Detail Action
This office action is a response to an amendment submitted on 04/27/2026.
Claims 1- 10 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 01/31/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 5, 6 and 10 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/06/2026 with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20220123881 A1); hereinafter “Li”; in further view of Kwon et al. (US 20210143884 A1), hereinafter “Kwong”.
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches A communication apparatus, comprising:
reception circuitry, which, in operation, receives a signal [Li: Fig. 11- 13]; and control circuitry, which, in operation, controls a transmission inhibition period based on the signal [Li: Par. 5 teaches master AP setting NAV for STA 2 associated with the slave AP],
changes a setting related to a transmission inhibition period based on whether a sender of the signal belongs to a group that is related to cooperative communication and that is common to the communication apparatus [Li: Fig. 5; Par. 150 teaches the transmitter transfer announcement/ signal /frame ( Par. 191 teach transfer frame which carried TXOP time period) of master AP set the basic navigation allocation for STA2 associated with slave SP (belong to a group).
However, Li does not teach wherein operation does not update the transmission inhibition period when the control circuitry receives the signal including information about a transmission opportunity from the sender that belongs to the group.
Nevertheless, Kwon, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches operation does not update the transmission inhibition period when the control circuitry receives the signal including information about a transmission opportunity from the sender that belongs to the group [Kwong: Fig. 2B; Par. 55- 66 teaches STA shall update only if all the following conditions are met; where STA does not receive a frame/ signal in the PPDU]
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Kwon for setting NAV setting rules. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kwon in the Li system in order to implement NAV rules [Kwon: Par. 57].
Regarding claim 2, Li in view of Kwon further teaches the control circuitry determines whether the sender belongs to the group, based on identification information included in the signal [Li: Par. 170 further teaches of identification of AID (association identifier) and triggered based on association].
Regarding claim 3, Li in view of Kwon further teaches the control circuitry determines that the sender belongs to the group when user information destined for the communication apparatus is included in the signal [Li: Par. 170].
Regarding claim 4, Li in view of Kwon further teaches the control circuitry determines whether the sender belongs to the group, based on information about the group included in a beacon signal [Li: Par. 107, 202 teaches of sending trigger frame].
Regarding claim 5, Li in view of Kwon further teaches the communication apparatus is a station (STA)[LI: Fig. 5; Par. 170, 150].
Regarding claim 6, Li in view of Kwon further teaches the communication apparatus is an access point [Li: Fig. 5].
Regarding claim 7, Li in view of Kwon further teaches the control circuitry sets a first transmission inhibition period for a Basic Service Set (BSS) that is common to the communication apparatus, when the control circuitry receives the signal including information about a transmission opportunity from the sender that belongs to the group [Lin: Par. 85, 170, 186 teaches of sending BSS from master AP to slave AP], and
the control circuitry sets a second transmission inhibition period for a BSS that differs from the BSS of the communication apparatus, when the control circuitry receives the signal including information about the transmission opportunity from the sender that does not belong to the group [Lin: Par. 186- 187 teaches of inter and intra BSS associated with master AP is sends to slave AP and slave AP returns the usage right of TXOP to master AP].
Regarding claim 8, Li in view of Kwon further teaches the control circuitry cancels a setting of the first transmission inhibition period when the control circuitry receives a trigger frame including user information destined for the communication apparatus [Li: Fig. 5; Par. 107, 150 teaches of receiving and sending trigger frame with information].
Regarding claim 9, Li in view of Kwon further teaches a reception circuitry that receives information about cancelling of a setting of the first transmission inhibition period, wherein the control circuitry cancels the setting of the first transmission inhibition period based on the information [Par. 70- 83 teaches information related to backoff if conditions of BSS are not met].
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches A communication method comprising:
receiving a signal by a communication apparatus; and [Li: Fig. 11- 13]; controlling a transmission inhibition period based on the signal [Li: Par. 5 teaches master AP setting NAV for STA 2 associated with the slave AP]
changing a setting related to a transmission inhibition period by the communication apparatus based on whether a sender of the signal belongs to a group that is related to cooperative communication and that is common to the communication apparatus [Li: Fig. 5; Par. 150 teaches the transmitter transfer announcement/ signal /frame ( Par. 191 teach transfer frame which carried TXOP time period) of master AP set the basic navigation allocation for STA2 associated with slave SP (belong to a group).
However, Li does not teach wherein operation does not update the transmission inhibition period when the control circuitry receives the signal including information about a transmission opportunity from the sender that belongs to the group.
Nevertheless, Kwon, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches operation does not update the transmission inhibition period when the control circuitry receives the signal including information about a transmission opportunity from the sender that belongs to the group [Kwong: Fig. 2B; Par. 55- 66 teaches STA shall update only if all the following conditions are met; where STA does not receive a frame/ signal in the PPDU]
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Kwon for setting NAV setting rules. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kwon in the Li system in order to implement NAV rules [Kwon: Par. 57].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412