, the PH in the inactive state overlaps with the PH in the idle state at the fifth H-SFN In the meantime, unlike FIG. 5, the PTW in the idle state and the PTW in the inactive state do not overlap with each other. In this case, in the fifth H-SFN, the terminal 10 performs such an operation that the terminal 10 starts the receiving circuit in accordance with the PTW in the idle state to monitor downlink control channel candidates, stops the receiver circuit when the TW is ended, and then, the terminal 10 starts the receiving circuit in accordance with the PTW in the inactive state to monitor downlink control channel candidates and stops the receiver circuit when the PTW is ended. That is, in the same H-SFN, the terminal 10 performs a process of starting the receiving circuit twice”); or
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to stop monitoring the paging within the first PTW when a CN paging or a RAN paging is monitored once within the first PTW.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature and the processor is further configured to perform at least one of:
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and no time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a radio access network (RAN) paging within the second PTW of the inactive-state eDRX cycle;
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to monitor a core network (CN) paging and a RAN paging within the first PTW; or
in response to the first PTW being less than the second PTW and a time-domain overlap existing between the first PTW and the second PTW, determining a paging monitoring parameter for the inactive-state UE to stop monitoring the paging within the first PTW when a CN paging or a RAN paging is monitored once within the first PTW, as taught Ai in Sogabe reduce UE power consumption.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tan (US 2022/0225182) teaches a target paging period in a RRC-Inactive based on an idle PTW.
/QUOC THAI N VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642