Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 4 filed on Jun. 23, 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
under either status.
Claims 1 - 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Prabhakar US PGPub: US 2021/0211975 A1 Jul. 8, 2021 and in view of
Hong US PGPub: US 2024/0348667 A1 Oct. 17, 2024 and further in view of
Kedalagudde US PGPub: US 2021/0058784 A1 Feb. 25, 2021.
Regarding claim 1, Prabhakar discloses,
a core network apparatus (a mobile device UE may access standalone non-public networks SNPNs in various different locations as equivalent SNPNs eSNPNs corresponding to a home SNPN of the device. The device may obtain a list of eSNPNs corresponding to the home SNPN, and may access a second SNPN at a location different from a location of the home SNPN, in response to identifying the second SNPN and the list including the second SNPN as an eSNPN corresponding to the home SNPN of the device. The eSNPNs may include roaming eSNPNs ReSNPNs for accessing an enterprise NPN globally and/or at various different locations. The eSNPN/ReSNPN list may be maintained in a new network identifier management function NMF. NPNs may be implemented as network slice instances NSIs via identifying data in the single network slice selection assistance information S-NSSAI. Multiple credentialed SNPNs of a UE may be prioritized for access by the UE – ABSTRACT, Figs. 3, 4, 10, 13, 14, paragraphs 0005 – 0006, 0203, 0206); comprising:
controller circuitry (processors 404 – Fig. 4/404); and
transmission and reception circuitry (communication chain 432 along with antennas 424a and 434b – Fig. 4),
wherein:
the core network apparatus supports network slice admission control (NPNs may be implemented as network slice instances NSIs via identifying data in the single network slice selection assistance information S-NSSAI – ABSTRACT, Figs. 3, 4, 10, 13, 14, paragraphs 0005 – 0006, 0203, 0206), in a case that a registration procedure, initiated by a UE, for onboarding services in a Stand-alone Non-Public Network SNPN is being performed (when the UE is registering in or on an SNPN. The UE may send a registration request RR to the AMF servicing the SNPN, with the RR including the necessary credentials – Figs. 10/1004, 13/1302, paragraphs 0203, 0206),
the transmission and reception circuitry is configured to transmit a registration accept message or a registration reject message (the RA message or a registration reject RR message, and transmit the lists to the UE as part of the RA message or RR message – Figs. 10/1008, 13/1308, paragraphs 0203, 0206),
but, does not disclose, the network slice admission control has a function of controlling a number of registered User Equipment UEs per network slice.
Hong teaches, method and apparatus for selecting network slice admission control function.
A network slice can support a limited number of User Equipments UEs using the network slice simultaneously and a limited number of concurrent sessions. In order to support controlling of the number of terminals and Protocol Data Unit PDU sessions for the network slice, Network Slice Admission Control Function NSACF is introduced in the 5G communication system. For network slices subject to Network Slice Admission Control NSAC, NSACF monitors and controls the number of registered UEs per network slice and the number of PDU sessions per network slice (Figs. 4/s401, 8/s804, 11/s1105, paragraphs 0033, 0067).
When selecting a NSACF for a network slice, it is possible that monitoring and controlling of the number of registered UEs have been started for the network slice. For example, when the UE performs registration, a NSACF has been selected for the network slice to monitor and control the number of registered UEs for the network slice (paragraphs 0069, 0125, 0174).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the mobile device UE may access standalone non-public networks SNPNs in various different locations as equivalent SNPNs eSNPNs corresponding to a home SNPN of the device of Prabhakar (Prabhakar, ABSTRACT, Figs. 3, 4, 10, 13, 14, paragraphs 0005 – 0006, 0203, 0206), wherein the system of Prabhakar, would have incorporated
method and apparatus for selecting network slice admission control function of Hong (Hong, Figs. 4/s401, 8/s804, 11/s1105, paragraphs 0033, 0067, 0069, 0125) for network slicing technology allows operators to provide various customized networks, for example, providing networks with different requirements on functionality, or having differences in performance requirements (e.g., requirements like latency, mobility, availability, reliability and data rate bandwidth and so on), or network functionality is only available to specific users (Hong, paragraph 0003).
Both Prabhakar and Hong discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the controller circuitry is configured to forgo performing the perform network slice admission control.
Kedalagudde teaches, user equipment UE onboarding and remote provisioning for non-public networks NPNs. The embodiments allow UEs to get network connectivity to an onboarding server and/or onboarding NPN so that the UEs can be provisioned with subscription credentials and configuration information for establishing connectivity with the NPN (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 3, 8, 11, paragraphs 0005, 0006).
The architecture and mechanisms to support UE onboarding and provisioning for NPNs include: means for a UE, that is verifiably secure and uniquely identifiable to 5GS, for onboarding and remote provisioning; and support of exposure via APIs to support UE onboarding and remote provisioning (paragraph 0008).
The NSSF 629 also determines an AMF set to be used to serve the UE 601, or a list of candidate AMFs 621 based on a suitable configuration and possibly by querying the NRF 625. The selection of a set of network slice instances for the UE 601 may be triggered by the AMF 621 with which the UE 601 is registered by interacting with the NSSF 629; this may lead to a change of AMF 621 (paragraph 0151). A hypervisor 1102 may be executed to provide an execution environment for one or more network slices/sub-slices to utilize the hardware resources 1100 (Fig. 11/1102, paragraph 0194).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the mobile device UE may access standalone non-public networks SNPNs in various different locations as equivalent SNPNs eSNPNs corresponding to a home SNPN of the device of combined Prabhakar and Hong (combined Prabhakar and Hong, ABSTRACT, Figs. 3, 4, 10, 13, 14, paragraphs 0005 – 0006, 0203, 0206), wherein the system of combined Prabhakar and Hong, would have incorporated Kedalagudde teaches, user equipment UE onboarding and remote provisioning for non-public networks NPNs of Kedalagudde (Kedalagudde ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 3, 8, 11, paragraphs 0008, 0151, 0194) for the technical field of wireless communications and communication networks, and in particular to service and feature requirements applicable to mobile and fixed communications technology requirements for non-public networks (Kedalagudde, paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 2, Prabhakar discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the core network apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the transmission and reception circuitry is further configured to receive, from the UE, a registration request message including a 5th Generation System 5GS registration type Information Element IE indicating an SNPN onboarding registration.
Kedalagudde teaches, user equipment UE onboarding and remote provisioning for non-public networks NPNs. The embodiments allow UEs to get network connectivity to an onboarding server and/or onboarding NPN so that the UEs can be provisioned with subscription credentials and configuration information for establishing connectivity with the NPN (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 3, 8, 11, paragraphs 0005, 0006).
The architecture and mechanisms to support UE onboarding and provisioning for NPNs include: means for a UE, that is verifiably secure and uniquely identifiable to 5GS, for onboarding and remote provisioning; and support of exposure via APIs to support UE onboarding and remote provisioning (paragraph 0008).
The NSSF 629 also determines an AMF set to be used to serve the UE 601, or a list of candidate AMFs 621 based on a suitable configuration and possibly by querying the NRF 625. The selection of a set of network slice instances for the UE 601 may be triggered by the AMF 621 with which the UE 601 is registered by interacting with the NSSF 629; this may lead to a change of AMF 621 (paragraph 0151). A hypervisor 1102 may be executed to provide an execution environment for one or more network slices/sub-slices to utilize the hardware resources 1100 (Fig. 11/1102, paragraph 0194).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the mobile device UE may access standalone non-public networks SNPNs in various different locations as equivalent SNPNs eSNPNs corresponding to a home SNPN of the device of combined Prabhakar and Hong (combined Prabhakar and Hong, ABSTRACT, Figs. 3, 4, 10, 13, 14, paragraphs 0005 – 0006, 0203, 0206), wherein the system of combined Prabhakar and Hong, would have incorporated Kedalagudde teaches, user equipment UE onboarding and remote provisioning for non-public networks NPNs of Kedalagudde (Kedalagudde ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 3, 8, 11, paragraphs 0008, 0151, 0194) for the technical field of wireless communications and communication networks, and in particular to service and feature requirements applicable to mobile and fixed communications technology requirements for non-public networks (Kedalagudde, paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 3, Prabhakar discloses,
a communication control method performed by a core network apparatus ((a mobile device UE may access standalone non-public networks SNPNs in various different locations as equivalent SNPNs eSNPNs corresponding to a home SNPN of the device. The device may obtain a list of eSNPNs corresponding to the home SNPN, and may access a second SNPN at a location different from a location of the home SNPN, in response to identifying the second SNPN and the list including the second SNPN as an eSNPN corresponding to the home SNPN of the device. The eSNPNs may include roaming eSNPNs ReSNPNs for accessing an enterprise NPN globally and/or at various different locations. The eSNPN/ReSNPN list may be maintained in a new network identifier management function NMF. NPNs may be implemented as network slice instances NSIs via identifying data in the single network slice selection assistance information S-NSSAI. Multiple credentialed SNPNs of a UE may be prioritized for access by the UE – ABSTRACT, Figs. 3, 4, 10, 13, 14, paragraphs 0005 – 0006, 0203, 0206), the communication control method comprising;
in a case that a registration procedure, initiated by a User Equipment UE, for onboarding services in a Stand-alone Non-Public Network SNPN is being performed (when the UE is registering in or on an SNPN. The UE may send a registration request RR to the AMF servicing the SNPN, with the RR including the necessary credentials – Figs. 10/1004, 13/1302, paragraphs 0203, 0206),
transmitting a registration accept message or a registration reject message ((the RA message or a registration reject RR message, and transmit the lists to the UE as part of the RA message or RR message – Figs. 10/1008, 13/1308, paragraphs 0203, 0206), wherein:
the core network apparatus supports network slice admission control (NPNs may be implemented as network slice instances NSIs via identifying data in the single network slice selection assistance information S-NSSAI – ABSTRACT, Figs. 3, 4, 10, 13, 14, paragraphs 0005 – 0006, 0203, 0206),
but, does not disclose, the network slice admission control has a function of controlling a number of registered User Equipment UEs per network slice.
Hong teaches, method and apparatus for selecting network slice admission control function.
A network slice can support a limited number of User Equipments UEs using the network slice simultaneously and a limited number of concurrent sessions. In order to support controlling of the number of terminals and Protocol Data Unit PDU sessions for the network slice, Network Slice Admission Control Function NSACF is introduced in the 5G communication system. For network slices subject to Network Slice Admission Control NSAC, NSACF monitors and controls the number of registered UEs per network slice and the number of PDU sessions per network slice (Figs. 4/s401, 8/s804, 11/s1105, paragraphs 0033, 0067).
When selecting a NSACF for a network slice, it is possible that monitoring and controlling of the number of registered UEs have been started for the network slice. For example, when the UE performs registration, a NSACF has been selected for the network slice to monitor and control the number of registered UEs for the network slice (paragraphs 0069, 0125, 0174).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the mobile device UE may access standalone non-public networks SNPNs in various different locations as equivalent SNPNs eSNPNs corresponding to a home SNPN of the device of Prabhakar (Prabhakar, ABSTRACT, Figs. 3, 4, 10, 13, 14, paragraphs 0005 – 0006, 0203, 0206), wherein the system of Prabhakar, would have incorporated
method and apparatus for selecting network slice admission control function of Hong (Hong, Figs. 4/s401, 8/s804, 11/s1105, paragraphs 0033, 0067, 0069, 0125) for network slicing technology allows operators to provide various customized networks, for example, providing networks with different requirements on functionality, or having differences in performance requirements (e.g., requirements like latency, mobility, availability, reliability and data rate bandwidth and so on), or network functionality is only available to specific users (Hong, paragraph 0003).
Both Prabhakar and Hong discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the controller circuitry is configured to forgo performing the perform network slice admission control.
but, does not disclose, forgoing performing network slice admission control.
Kedalagudde teaches, user equipment UE onboarding and remote provisioning for non-public networks NPNs. The embodiments allow UEs to get network connectivity to an onboarding server and/or onboarding NPN so that the UEs can be provisioned with subscription credentials and configuration information for establishing connectivity with the NPN (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 3, 8, 11, paragraphs 0005, 0006).
The architecture and mechanisms to support UE onboarding and provisioning for NPNs include: means for a UE, that is verifiably secure and uniquely identifiable to 5GS, for onboarding and remote provisioning; and support of exposure via APIs to support UE onboarding and remote provisioning (paragraph 0008).
The NSSF 629 also determines an AMF set to be used to serve the UE 601, or a list of candidate AMFs 621 based on a suitable configuration and possibly by querying the NRF 625. The selection of a set of network slice instances for the UE 601 may be triggered by the AMF 621 with which the UE 601 is registered by interacting with the NSSF 629; this may lead to a change of AMF 621 (paragraph 0151). A hypervisor 1102 may be executed to provide an execution environment for one or more network slices/sub-slices to utilize the hardware resources 1100 (Fig. 11/1102, paragraph 0194).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the mobile device UE may access standalone non-public networks SNPNs in various different locations as equivalent SNPNs eSNPNs corresponding to a home SNPN of the device of combined Prabhakar and Hong (combined Prabhakar and Hong, ABSTRACT, Figs. 3, 4, 10, 13, 14, paragraphs 0005 – 0006, 0203, 0206), wherein the system of combined Prabhakar and Hong, would have incorporated Kedalagudde teaches, user equipment UE onboarding and remote provisioning for non-public networks NPNs of Kedalagudde (Kedalagudde ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 3, 8, 11, paragraphs 0008, 0151, 0194) for the technical field of wireless communications and communication networks, and in particular to service and feature requirements applicable to mobile and fixed communications technology requirements for non-public networks (Kedalagudde, paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 4, Prabhakar discloses,
a User Equipment UE (a mobile device UE may access standalone non-public networks SNPNs in various different locations as equivalent SNPNs eSNPNs corresponding to a home SNPN of the device – Figs. 1/106F, 2/106, 3. The device may obtain a list of eSNPNs corresponding to the home SNPN, and may access a second SNPN at a location different from a location of the home SNPN, in response to identifying the second SNPN and the list including the second SNPN as an eSNPN corresponding to the home SNPN of the device. The eSNPNs may include roaming eSNPNs ReSNPNs for accessing an enterprise NPN globally and/or at various different locations. The eSNPN/ReSNPN list may be maintained in a new network identifier management function NMF. NPNs may be implemented as network slice instances NSIs via identifying data in the single network slice selection assistance information S-NSSAI. Multiple credentialed SNPNs of a UE may be prioritized for access by the UE – ABSTRACT, Figs. 3, 4, 10, 13, 14, paragraphs 0005 – 0006, 0203, 0206), comprising:
transmission and reception circuitry (radio circuitry 330 along with antenna 335a and 335b – Fig.3) configured to
“transmit, to a core network apparatus, a registration request message” including a 5th Generation System 5GS registration type Information Element IE “indicating a Stand-alone Non-Public Network SNPN onboarding registration” (when the UE is registering in or on an SNPN. The UE may send a registration request RR to the AMF servicing the SNPN, with the RR including the necessary credentials – Figs. 10/1004, 13/1302, paragraphs 0203, 0206),
wherein:
the core network apparatus supports network slice admission control (NPNs may be implemented as network slice instances NSIs via identifying data in the single network slice selection assistance information S-NSSAI – ABSTRACT, Figs. 3, 4, 10, 13, 14, paragraphs 0005 – 0006, 0203, 0206),
but, does not disclose, the network slice admission control has a function of controlling a number of registered User Equipment UEs per network slice.
Hong teaches, method and apparatus for selecting network slice admission control function.
A network slice can support a limited number of User Equipments UEs using the network slice simultaneously and a limited number of concurrent sessions. In order to support controlling of the number of terminals and Protocol Data Unit PDU sessions for the network slice, Network Slice Admission Control Function NSACF is introduced in the 5G communication system. For network slices subject to Network Slice Admission Control NSAC, NSACF monitors and controls the number of registered UEs per network slice and the number of PDU sessions per network slice (Figs. 4/s401, 8/s804, 11/s1105, paragraphs 0033, 0067).
When selecting a NSACF for a network slice, it is possible that monitoring and controlling of the number of registered UEs have been started for the network slice. For example, when the UE performs registration, a NSACF has been selected for the network slice to monitor and control the number of registered UEs for the network slice (paragraphs 0069, 0125, 0174).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the mobile device UE may access standalone non-public networks SNPNs in various different locations as equivalent SNPNs eSNPNs corresponding to a home SNPN of the device of Prabhakar (Prabhakar, ABSTRACT, Figs. 3, 4, 10, 13, 14, paragraphs 0005 – 0006, 0203, 0206), wherein the system of Prabhakar, would have incorporated
method and apparatus for selecting network slice admission control function of Hong (Hong, Figs. 4/s401, 8/s804, 11/s1105, paragraphs 0033, 0067, 0069, 0125) for network slicing technology allows operators to provide various customized networks, for example, providing networks with different requirements on functionality, or having differences in performance requirements (e.g., requirements like latency, mobility, availability, reliability and data rate bandwidth and so on), or network functionality is only available to specific users (Hong, paragraph 0003).
Both Prabhakar and Hong discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, a registration request message “including a 5th Generation System 5GS registration type Information Element IE” indicating a Stand-alone Non-Public Network SNPN onboarding registration,
in a case that the UE performs a registration for onboarding services in an SNPN, the core network apparatus forgoes performing network slice admission control.
Kedalagudde teaches, user equipment UE onboarding and remote provisioning for non-public networks NPNs. The embodiments allow UEs to get network connectivity to an onboarding server and/or onboarding NPN so that the UEs can be provisioned with subscription credentials and configuration information for establishing connectivity with the NPN (ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 3, 8, 11, paragraphs 0005, 0006).
The architecture and mechanisms to support UE onboarding and provisioning for NPNs include: means for a UE, that is verifiably secure and uniquely identifiable to 5GS, for onboarding and remote provisioning; and support of exposure via APIs to support UE onboarding and remote provisioning (paragraph 0008).
The NSSF 629 also determines an AMF set to be used to serve the UE 601, or a list of candidate AMFs 621 based on a suitable configuration and possibly by querying the NRF 625. The selection of a set of network slice instances for the UE 601 may be triggered by the AMF 621 with which the UE 601 is registered by interacting with the NSSF 629; this may lead to a change of AMF 621 (paragraph 0151). A hypervisor 1102 may be executed to provide an execution environment for one or more network slices/sub-slices to utilize the hardware resources 1100 (Fig. 11/1102, paragraph 0194).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the mobile device UE may access standalone non-public networks SNPNs in various different locations as equivalent SNPNs eSNPNs corresponding to a home SNPN of the device of combined Prabhakar and Hong (combined Prabhakar and Hong, ABSTRACT, Figs. 3, 4, 10, 13, 14, paragraphs 0005 – 0006, 0203, 0206), wherein the system of combined Prabhakar and Hong, would have incorporated Kedalagudde teaches, user equipment UE onboarding and remote provisioning for non-public networks NPNs of Kedalagudde (Kedalagudde ABSTRACT, Figs. 1 – 3, 8, 11, paragraphs 0008, 0151, 0194) for the technical field of wireless communications and communication networks, and in particular to service and feature requirements applicable to mobile and fixed communications technology requirements for non-public networks (Kedalagudde, paragraph 0002).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/NIMESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642