DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The 1/31/2024 amendment to paragraph [0001] of the specification has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by RICO ALVARINO et al. (US PG Pub. 2017/0332370 A1) hereinafter Rico Alvarino.
Regarding claim 1, Rico Alvarino discloses: A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a network entity, (¶112-113 and Fig. 16 and 17 – UE receives indication from BS)
a switching configuration for an uplink transmission switching for three or more carriers, wherein the switching configuration is associated with: switching one or more uplink transmission chains of the UE from one or more carriers of the three or more carriers within a time period, or switching the one or more uplink transmission chains of the UE to the one or more carriers of the three or more carriers within the time period; and switching the one or more uplink transmission chains of the UE associated with the switching configuration for the uplink transmission switching. (¶0089–¶0096; ¶0108–¶0113; Figs. 11–13 — Describes UE interrupting a first CC to switch to a second CC for SRS, timing/retuning, and adjusting uplink parameters, up to 32 carriers are supported, Fig. 9 and 10 shows three carriers; switching behavior and configuration context across multiple carriers (CA) are covered.)
Regarding claim 2, Rico Alvarino discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the switching configuration permits switching from one carrier within the time period. (¶0096; Fig. 12 — Shows switching from a current carrier to another within a defined symbol/slot period (puncturing several symbols due to a 2-symbol retuning)).
Regarding claim 3, Rico Alvarino discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the switching configuration permits switching to one carrier within the time period. (¶0092–¶0096; Fig. 12 — UE switches “to” a second CC (for SRS) within a time window and then back, illustrating permitted switch-to operations.)
Regarding claim 4, Rico Alvarino discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the time period is one slot or a quantity of consecutive symbols. (¶0096–¶0098; ¶0102–¶0103; Fig. 12 — Explicit examples of retuning times in symbols (e.g., 2 symbols) and slot-level durations; puncturing is shown at symbol granularity.)
Regarding claim 5, Rico Alvarino discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the three or more carriers include three carriers associated with three bands, respectively, or the three or more carriers include three non-contiguous carriers associated with less than three bands. (¶0091–¶0094; Figs. 9–10 — Discusses contiguous vs. non-contiguous CA and inter-band scenarios; supports multi-band and non-contiguous carrier cases. Fig. 9 and 10 shows three carriers.)
Regarding claim 6, Rico Alvarino discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, to the network entity, capability signaling indicating that the UE is capable of switching from two carriers within the time period, or that the UE is capable of switching to the two carriers within the time period. (¶0109–¶0114; Figs. 16–17 — UE receives a query and provides switching capability indication (including supported carriers and switching times) to the BS, an example is provided about switching two carriers.)
Regarding claim 7, Rico Alvarino discloses: The method of claim 6, wherein the switching configuration permits switching from two carriers within the time period associated with the capability signaling. (¶0109–¶0114; Fig. 16 — BS queries capability and configures switching consistent with UE-reported capabilities for specific CA configurations.)
Regarding claim 8, Rico Alvarino discloses: The method of claim 6, wherein the switching configuration permits switching to two carriers within the time period associated with the capability signaling. (¶0109–¶0114; Fig. 17 — Same capability-driven configuration applies to switching-to relationships/times.)
Regarding claim 9, Rico Alvarino discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein one carrier of the three or more carriers is associated with one uplink transmission chain prior to the uplink transmission switching and after the uplink transmission switching. (¶0089–¶0096; ¶0111–¶0113 — UE interrupts a first CC, switches for SRS on another CC, then resumes uplink on the original CC, implying the same chain/carrier association before and after.)
Regarding claim 10, Rico Alvarino discloses: A method of wireless communication performed by a network entity, comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), (¶112-113 and Fig. 16 and 17 – UE receives indication from BS) a switching configuration for an uplink transmission switching at the UE for three or more carriers, wherein the switching configuration is associated with: switching one or more uplink transmission chains of the UE from one or more carriers of the three or more carriers within a time period, or switching the one or more uplink transmission chains of the UE to the one or more carriers of the three or more carriers within the time period; and receiving, from the UE, an uplink transmission associated with the switching configuration for the uplink transmission switching. (¶0089–¶0096; ¶0108–¶0113; Figs. 11–13 — Describes UE interrupting a first CC to switch to a second CC for SRS, timing/retuning, and adjusting uplink parameters, up to 32 carriers are supported, Fig. 9 and 10 shows three carriers; switching behavior and configuration context across multiple carriers (CA) are covered.)
Regarding claim 11, Rico Alvarino discloses: The method of claim 10, wherein: the switching configuration permits switching from one carrier within the time period; (¶0096; Fig. 12 — Shows switching from a current carrier to another within a defined symbol/slot period (puncturing several symbols due to a 2-symbol retuning)) or the switching configuration permits switching to one carrier within the time period. (¶0092–¶0096; Fig. 12 — UE switches “to” a second CC (for SRS) within a time window and then back, illustrating permitted switch-to operations.)
Regarding claim 12, Rico Alvarino discloses: The method of claim 10, wherein the time period is one slot or a quantity of consecutive symbols. (¶0096–¶0098; ¶0102–¶0103; Fig. 12 — Explicit examples of retuning times in symbols (e.g., 2 symbols) and slot-level durations; puncturing is shown at symbol granularity.)
Regarding claim 13, Rico Alvarino discloses: The method of claim 10, further comprising: receiving, from the UE, capability signaling indicating that the UE is capable of switching from two carriers within the time period, or that the UE is capable of switching to the two carriers within the time period. (¶0109–¶0114; Figs. 16–17 — BS receives UE capability signaling (supported carrier pairs and switching times) for one or more CA configurations.)
Regarding claim 14, Rico Alvarino discloses: The method of claim 13, wherein: the switching configuration permits switching from two carriers within the time period associated with the capability signaling; or the switching configuration permits switching to two carriers within the time period associated with the capability signaling. (¶0109–¶0114; Figs. 16–17 — UE receives a query and provides switching capability indication (including supported carriers and switching times) to the BS, an example is provided about switching two carriers.)
Regarding claim 15, Rico Alvarino discloses: The method of claim 10, wherein one carrier of the three or more carriers is associated with one uplink transmission chain prior to the uplink transmission switching and after the uplink transmission switching. (¶0089–¶0096; ¶0111–¶0113 — UE interrupts a first CC, switches for SRS on another CC, then resumes uplink on the original CC, implying the same chain/carrier association before and after.)
Regarding claim 16, Rico Alvarino discloses: An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a first interface configured to receive, from a network entity, (¶112-113 and Fig. 16 and 17 – UE receives indication from BS) a switching configuration for an uplink transmission switching at the UE for three or more carriers, wherein the switching configuration is associated with: switching one or more uplink transmission chains of the UE from one or more carriers of the three or more carriers within a time period, or switching the one or more uplink transmission chains of the UE to the one or more carriers of the three or more carriers within the time period; and a processing system configured to switch the one or more uplink transmission chains of the UE associated with the switching configuration for the uplink transmission switching. (¶0089–¶0096; ¶0108–¶0113; Figs. 11–13 — Describes UE interrupting a first CC to switch to a second CC for SRS, timing/retuning, and adjusting uplink parameters, up to 32 carriers are supported, Fig. 9 and 10 shows three carriers; switching behavior and configuration context across multiple carriers (CA) are covered.)
Regarding claim 17, Rico Alvarino discloses: The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the switching configuration permits switching from one carrier within the time period. (¶0096; Fig. 12 — Shows switching from a current carrier to another within a defined symbol/slot period (puncturing several symbols due to a 2-symbol retuning)).
Regarding claim 18, Rico Alvarino discloses: The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the switching configuration permits switching to one carrier within the time period. (¶0092–¶0096; Fig. 12 — UE switches “to” a second CC (for SRS) within a time window and then back, illustrating permitted switch-to operations.)
Regarding claim 19, Rico Alvarino discloses: The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the time period is one slot or a quantity of consecutive symbols. (¶0096–¶0098; ¶0102–¶0103; Fig. 12 — Explicit examples of retuning times in symbols (e.g., 2 symbols) and slot-level durations; puncturing is shown at symbol granularity.)
Regarding claim 20, Rico Alvarino discloses: The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the three or more carriers include three carriers associated with three bands, respectively, or the three or more carriers include three non-contiguous carriers associated with less than three bands. (¶0091–¶0094; Figs. 9–10 — Discusses contiguous vs. non-contiguous CA and inter-band scenarios; supports multi-band and non-contiguous carrier cases. Fig. 9 and 10 shows three carriers.)
Regarding claim 21, Rico Alvarino discloses: The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the first interface or a second interface is configured to: output, to the network entity, capability signaling indicating that the UE is capable of switching from two carriers within the time period, or that the UE is capable of switching to the two carriers within the time period. (¶0109–¶0114; Figs. 16–17 — UE receives a query and provides switching capability indication (including supported carriers and switching times) to the BS, an example is provided about switching two carriers.)
Regarding claim 22, Rico Alvarino discloses: The apparatus of claim 21, wherein the switching configuration permits switching from two carriers within the time period associated with the capability signaling. (¶0109–¶0114; Fig. 16 — BS queries capability and configures switching consistent with UE-reported capabilities for specific CA configurations.)
Regarding claim 23, Rico Alvarino discloses: The apparatus of claim 21, wherein the switching configuration permits switching to two carriers within the time period associated with the capability signaling. (¶0109–¶0114; Fig. 17 — Same capability-driven configuration applies to switching-to relationships/times.)
Regarding claim 24, Rico Alvarino discloses: The apparatus of claim 16, wherein one carrier of the three or more carriers is associated with one uplink transmission chain prior to the uplink transmission switching and after the uplink transmission switching. (¶0089–¶0096; ¶0111–¶0113 — UE interrupts a first CC, switches for SRS on another CC, then resumes uplink on the original CC, implying the same chain/carrier association before and after.)
Regarding claim 25, Rico Alvarino discloses: An apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: a first interface configured to output, to a user equipment (UE), (¶112-113 and Fig. 16 and 17 – UE receives indication from BS) a switching configuration for an uplink transmission switching at the UE for three or more carriers, wherein the switching configuration is associated with: switching one or more uplink transmission chains of the UE from one or more carriers of the three or more carriers within a time period, or switching the one or more uplink transmission chains of the UE to the one or more carriers of the three or more carriers within the time period; and the first interface or a second interface configured to obtain, from the UE, an uplink transmission associated with the switching configuration for the uplink transmission switching. (¶0089–¶0096; ¶0108–¶0113; Figs. 11–13 — Describes UE interrupting a first CC to switch to a second CC for SRS, timing/retuning, and adjusting uplink parameters, up to 32 carriers are supported, Fig. 9 and 10 shows three carriers; switching behavior and configuration context across multiple carriers (CA) are covered.)
Regarding claim 26, Rico Alvarino discloses: The apparatus of claim 25, wherein: the switching configuration permits switching from one carrier within the time period; or the switching configuration permits switching to one carrier within the time period.
Regarding claim 27, Rico Alvarino discloses: The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the time period is one slot or a quantity of consecutive symbols. (¶0096–¶0098; ¶0102–¶0103; Fig. 12 — Explicit examples of retuning times in symbols (e.g., 2 symbols) and slot-level durations; puncturing is shown at symbol granularity.)
Regarding claim 28, Rico Alvarino discloses: The apparatus of claim 25, wherein the first interface or the second interface is further configured to: obtain, from the UE, capability signaling indicating that the UE is capable of switching from two carriers within the time period, or that the UE is capable of switching to the two carriers within the time period. (¶0109–¶0114; Figs. 16–17 — UE receives a query and provides switching capability indication (including supported carriers and switching times) to the BS, an example is provided about switching two carriers.)
Regarding claim 29, Rico Alvarino discloses: The apparatus of claim 28, wherein: the switching configuration permits switching from two carriers within the time period associated with the capability signaling; (¶0109–¶0114; Fig. 16 — BS queries capability and configures switching consistent with UE-reported capabilities for specific CA configurations.) or the switching configuration permits switching to two carriers within the time period associated with the capability signaling. (¶0109–¶0114; Fig. 17 — Same capability-driven configuration applies to switching-to relationships/times.)
Regarding claim 30, Rico Alvarino discloses: The apparatus of claim 25, wherein one carrier of the three or more carriers is associated with one uplink transmission chain prior to the uplink transmission switching and after the uplink transmission switching. (¶0089–¶0096; ¶0111–¶0113 — UE interrupts a first CC, switches for SRS on another CC, then resumes uplink on the original CC, implying the same chain/carrier association before and after.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210306916A1- Transmission chain switching across carriers; switching duration; multiple carriers
US 20170290015A1 - Uplink primary carrier switching; capability signaling; network configuration
US 10721734B2 - version of Rank 2; validated uplink carrier switching
US 10455558B2 Carrier switching capability information; switching time details
US 20170332370A1 - UE-side switching capability framework
US 10993213B2 - Explicitly supports K≥3 carriers; asymmetric uplink CA control
US 20170171848A1 - Secondary carrier configuration; multiple carrier control
US 20200336892A1 - CA capability signaling for separate operations on multiple CCs
US 10880913B2 - RRC signaling for uplink carrier configuration
US 9119211B2 - RF chain management; carrier deactivation/switching
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
NICHOLAS JENSEN
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472