Detailed Action
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The term, “5GS” being found in the claim language, it is suggested to spell out before using abbreviation at first occurrence.
Appropriate correction is required.
Examiner’s note
The phrase, “not to perform network slice” being found in claims 1, 3 and 4. It is a negative limitation, it is suggested to amend the claim language that recites positive limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
under either status.
Claims 1 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Prabhakar US PGPub: US 2021/0211975 A1 Jul. 8, 2021 and in view of
Kedalagudde US PGPub: US 2021/0058784 A1 Feb. 25, 2021.
Regarding claim 1, Prabhakar discloses,
a core network apparatus (a mobile device UE may access standalone non-public networks SNPNs in various different locations as equivalent SNPNs eSNPNs corresponding to a home SNPN of the device. The device may obtain a list of eSNPNs corresponding to the home SNPN, and may access a second SNPN at a location different from a location of the home SNPN, in response to identifying the second SNPN and the list including the second SNPN as an eSNPN corresponding to the home SNPN of the device. The eSNPNs may include roaming eSNPNs ReSNPNs for accessing an enterprise NPN globally and/or at various different locations. The eSNPN/ReSNPN list may be maintained in a new network identifier management function NMF. NPNs may be implemented as network slice instances NSIs via identifying data in the single network slice selection assistance information S-NSSAI. Multiple credentialed SNPNs of a UE may be prioritized for access by the UE – ABSTRACT, Figs. 3, 4, 10, 13, 14, paragraphs 0005 – 0006, 0203, 0206); comprising:
controller circuitry (processors 404 – Fig. 4/404); and
transmission and reception circuitry (communication chain 432 along with antennas 424a and 434b – Fig. 4),
wherein; in a case that a registration procedure, initiated by a User Equipment UE, for onboarding service in Stand-alone Non-Public Network SNPN is being performed (when the UE is registering in or on an SNPN. The UE may send a registration request RR to the AMF servicing the SNPN, with the RR including the necessary credentials – Figs. 10/1004, 13/1302, paragraphs 0203, 0206),
the transmission and reception circuitry is configured to transmit a registration accept message or a registration reject message (the RA message or a registration reject RR message, and transmit the lists to the UE as part of the RA message or RR message – Figs. 10/1008, 13/1308, paragraphs 0203, 0206),
but, does not disclose, the controller circuitry is configured not to perform network slice admission control.
Kedalagudde teaches, user equipment UE onboarding and remote provisioning for non-public networks NPNs. The embodiments allow UEs to get network connectivity to an onboarding server and/or onboarding NPN so that the UEs can be provisioned with subscription credentials and configuration information for establishing connectivity with the NPN (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 3, 8, 11, paragraphs 0005, 0006).
The architecture and mechanisms to support UE onboarding and provisioning for NPNs include: means for a UE, that is verifiably secure and uniquely identifiable to 5GS, for onboarding and remote provisioning; and support of exposure via APIs to support UE onboarding and remote provisioning (paragraph 0008).
The NSSF 629 also determines an AMF set to be used to serve the UE 601, or a list of candidate AMFs 621 based on a suitable configuration and possibly by querying the NRF 625. The selection of a set of network slice instances for the UE 601 may be triggered by the AMF 621 with which the UE 601 is registered by interacting with the NSSF 629; this may lead to a change of AMF 621 (paragraph 0151). A hypervisor 1102 may be executed to provide an execution environment for one or more network slices/sub-slices to utilize the hardware resources 1100 (Fig. 11/1102, paragraph 0194).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the mobile device UE may access standalone non-public networks SNPNs in various different locations as equivalent SNPNs eSNPNs corresponding to a home SNPN of the device of Prabhakar (Prabhakar, ABSTRACT, Figs. 3, 4, 10, 13, 14, paragraphs 0005 – 0006, 0203, 0206), wherein the system of Prabhakar, would have incorporated Kedalagudde teaches, user equipment UE onboarding and remote provisioning for non-public networks NPNs of Kedalagudde (Kedalagudde ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 3, 8, 11, paragraphs 0008, 0151, 0194) for the technical field of wireless communications and communication networks, and in particular to service and feature requirements applicable to mobile and fixed communications technology requirements for non-public networks (Kedalagudde, paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 2, Prabhakar discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the core network apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the transmission and reception circuitry receives, from the UE, a registration request message including a 5GS registration type Information Element IE indicating SNPN onboarding registration.
Kedalagudde teaches, user equipment UE onboarding and remote provisioning for non-public networks NPNs. The embodiments allow UEs to get network connectivity to an onboarding server and/or onboarding NPN so that the UEs can be provisioned with subscription credentials and configuration information for establishing connectivity with the NPN (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 3, 8, 11, paragraphs 0005, 0006).
The architecture and mechanisms to support UE onboarding and provisioning for NPNs include: means for a UE, that is verifiably secure and uniquely identifiable to 5GS, for onboarding and remote provisioning; and support of exposure via APIs to support UE onboarding and remote provisioning (paragraph 0008).
The NSSF 629 also determines an AMF set to be used to serve the UE 601, or a list of candidate AMFs 621 based on a suitable configuration and possibly by querying the NRF 625. The selection of a set of network slice instances for the UE 601 may be triggered by the AMF 621 with which the UE 601 is registered by interacting with the NSSF 629; this may lead to a change of AMF 621 (paragraph 0151). A hypervisor 1102 may be executed to provide an execution environment for one or more network slices/sub-slices to utilize the hardware resources 1100 (Fig. 11/1102, paragraph 0194).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the mobile device UE may access standalone non-public networks SNPNs in various different locations as equivalent SNPNs eSNPNs corresponding to a home SNPN of the device of Prabhakar (Prabhakar, ABSTRACT, Figs. 3, 4, 10, 13, 14, paragraphs 0005 – 0006, 0203, 0206), wherein the system of Prabhakar, would have incorporated Kedalagudde teaches, user equipment UE onboarding and remote provisioning for non-public networks NPNs of Kedalagudde (Kedalagudde ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 3, 8, 11, paragraphs 0008, 0151, 0194) for the technical field of wireless communications and communication networks, and in particular to service and feature requirements applicable to mobile and fixed communications technology requirements for non-public networks (Kedalagudde, paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 3, Prabhakar discloses,
a communication control method performed by a core network apparatus ((a mobile device UE may access standalone non-public networks SNPNs in various different locations as equivalent SNPNs eSNPNs corresponding to a home SNPN of the device. The device may obtain a list of eSNPNs corresponding to the home SNPN, and may access a second SNPN at a location different from a location of the home SNPN, in response to identifying the second SNPN and the list including the second SNPN as an eSNPN corresponding to the home SNPN of the device. The eSNPNs may include roaming eSNPNs ReSNPNs for accessing an enterprise NPN globally and/or at various different locations. The eSNPN/ReSNPN list may be maintained in a new network identifier management function NMF. NPNs may be implemented as network slice instances NSIs via identifying data in the single network slice selection assistance information S-NSSAI. Multiple credentialed SNPNs of a UE may be prioritized for access by the UE – ABSTRACT, Figs. 3, 4, 10, 13, 14, paragraphs 0005 – 0006, 0203, 0206), the method comprising;
in a case that a registration procedure, initiated by a User Equipment UE, for onboarding service in Stand-alone Non-Public Network SNPN is being performed (when the UE is registering in or on an SNPN. The UE may send a registration request RR to the AMF servicing the SNPN, with the RR including the necessary credentials – Figs. 10/1004, 13/1302, paragraphs 0203, 0206),
transmitting a registration accept message or a registration reject message ((the RA message or a registration reject RR message, and transmit the lists to the UE as part of the RA message or RR message – Figs. 10/1008, 13/1308, paragraphs 0203, 0206),
but, does not disclose, not performing network slice admission control.
Kedalagudde teaches, user equipment UE onboarding and remote provisioning for non-public networks NPNs. The embodiments allow UEs to get network connectivity to an onboarding server and/or onboarding NPN so that the UEs can be provisioned with subscription credentials and configuration information for establishing connectivity with the NPN (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 3, 8, 11, paragraphs 0005, 0006).
The architecture and mechanisms to support UE onboarding and provisioning for NPNs include: means for a UE, that is verifiably secure and uniquely identifiable to 5GS, for onboarding and remote provisioning; and support of exposure via APIs to support UE onboarding and remote provisioning (paragraph 0008).
The NSSF 629 also determines an AMF set to be used to serve the UE 601, or a list of candidate AMFs 621 based on a suitable configuration and possibly by querying the NRF 625. The selection of a set of network slice instances for the UE 601 may be triggered by the AMF 621 with which the UE 601 is registered by interacting with the NSSF 629; this may lead to a change of AMF 621 (paragraph 0151). A hypervisor 1102 may be executed to provide an execution environment for one or more network slices/sub-slices to utilize the hardware resources 1100 (Fig. 11/1102, paragraph 0194).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the mobile device UE may access standalone non-public networks SNPNs in various different locations as equivalent SNPNs eSNPNs corresponding to a home SNPN of the device of Prabhakar (Prabhakar, ABSTRACT, Figs. 3, 4, 10, 13, 14, paragraphs 0005 – 0006, 0203, 0206), wherein the system of Prabhakar, would have incorporated Kedalagudde teaches, user equipment UE onboarding and remote provisioning for non-public networks NPNs of Kedalagudde (Kedalagudde ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 3, 8, 11, paragraphs 0008, 0151, 0194) for the technical field of wireless communications and communication networks, and in particular to service and feature requirements applicable to mobile and fixed communications technology requirements for non-public networks (Kedalagudde, paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 4, Prabhakar discloses,
a User Equipment UE (a mobile device UE may access standalone non-public networks SNPNs in various different locations as equivalent SNPNs eSNPNs corresponding to a home SNPN of the device – Figs. 1/106F, 2/106, 3. The device may obtain a list of eSNPNs corresponding to the home SNPN, and may access a second SNPN at a location different from a location of the home SNPN, in response to identifying the second SNPN and the list including the second SNPN as an eSNPN corresponding to the home SNPN of the device. The eSNPNs may include roaming eSNPNs ReSNPNs for accessing an enterprise NPN globally and/or at various different locations. The eSNPN/ReSNPN list may be maintained in a new network identifier management function NMF. NPNs may be implemented as network slice instances NSIs via identifying data in the single network slice selection assistance information S-NSSAI. Multiple credentialed SNPNs of a UE may be prioritized for access by the UE – ABSTRACT, Figs. 3, 4, 10, 13, 14, paragraphs 0005 – 0006, 0203, 0206), comprising:
transmission and reception circuitry (radio circuitry 330 along with antenna 335a and 335b – Fig.3) configured to
“transmit, to a core network, a registration request message” including a 5GS registration type Information Element IE “indicating Stand-alone Non-Public Network SNPN onboarding registration” (when the UE is registering in or on an SNPN. The UE may send a registration request RR to the AMF servicing the SNPN, with the RR including the necessary credentials – Figs. 10/1004, 13/1302, paragraphs 0203, 0206),
but, does not disclose, a registration request message “including a 5GS registration type Information Element IE” indicating Stand-alone Non-Public Network SNPN onboarding registration,
wherein in a case that the UE performs registration for onboarding service in SNPN, network slice admission control is not performed
Kedalagudde teaches, user equipment UE onboarding and remote provisioning for non-public networks NPNs. The embodiments allow UEs to get network connectivity to an onboarding server and/or onboarding NPN so that the UEs can be provisioned with subscription credentials and configuration information for establishing connectivity with the NPN (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 3, 8, 11, paragraphs 0005, 0006).
The architecture and mechanisms to support UE onboarding and provisioning for NPNs include: means for a UE, that is verifiably secure and uniquely identifiable to 5GS, for onboarding and remote provisioning; and support of exposure via APIs to support UE onboarding and remote provisioning (paragraph 0008).
The NSSF 629 also determines an AMF set to be used to serve the UE 601, or a list of candidate AMFs 621 based on a suitable configuration and possibly by querying the NRF 625. The selection of a set of network slice instances for the UE 601 may be triggered by the AMF 621 with which the UE 601 is registered by interacting with the NSSF 629; this may lead to a change of AMF 621 (paragraph 0151). A hypervisor 1102 may be executed to provide an execution environment for one or more network slices/sub-slices to utilize the hardware resources 1100 (Fig. 11/1102, paragraph 0194).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the mobile device UE may access standalone non-public networks SNPNs in various different locations as equivalent SNPNs eSNPNs corresponding to a home SNPN of the device of Prabhakar (Prabhakar, ABSTRACT, Figs. 3, 4, 10, 13, 14, paragraphs 0005 – 0006, 0203, 0206), wherein the system of Prabhakar, would have incorporated Kedalagudde teaches, user equipment UE onboarding and remote provisioning for non-public networks NPNs of Kedalagudde (Kedalagudde ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 3, 8, 11, paragraphs 0008, 0151, 0194) for the technical field of wireless communications and communication networks, and in particular to service and feature requirements applicable to mobile and fixed communications technology requirements for non-public networks (Kedalagudde, paragraph 0002).
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicants disclosure.
Hashmi US PGPub: US 2023/0015471 A1 Jan. 19, 2023.
A 5G or 6G communication system for supporting a higher data transmission rate. In some implementations, a user equipment (UE) and method to manage a rejected network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) is disclosed. The method may include receiving, from a network, an activate default EPS bearer context request message with a Single-NSSAI (S-NSSAI) and a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) identifier (ID). In addition, the method may include removing the S-NSSAI from a rejected NSSAI list for a current PLMN.
Surisetty US PGPub: US 2021/0329539 A1 Oct. 21, 2021.
A User Equipment (UE) for managing a failure in a registration for accessing a network slice. The method includes sending a registration request message to a first wireless network while the UE is in a tracking area of a registration area, the registration request message including a Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) corresponding to the network slice, receiving a registration reject message from the first wireless network, the registration reject message indicating that the network slice is unavailable in one of the registration area, a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN), or a Stand-alone Non-Public Network (SNPN), storing a Tracking Area Identifier (TAI) of the tracking area to a rejected list based on the TAI of the tracking area being included the registration reject message, and establishing a connection with a second wireless network in response to the receiving.
Contact Information
/NIMESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642