DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's preliminary amendment filed on January 31, 2024 is acknowledged. Claim 2 has been canceled. Claims 3-15 were amended. Claims 1 and 3-19 are pending and are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 8, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informality:
Paragraph [0013] is missing a period after the word “mice”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 is missing the word “claim” in between “of” and “9”.
Claim 19 is missing the word “of” in between “method” and “claim”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiorini (US 10,166,299; reference cited by Applicant) in view of Jasmer et al. (Journal of Clinical Medicine 2020).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 9, and 15, Chiorini teaches a method to protect a subject from Sjogren's syndrome comprising administering to the subject an AAV virion comprising an AAV vector that encodes aquaporin-1 (AQP-1) protein [abstract]. Further, Chiorini teaches a preventative for Sjögren's syndrome-related xerostomia. Such a preventative comprises an AAV vector, or a virion comprising such a vector, that encodes an AQP-1 protein [column 3, second to last full paragraph].
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Chiorini teaches a salivary gland cell transfected with an AAV vector that encodes an AQP-1 protein [column 3, last full paragraph].
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Chiorini teaches that an AQP-1 protein can have the sequence of a human AQP-1 protein [column 9, fourth paragraph].
Regarding claims 8 and 10, Chiorini teaches that AAV vectors of different serotypes that encode an AQP-1 protein include AAV2, AAV5, AAV6, and BAAV [column 14, fourth full paragraph].
Regarding claims 11, 12, 16, and 17, Chiorini teaches a method comprising administering an AAV virion comprising an AAV vector that encodes an AQP protein to a subject, wherein such administration maintains salivary gland function [column 18, second full paragraph].
Regarding claim 13, Chiorini teaches that administering an AAV virion comprising an AAV vector that encodes an AQP protein to a subject wherein such administration maintains salivary gland function in the subject. Chiorini further teaches that maintaining salivary gland function means that salivary gland function after administration of an AAV virion to a subject is equivalent to salivary gland function in that subject prior to administration of the AAV virion [column 18, second full paragraph].
Regarding claim 14, Chiorini teaches that subjects include humans [column 18, second full paragraph].
However, Chiorini does not teach administering ionizing radiation to the subject after administering a vector encoding an AQP protein to the subject (claim 1). Chiorini also does not teach that the patient has head and neck cancer (claim 15).
Jasmer et al. teaches that salivary glands sustain collateral damage following radiotherapy (RT) to treat cancers of the head and neck leading to complications including xerostomia [abstract]. Jasmer et al. also teaches that RT-induced salivary gland dysfunction results in hyposalivation and xerostomia. Further, it is estimated that >80% of HNC patients exhibit xerostomia and salivary gland hypofunction following RT [page 1].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer a vector encoding an AQP protein to a subject as taught by Chiorini before administering ionizing radiation to prevent or reduce radiation-induced salivary dysfunction because Chiorini taught a method to protect a subject from Sjogren's syndrome comprising administering to the subject an AAV virion comprising an AAV vector that encodes aquaporin-1 (AQP-1) protein specifically a preventative for Sjögren's syndrome-related xerostomia and Jasmer et al. taught that salivary glands sustain collateral damage following radiotherapy (RT) to treat cancers of the head and neck leading to complications including xerostomia. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made such a modification because it would have amounted to combining known prior art elements to yield the predictable result of preventing or reducing radiation-induced salivary dysfunction in a subject wherein the subject has head and neck cancer.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/C.T./
Examiner, Art Unit 1637
/Jennifer Dunston/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1637