DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-16, 18-33, and 35 are pending. Claims 17 and 34 are canceled. Claims 29-33 are amended. Claims 3, 5-7, 9, 11-16, 20, 22-24, and 26 are previously presented. Claims 1-2, 4, 8, 10, 18-19, 21, 25, 27-28, and 35 are original.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to arguments on pages 10-13 regarding the objection to the specification for adding new matter, and the 112(a) rejection of claims 1, 18, and 35, the objection to the specification is withdrawn, but the new subject matter in the specification does not receive the benefit of the prior application as explained below under the “Priority” section. Applicant cites paragraphs 0018-0019 and 0052-0053 of the parent application to show support for the claimed subject matter. It is submitted that the cited paragraphs are not sufficient to show Applicant had possession of the claimed invention. In particular, paragraphs 0018-0019 (which correspond to page 5, lines 14-19 of the parent application as originally filed) are silent regarding adjusting the supply voltage. Paragraph 0052 (which correspond to page 14, lines 23-30 of the parent application as originally filed) mentions adjusting the supply voltage, but it is to optimize duty cycle or another parameter, not “such that the output voltage of the power converter is substantially unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N-1)”. Paragraph 0053 (which correspond to page 15, lines 1-10 of the parent application as originally filed) discloses adjusting the charging voltage, not the supply voltage, to achieve said “substantially unequal” feature. It is maintained that the claimed “substantially unequal” feature does not have support in the parent application, and constitutes new matter.
In response to arguments on page 13 of the remarks against the 112(a) rejection of claims 16 and 33, Applicant cites paragraph 0053 of the parent application, but as explained above, paragraph 0053 discloses adjusting the charging voltage, not the supply voltage, to achieve said “substantially unequal” feature. The 112(a) rejection of claims 16 and 33 is therefore maintained.
In response to arguments on page 14 of the remarks that primary reference CHOI teaches the opposite of the claimed “substantially unequal feature”, the paragraphs 0060 and 0062 disclose an example of a voltage ratio of about 2:1, therefore the ratio is allowed to be “substantially unequal” to 2:1. Paragraph 0075 similarly discloses the dropping the voltage by about ¼. The converter in primary reference CHOI is a 3-level buck converter (¶ 0064), which is the same type of converter as secondary reference NUSSBAUM (¶ 0031), and as such applying the teaching of NUSSBAUM of “the output voltage of the power converter is substantially unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N-1)” to the charging circuit including the power converter of CHOI would not impermissibly change the principle of operation of CHOI as argued by Applicant.
In response to arguments on page 15 of the remarks the secondary reference NUSSBAUM does not disclose “adjust[ing] the supply voltage such that the output voltage of the power converter is substantially unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N-1), where M is a positive integer less than (N-1)”, it is first noted that Applicant’s comment that NUSSBAUM “does not adjust the supply voltage to drive the output voltage” is not consistent with standard operations of converter circuits, as converters maintain a stable, desired output voltage given that the input voltage may be changing or fluctuating. In other words, one of ordinary skill would recognize the operation of the converter is modified to provide a desired output voltage, and not that the input voltage of the converter is modified in order to provide a desired output voltage. Furthermore, the claim does not recite “adjust the supply voltage to drive the output voltage to be substantially unequal…” as argued by Applicant, and based on the understanding of the operation of converters as explained above, the recitation “adjust the supply voltage such that the output voltage of the power converter is substantially unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N-1), where M is a positive integer less than (N-1)” can be broadly interpreted. For example, the claim does not recite adjusting the supply voltage such that the supply voltage is substantially unequal to a certain value. The phrase “such that” in this case does not inherently imply direct or exclusive causation. Said recitation (including the phrase “such that”) can be interpreted as the power converter having an adjustable supply voltage that sets up the conditions for permitting the power converter to operate to provide the output voltage that is “substantially unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N-1), where M is a positive integer less than (N-1)”. This is the interpretation relied upon in the rejection, and based on this interpretation, modifying the power converter of the charging integrated circuit of CHOI, which discloses the supply voltage is adjustable, with the teachings of NUSSBAUM of “the output voltage of the power converter is substantially unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N-1), where M is a positive integer less than (N-1)”, teaches said claim recitation within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 (i.e., for continuation applications) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 17/669,978, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
Regarding claim 1, the recitations “control the input interface to adjust the supply voltage such that the output voltage of the power converter is substantially unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N-1), where M is a positive integer less than (N-1)” do not have support in the disclosure of the parent application.
Regarding claim 16, the recitations “the supply voltage is controlled such that the output of the power converter is outside of a problematic switching zone for the power converter” do not have support in the disclosure of the parent application.
Regarding claim 18, the recitations “controlling the input interface to adjust the supply voltage such that the output voltage of the power converter is substantially unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N-1), where M is a positive integer less than (N-1)” do not have support in the disclosure of the parent application.
Regarding claim 33, the recitations “the supply voltage is controlled such that the output of the power converter is outside of a problematic switching zone for the power converter” do not have support in the disclosure of the parent application.
Regarding claim 35, the recitations “control the input interface to adjust the supply voltage such that the output voltage of the power converter is substantially unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N-1), where M is a positive integer less than (N-1)” do not have support in the disclosure of the parent application.
The remaining claims are dependent from claims 1 or 18 and therefore do not have support in the disclosure of the parent application, for the same reasons as independent claims 1 and 18.
Accordingly, claims 1-16, 18-33, and 35 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16, 18-33, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the disclosure as filed does not reasonably convey to a person of ordinary skill that the inventor had possession of the claimed recitations “control the input interface to adjust the supply voltage such that the output voltage of the power converter is substantially unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N-1), where M is a positive integer less than (N-1)”.
Regarding claim 16, the disclosure as filed does not reasonably convey to a person of ordinary skill that the inventor had possession of the claimed recitations “the supply voltage is controlled such that the output of the power converter is outside of a problematic switching zone for the power converter”.
Regarding claim 18, the disclosure as filed does not reasonably convey to a person of ordinary skill that the inventor had possession of the claimed recitations “controlling the input interface to adjust the supply voltage such that the output voltage of the power converter is substantially unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N-1), where M is a positive integer less than (N-1)”.
Regarding claim 33, the disclosure as filed does not reasonably convey to a person of ordinary skill that the inventor had possession of the claimed recitations “the supply voltage is controlled such that the output of the power converter is outside of a problematic switching zone for the power converter”.
Regarding claim 35, the disclosure as filed does not reasonably convey to a person of ordinary skill that the inventor had possession of the claimed recitations “control the input interface to adjust the supply voltage such that the output voltage of the power converter is substantially unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N-1), where M is a positive integer less than (N-1)”.
The remaining claims are dependent from claims 1 or 18 and are therefore rejected for the same reasons as independent claims 1 and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 9-15, 18, 20-23, 26-32, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI (US Pub. No. 2021/0119487; cited on IDS with date 1/31/2024; cited in previous office action) in view of NUSSBAUM (US Pub. No. 2019/0190373; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 1, CHOI discloses a charging integrated circuit (210, Fig. 2) for use in an electronic device (201, Fig. 2; ¶ 0052: Referring to FIG. 2, an electronic device 201 may include a power management module 210 and a battery 220. The power management module 210 (e.g., a charger IC or a PMIC) may include a power path distributor 215, a first charging circuit 230, and/or a second charging circuit 240, and may control a flow of current output from the battery 220 and/or current flowing into the battery 220), comprising:
an input interface (comprising 201a, 201b, & 215, Fig. 4) configured to receive input electrical energy from a power supply (202 or 203, Fig. 4), wherein the input interface is controllable to modify characteristics of the input electrical energy to provide a supply voltage (¶ 0054: power management module 210 may charge the battery 220 with power provided from a first external power supply device 202 or a second external power supply device 203. The first external power supply device 202 may be a fast charging power adapter, a travel adapter (TA), or a battery pack. The second external power supply device 203 may be a wireless power transmission device (e.g., a transmitter of a wireless charging system); ¶ 0059: power path distributor 215 may include a plurality of power distribution switches. The power path distributor 215 may control the plurality of power distribution switches such that the first charging circuit 230 and the second charging circuit 240 may operate in different modes. When the first charging circuit 230 operates in a mode in which the first flying capacitor 233 therein is discharged, the power path distributor 215 may allow the second charging circuit 240 to operate in a mode in which the second flying capacitor 243 is charged. When the first charging circuit 230 operates in a mode in which the first flying capacitor 233 is charged, the power path distributor 215 may allow the second charging circuit 240 to operate in a mode in which the second flying capacitor 243 is discharged; ¶ 0103: When the connected first external power supply device 202 is of the first type, in a first period T1, the first power distribution switch QVD1 and the sixth power distribution switch QVD6 may be turned on. The first power terminal 202a and the input terminal 215b of the second charging circuit 240 may be conductive. Accordingly, twice 2Vo of the voltage Vo applied to the battery 220 may be applied to the input terminal 215b of the second charging circuit 240 by the DC blocking capacitor 216);
an N-level power converter (230/240, Fig. 4) configured to receive the supply voltage based on the input electrical energy and generate an output voltage (¶ 0056: power path distributor 215 may distribute power provided from the first external power supply device 202 or the second external power supply device 203 to the first charging circuit 230 and the second charging circuit 240. The first charging circuit 230 and the second charging circuit 240 may charge the battery 220 using the power provided through the power path distributor 215); and
a controller (¶ 0055: power management module 210 may further include a separate operation element (or a controller) therein. An operation element (e.g., a logic circuit or a micro controller unit (MCU)) inside the power management module 210 may perform calculations and controls related to charging or discharging the battery 220. The operation element may control switches in the power path distributor 215, the first charging circuit 230, or the second charging circuit 240. The operation element may control switches in the power path distributor 215, the first charging circuit 230, or the second charging circuit 240 in response to a control signal provided by a processor inside the electronic device 201) configured to:
control characteristics of the input electrical energy to maximize power efficiency associated with at least one of the charging integrated circuit and the electronic device (¶ 0060: first external power supply device 202 may transmit and receive a signal related to charging of the battery 220 with the electronic device 201 through a power delivery (PD) communication. The first external power supply device 202 or the second external power supply device 203 may perform the constant voltage control and the constant current control for charging the battery 220 using a programmable power supply (PPS) function of a USB PD 3.0. The second external power supply device 203 may be a wireless power transmission device, and a power supply part of the wireless power transmission device may transmit and receive a signal related to charging of the battery 220 with the electronic device 201 using an in-band communication (e.g., communication using a coil). The second external power supply device 203 may be connected to a TA for the fast charging, and a transmitter of the second external power supply device 203 may transmit and receive voltage information or current information regarding the direct charging with the electronic device 201 through the in-band communication (e.g., communication using the coil). The power supply part of the wireless power transmission device may perform the constant voltage control or the constant current control for charging the battery 220; ¶ 0062: When the first external power supply device 202 or the second external power supply device 203 supports the direct charging, the constant voltage control or the constant current control inside the first external power supply device 202 or the second external power supply device 203 is performed, and each of the first charging circuit 230 and the second charging circuit 240 may charge the battery 220 by lowering a voltage, based on the fixed voltage conversion ratio (e.g., about 2:1). In the first mode, the first charging circuit 230 and the second charging circuit 240 may operate with a relatively high charging efficiency (e.g., about 96% or more), and then the heat generation of the first charging circuit 230 and the second charging circuit 240 may be reduced. In addition, in the first mode, each of the first charging circuit 230 and the second charging circuit 240 may have a switching signal having a sine wave characteristic, and then a switching loss may be reduced), and
control the input interface to adjust the supply voltage (¶ 0060, 0062: see above).
CHOI fails to disclose the controller configured to control the input interface to adjust the supply voltage such that the output voltage of the power converter is substantially unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N−1), where M is a positive integer less than (N−1).
NUSSBAUM discloses the output voltage of the power converter is substantially unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N−1), where M is a positive integer less than (N−1) (¶ 0046: it may be desirable for such a controller to be able to accommodate a wide range of input voltages. For example, if the multi output three level buck converter is to be powered by a lithium ion cell, it could be expected that the input voltage could range from 4.2V (or more) when the cell is charging, down to 3.2V or less at the end of charge. In such an embodiment, the flying voltage rails 310a and 310b could have a voltage ranging from a high of 2.1V or more to 1.6V or less. For cases in which the converter is powered by multiple cells in series, the input voltages may be an integer multiple of these values. For cases in which another cell chemistry is used, the voltages may vary accordingly. In any event, because the output voltages at the various outputs 303a-303D may be either greater than or less than ½Vin, the control system may preferably be intelligent about the timing of the buck converter switch transitions relative to the state of the charge pump flying rails. For example, at higher input voltages it may be desirable to switch the inductor between ½Vin and 0V, while at lower input voltages it may be desirable to switch the inductor between Vin and ½Vin; ¶ 0122: Once in State D1 (880), the buck converter controller will transition to State D2 (890) when the charge pump transitions state, provided that Vout remains less than ½ Vin; ¶ 0123: the buck converter controller will transition again to the D1 state when charge pump switch Qa (302) next closes. Otherwise:… ¶ 0125: if the buck controller output setpoint changes to greater than ½Vin, then the buck controller will transition to Case A or B operation as described above). Providing the output voltage of the power converter as disclosed in NUSSBAUM in the charging integrated circuit of CHOI which adjusts the supply voltage teaches the limitation “the controller configured to control the input interface to adjust the supply voltage such that the output voltage of the power converter is substantially unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N−1)”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the output voltage is unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N-1) as disclosed in NUSSBAUM into the charging integrated circuit of CHOI to produce an expected result of a charging integrated circuit providing an output voltage unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N-1). The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prevent loss of control, large transients, capacitor-imbalance, and higher ripple.
Regarding claim 3, CHOI discloses the input interface comprises a Universal Serial Bus programmable power supply power interface (¶ 0060).
Regarding claim 4, CHOI discloses the controller is configured to communicate with the power supply to control the power supply to deliver a desired selected voltage from the power supply in order to maximize power efficiency associated with at least one of the charging integrated circuit and the electronic device (¶ 0060, 0062, 0075).
Regarding claim 5, CHOI discloses the input interface comprises an interface via which the controller is able to set a selected voltage level for a voltage delivered from the power supply, the selected voltage level selected from a plurality of voltage levels, and the controller is further configured to select the selected voltage level to maximize power efficiency associated with at least one of the charging integrated circuit and the electronic device (¶ 0060, 0062, 0075).
Regarding claim 6, CHOI discloses the input interface comprises a wireless power transfer system, and the controller is further configured to control a wireless transmission module coupled to the charging integrated circuit via the input interface to cause the wireless transmission module to transmit a desired voltage to a wireless receiver module of the charging integrated circuit in order to maximize power efficiency associated with at least one of the charging integrated circuit and the electronic device (¶ 0054, 0060-0062).
Regarding claim 9, CHOI discloses the controller is further configured to control characteristics of the input electrical energy to maximize power efficiency associated with at least one of the charging integrated circuit and the electronic device while satisfying one or more other electrical constraints associated with at least one of the charging integrated circuit and the electronic device (¶ 0075, 0184).
Regarding claim 10, CHOI discloses the one or more other electrical constraints comprises a current limit for an electrical current driven from the power supply to the charging integrated circuit (¶ 0075).
Regarding claim 11, CHOI discloses the one or more other electrical constraints comprises a ripple current associated with the electronic device (¶ 0184).
Regarding claim 12, CHOI discloses the N-level power converter comprises an inductive buck regulator (¶ 0064).
Regarding claim 13, CHOI discloses the N-level power converter comprises a switched capacitor regulator (¶ 0057-0059).
Regarding claim 14, CHOI discloses the N-level power converter comprises a hybrid switched-capacitor inductive power converter (¶ 0057-0059, 0064).
Regarding claim 15, CHOI discloses the output voltage of the power converter is a fixed voltage defined by a desired output voltage level (¶ 0060, 0064, 0074).
Regarding claim 18, CHOI discloses a method comprising, in a charging integrated circuit (210, Fig. 2) having an input interface (comprising 201a, 201b, & 215, Fig. 4) configured to receive input electrical energy from a power supply (202 or 203, Fig. 4), wherein the input interface is controllable to modify characteristics of the input electrical energy to provide a supply voltage (¶ 0054: power management module 210 may charge the battery 220 with power provided from a first external power supply device 202 or a second external power supply device 203. The first external power supply device 202 may be a fast charging power adapter, a travel adapter (TA), or a battery pack. The second external power supply device 203 may be a wireless power transmission device (e.g., a transmitter of a wireless charging system); ¶ 0059: power path distributor 215 may include a plurality of power distribution switches. The power path distributor 215 may control the plurality of power distribution switches such that the first charging circuit 230 and the second charging circuit 240 may operate in different modes. When the first charging circuit 230 operates in a mode in which the first flying capacitor 233 therein is discharged, the power path distributor 215 may allow the second charging circuit 240 to operate in a mode in which the second flying capacitor 243 is charged. When the first charging circuit 230 operates in a mode in which the first flying capacitor 233 is charged, the power path distributor 215 may allow the second charging circuit 240 to operate in a mode in which the second flying capacitor 243 is discharged; ¶ 0103: When the connected first external power supply device 202 is of the first type, in a first period T1, the first power distribution switch QVD1 and the sixth power distribution switch QVD6 may be turned on. The first power terminal 202a and the input terminal 215b of the second charging circuit 240 may be conductive. Accordingly, twice 2Vo of the voltage Vo applied to the battery 220 may be applied to the input terminal 215b of the second charging circuit 240 by the DC blocking capacitor 216), and further having an N-level power converter (230/240, Fig. 4) configured to receive the supply voltage based on the input electrical energy and generate an output voltage (¶ 0056: power path distributor 215 may distribute power provided from the first external power supply device 202 or the second external power supply device 203 to the first charging circuit 230 and the second charging circuit 240. The first charging circuit 230 and the second charging circuit 240 may charge the battery 220 using the power provided through the power path distributor 215):
controlling characteristics of the input electrical energy to maximize power efficiency associated with at least one of the charging integrated circuit and an electronic device (201, Fig. 2; ¶ 0052: Referring to FIG. 2, an electronic device 201 may include a power management module 210 and a battery 220. The power management module 210 (e.g., a charger IC or a PMIC) may include a power path distributor 215, a first charging circuit 230, and/or a second charging circuit 240, and may control a flow of current output from the battery 220 and/or current flowing into the battery 220) housing the charging integrated circuit (¶ 0060: first external power supply device 202 may transmit and receive a signal related to charging of the battery 220 with the electronic device 201 through a power delivery (PD) communication. The first external power supply device 202 or the second external power supply device 203 may perform the constant voltage control and the constant current control for charging the battery 220 using a programmable power supply (PPS) function of a USB PD 3.0. The second external power supply device 203 may be a wireless power transmission device, and a power supply part of the wireless power transmission device may transmit and receive a signal related to charging of the battery 220 with the electronic device 201 using an in-band communication (e.g., communication using a coil). The second external power supply device 203 may be connected to a TA for the fast charging, and a transmitter of the second external power supply device 203 may transmit and receive voltage information or current information regarding the direct charging with the electronic device 201 through the in-band communication (e.g., communication using the coil). The power supply part of the wireless power transmission device may perform the constant voltage control or the constant current control for charging the battery 220; ¶ 0062: When the first external power supply device 202 or the second external power supply device 203 supports the direct charging, the constant voltage control or the constant current control inside the first external power supply device 202 or the second external power supply device 203 is performed, and each of the first charging circuit 230 and the second charging circuit 240 may charge the battery 220 by lowering a voltage, based on the fixed voltage conversion ratio (e.g., about 2:1). In the first mode, the first charging circuit 230 and the second charging circuit 240 may operate with a relatively high charging efficiency (e.g., about 96% or more), and then the heat generation of the first charging circuit 230 and the second charging circuit 240 may be reduced. In addition, in the first mode, each of the first charging circuit 230 and the second charging circuit 240 may have a switching signal having a sine wave characteristic, and then a switching loss may be reduced), and
controlling the input interface to adjust the supply voltage (¶ 0060, 0062: see above).
CHOI fails to disclose controlling the input interface to adjust the supply voltage such that the output voltage of the power converter is substantially unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N−1), where M is a positive integer less than (N−1).
NUSSBAUM discloses the output voltage of the power converter is substantially unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N−1), where M is a positive integer less than (N−1) (¶ 0046: it may be desirable for such a controller to be able to accommodate a wide range of input voltages. For example, if the multi output three level buck converter is to be powered by a lithium ion cell, it could be expected that the input voltage could range from 4.2V (or more) when the cell is charging, down to 3.2V or less at the end of charge. In such an embodiment, the flying voltage rails 310a and 310b could have a voltage ranging from a high of 2.1V or more to 1.6V or less. For cases in which the converter is powered by multiple cells in series, the input voltages may be an integer multiple of these values. For cases in which another cell chemistry is used, the voltages may vary accordingly. In any event, because the output voltages at the various outputs 303a-303D may be either greater than or less than ½Vin, the control system may preferably be intelligent about the timing of the buck converter switch transitions relative to the state of the charge pump flying rails. For example, at higher input voltages it may be desirable to switch the inductor between ½Vin and 0V, while at lower input voltages it may be desirable to switch the inductor between Vin and ½Vin; ¶ 0122: Once in State D1 (880), the buck converter controller will transition to State D2 (890) when the charge pump transitions state, provided that Vout remains less than ½ Vin; ¶ 0123: the buck converter controller will transition again to the D1 state when charge pump switch Qa (302) next closes. Otherwise:… ¶ 0125: if the buck controller output setpoint changes to greater than ½Vin, then the buck controller will transition to Case A or B operation as described above). Providing the output voltage of the power converter as disclosed in NUSSBAUM in the method in a charging integrated circuit of CHOI which adjusts the supply voltage teaches the limitation “controlling the input interface to adjust the supply voltage such that the output voltage of the power converter is substantially unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N−1)”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the output voltage is unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N-1) of NUSSBAUM into the method of CHOI to produce an expected result of a method including an output voltage unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N-1). The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prevent loss of control, large transients, capacitor-imbalance, and higher ripple.
Regarding claim 20, CHOI discloses the input interface comprises a Universal Serial Bus programmable power supply power interface (¶ 0060).
Regarding claim 21, CHOI discloses communicating with the power supply to control the power supply to deliver a desired selected voltage from the power supply in order to maximize power efficiency associated with at least one of the charging integrated circuit and the electronic device (¶ 0060, 0062, 0075).
Regarding claim 22, CHOI discloses setting, via the input interface, a selected voltage level for a voltage delivered from the power supply, the selected voltage level selected from a plurality of voltage levels, wherein the selected voltage level is selected to maximize power efficiency associated with at least one of the charging integrated circuit and the electronic device (¶ 0060, 0062, 0075).
Regarding claim 23, CHOI discloses the input interface comprises a wireless power transfer system, and the method further comprises controlling a wireless transmission module coupled to the charging integrated circuit via the input interface to cause the wireless transmission module to transmit a desired voltage to a wireless receiver module of the charging integrated circuit in order to maximize power efficiency associated with at least one of the charging integrated circuit and the electronic device (¶ 0054, 0060-0062).
Regarding claim 26, CHOI discloses controlling characteristics of the input electrical energy to maximize power efficiency associated with at least one of the charging integrated circuit and the electronic device while satisfying one or more other electrical constraints associated with at least one of the charging integrated circuit and the electronic device (¶ 0075, 0184).
Regarding claim 27, CHOI discloses the one or more other electrical constraints comprises a current limit for an electrical current driven from the power supply to the charging integrated circuit (¶ 0075).
Regarding claim 28, CHOI discloses the one or more other electrical constraints comprises a ripple current associated with the electronic device (¶ 0184).
Regarding claim 29, CHOI discloses the N-level power converter comprises an inductive buck regulator (¶ 0064).
Regarding claim 30, CHOI discloses the N-level power converter comprises a switched capacitor regulator (¶ 0057-0059).
Regarding claim 31, CHOI discloses the N-level power converter comprises a hybrid switched-capacitor inductive power converter (¶ 0057-0059, 0064).
Regarding claim 32, CHOI discloses the output voltage of the power converter is a fixed voltage defined by a desired output voltage level (¶ 0060, 0064, 0074).
Regarding claim 35, CHOI discloses an electronic device (201, Fig. 2; ¶ 0052: Referring to FIG. 2, an electronic device 201 may include a power management module 210 and a battery 220. The power management module 210 (e.g., a charger IC or a PMIC) may include a power path distributor 215, a first charging circuit 230, and/or a second charging circuit 240, and may control a flow of current output from the battery 220 and/or current flowing into the battery 220) comprising:
a battery (220, Fig. 4); and
a charging integrated circuit (210, Fig. 2) for charging the battery (¶ 0052: see above), the charging integrated circuit comprising:
an input interface (comprising 201a, 201b, & 215, Fig. 4) configured to receive input electrical energy from a power supply (202 or 203, Fig. 4), wherein the input interface is controllable to modify characteristics of the input electrical energy to provide a supply voltage (¶ 0054: power management module 210 may charge the battery 220 with power provided from a first external power supply device 202 or a second external power supply device 203. The first external power supply device 202 may be a fast charging power adapter, a travel adapter (TA), or a battery pack. The second external power supply device 203 may be a wireless power transmission device (e.g., a transmitter of a wireless charging system); ¶ 0059: power path distributor 215 may include a plurality of power distribution switches. The power path distributor 215 may control the plurality of power distribution switches such that the first charging circuit 230 and the second charging circuit 240 may operate in different modes. When the first charging circuit 230 operates in a mode in which the first flying capacitor 233 therein is discharged, the power path distributor 215 may allow the second charging circuit 240 to operate in a mode in which the second flying capacitor 243 is charged. When the first charging circuit 230 operates in a mode in which the first flying capacitor 233 is charged, the power path distributor 215 may allow the second charging circuit 240 to operate in a mode in which the second flying capacitor 243 is discharged; ¶ 0103: When the connected first external power supply device 202 is of the first type, in a first period T1, the first power distribution switch QVD1 and the sixth power distribution switch QVD6 may be turned on. The first power terminal 202a and the input terminal 215b of the second charging circuit 240 may be conductive. Accordingly, twice 2Vo of the voltage Vo applied to the battery 220 may be applied to the input terminal 215b of the second charging circuit 240 by the DC blocking capacitor 216);
an N-level power converter (230/240, Fig. 4) configured to receive the supply voltage based on the input electrical energy and generate an output voltage (¶ 0056: power path distributor 215 may distribute power provided from the first external power supply device 202 or the second external power supply device 203 to the first charging circuit 230 and the second charging circuit 240. The first charging circuit 230 and the second charging circuit 240 may charge the battery 220 using the power provided through the power path distributor 215); and
a controller (¶ 0055: power management module 210 may further include a separate operation element (or a controller) therein. An operation element (e.g., a logic circuit or a micro controller unit (MCU)) inside the power management module 210 may perform calculations and controls related to charging or discharging the battery 220. The operation element may control switches in the power path distributor 215, the first charging circuit 230, or the second charging circuit 240. The operation element may control switches in the power path distributor 215, the first charging circuit 230, or the second charging circuit 240 in response to a control signal provided by a processor inside the electronic device 201) configured to:
control characteristics of the input electrical energy to maximize power efficiency associated with at least one of the charging integrated circuit and the electronic device (¶ 0060: first external power supply device 202 may transmit and receive a signal related to charging of the battery 220 with the electronic device 201 through a power delivery (PD) communication. The first external power supply device 202 or the second external power supply device 203 may perform the constant voltage control and the constant current control for charging the battery 220 using a programmable power supply (PPS) function of a USB PD 3.0. The second external power supply device 203 may be a wireless power transmission device, and a power supply part of the wireless power transmission device may transmit and receive a signal related to charging of the battery 220 with the electronic device 201 using an in-band communication (e.g., communication using a coil). The second external power supply device 203 may be connected to a TA for the fast charging, and a transmitter of the second external power supply device 203 may transmit and receive voltage information or current information regarding the direct charging with the electronic device 201 through the in-band communication (e.g., communication using the coil). The power supply part of the wireless power transmission device may perform the constant voltage control or the constant current control for charging the battery 220; ¶ 0062: When the first external power supply device 202 or the second external power supply device 203 supports the direct charging, the constant voltage control or the constant current control inside the first external power supply device 202 or the second external power supply device 203 is performed, and each of the first charging circuit 230 and the second charging circuit 240 may charge the battery 220 by lowering a voltage, based on the fixed voltage conversion ratio (e.g., about 2:1). In the first mode, the first charging circuit 230 and the second charging circuit 240 may operate with a relatively high charging efficiency (e.g., about 96% or more), and then the heat generation of the first charging circuit 230 and the second charging circuit 240 may be reduced. In addition, in the first mode, each of the first charging circuit 230 and the second charging circuit 240 may have a switching signal having a sine wave characteristic, and then a switching loss may be reduced), and
control the input interface to adjust the supply voltage (¶ 0060, 0062: see above).
CHOI fails to disclose the controller configured to control the input interface to adjust the supply voltage such that the output voltage of the power converter is substantially unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N−1), where M is a positive integer less than (N−1).
NUSSBAUM discloses the output voltage of the power converter is substantially unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N−1), where M is a positive integer less than (N−1) (¶ 0046: it may be desirable for such a controller to be able to accommodate a wide range of input voltages. For example, if the multi output three level buck converter is to be powered by a lithium ion cell, it could be expected that the input voltage could range from 4.2V (or more) when the cell is charging, down to 3.2V or less at the end of charge. In such an embodiment, the flying voltage rails 310a and 310b could have a voltage ranging from a high of 2.1V or more to 1.6V or less. For cases in which the converter is powered by multiple cells in series, the input voltages may be an integer multiple of these values. For cases in which another cell chemistry is used, the voltages may vary accordingly. In any event, because the output voltages at the various outputs 303a-303D may be either greater than or less than ½Vin, the control system may preferably be intelligent about the timing of the buck converter switch transitions relative to the state of the charge pump flying rails. For example, at higher input voltages it may be desirable to switch the inductor between ½Vin and 0V, while at lower input voltages it may be desirable to switch the inductor between Vin and ½Vin; ¶ 0122: Once in State D1 (880), the buck converter controller will transition to State D2 (890) when the charge pump transitions state, provided that Vout remains less than ½ Vin; ¶ 0123: the buck converter controller will transition again to the D1 state when charge pump switch Qa (302) next closes. Otherwise:… ¶ 0125: if the buck controller output setpoint changes to greater than ½Vin, then the buck controller will transition to Case A or B operation as described above). Providing the output voltage of the power converter as disclosed in NUSSBAUM in the charging integrated circuit of CHOI which adjusts the supply voltage teaches the limitation “the controller configured to: control the input interface to adjust the supply voltage such that the output voltage of the power converter is substantially unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N−1)”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the output voltage is unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N-1) of NUSSBAUM into the electronic device of CHOI to produce an expected result of an electronic device including an output voltage unequal to M times the supply voltage divided by (N-1). The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to prevent loss of control, large transients, capacitor-imbalance, and higher ripple.
Claim(s) 2 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI in view of NUSSBAUM as applied to claims 1, 3-6, 9-15, 18, 20-23, 26-32, and 35 above, and further in view of PULLEN (US Pub. No. 2017/0222463; cited on IDS with date 1/31/2024; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 2, CHOI as modified by NUSSBAUM teaches the charging integrated circuit as applied to claim 1, but CHOI fails to disclose the controller is configured to minimize the supply voltage in order to maintain an input voltage to output voltage ratio of the power converter at a maximum practical efficiency level.
PULLEN discloses the controller is configured to minimize the supply voltage in order to maintain an input voltage to output voltage ratio of the power converter at a maximum practical efficiency level (¶ 0031-0032).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the supply voltage is minimized as disclosed in PULLEN into the charging integrated circuit of CHOI to produce an expected result of a charging integrated circuit including a supply voltage being minimized. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to increase efficiency and lower component stress.
Regarding claim 19, CHOI as modified by NUSSBAUM teaches the method as applied to claim 18, but CHOI fails to disclose minimizing the supply voltage in order to maintain an input voltage to output voltage ratio of the power converter at a maximum practical efficiency level.
PULLEN discloses minimizing the supply voltage in order to maintain an input voltage to output voltage ratio of the power converter at a maximum practical efficiency level (¶ 0031-0032).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the supply voltage is minimized as disclosed in PULLEN into the method of CHOI to produce an expected result of a method including a supply voltage being minimized. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to increase efficiency and lower component stress.
Claim(s) 7-8 and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI in view of NUSSBAUM as applied to claims 1, 3-6, 9-15, 18, 20-23, 26-32, and 35 above, and further in view of TABAN (US Patent No. 10,079,541; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 7, CHOI as modified by NUSSBAUM teaches the charging integrated circuit as applied to claim 1, but CHOI fails to disclose one or more power converters interfaced between the input interface and the power converter, such that the one or more power converters convert a voltage received from the power supply into the supply voltage.
TABAN discloses one or more power converters (20, Fig. 3) interfaced between the input interface (from HV1, Fig. 3) and the power converter (30, Fig. 3), such that the one or more power converters convert a voltage received from the power supply into the supply voltage (at LV1, Fig. 3; col 6, ll. 21-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the one or more power converters interfaced between the input interface and the power converter of TABAN into the charging integrated circuit of CHOI to produce an expected result of a charging integrated circuit including one or more power converters interfaced between the input interface and the power converter. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide operation a high efficiency throughout wide input and output voltage ranges (TABAN, col 2, ll. 10-16).
Regarding claim 8, CHOI discloses the controller is further configured to control the voltage received from the power supply in order to maintain an input voltage to output voltage ratio of the power converter at a maximum practical efficiency level (¶ 0060-0062).
Regarding claim 24, CHOI as modified by NUSSBAUM teaches the method as applied to claim 18, but CHOI fails to disclose one or more power converters are interfaced between the input interface and the power converter, such that the one or more power converters convert a voltage received from the power supply into the supply voltage.
TABAN discloses one or more power converters (20, Fig. 3) are interfaced between the input interface (from HV1, Fig. 3) and the power converter (30, Fig. 3), such that the one or more power converters convert a voltage received from the power supply into the supply voltage (at LV1, Fig. 3; col 6, ll. 21-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the one or more power converters interfaced between the input interface and the power converter of TABAN into the method of CHOI to produce an expected result of a method including one or more power converters interfaced between the input interface and the power converter. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide operation a high efficiency throughout wide input and output voltage ranges (TABAN, col 2, ll. 10-16).
Regarding claim 25, CHOI discloses controlling the voltage received from the power supply in order to maintain an input voltage to output voltage ratio of the power converter at a maximum practical efficiency level (¶ 0060-0062).
Claim(s) 16 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI in view of NUSSBAUM as applied to claims 1, 3-6, 9-15, 18, 20-23, 26-32, and 35 above, and further in view of VUKADINOVIC (US Pub. No. 2018/0205307; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 16, CHOI as modified by NUSSBAUM teaches the charging integrated circuit as applied to claim 1, but CHOI fails to disclose the supply voltage is controlled such that the output of the power converter is outside of a problematic switching zone for the power converter.
VUKADINOVIC discloses the supply voltage is controlled such that the output of the power converter is outside of a problematic switching zone for the power converter (¶ 0054, 0072, 0075, 0094, 0097, 0103, 0115).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the output of the power converter is outside of a problematic switching zone as disclosed in VUKADINOVIC into the charging integrated circuit of CHOI to produce an expected result of a charging integrated circuit including an output of a power converter outside of a problematic switching zone. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reduce or eliminate voltage spikes on the power switches by avoiding operation at zero-ripple duty ratios (VUKADINOVIC, ¶ 0053).
Regarding claim 33, CHOI as modified by NUSSBAUM teaches the method as applied to claim 18, but CHOI fails to disclose the supply voltage is controlled such that the output of the power converter is outside of a problematic switching zone for the power converter.
VUKADINOVIC discloses the supply voltage is controlled such that the output of the power converter is outside of a problematic switching zone for the power converter (¶ 0054, 0072, 0075, 0094, 0097, 0103, 0115).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the output of the power converter is outside of a problematic switching zone as disclosed in VUKADINOVIC into the method in a charging integrated circuit of CHOI to produce an expected result of a method in a charging integrated circuit including an output of a power converter outside of a problematic switching zone. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to reduce or eliminate voltage spikes on the power switches by avoiding operation at zero-ripple duty ratios (VUKADINOVIC, ¶ 0053).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MAO (WO2014176721A1) is cited to show adjusting the supply voltage to a buck converter in order to maintain a desired input-to-output voltage ratio.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 9/16/2026
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859