DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 31 January 2024, 07 February 2024 and 12 September 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication No. 2020062217 (Ledvina et al).
Regarding claim 1, Ledvina et al. discloses: “an ultra-wideband (UWB) ranging method, the method comprising: responsive to determining, by a first device (FIG. 3: 300; [0049]: “a mobile device 300”), that the first device is within proximity of a second device (FIG. 3: 350; [0049]: “a vehicle 350”; [0051]: “a discovery process for the two devices to detect each other, so that a connection can be created”), negotiating, by the first device and with the second device, a value to use as a UWB session key ([0055]: “derive an encryption key”) to secure UWB communications ([0068]: “The ranging setup handshake can derive a new set of sessions keys for UWB ranging. The keys can be updated periodically, e.g., for each session or every Nth session. In some embodiments, the session keys can be derived from a common shared secret that was used in a challenge-response for the security handshake”), wherein the negotiating is performed via a communication protocol different from a UWB communication protocol ([0052]: “a BT connection is created between the two devices”; [0022]: “A first wireless protocol link between a mobile device (e.g., a phone, tablet, or a watch) and a vehicle can be used for authentication, and then used to initiate and control a second wireless protocol (e.g., UWB) for ranging and exchange of distance information”); and causing a UWB subsystem of the first device to encrypt information communicated via the UWB subsystem based on the negotiated value of the UWB session key instead of a default value for the UWB session key that is specified in the UWB communication protocol ([0069]: “ranging is performed, e.g., using UWB messages”), wherein the information facilitates determining a distance between the first device and the second device” ([0022]: “a vehicle can be used for authentication, and then used to initiate and control a second wireless protocol (e.g., UWB) for ranging and exchange of distance information”).
With respect to claim 10, Ledvina et al. discloses: “a computing device that facilitates ultra-wideband (UWB) ranging, wherein the computing device comprises: one or more processors; and a memory in communication with the one or more processors, wherein the memory stores instruction code that, when executed by the one or more processors, causes the computing device to perform operations ([0146]: “one or more processors and a memory that stores program code for executing by the one or more processors”) comprising: responsive to determining, by the computing device, that the computing device is within proximity of a second computing device, negotiating, by the computing device and with the second computing device ([0051]: “a discovery process for the two devices to detect each other, so that a connection can be created”), a value to use as a UWB session key ([0055]: “derive an encryption key”) to secure UWB communications ([0068]: “The ranging setup handshake can derive a new set of sessions keys for UWB ranging. The keys can be updated periodically, e.g., for each session or every Nth session. In some embodiments, the session keys can be derived from a common shared secret that was used in a challenge-response for the security handshake”), wherein the negotiating is performed via a communication protocol different from a UWB communication protocol ([0052]: “a BT connection is created between the two devices”; [0022]: “A first wireless protocol link between a mobile device (e.g., a phone, tablet, or a watch) and a vehicle can be used for authentication, and then used to initiate and control a second wireless protocol (e.g., UWB) for ranging and exchange of distance information”); and causing a UWB subsystem of the computing device to encrypt information communicated via the UWB subsystem based on the negotiated value of the UWB session key instead of a default value for the UWB session key that is specified in the UWB communication protocol ([0069]: “ranging is performed, e.g., using UWB messages”), wherein the information facilitates determining a distance between the computing device and the second computing device” ([0022]: “a vehicle can be used for authentication, and then used to initiate and control a second wireless protocol (e.g., UWB) for ranging and exchange of distance information”).
Regarding claim 19, Ledvina et al. discloses: “a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instruction code that facilitates ultra-wideband (UWB) ranging, wherein when executed by one or more processors of a computing device, the instruction code causes the computing device to perform operations ([Claim 12]: “a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a plurality of instructions, that when executed, control a computing device to perform”) comprising: responsive to determining, by the computing device, that the computing device is within proximity of a second computing device ([0051]: “a discovery process for the two devices to detect each other, so that a connection can be created”), a value to use as a UWB session key ([0055]: “derive an encryption key”) to secure UWB communications ([0068]: “The ranging setup handshake can derive a new set of sessions keys for UWB ranging. The keys can be updated periodically, e.g., for each session or every Nth session. In some embodiments, the session keys can be derived from a common shared secret that was used in a challenge-response for the security handshake”), negotiating, by the computing device and with the second computing device, a value to use as a UWB session key for securing UWB communications, wherein the negotiating is performed via a communication protocol different from a UWB communication protocol ([0052]: “a BT connection is created between the two devices”; [0022]: “A first wireless protocol link between a mobile device (e.g., a phone, tablet, or a watch) and a vehicle can be used for authentication, and then used to initiate and control a second wireless protocol (e.g., UWB) for ranging and exchange of distance information”); and causing a UWB subsystem of the computing device to encrypt information communicated via the UWB subsystem based on the negotiated value of the UWB session key instead of a default value for the UWB session key that is specified in the UWB communication protocol ([0069]: “ranging is performed, e.g., using UWB messages”), wherein the information facilitates determining a distance between the computing device and the second computing device” ([0022]: “a vehicle can be used for authentication, and then used to initiate and control a second wireless protocol (e.g., UWB) for ranging and exchange of distance information”).
With respect to claims 2/11/20, Ledvina et al. discloses: “determining that the first/computing/computing device is within proximity of the second/computing/computing device via a communication protocol different from the UWB communication protocol” ([0051]: “a discovery process for the two devices to detect each other, so that a connection can be created”; [0052]: “a BT connection is created between the two devices”).
Regarding claims 3 and 12., Ledvina et al. discloses: “the UWB ranging method according to claim 1, wherein the communication protocol is one of: a Bluetooth R protocol ([0020]: “Bluetooth® (e.g., Classic, high speed, or low energy (BTLE), collectively referred to as BT)”; [0052]: “a BT connection is created between the two devices”), or an 802.11 based protocol”.
With respect to claims 4/13, Ledvina et al. discloses: “the first/computing device (FIG. 10; 1000; [0156]: “FIG. 10 is a block diagram of an example device 1000, which may be a mobile device. Device 1000 generally includes computer-readable medium 1002, a processing system 1004, an Input/Output (I/O) subsystem 1006, wireless circuitry 1008”; “Device 1000 can be any portable electronic device, including a handheld computer, a tablet computer, a mobile phone”) implements a software stack comprising an application layer at which user applications operate ([0159]: “One or more processors 1018 are configurable to process various data formats for one or more application programs 1034 stored on medium 1002”), a UWB session key negotiation layer at which instruction code that facilitates UWB session key negotiations operates ([0165]: “The operating system can include various procedures, sets of instructions, software components and/or drivers for controlling and managing general system tasks”), and a UWB communication protocol layer at which instruction code that facilitates UWB communications operates, wherein negotiating the value to use as the UWB session key to secure UWB communications ([0158]: “Wireless circuitry 1008 can use various protocols, e.g., as described herein. For example, wireless circuitry 1008 can have one component for one wireless protocol (e.g., Bluetooth®) and a separate component for another wireless protocol (e.g., UWB)”) comprises: when an established communication protocol exists between an application operating at the application layer of the first/computing device and an application operating at an application layer of the second/second computing device, negotiating the value to use as the UWB session key to secure UWB communications via the established communication protocol ([0052]: “a BT connection is created between the two devices”; [0022]: “A first wireless protocol link between a mobile device (e.g., a phone, tablet, or a watch) and a vehicle can be used for authentication, and then used to initiate and control a second wireless protocol (e.g., UWB) for ranging and exchange of distance information”); and when an established communication protocol does not exist, establishing a communication protocol to negotiate the value via an application operating at the UWB session key negotiation layer” ([0068]: “derive a new set of sessions keys for UWB ranging. The keys can be updated periodically, e.g., for each session or every Nth session. In some embodiments, the session keys can be derived from a common shared secret that was used in a challenge-response for the security handshake”).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Ledvina et al. discloses: “communicating, via the instruction code that operates at the UWB session key negotiation layer, the negotiated value of the UWB session key to the instruction code that operates at the UWB communication protocol layer” ([0068]: “derive a new set of sessions keys for UWB ranging”).
With respect to claims 6/15, Ledvina et al. discloses: “the first/computing device implements a software stack comprising an application layer at which user applications operate ([0159]: “One or more processors 1018 are configurable to process various data formats for one or more application programs 1034 stored on medium 1002”), and a UWB communication protocol layer at which instruction code that facilitates wideband communications operates, wherein negotiating the value to use as the UWB session key to secure UWB communications ([0158]: “Wireless circuitry 1008 can use various protocols, e.g., as described herein. For example, wireless circuitry 1008 can have one component for one wireless protocol (e.g., Bluetooth®) and a separate component for another wireless protocol (e.g., UWB)”) comprises: negotiating, by a user application operating at the application layer, the value of the UWB session key” ([0068]: “derive a new set of sessions keys for UWB ranging”).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Ledvina et al. discloses: “the UWB ranging method according to claim 1, wherein the UWB communication protocol defines one or more packet configuration messages that comprise a scrambled timestamp sequence (STS) that facilitates determining the distance between the first device and the second device, wherein encrypting information communicated by the first device ([0138]: “A UWB ranging exchange message can have a dual-purpose of providing an optionally-encrypted preamble for secure ranging and transferring necessary round-trip-time timestamps between the initiator and the responder. Example parameters for this message can include a validity time, transmit and receive timestamps, timestamp uncertainties, timestamp validity, RSSI, and status”) comprises: encrypting the STS of the one or more packet configuration messages communicated by the first device to the second device based on the negotiated UWB session key”.
With respect to claims 8/17, Ledvina et al. discloses: “prior to negotiating the value to use as the UWB session key ([0055]: “derive an encryption key”) to secure UWB communications, the method/operations comprises: requesting, by the first/computing device, user permission to negotiate the value to use as the UWB session key to secure UWB communications; and responsive to receiving user permission, negotiating the value to use as the UWB session key to secure UWB communications” ([0068]: “The ranging setup handshake can derive a new set of sessions keys for UWB ranging. The keys can be updated periodically, e.g., for each session or every Nth session. In some embodiments, the session keys can be derived from a common shared secret that was used in a challenge-response for the security handshake”).
Regarding claims 9/18, Ledvina et al. discloses: “prior to negotiating the value to use as the UWB session key ([0055]: “derive an encryption key”) to secure UWB communications, the method/operations comprises: if a previously established value for the UWB session key to secure UWB communications is stored in the first/computing device, using the previously established value as the value to use as the UWB session key to secure UWB communications” ([0068]: “derive a new set of sessions keys for UWB ranging. The keys can be updated periodically, e.g., for each session or every Nth session. In some embodiments, the session keys can be derived from a common shared secret that was used in a challenge-response for the security handshake”).
Conclusion
/Myron Wyche/ 08 January 2026
Primary Examiner AU2644