DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters 32b, 35a of Fig. 1, are not mentioned in the description:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4, recites, “the bent portion formed by a protrusion extending in radial direction”. It is not clear that this protrusion extending or part of which structural parts of an invention? Therefore, it is vague and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sawada Hiroshi (JP 2012169155) hereafter Sawada (listed in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Sawada discloses a rotary connector 10, comprising: an outer peripheral electrode 22; an inner peripheral electrode (rotating shaft) 14 which is inserted through the outer peripheral electrode 22 and is disposed to be rotatable; a plurality of roller current collectors (roller contact) 16 which are arranged to make a planetary motion between the outer peripheral electrode 22 and the inner peripheral electrode 14; a bearing 52 that axially supports the inner peripheral electrode to be rotatable; and a bearing holder 20 that holds the bearing 52, wherein a bent portion (of the passage provided between 20 and 54, see fig. 2) is provided at a passage (between 20 and 54) extending from a contact portion between the inner peripheral electrode and the roller current collector to the bearing.
Regarding claim 2, Sawada discloses the rotary connector 1 is placed vertically and the bent portion (of the passage provided between 20 and 54, see fig. 2) is provided at a vertically lower side of the roller current collector 16 (see fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is and Claims 4-14, as best understood are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawada.
Regarding claim 3, Sawada discloses all the claimed limitations except for the bearing is a shielded bearing in which a shield element is provided at least vertically upward.
The examiner takes Official Notice that the use of the shield element for making bearing as a shielded bearing is well-known for shielding the bearing or protecting the bearing from entering any foreign material, to make system dust proof or waterproof.
Regarding claim 4, Sawada, discloses all the claimed limitations except for the bent portion is formed by a protrusion extending in a radial direction.
The examiner takes Official Notice that the bent portion formed by a protrusion extending in radial direction, is adoption of shape of the bent section, and a change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 5, Sawada, discloses all the claimed limitations except for the protrusion includes an inner radial protrusion and an outer radial protrusion, and wherein the inner radial protrusion and the outer radial protrusion overlap each other in a vertical direction.
The examiner takes Official Notice that the shape of the protrusion is such that the protrusion incudes an inner radial protrusion and an outer radial protrusion, and wherein the inner radial protrusion and the outer radial protrusion overlap each other in a vertical direction, since a change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). In instant case, it would have been obvious to have the protrusion having an inner radial protrusion and an outer radial protrusion, and wherein the inner radial protrusion and the outer radial protrusion overlap each other in a vertical direction.
Regarding claims 6 and 11, Sawada discloses wherein the bent portion (the passage provided between 20 and 54, see fig. 2) includes a recess (as bent portion of passage is hollow) which opens vertically upward.
Regarding claims 7 and 12, Sawada, discloses the recess (as bent portion of passage is hollow ) has an annular shape.
Regarding claims 8 and 13, Sawada, discloses the recess is formed in the bearing holder.
Regarding claims 9 and 14, Sawada, discloses a protrusion portion (see fig. 2) which extends toward the recess (as the recess is formed by the protrusion as discussed above).
Regarding claims 10 and 14, Sawada, discloses the protrusion portion partially enters the recess (see fig. 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO 892.
/HARSHAD C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831