DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1, 4-6, 9-11 and 14-15 are pending. Claims 2-3, 7-8, 12-13, 16-20 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 04/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 6-7 and 11-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZTE, Sanechips, "Discussion on the PDCCH monitoring enhancements for 52.6 to 71 GHz," 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #104bis-e, R1-2103488, e-Meeting, April 12-20, 2021, 6 pages (as cited in the IDS dated 04/01/2024) hereafter R1-2103488 in view of Panasonic, "PDCCH monitoring enhancement for NR from 52.6GHz to 71GHz," 3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 #104bis-e, R1-2102809, e-Meeting, April 12t-20, 2021, 4 pages (as cited in the IDS dated 04/01/2024) hereafter R1-2102809.
have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R1-2103488 in view of R1-2102809 and further in view of Chatterjee et al, US 2024/0155636.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1, 6 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZTE, Sanechips, "Discussion on the PDCCH monitoring enhancements for 52.6 to 71 GHz," 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #104bis-e, R1-2103488, e-Meeting, April 12-20, 2021, 6 pages (as cited in the IDS dated 04/01/2024) hereafter R1-2103488 in view of Chatterjee et al, US 2024/0155636 hereafter Chatterjee.
As for claim 1, R1-2103488 discloses:
A method of monitoring a control signal by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
a configuration of search spaces for PDCCH monitoring on a serving cell, wherein the configuration is related at least two combinations of X and Y from the multiple combinations of X and Y(page 3 paragraphs 2-3, configuring a combination of X and Y for monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) on a serving cell, where X denotes a number of consecutive slots included in a slot group and Y denotes a number of consecutive slots within X slots), and
monitoring the PDCCH on the serving cell based on the combination of X and Y (section 1, section 2.1, Performing pdcch-Monitoring using X, Y).
R1-2103488 does not explicitly disclose indicating a capability to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) according to multiple combinations of X and Y.
However, R1-2110173 discloses indicating a capability to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) according to multiple combinations of X and Y. (R1-2110173, 2.1.3., lines 1-3, The UE indicating a capability of multi-slot PDCCH monitoring according to more than one (X, Y) combinations)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of R1-2103488 with indicating a capability to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) according to multiple combinations of X and Y as taught by R1-2110173 to provide increased power efficiency. (R1-2110173, 2.1.3.)
The combination of R1-2103488 and R1-2110173 does not explicitly disclose receiving a configuration… wherein X is the number of consecutive slots included in a slot-group, and slot-groups are consecutive and non-overlapping, and Y is the number of consecutive slots within X slots… from the at least two combinations of X and Y, that is associated with the largest values of M and C.
However, Chatterjee discloses receiving a configuration (Chatterjee, [0018], configuration information received from a gNodeB)…wherein X is the number of consecutive slots included in a slot-group, and slot-groups are consecutive and non-overlapping, and Y is the number of consecutive slots within X slots… from the at least two combinations of X and Y, that is associated with the largest values of M and C. (Chatterjee, [0027], [0030], When the UE has a capability to support multi-slot PDCCH monitoring for multiple combinations that include various numbers (Y) of consecutive MO slots within slot groups of a same size (i.e., the same value of X for different values of Y), the UE may determine a maximum number of monitored PDCCH candidates and non-overlapping CCEs to monitor based on the number (X) of consecutive MO slots of a slot group.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of R1-2103488 and R1-2110173 with receiving a configuration …wherein X is the number of consecutive slots included in a slot-group, and slot-groups are consecutive and non-overlapping, and Y is the number of consecutive slots within X slots… from the at least two combinations of X and Y, that is associated with the largest values of M and C as taught by Chatterjee to provide improved techniques for PDCCH detection for higher-carrier frequency operations (Chatterjee, [0004]).
As for claim 6, R1-2103488 discloses:
A user equipment (UE) (section 2.1) to perform specific operations comprising:
a configuration of search spaces for PDCCH monitoring on a serving cell, wherein the configuration is related at least two combinations of X and Y from the multiple combinations of X and Y(page 3 paragraphs 2-3, configuring a combination of X and Y for monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) on a serving cell, where X denotes a number of consecutive slots included in a slot group and Y denotes a number of consecutive slots within X slots), and
monitoring the PDCCH on the serving cell based on the combination of X and Y (section 1, section 2.1, Performing pdcch-Monitoring using X, Y).
R1-2103488 does not explicitly disclose indicating a capability to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) according to multiple combinations of X and Y.
However. R1-2110173 discloses indicating a capability to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) according to multiple combinations of X and Y. (2.1.3., lines 1-3, The UE indicating a capability of multi-slot PDCCH monitoring according to more than one (X, Y) combinations)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of R1-2103488 with indicating a capability to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) according to multiple combinations of X and Y as taught by R1-2110173 to provide increased power efficiency. (R1-2110173, 2.1.3.)
The combination of R1-2103488 and R1-2110173 does not explicitly disclose a user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one memory operably connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform specific operations comprising:… receiving a configuration…wherein X is the number of consecutive slots included in a slot-group, and slot-groups are consecutive and non-overlapping, and Y is the number of consecutive slots within X slots… from the at least two combinations of X and Y, that is associated with the largest values of M and C.
However, Chatterjee discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one memory operably connected to the at least one processor (Chatterjee, FIG. 9, [0145], the processing circuitry 906 of the communication device 900 may include one or more processors. In other embodiments, two or more antennas 901 may be coupled to the communications circuitry 902 arranged for sending and receiving signals. The memory 908 may store information for configuring the processing circuitry 906) and configured to store instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform specific operations comprising:… receiving a configuration (Chatterjee, [0018], configuration information received from a gNodeB)…wherein X is the number of consecutive slots included in a slot-group, and slot-groups are consecutive and non-overlapping, and Y is the number of consecutive slots within X slots… from the at least two combinations of X and Y, that is associated with the largest values of M and C. (Chatterjee, [0027], [0030], When the UE has a capability to support multi-slot PDCCH monitoring for multiple combinations that include various numbers (Y) of consecutive MO slots within slot groups of a same size (i.e., the same value of X for different values of Y), the UE may determine a maximum number of monitored PDCCH candidates and non-overlapping CCEs to monitor based on the number (X) of consecutive MO slots of a slot group.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of R1-2103488 and R1-2110173 with a user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one memory operably connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform specific operations comprising:… receiving a configuration…wherein X is the number of consecutive slots included in a slot-group, and slot-groups are consecutive and non-overlapping, and Y is the number of consecutive slots within X slots… from the at least two combinations of X and Y, that is associated with the largest values of M and C as taught by Chatterjee to provide improved techniques for PDCCH detection for higher-carrier frequency operations (Chatterjee, [0004]).
As for claim 11, R1-2103488 discloses:
An apparatus for a user equipment (UE), (section 2.1) to perform specific operations comprising:
a configuration of search spaces for PDCCH monitoring on a serving cell, wherein the configuration is related at least two combinations of X and Y from the multiple combinations of X and Y(page 3 paragraphs 2-3, configuring a combination of X and Y for monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) on a serving cell, where X denotes a number of consecutive slots included in a slot group and Y denotes a number of consecutive slots within X slots), (page 2, fourth sentence form the bottom, …slot groups are consecutive and non-overlapping and slot groups are consecutive and non-overlapping); and
monitoring the PDCCH on the serving cell based on the combination of X and Y (section 1, section 2.1, Performing pdcch-Monitoring using X, Y).
R1-2103488 does not explicitly disclose indicating a capability to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) according to multiple combinations of X and Y.
However. R1-2110173 discloses indicating a capability to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) according to multiple combinations of X and Y. (2.1.3., lines 1-3, The UE indicating a capability of multi-slot PDCCH monitoring according to more than one (X, Y) combinations)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of R1-2103488 with indicating a capability to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) according to multiple combinations of X and Y as taught by R1-2110173 to provide increased power efficiency. (R1-2110173, 2.1.3.)
The combination of R1-2103488 and R1-2110173 does not explicitly disclose the apparatus comprising: at least one processor, and at least one memory operably connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform specific operations comprising… receiving a configuration…wherein X is the number of consecutive slots included in a slot-group, and slot-groups are consecutive and non-overlapping, and Y is the number of consecutive slots within X slots… from the at least two combinations of X and Y, that is associated with the largest values of M and C.
However, Chatterjee discloses the apparatus comprising: at least one processor, and at least one memory operably connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor (Chatterjee, FIG. 9, [0145], the processing circuitry 906 of the communication device 900 may include one or more processors. In other embodiments, two or more antennas 901 may be coupled to the communications circuitry 902 arranged for sending and receiving signals. The memory 908 may store information for configuring the processing circuitry 906) to perform specific operations comprising:… receiving a configuration (Chatterjee, [0018], configuration information received from a gNodeB)…wherein X is the number of consecutive slots included in a slot-group, and slot-groups are consecutive and non-overlapping, and Y is the number of consecutive slots within X slots… from the at least two combinations of X and Y, that is associated with the largest values of M and C. (Chatterjee, [0027], [0030], When the UE has a capability to support multi-slot PDCCH monitoring for multiple combinations that include various numbers (Y) of consecutive MO slots within slot groups of a same size (i.e., the same value of X for different values of Y), the UE may determine a maximum number of monitored PDCCH candidates and non-overlapping CCEs to monitor based on the number (X) of consecutive MO slots of a slot group.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of R1-2103488 and R1-2110173 with the apparatus comprising: at least one processor, and at least one memory operably connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform specific operations comprising… receiving a configuration…wherein X is the number of consecutive slots included in a slot-group, and slot-groups are consecutive and non-overlapping, and Y is the number of consecutive slots within X slots… from the at least two combinations of X and Y, that is associated with the largest values of M and Cas taught by Chatterjee to provide improved techniques for PDCCH detection for higher-carrier frequency operations (Chatterjee, [0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 4-5, 9-10 and 14-15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469