DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response/communication filed 4/30/2026.
No claims have been cancelled.
No claims have been added.
Claims(s) 1-30 is/are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS(s)) submitted on 4/30/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 9-12 of the remarks, in regard to claims 1 and 15, the Applicant disagrees with the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansson et al. US 20220279385 in view of Arzelier et al. US 20180220373.
Specifically, the Applicant remarks:
Issue #1a:
“First, claim 1 warrants that the process involves sending an AT command from the UE's application processor to its modem, instructing the modem to send unsolicited result codes upon receiving pause or resume commands related to application-level measurement data. This AT command isn't just a basic command between the application processor and the modem; it's specifically designed to trigger unsolicited responses. Johansson's AT command differs: as disclosed in ,i [0019], it is a standard control command that prompts immediate action, such as stopping a process, and returns a response. Unlike the claimed command, which configures the modem to generate unsolicited result codes upon pause or resume events associated with application data, Johansson neither discloses nor suggests modifying modem behavior to enable event-driven, asynchronous reporting of unsolicited response codes triggered by application-layer conditions. Therefore, it fails to teach or suggest the claimed functionality.
Issue #1b:
“Also, Johansson's AT command is configured to operate in a different direction. For example, as described in ,i [0160], Johansson's AT command ''comprising or representing the stop control message 820'' is the stop message sent from the modem/ AS to the application. Claim 1 requires that the AT command flow from the AP to the modem to configure the modem. This may also be considered an opposite flow that Arzelier also does not address.
Issue #1c:
“Next, Claim 1 requires a two-stage setup: configuration followed by reaction. That is, claim 1 requires a setup feature of ''sending from an application processor of the UE to a modem of the UE an attention (AT) command to configure the modem'' and then ''to send an unsolicited result code in response to receiving a pause command or a resume command related to sending of application level measurement information being gathered by the UE'' as recited in independent claim 1. The setup feature is performed before the pause event. The AP preconfigures the modem so that, upon receipt of a network pause, the modem emits the unsolicited response codes. Johansson, at best, discloses only the secondary, reactive part and not the setup. For example, Johansson, in ,i [0165], shows that the RRC configuration is from the RAN, not an AP-to-modem configuration. Johansson is a RAN-driven configuration and not an AP-drive one.
Issue #1d:
“Arzelier does not teach or suggest an AT command for unsolicited result codes in response to network pause/resume commands for application measurement reporting. The modem does not receive such pause commands from the network. Instead, it autonomously assesses coverage and battery conditions based on preconfigured rules and, if enabled, applies state changes to the application. This signaling architecture is different from the AT command in independent claim 1.”
Issue #1e:
“Even if Arzelier's application-to-modem AT command capability were hypothetically combined with Johansson's QoE measurement framework, it would not produce the AT command in claim 1. Such a combination would only configure the modem to notify the application of coverage changes, which is Arzelier's AT command function. It would not result in an AT command that sends an unsolicited result code in response to a network pause command for gathering measurement info, as required by independent claim 1. Since the prior art does not disclose the claimed arrangement, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 cannot be upheld, as all claim features must be considered.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner notes:
With regards to issue #1a above:
Johnsson et al. teaches “The application layer sends AT command including streaming indication to access stratum” (table after para. 0208), where “sends AT command” is associated with “that a recording session has been started” which is further supported by “The OAM system is able to decide if the ongoing QoE measurement collection needs modification” which is considered as associated with modem operation, where Johnsson et al. teaching is considered counter to the Applicant’s argument.
Furthermore, the claim does not teach, “neither discloses nor suggests modifying modem behavior to enable event-driven, asynchronous reporting”, therefore the Applicant’s arguments with regards to this phrase is considered as moot.
With regards to issue #1b above:
See the arguments with regards to issue #1a above.
With regards to issue #1c above:
See the arguments with regards to issue #1a above.
With regards to issue #1d above:
Arzelier et al. teaches, “In some implementations, the network can force the device to apply transmission restrictions” (para. 0135), where the “transmission restrictions” are forced by “the network”, which is counter to Applicant’s argument.
With regards to issue #1e above:
See the arguments with regards to issue #1d above.
On page 12 of the remarks, in regard to the dependent claims, the Applicant states that the claims are allowable at least due to the deficiencies of the ground of rejection applied to the independent claims.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner kindly refers the Applicant to the reasoning pertaining to the independent claims, detailed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansson et al. US 20220279385 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 2/11/2026) in view of Arzelier et al. US 20180220373 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 2/11/2026).
As to claim 1:
Johansson et al. discloses:
A method for managing data measurement reporting performed by a user
equipment (UE), comprising:
…
receiving a pause command from a network element while the UE is sending to the network element the application level measurement information being gathered by the UE;
(“The modified signaling may comprise the stop control message 808 transmitted 806 from the RAN node 200 to the UE 100”; Johansson et al.; 0146)
(“The application layer 120 performs 722 the QoE measurements, which includes storing (i.e., collecting) results of the QoE measurements.”; Johansson et al.; 0135)
(“The results are reported 724 from the application layer 120, e.g., a container 726. The results are received at the access stratum layer 110 and transmitted 730 in a measurement report 732 (also briefly: report) to the RAN node 200.”; Johansson et al.; 0136)
(where
“stop control message 808 transmitted 806 from the RAN node 200 to the UE 100” maps to “receiving a pause command from a network element”,
“application layer 120 performs 722 the QoE measurements, which includes storing (i.e., collecting) results of the QoE measurements”/”results are reported 724 from the application layer 120”/”UE 100” maps to “while the UE is sending to the network element the application level measurement information being gathered by the UE”
sending from the modem to the application processor an unsolicited result code comprising a pause indication or instruction to temporarily pause sending of the application level measurement information in response to the received pause command…; and
(“In yet another embodiment, the AT command comprising or representing the stop control message 820 (e.g., in step 4 of FIG. 8A)”; Johansson et al.; 0160)
(“This command allows control of the application level measurement configuration according to 3GPP TS 25.331 [74] and 3GPP TS 36.331 [86]. The set command controls the presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC: <app-meas_service_type>, <start-stop_reporting>, [, <app-meas_config_file_length>, <app-meas_config-file>] providing data for the configuration. Refer subclause 9.2 for possible <err> values. Read command returns the current value of <n>.”; Johansson et al.; 0165)
(“For example, the UE 100 starts to perform or continues 824A to perform the QoE measurements at the radio device 100 after or responsive to receiving the stop control message 808. The UE 100 stores 824B results of the QoE measurements at the UE 100. The UE 100 stops 824C the reporting of the results of the QoE measurements to or through the RAN 200, e.g., the UE stops the reporting temporarily.”; Johansson et al.; 0147)
(where
“, the AT command comprising or representing the stop control message 820”/” unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC”/”stop_reporting”/” the UE stops the reporting temporarily”/”The UE 100 stops 824C the reporting of the results of the QoE measurements to or through the RAN 200, e.g., the UE stops the reporting temporarily” FIG. 8A maps to “sending from the modem to the application processor an unsolicited result code comprising a pause indication or instruction to temporarily pause sending of the application level measurement information in response to the received pause command…”
pausing sending of the application level measurement information by the modem in response to the pause command.
(where
“The UE 100 stops 824C the reporting of the results of the QoE measurements to or through the RAN 200, e.g., the UE stops the reporting temporarily.”/FIG. 8A Maps to “pausing sending of the application level measurement information by the modem in response to the pause command”
Johansson et al. teaches while reporting QoE measurements an Access Stratum receives a stop reporting message from a RAN node and the Access Stratum sending an AT command with an unsolicited result code to an Application, where the Application temporarily stops reporting.
Johansson et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
sending from an application processor of the UE to a modem of the UE an
attention (AT) command to configure the modem to send an unsolicited result code in response to receiving a pause command or … related to sending of application level measurement information being gathered by the UE;
and the AT command
However, Arzelier et al. further teaches a AT command/received signal code power (RSCP)/restriction/application/modem capability which includes:
sending from an application processor of the UE to a modem of the UE an attention (AT) command to configure the modem to send an unsolicited result code in response to receiving a pause command or … related to sending of application level measurement information being gathered by the UE;
and the AT command
(“FIG. 4 is a flow diagram 400 illustrating solution 2 for controlling data transmission in enhanced coverage states according to some implementations. The flow diagram 400 includes an application 202 and a modem 204 at a device. The modem 204 has knowledge of the radio coverage condition for the device (e.g., the currently applicable CE mode/level or coverage class, radio signal strength or quality such as RSSI, RSCP, or RSRP, a number of repetitions for data transmission, or other radio link information). The application 202 can send an instruction 406 to the modem 204 to instruct the modem 204 to transmit data under certain conditions. The instruction 406 can include any conditions for transmission restrictions, and parameters associated with the conditions for transmission restrictions. For example, the application 202 may instruct the modem 204 not to send data if a device/modem CE level/mode or coverage class is one in a set of predefined CE levels/modes or coverage classes, if a number of data repetitions is above a predefined repetition threshold, a signal strength at the device is below a predefined signal strength threshold, or a signal quality at the device is below a predefined signal quality threshold. For instance, the application 202 can instruct the modem 204 not to send data if the modem/device is in enhanced coverage level 1, 2, or 3. In some implementations, the application 202 can also send data 408 to the modem 204 so that the modem 204 will apply transmission restrictions on the data 408. The instruction 406 and the data 408 can use AT commands or other APIs.”; Arzelier et al.; 0060)
(…The modem 204 has knowledge of the radio coverage condition for the device (e.g., the currently applicable CE mode/level or coverage class, radio signal strength or quality such as received signal strength indicator (RSSI), received signal code power (RSCP), or RSRP, a number of repetitions for data transmission, or other radio link information). The application 202 can send a query 206 to the modem 204 for information or status of the radio coverage condition. Based on the status report 208 from the modem 204, the application 202 determines whether to send uplink data or not….”; Arzelier et al.; 0047)
(“In some implementations, the query 206 and status report 208 can be an attention (AT) command and response (see 3GPP TS 27.007), respectively. The AT commands and responses enable sending information or instructions between application (i.e. terminal equipment (TE)) and modem (i.e. Mobile Terminal (MT)), through a terminal adaptor (TA). Responses can be triggered following AT commands (one response to each received AT command), or unsolicited (e.g., activated and/or configured by an AT command; multiple responses can be sent corresponding to that AT command, and a response is sent every time the information at the modem changes or other conditions, that may have been configured by the AT command, are satisfied at the modem). In some cases, AT responses are also called AT commands. The query 206 and status report 208 can also use other application programming interfaces (APIs) instead of AT command/response.”; Arzelier et al.; 0048)
(“…As discussed above, block 302 is optional if the application subscribes or registers to the modem 204 for receiving unsolicited responses of coverage level change or radio coverage condition change…”; Arzelier et al.; 0055)
(“FIG. 23 is a schematic illustrating an example UE device 2300 according to some implementations. The example device 2300 includes a processing unit 2302, a computer-readable storage medium 2304 (for example, ROM or flash memory), a wireless communication subsystem 2306, an interface 2308, and an I/O interface 2310. The processing unit 2302 can include one or more processing components (alternatively referred to as “processors” or “central processing units” (CPUs)) configured to execute instructions related to one or more of the processes”; Arzelier et al.; 0168)
(“For solution 2, the application can send an instruction and related data to the modem. For example, the instruction can be “send this data (1) if the modem is not in an enhanced coverage state or (2) if the modem is in an enhanced coverage state and the battery level is above 80% or below 5%.” The modem can send a query to the operating system, device interface, or battery sensor for battery level information. Based on the battery level information from the operating system, device interface, or battery sensor and the instruction from the application, the modem will apply transmission restrictions accordingly.”; Arzelier et al.; 0127)
(“…For example, the application can instruct the modem to apply a transmission restriction on data from port 0 for one hour if the device is in enhanced coverage level 1, 2, or 3 and the device is moving, and the modem will apply the transmission restriction accordingly.”; Arzelier et al.; 0134)
(where
“The application 202 can send an instruction 406 to the modem 204 to instruct the modem 204 to transmit data under certain conditions. The instruction 406 can include any conditions for transmission restrictions, and parameters associated with the conditions for transmission restrictions”/”The instruction 406 and the data 408 can use AT commands”/”Responses can be triggered following AT commands (one response to each received AT command), or unsolicited (e.g., activated and/or configured by an AT command”/”received signal code power (RSCP)”/”the application subscribes or registers to the modem 204 for receiving unsolicited responses of coverage level change or radio coverage condition change”/”AT commands and responses enable sending information or instructions between application (i.e. terminal equipment (TE)) and modem (i.e. Mobile Terminal (MT)”/”restriction on data from port 0 for one hour if the device is in enhanced coverage level”/”Based on the battery level information from the operating system, device interface, or battery sensor and the instruction from the application, the modem will apply transmission restrictions” maps to “sending from an application processor of the UE to a modem of the UE an attention (AT) command to configure the modem to send an unsolicited result code in response to receiving a pause command or … related to sending of application level measurement information being gathered by the UE”, where “application 202 can send an instruction 406 to the modem 204 to instruct the modem 204”/”terminal equipment (TE)”/”UE device 2300 includes a processing unit 2302” maps to “sending from an application processor of the UE to a modem of the UE”, “AT commands” maps to “attention (AT) command”, “configured” maps to “configure”, “unsolicited (e.g., activated and/or configured by an AT command”/”received signal code power (RSCP)”/”the application subscribes or registers to the modem 204 for receiving unsolicited responses” maps to “unsolicited result code”, “received signal code power (RSCP)” maps to “code”, FIG. 4 illustrates “in response”, “transmission restrictions” maps to “pause command”, where “restrictions” maps to “pause”, “restriction on data from port 0 for one hour if the device is in enhanced coverage level”/”Based on the battery level information from the operating system, device interface, or battery sensor and the instruction from the application, the modem will apply transmission restrictions” maps to “application level measurement information being gathered by the UE”
FIG. 9/FIG. 10 teaches “and the AT command”
Arzelier et al. teaches an application communicating an AT command configuration to a modem for performing restriction of data communication based on coverage level and battery level, where based upon the AT command configuration unsolicited responses can be received from a modem based on changes in coverage level.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the AT command/received signal code power (RSCP)/restriction/application/modem capability of Arzelier et al. into Johansson et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Johansson et al. to include the AT command/received signal code power (RSCP)/restriction/application/modem capability as taught by the processing/communications of Arzelier et al., the benefits of improved power consumption (Ye et al.; 0016) with improved efficiency (Wu et al.; 0240) are achieved.
As to claim 2:
Johansson et al. discloses:
wherein the unsolicited result code comprising the pause indication or instruction comprises an indication or instruction to temporarily pause sending of at least a subset of all application level measurement information in response to the received pause command and the AT command.
(see FIG. 8A)
As to claim 3:
Johansson et al. discloses:
wherein the unsolicited result code comprising the pause indication or instruction comprises an indication or instruction to temporarily pause gathering of at least a subset of all application level measurement information in response to the received pause command and the AT command.
(“2 QoE measurement collection for MTSI services [0174] <start-stop_reporting>”; Johansson et al.; 0173-0174).
As to claim 4:
Johansson et al. discloses:
wherein the unsolicited result code comprising the pause
indication or instruction includes an indication of an application service instance providing the application level measurement information in accordance with
information in an application measurement configuration file.
(“This command allows control of the application level measurement configuration according to 3GPP TS 25.331 [74] and 3GPP TS 36.331 [86]. The set command controls the presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC: <app-meas_service_type>, <start-stop_reporting>, [, <app-meas_config_file_length>, <app-meas_config-file>] providing data for the configuration. Refer subclause 9.2 for possible <err> values. Read command returns the current value of <n>.”; Johansson et al.; 0165).
As to claim 5:
Johansson et al. discloses:
wherein the unsolicited result code comprising the pause
indication or instruction further includes an indication of an application service type associated with the application service instance.
(“This command allows control of the application level measurement configuration according to 3GPP TS 25.331 [74] and 3GPP TS 36.331 [86]. The set command controls the presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC: <app-meas_service_type>, <start-stop_reporting>, [, <app-meas_config_file_length>, <app-meas_config-file>] providing data for the configuration. Refer subclause 9.2 for possible <err> values. Read command returns the current value of <n>.”; Johansson et al.; 0165).
(“Defined Values [0168] <n>: integer type. Disable and enable presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC to the TE. [0169] 0 Disable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0170] 1 Enable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0171] <app-meas_service_type>: integer type. Contains the indication of what application that is target for the application level measurement configuration. [0172] 1 QoE measurement collection for streaming services [0173] 2 QoE measurement collection for MTSI services [0174] <start-stop_reporting>: integer type. Indicates the start and stop of the application level measurement reporting for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. [0175] 0 start the application level measurement reporting [0176] 1 stop the application level measurement reporting and discard any collected measurements, delete the measurement configuration [0177] 2 temporarily stop application level measurement reporting, continue application measurement collection and store the last x reports [0178] <app-meas_config_file_length>: integer type. Indicates the number of octets of the <app-meas_config-file> parameter. [0179] <app-meas_config-file>: string of octets. Contains the application level measurement configuration file for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. The parameter shall not be subject to conventional character conversion as per +CSCS.”; Johansson et al.; 0167-0179)
As to claim 6:
Johansson et al. discloses:
wherein the AT command includes an indication of whether to enable presentation of the unsolicited result code by the modem of the UE to the application processor of the UE.
(“This command allows control of the application level measurement configuration according to 3GPP TS 25.331 [74] and 3GPP TS 36.331 [86]. The set command controls the presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC: <app-meas_service_type>, <start-stop_reporting>, [, <app-meas_config_file_length>, <app-meas_config-file>] providing data for the configuration. Refer subclause 9.2 for possible <err> values. Read command returns the current value of <n>.”; Johansson et al.; 0165).
(“Defined Values [0168] <n>: integer type. Disable and enable presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC to the TE. [0169] 0 Disable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0170] 1 Enable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0171] <app-meas_service_type>: integer type. Contains the indication of what application that is target for the application level measurement configuration. [0172] 1 QoE measurement collection for streaming services [0173] 2 QoE measurement collection for MTSI services [0174] <start-stop_reporting>: integer type. Indicates the start and stop of the application level measurement reporting for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. [0175] 0 start the application level measurement reporting [0176] 1 stop the application level measurement reporting and discard any collected measurements, delete the measurement configuration [0177] 2 temporarily stop application level measurement reporting, continue application measurement collection and store the last x reports [0178] <app-meas_config_file_length>: integer type. Indicates the number of octets of the <app-meas_config-file> parameter. [0179] <app-meas_config-file>: string of octets. Contains the application level measurement configuration file for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. The parameter shall not be subject to conventional character conversion as per +CSCS.”; Johansson et al.; 0167-0179)
As to claim 7:
Johansson et al. discloses:
wherein the unsolicited result code comprising the pause indication or instruction includes an indication or instruction to the application processor to continue to gather application level measurement information and to store gathered application level measurement information according to configuration
information in an application layer memory.
(“This command allows control of the application level measurement configuration according to 3GPP TS 25.331 [74] and 3GPP TS 36.331 [86]. The set command controls the presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC: <app-meas_service_type>, <start-stop_reporting>, [, <app-meas_config_file_length>, <app-meas_config-file>] providing data for the configuration. Refer subclause 9.2 for possible <err> values. Read command returns the current value of <n>.”; Johansson et al.; 0165).
(“Defined Values [0168] <n>: integer type. Disable and enable presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC to the TE. [0169] 0 Disable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0170] 1 Enable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0171] <app-meas_service_type>: integer type. Contains the indication of what application that is target for the application level measurement configuration. [0172] 1 QoE measurement collection for streaming services [0173] 2 QoE measurement collection for MTSI services [0174] <start-stop_reporting>: integer type. Indicates the start and stop of the application level measurement reporting for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. [0175] 0 start the application level measurement reporting [0176] 1 stop the application level measurement reporting and discard any collected measurements, delete the measurement configuration [0177] 2 temporarily stop application level measurement reporting, continue application measurement collection and store the last x reports [0178] <app-meas_config_file_length>: integer type. Indicates the number of octets of the <app-meas_config-file> parameter. [0179] <app-meas_config-file>: string of octets. Contains the application level measurement configuration file for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. The parameter shall not be subject to conventional character conversion as per +CSCS.”; Johansson et al.; 0167-0179)
As to claim 8:
Johansson et al. discloses:
receiving a resume command from the network element while sending of
application level measurement information from the UE to the network element is
paused;
sending from the modem to the application processor an unsolicited result code
comprising a resume indication or instruction to resume sending application level
measurement information according to configuration information in response to the
received resume command and the AT command; and
resuming sending application level measurement information by the modem in
response to the resume command.
(see FIG. 8A)
As to claim 9:
Johansson et al. discloses:
the unsolicited result code comprising the resume indication or instruction
includes an indication for the application processor to resume a transfer of application
level measurements to the modem; and
resuming sending application level measurement information in response to the
resume command comprises resuming transfer of application level measurements by
the application processor of the UE to the modem of the UE.
(see FIG. 8A)
As to claim 10:
Johansson et al. discloses:
wherein the unsolicited result code comprising the resume
indication or instruction comprises an indication or instruction to resume sending of at least a subset of all application level measurement information in response to the received resume command and the AT command.
(“This command allows control of the application level measurement configuration according to 3GPP TS 25.331 [74] and 3GPP TS 36.331 [86]. The set command controls the presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC: <app-meas_service_type>, <start-stop_reporting>, [, <app-meas_config_file_length>, <app-meas_config-file>] providing data for the configuration. Refer subclause 9.2 for possible <err> values. Read command returns the current value of <n>.”; Johansson et al.; 0165).
(“Defined Values [0168] <n>: integer type. Disable and enable presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC to the TE. [0169] 0 Disable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0170] 1 Enable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0171] <app-meas_service_type>: integer type. Contains the indication of what application that is target for the application level measurement configuration. [0172] 1 QoE measurement collection for streaming services [0173] 2 QoE measurement collection for MTSI services [0174] <start-stop_reporting>: integer type. Indicates the start and stop of the application level measurement reporting for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. [0175] 0 start the application level measurement reporting [0176] 1 stop the application level measurement reporting and discard any collected measurements, delete the measurement configuration [0177] 2 temporarily stop application level measurement reporting, continue application measurement collection and store the last x reports [0178] <app-meas_config_file_length>: integer type. Indicates the number of octets of the <app-meas_config-file> parameter. [0179] <app-meas_config-file>: string of octets. Contains the application level measurement configuration file for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. The parameter shall not be subject to conventional character conversion as per +CSCS.”; Johansson et al.; 0167-0179)
As to claim 11:
Johansson et al. discloses:
wherein resuming sending of application level
measurement information in response to the resume command comprises transferring
to the modem application level measurement information that is stored in application layer memory.
(see FIG. 8A)
As to claim 12:
Johansson et al. discloses:
wherein the unsolicited result code comprising the resume
indication or instruction includes an indication of an application service instance to resume sending application level measurement information..
(“This command allows control of the application level measurement configuration according to 3GPP TS 25.331 [74] and 3GPP TS 36.331 [86]. The set command controls the presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC: <app-meas_service_type>, <start-stop_reporting>, [, <app-meas_config_file_length>, <app-meas_config-file>] providing data for the configuration. Refer subclause 9.2 for possible <err> values. Read command returns the current value of <n>.”; Johansson et al.; 0165).
(“Defined Values [0168] <n>: integer type. Disable and enable presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC to the TE. [0169] 0 Disable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0170] 1 Enable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0171] <app-meas_service_type>: integer type. Contains the indication of what application that is target for the application level measurement configuration. [0172] 1 QoE measurement collection for streaming services [0173] 2 QoE measurement collection for MTSI services [0174] <start-stop_reporting>: integer type. Indicates the start and stop of the application level measurement reporting for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. [0175] 0 start the application level measurement reporting [0176] 1 stop the application level measurement reporting and discard any collected measurements, delete the measurement configuration [0177] 2 temporarily stop application level measurement reporting, continue application measurement collection and store the last x reports [0178] <app-meas_config_file_length>: integer type. Indicates the number of octets of the <app-meas_config-file> parameter. [0179] <app-meas_config-file>: string of octets. Contains the application level measurement configuration file for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. The parameter shall not be subject to conventional character conversion as per +CSCS.”; Johansson et al.; 0167-0179)
As to claim 13:
Johansson et al. discloses:
wherein the unsolicited result code comprising the resume indication or instruction further includes an indication of an application service type associated with the application service instance.
(“This command allows control of the application level measurement configuration according to 3GPP TS 25.331 [74] and 3GPP TS 36.331 [86]. The set command controls the presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC: <app-meas_service_type>, <start-stop_reporting>, [, <app-meas_config_file_length>, <app-meas_config-file>] providing data for the configuration. Refer subclause 9.2 for possible <err> values. Read command returns the current value of <n>.”; Johansson et al.; 0165).
(“Defined Values [0168] <n>: integer type. Disable and enable presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC to the TE. [0169] 0 Disable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0170] 1 Enable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0171] <app-meas_service_type>: integer type. Contains the indication of what application that is target for the application level measurement configuration. [0172] 1 QoE measurement collection for streaming services [0173] 2 QoE measurement collection for MTSI services [0174] <start-stop_reporting>: integer type. Indicates the start and stop of the application level measurement reporting for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. [0175] 0 start the application level measurement reporting [0176] 1 stop the application level measurement reporting and discard any collected measurements, delete the measurement configuration [0177] 2 temporarily stop application level measurement reporting, continue application measurement collection and store the last x reports [0178] <app-meas_config_file_length>: integer type. Indicates the number of octets of the <app-meas_config-file> parameter. [0179] <app-meas_config-file>: string of octets. Contains the application level measurement configuration file for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. The parameter shall not be subject to conventional character conversion as per +CSCS.”; Johansson et al.; 0167-0179)
As to claim 14:
Johansson et al. discloses:
wherein the unsolicited result code comprising the resume
indication or instruction includes an indication to apply a new application level
measurement configuration file of an application service providing the application
level measurement information.
(“This command allows control of the application level measurement configuration according to 3GPP TS 25.331 [74] and 3GPP TS 36.331 [86]. The set command controls the presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC: <app-meas_service_type>, <start-stop_reporting>, [, <app-meas_config_file_length>, <app-meas_config-file>] providing data for the configuration. Refer subclause 9.2 for possible <err> values. Read command returns the current value of <n>.”; Johansson et al.; 0165).
(“Defined Values [0168] <n>: integer type. Disable and enable presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC to the TE. [0169] 0 Disable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0170] 1 Enable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0171] <app-meas_service_type>: integer type. Contains the indication of what application that is target for the application level measurement configuration. [0172] 1 QoE measurement collection for streaming services [0173] 2 QoE measurement collection for MTSI services [0174] <start-stop_reporting>: integer type. Indicates the start and stop of the application level measurement reporting for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. [0175] 0 start the application level measurement reporting [0176] 1 stop the application level measurement reporting and discard any collected measurements, delete the measurement configuration [0177] 2 temporarily stop application level measurement reporting, continue application measurement collection and store the last x reports [0178] <app-meas_config_file_length>: integer type. Indicates the number of octets of the <app-meas_config-file> parameter. [0179] <app-meas_config-file>: string of octets. Contains the application level measurement configuration file for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. The parameter shall not be subject to conventional character conversion as per +CSCS.”; Johansson et al.; 0167-0179)
As to claim 15:
Johansson et al. discloses:
A user equipment (UE), comprising:
an application processor; and
a modem, wherein:
…
receiving a pause command from a network element while the UE is sending to the network element the application level measurement information being gathered by the UE;
(“The modified signaling may comprise the stop control message 808 transmitted 806 from the RAN node 200 to the UE 100”; Johansson et al.; 0146)
(“The application layer 120 performs 722 the QoE measurements, which includes storing (i.e., collecting) results of the QoE measurements.”; Johansson et al.; 0135)
(“The results are reported 724 from the application layer 120, e.g., a container 726. The results are received at the access stratum layer 110 and transmitted 730 in a measurement report 732 (also briefly: report) to the RAN node 200.”; Johansson et al.; 0136)
(where
“stop control message 808 transmitted 806 from the RAN node 200 to the UE 100” maps to “receiving a pause command from a network element”,
“application layer 120 performs 722 the QoE measurements, which includes storing (i.e., collecting) results of the QoE measurements”/”results are reported 724 from the application layer 120”/”UE 100” maps to “while the UE is sending to the network element the application level measurement information being gathered by the UE”
sending from the modem to the application processor an unsolicited result code comprising a pause indication or instruction to temporarily pause sending of the application level measurement information in response to the received pause command…; and
(“In yet another embodiment, the AT command comprising or representing the stop control message 820 (e.g., in step 4 of FIG. 8A)”; Johansson et al.; 0160)
(“This command allows control of the application level measurement configuration according to 3GPP TS 25.331 [74] and 3GPP TS 36.331 [86]. The set command controls the presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC: <app-meas_service_type>, <start-stop_reporting>, [, <app-meas_config_file_length>, <app-meas_config-file>] providing data for the configuration. Refer subclause 9.2 for possible <err> values. Read command returns the current value of <n>.”; Johansson et al.; 0165)
(“For example, the UE 100 starts to perform or continues 824A to perform the QoE measurements at the radio device 100 after or responsive to receiving the stop control message 808. The UE 100 stores 824B results of the QoE measurements at the UE 100. The UE 100 stops 824C the reporting of the results of the QoE measurements to or through the RAN 200, e.g., the UE stops the reporting temporarily.”; Johansson et al.; 0147)
(where
“, the AT command comprising or representing the stop control message 820”/” unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC”/”stop_reporting”/” the UE stops the reporting temporarily”/”The UE 100 stops 824C the reporting of the results of the QoE measurements to or through the RAN 200, e.g., the UE stops the reporting temporarily” FIG. 8A maps to “sending from the modem to the application processor an unsolicited result code comprising a pause indication or instruction to temporarily pause sending of the application level measurement information in response to the received pause command…”
pausing sending of the application level measurement information by the modem in response to the pause command.
(where
“The UE 100 stops 824C the reporting of the results of the QoE measurements to or through the RAN 200, e.g., the UE stops the reporting temporarily.”/FIG. 8A Maps to “pausing sending of the application level measurement information by the modem in response to the pause command”
Johansson et al. teaches while reporting QoE measurements an Access Stratum receives a stop reporting message from a RAN node and the Access Stratum sending an AT command with an unsolicited result code to an Application, where the Application temporarily stops reporting.
Johansson et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
the application processor is configured to send to the modem an attention (AT)
command to configure the modem to send an unsolicited result code in response to
receiving a pause command or a resume command related to sending of application
level measurement information being gathered by the UE; and
and the AT command
However, Arzelier et al. further teaches a AT command/received signal code power (RSCP)/restriction/application/modem capability which includes:
the application processor is configured to send to the modem an attention (AT)
command to configure the modem to send an unsolicited result code in response to
receiving a pause command or a resume command related to sending of application
level measurement information being gathered by the UE; and
and the AT command
(“FIG. 4 is a flow diagram 400 illustrating solution 2 for controlling data transmission in enhanced coverage states according to some implementations. The flow diagram 400 includes an application 202 and a modem 204 at a device. The modem 204 has knowledge of the radio coverage condition for the device (e.g., the currently applicable CE mode/level or coverage class, radio signal strength or quality such as RSSI, RSCP, or RSRP, a number of repetitions for data transmission, or other radio link information). The application 202 can send an instruction 406 to the modem 204 to instruct the modem 204 to transmit data under certain conditions. The instruction 406 can include any conditions for transmission restrictions, and parameters associated with the conditions for transmission restrictions. For example, the application 202 may instruct the modem 204 not to send data if a device/modem CE level/mode or coverage class is one in a set of predefined CE levels/modes or coverage classes, if a number of data repetitions is above a predefined repetition threshold, a signal strength at the device is below a predefined signal strength threshold, or a signal quality at the device is below a predefined signal quality threshold. For instance, the application 202 can instruct the modem 204 not to send data if the modem/device is in enhanced coverage level 1, 2, or 3. In some implementations, the application 202 can also send data 408 to the modem 204 so that the modem 204 will apply transmission restrictions on the data 408. The instruction 406 and the data 408 can use AT commands or other APIs.”; Arzelier et al.; 0060)
(…The modem 204 has knowledge of the radio coverage condition for the device (e.g., the currently applicable CE mode/level or coverage class, radio signal strength or quality such as received signal strength indicator (RSSI), received signal code power (RSCP), or RSRP, a number of repetitions for data transmission, or other radio link information). The application 202 can send a query 206 to the modem 204 for information or status of the radio coverage condition. Based on the status report 208 from the modem 204, the application 202 determines whether to send uplink data or not….”; Arzelier et al.; 0047)
(“In some implementations, the query 206 and status report 208 can be an attention (AT) command and response (see 3GPP TS 27.007), respectively. The AT commands and responses enable sending information or instructions between application (i.e. terminal equipment (TE)) and modem (i.e. Mobile Terminal (MT)), through a terminal adaptor (TA). Responses can be triggered following AT commands (one response to each received AT command), or unsolicited (e.g., activated and/or configured by an AT command; multiple responses can be sent corresponding to that AT command, and a response is sent every time the information at the modem changes or other conditions, that may have been configured by the AT command, are satisfied at the modem). In some cases, AT responses are also called AT commands. The query 206 and status report 208 can also use other application programming interfaces (APIs) instead of AT command/response.”; Arzelier et al.; 0048)
(“…As discussed above, block 302 is optional if the application subscribes or registers to the modem 204 for receiving unsolicited responses of coverage level change or radio coverage condition change…”; Arzelier et al.; 0055)
(“FIG. 23 is a schematic illustrating an example UE device 2300 according to some implementations. The example device 2300 includes a processing unit 2302, a computer-readable storage medium 2304 (for example, ROM or flash memory), a wireless communication subsystem 2306, an interface 2308, and an I/O interface 2310. The processing unit 2302 can include one or more processing components (alternatively referred to as “processors” or “central processing units” (CPUs)) configured to execute instructions related to one or more of the processes”; Arzelier et al.; 0168)
(“For solution 2, the application can send an instruction and related data to the modem. For example, the instruction can be “send this data (1) if the modem is not in an enhanced coverage state or (2) if the modem is in an enhanced coverage state and the battery level is above 80% or below 5%.” The modem can send a query to the operating system, device interface, or battery sensor for battery level information. Based on the battery level information from the operating system, device interface, or battery sensor and the instruction from the application, the modem will apply transmission restrictions accordingly.”; Arzelier et al.; 0127)
(“…For example, the application can instruct the modem to apply a transmission restriction on data from port 0 for one hour if the device is in enhanced coverage level 1, 2, or 3 and the device is moving, and the modem will apply the transmission restriction accordingly.”; Arzelier et al.; 0134)
(where
“The application 202 can send an instruction 406 to the modem 204 to instruct the modem 204 to transmit data under certain conditions. The instruction 406 can include any conditions for transmission restrictions, and parameters associated with the conditions for transmission restrictions”/”The instruction 406 and the data 408 can use AT commands”/”Responses can be triggered following AT commands (one response to each received AT command), or unsolicited (e.g., activated and/or configured by an AT command”/”received signal code power (RSCP)”/”the application subscribes or registers to the modem 204 for receiving unsolicited responses of coverage level change or radio coverage condition change”/”AT commands and responses enable sending information or instructions between application (i.e. terminal equipment (TE)) and modem (i.e. Mobile Terminal (MT)”/”restriction on data from port 0 for one hour if the device is in enhanced coverage level”/”Based on the battery level information from the operating system, device interface, or battery sensor and the instruction from the application, the modem will apply transmission restrictions” maps to “sending from an application processor of the UE to a modem of the UE an attention (AT) command to configure the modem to send an unsolicited result code in response to receiving a pause command or … related to sending of application level measurement information being gathered by the UE”, where “application 202 can send an instruction 406 to the modem 204 to instruct the modem 204”/”terminal equipment (TE)”/”UE device 2300 includes a processing unit 2302” maps to “sending from an application processor of the UE to a modem of the UE”, “AT commands” maps to “attention (AT) command”, “configured” maps to “configure”, “unsolicited (e.g., activated and/or configured by an AT command”/”received signal code power (RSCP)”/”the application subscribes or registers to the modem 204 for receiving unsolicited responses” maps to “unsolicited result code”, “received signal code power (RSCP)” maps to “code”, FIG. 4 illustrates “in response”, “transmission restrictions” maps to “pause command”, where “restrictions” maps to “pause”, “restriction on data from port 0 for one hour if the device is in enhanced coverage level”/”Based on the battery level information from the operating system, device interface, or battery sensor and the instruction from the application, the modem will apply transmission restrictions” maps to “application level measurement information being gathered by the UE”
FIG. 9/FIG. 10 teaches “and the AT command”
Arzelier et al. teaches an application communicating an AT command configuration to a modem for performing restriction of data communication based on coverage level and battery level, where based upon the AT command configuration unsolicited responses can be received from a modem based on changes in coverage level.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the AT command/received signal code power (RSCP)/restriction/application/modem capability of Arzelier et al. into Johansson et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Johansson et al. to include the AT command/received signal code power (RSCP)/restriction/application/modem capability as taught by the processing/communications of Arzelier et al., the benefits of improved power consumption (Ye et al.; 0016) with improved efficiency (Wu et al.; 0240) are achieved.
As to claim 16:
Johansson et al. discloses:
wherein the unsolicited result code comprising the pause indication or instruction comprises an indication or instruction to temporarily pause sending of at least a subset of all application level measurement information in response to the received pause command and the AT command.
(see FIG. 8A)
As to claim 17:
Johansson et al. discloses:
wherein the unsolicited result code comprising the pause indication or instruction comprises an indication or instruction to temporarily pause gathering of at least a subset of all application level measurement information in response to the received pause command and the AT command.
(“2 QoE measurement collection for MTSI services [0174] <start-stop_reporting>”; Johansson et al.; 0173-0174).
As to claim 18:
Johansson et al. discloses:
wherein the unsolicited result code comprising the pause
indication or instruction includes an indication of an application service instance providing the application level measurement information in accordance with
information in an application measurement configuration file.
(“This command allows control of the application level measurement configuration according to 3GPP TS 25.331 [74] and 3GPP TS 36.331 [86]. The set command controls the presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC: <app-meas_service_type>, <start-stop_reporting>, [, <app-meas_config_file_length>, <app-meas_config-file>] providing data for the configuration. Refer subclause 9.2 for possible <err> values. Read command returns the current value of <n>.”; Johansson et al.; 0165).
As to claim 19:
Johansson et al. discloses:
wherein the unsolicited result code comprising the pause
indication or instruction further includes an indication of an application service type associated with the application service instance.
(“This command allows control of the application level measurement configuration according to 3GPP TS 25.331 [74] and 3GPP TS 36.331 [86]. The set command controls the presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC: <app-meas_service_type>, <start-stop_reporting>, [, <app-meas_config_file_length>, <app-meas_config-file>] providing data for the configuration. Refer subclause 9.2 for possible <err> values. Read command returns the current value of <n>.”; Johansson et al.; 0165).
(“Defined Values [0168] <n>: integer type. Disable and enable presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC to the TE. [0169] 0 Disable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0170] 1 Enable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0171] <app-meas_service_type>: integer type. Contains the indication of what application that is target for the application level measurement configuration. [0172] 1 QoE measurement collection for streaming services [0173] 2 QoE measurement collection for MTSI services [0174] <start-stop_reporting>: integer type. Indicates the start and stop of the application level measurement reporting for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. [0175] 0 start the application level measurement reporting [0176] 1 stop the application level measurement reporting and discard any collected measurements, delete the measurement configuration [0177] 2 temporarily stop application level measurement reporting, continue application measurement collection and store the last x reports [0178] <app-meas_config_file_length>: integer type. Indicates the number of octets of the <app-meas_config-file> parameter. [0179] <app-meas_config-file>: string of octets. Contains the application level measurement configuration file for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. The parameter shall not be subject to conventional character conversion as per +CSCS.”; Johansson et al.; 0167-0179)
As to claim 20:
Johansson et al. discloses:
wherein the AT command includes an indication of whether to enable presentation of the unsolicited result code by the modem of the UE to the application processor of the UE.
(“This command allows control of the application level measurement configuration according to 3GPP TS 25.331 [74] and 3GPP TS 36.331 [86]. The set command controls the presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC: <app-meas_service_type>, <start-stop_reporting>, [, <app-meas_config_file_length>, <app-meas_config-file>] providing data for the configuration. Refer subclause 9.2 for possible <err> values. Read command returns the current value of <n>.”; Johansson et al.; 0165).
(“Defined Values [0168] <n>: integer type. Disable and enable presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC to the TE. [0169] 0 Disable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0170] 1 Enable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0171] <app-meas_service_type>: integer type. Contains the indication of what application that is target for the application level measurement configuration. [0172] 1 QoE measurement collection for streaming services [0173] 2 QoE measurement collection for MTSI services [0174] <start-stop_reporting>: integer type. Indicates the start and stop of the application level measurement reporting for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. [0175] 0 start the application level measurement reporting [0176] 1 stop the application level measurement reporting and discard any collected measurements, delete the measurement configuration [0177] 2 temporarily stop application level measurement reporting, continue application measurement collection and store the last x reports [0178] <app-meas_config_file_length>: integer type. Indicates the number of octets of the <app-meas_config-file> parameter. [0179] <app-meas_config-file>: string of octets. Contains the application level measurement configuration file for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. The parameter shall not be subject to conventional character conversion as per +CSCS.”; Johansson et al.; 0167-0179)
As to claim 21:
Johansson et al. discloses:
wherein the unsolicited result code comprising the pause indication or instruction includes an indication or instruction to the application processor to continue to gather application level measurement information and to store gathered application level measurement information according to configuration
information in an application layer memory.
(“This command allows control of the application level measurement configuration according to 3GPP TS 25.331 [74] and 3GPP TS 36.331 [86]. The set command controls the presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC: <app-meas_service_type>, <start-stop_reporting>, [, <app-meas_config_file_length>, <app-meas_config-file>] providing data for the configuration. Refer subclause 9.2 for possible <err> values. Read command returns the current value of <n>.”; Johansson et al.; 0165).
(“Defined Values [0168] <n>: integer type. Disable and enable presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC to the TE. [0169] 0 Disable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0170] 1 Enable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0171] <app-meas_service_type>: integer type. Contains the indication of what application that is target for the application level measurement configuration. [0172] 1 QoE measurement collection for streaming services [0173] 2 QoE measurement collection for MTSI services [0174] <start-stop_reporting>: integer type. Indicates the start and stop of the application level measurement reporting for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. [0175] 0 start the application level measurement reporting [0176] 1 stop the application level measurement reporting and discard any collected measurements, delete the measurement configuration [0177] 2 temporarily stop application level measurement reporting, continue application measurement collection and store the last x reports [0178] <app-meas_config_file_length>: integer type. Indicates the number of octets of the <app-meas_config-file> parameter. [0179] <app-meas_config-file>: string of octets. Contains the application level measurement configuration file for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. The parameter shall not be subject to conventional character conversion as per +CSCS.”; Johansson et al.; 0167-0179)
As to claim 22:
Johansson et al. discloses:
receiving a resume command from the network element while sending of
application level measurement information from the UE to the network element is
paused;
sending from the modem to the application processor an unsolicited result code
comprising a resume indication or instruction to resume sending application level
measurement information according to configuration information in response to the
received resume command and the AT command; and
resuming sending application level measurement information by the modem in
response to the resume command.
(see FIG. 8A)
As to claim 23:
Johansson et al. discloses:
the unsolicited result code comprising the resume indication or instruction
includes an indication for the application processor to resume a transfer of application
level measurements to the modem; and
resuming sending application level measurement information in response to the
resume command comprises resuming transfer of application level measurements by
the application processor of the UE to the modem of the UE.
(see FIG. 8A)
As to claim 24:
Johansson et al. discloses:
wherein the unsolicited result code comprising the resume
indication or instruction comprises an indication or instruction to resume sending of at least a subset of all application level measurement information in response to the received resume command and the AT command.
(“This command allows control of the application level measurement configuration according to 3GPP TS 25.331 [74] and 3GPP TS 36.331 [86]. The set command controls the presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC: <app-meas_service_type>, <start-stop_reporting>, [, <app-meas_config_file_length>, <app-meas_config-file>] providing data for the configuration. Refer subclause 9.2 for possible <err> values. Read command returns the current value of <n>.”; Johansson et al.; 0165).
(“Defined Values [0168] <n>: integer type. Disable and enable presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC to the TE. [0169] 0 Disable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0170] 1 Enable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0171] <app-meas_service_type>: integer type. Contains the indication of what application that is target for the application level measurement configuration. [0172] 1 QoE measurement collection for streaming services [0173] 2 QoE measurement collection for MTSI services [0174] <start-stop_reporting>: integer type. Indicates the start and stop of the application level measurement reporting for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. [0175] 0 start the application level measurement reporting [0176] 1 stop the application level measurement reporting and discard any collected measurements, delete the measurement configuration [0177] 2 temporarily stop application level measurement reporting, continue application measurement collection and store the last x reports [0178] <app-meas_config_file_length>: integer type. Indicates the number of octets of the <app-meas_config-file> parameter. [0179] <app-meas_config-file>: string of octets. Contains the application level measurement configuration file for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. The parameter shall not be subject to conventional character conversion as per +CSCS.”; Johansson et al.; 0167-0179)
As to claim 25:
Johansson et al. discloses:
wherein resuming sending of application level
measurement information in response to the resume command comprises transferring
to the modem application level measurement information that is stored in application layer memory.
(see FIG. 8A)
As to claim 26:
Johansson et al. discloses:
wherein the unsolicited result code comprising the resume
indication or instruction includes an indication of an application service instance to resume sending application level measurement information..
(“This command allows control of the application level measurement configuration according to 3GPP TS 25.331 [74] and 3GPP TS 36.331 [86]. The set command controls the presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC: <app-meas_service_type>, <start-stop_reporting>, [, <app-meas_config_file_length>, <app-meas_config-file>] providing data for the configuration. Refer subclause 9.2 for possible <err> values. Read command returns the current value of <n>.”; Johansson et al.; 0165).
(“Defined Values [0168] <n>: integer type. Disable and enable presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC to the TE. [0169] 0 Disable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0170] 1 Enable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0171] <app-meas_service_type>: integer type. Contains the indication of what application that is target for the application level measurement configuration. [0172] 1 QoE measurement collection for streaming services [0173] 2 QoE measurement collection for MTSI services [0174] <start-stop_reporting>: integer type. Indicates the start and stop of the application level measurement reporting for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. [0175] 0 start the application level measurement reporting [0176] 1 stop the application level measurement reporting and discard any collected measurements, delete the measurement configuration [0177] 2 temporarily stop application level measurement reporting, continue application measurement collection and store the last x reports [0178] <app-meas_config_file_length>: integer type. Indicates the number of octets of the <app-meas_config-file> parameter. [0179] <app-meas_config-file>: string of octets. Contains the application level measurement configuration file for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. The parameter shall not be subject to conventional character conversion as per +CSCS.”; Johansson et al.; 0167-0179)
As to claim 27:
Johansson et al. discloses:
wherein the unsolicited result code comprising the resume indication or instruction further includes an indication of an application service type associated with the application service instance.
(“This command allows control of the application level measurement configuration according to 3GPP TS 25.331 [74] and 3GPP TS 36.331 [86]. The set command controls the presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC: <app-meas_service_type>, <start-stop_reporting>, [, <app-meas_config_file_length>, <app-meas_config-file>] providing data for the configuration. Refer subclause 9.2 for possible <err> values. Read command returns the current value of <n>.”; Johansson et al.; 0165).
(“Defined Values [0168] <n>: integer type. Disable and enable presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC to the TE. [0169] 0 Disable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0170] 1 Enable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0171] <app-meas_service_type>: integer type. Contains the indication of what application that is target for the application level measurement configuration. [0172] 1 QoE measurement collection for streaming services [0173] 2 QoE measurement collection for MTSI services [0174] <start-stop_reporting>: integer type. Indicates the start and stop of the application level measurement reporting for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. [0175] 0 start the application level measurement reporting [0176] 1 stop the application level measurement reporting and discard any collected measurements, delete the measurement configuration [0177] 2 temporarily stop application level measurement reporting, continue application measurement collection and store the last x reports [0178] <app-meas_config_file_length>: integer type. Indicates the number of octets of the <app-meas_config-file> parameter. [0179] <app-meas_config-file>: string of octets. Contains the application level measurement configuration file for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. The parameter shall not be subject to conventional character conversion as per +CSCS.”; Johansson et al.; 0167-0179)
As to claim 28:
Johansson et al. discloses:
wherein the unsolicited result code comprising the resume
indication or instruction includes an indication to apply a new application level
measurement configuration file of an application service providing the application
level measurement information.
(“This command allows control of the application level measurement configuration according to 3GPP TS 25.331 [74] and 3GPP TS 36.331 [86]. The set command controls the presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC: <app-meas_service_type>, <start-stop_reporting>, [, <app-meas_config_file_length>, <app-meas_config-file>] providing data for the configuration. Refer subclause 9.2 for possible <err> values. Read command returns the current value of <n>.”; Johansson et al.; 0165).
(“Defined Values [0168] <n>: integer type. Disable and enable presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC to the TE. [0169] 0 Disable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0170] 1 Enable presentation of the unsolicited result code [0171] <app-meas_service_type>: integer type. Contains the indication of what application that is target for the application level measurement configuration. [0172] 1 QoE measurement collection for streaming services [0173] 2 QoE measurement collection for MTSI services [0174] <start-stop_reporting>: integer type. Indicates the start and stop of the application level measurement reporting for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. [0175] 0 start the application level measurement reporting [0176] 1 stop the application level measurement reporting and discard any collected measurements, delete the measurement configuration [0177] 2 temporarily stop application level measurement reporting, continue application measurement collection and store the last x reports [0178] <app-meas_config_file_length>: integer type. Indicates the number of octets of the <app-meas_config-file> parameter. [0179] <app-meas_config-file>: string of octets. Contains the application level measurement configuration file for the application indicated by the <app-meas_service_type>. The parameter shall not be subject to conventional character conversion as per +CSCS.”; Johansson et al.; 0167-0179)
As to claim 29:
Johansson et al. discloses:
A user equipment (UE), comprising:
an application processor;
a modem;
…
receiving a pause command from a network element while the UE is sending to the network element the application level measurement information being gathered by the UE;
(“The modified signaling may comprise the stop control message 808 transmitted 806 from the RAN node 200 to the UE 100”; Johansson et al.; 0146)
(“The application layer 120 performs 722 the QoE measurements, which includes storing (i.e., collecting) results of the QoE measurements.”; Johansson et al.; 0135)
(“The results are reported 724 from the application layer 120, e.g., a container 726. The results are received at the access stratum layer 110 and transmitted 730 in a measurement report 732 (also briefly: report) to the RAN node 200.”; Johansson et al.; 0136)
(where
“stop control message 808 transmitted 806 from the RAN node 200 to the UE 100” maps to “receiving a pause command from a network element”,
“application layer 120 performs 722 the QoE measurements, which includes storing (i.e., collecting) results of the QoE measurements”/”results are reported 724 from the application layer 120”/”UE 100” maps to “while the UE is sending to the network element the application level measurement information being gathered by the UE”
sending from the modem to the application processor an unsolicited result code comprising a pause indication or instruction to temporarily pause sending of the application level measurement information in response to the received pause command…; and
(“In yet another embodiment, the AT command comprising or representing the stop control message 820 (e.g., in step 4 of FIG. 8A)”; Johansson et al.; 0160)
(“This command allows control of the application level measurement configuration according to 3GPP TS 25.331 [74] and 3GPP TS 36.331 [86]. The set command controls the presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC: <app-meas_service_type>, <start-stop_reporting>, [, <app-meas_config_file_length>, <app-meas_config-file>] providing data for the configuration. Refer subclause 9.2 for possible <err> values. Read command returns the current value of <n>.”; Johansson et al.; 0165)
(“For example, the UE 100 starts to perform or continues 824A to perform the QoE measurements at the radio device 100 after or responsive to receiving the stop control message 808. The UE 100 stores 824B results of the QoE measurements at the UE 100. The UE 100 stops 824C the reporting of the results of the QoE measurements to or through the RAN 200, e.g., the UE stops the reporting temporarily.”; Johansson et al.; 0147)
(where
“, the AT command comprising or representing the stop control message 820”/” unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC”/”stop_reporting”/” the UE stops the reporting temporarily”/”The UE 100 stops 824C the reporting of the results of the QoE measurements to or through the RAN 200, e.g., the UE stops the reporting temporarily” FIG. 8A maps to “sending from the modem to the application processor an unsolicited result code comprising a pause indication or instruction to temporarily pause sending of the application level measurement information in response to the received pause command…”
pausing sending of the application level measurement information by the modem in response to the pause command.
(where
“The UE 100 stops 824C the reporting of the results of the QoE measurements to or through the RAN 200, e.g., the UE stops the reporting temporarily.”/FIG. 8A Maps to “pausing sending of the application level measurement information by the modem in response to the pause command”
Johansson et al. teaches while reporting QoE measurements an Access Stratum receives a stop reporting message from a RAN node and the Access Stratum sending an AT command with an unsolicited result code to an Application, where the Application temporarily stops reporting.
Johansson et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
means for sending from an application processor of the UE to a modem of the UE an attention (AT) command to configure the modem to send an unsolicited result code in response to receiving a pause command or … related to sending of application level measurement information being gathered by the UE;
and the AT command
However, Arzelier et al. further teaches a AT command/received signal code power (RSCP)/restriction/application/modem capability which includes:
means sending from an application processor of the UE to a modem of the UE an attention (AT) command to configure the modem to send an unsolicited result code in response to receiving a pause command or … related to sending of application level measurement information being gathered by the UE;
and the AT command
(“FIG. 4 is a flow diagram 400 illustrating solution 2 for controlling data transmission in enhanced coverage states according to some implementations. The flow diagram 400 includes an application 202 and a modem 204 at a device. The modem 204 has knowledge of the radio coverage condition for the device (e.g., the currently applicable CE mode/level or coverage class, radio signal strength or quality such as RSSI, RSCP, or RSRP, a number of repetitions for data transmission, or other radio link information). The application 202 can send an instruction 406 to the modem 204 to instruct the modem 204 to transmit data under certain conditions. The instruction 406 can include any conditions for transmission restrictions, and parameters associated with the conditions for transmission restrictions. For example, the application 202 may instruct the modem 204 not to send data if a device/modem CE level/mode or coverage class is one in a set of predefined CE levels/modes or coverage classes, if a number of data repetitions is above a predefined repetition threshold, a signal strength at the device is below a predefined signal strength threshold, or a signal quality at the device is below a predefined signal quality threshold. For instance, the application 202 can instruct the modem 204 not to send data if the modem/device is in enhanced coverage level 1, 2, or 3. In some implementations, the application 202 can also send data 408 to the modem 204 so that the modem 204 will apply transmission restrictions on the data 408. The instruction 406 and the data 408 can use AT commands or other APIs.”; Arzelier et al.; 0060)
(…The modem 204 has knowledge of the radio coverage condition for the device (e.g., the currently applicable CE mode/level or coverage class, radio signal strength or quality such as received signal strength indicator (RSSI), received signal code power (RSCP), or RSRP, a number of repetitions for data transmission, or other radio link information). The application 202 can send a query 206 to the modem 204 for information or status of the radio coverage condition. Based on the status report 208 from the modem 204, the application 202 determines whether to send uplink data or not….”; Arzelier et al.; 0047)
(“In some implementations, the query 206 and status report 208 can be an attention (AT) command and response (see 3GPP TS 27.007), respectively. The AT commands and responses enable sending information or instructions between application (i.e. terminal equipment (TE)) and modem (i.e. Mobile Terminal (MT)), through a terminal adaptor (TA). Responses can be triggered following AT commands (one response to each received AT command), or unsolicited (e.g., activated and/or configured by an AT command; multiple responses can be sent corresponding to that AT command, and a response is sent every time the information at the modem changes or other conditions, that may have been configured by the AT command, are satisfied at the modem). In some cases, AT responses are also called AT commands. The query 206 and status report 208 can also use other application programming interfaces (APIs) instead of AT command/response.”; Arzelier et al.; 0048)
(“…As discussed above, block 302 is optional if the application subscribes or registers to the modem 204 for receiving unsolicited responses of coverage level change or radio coverage condition change…”; Arzelier et al.; 0055)
(“FIG. 23 is a schematic illustrating an example UE device 2300 according to some implementations. The example device 2300 includes a processing unit 2302, a computer-readable storage medium 2304 (for example, ROM or flash memory), a wireless communication subsystem 2306, an interface 2308, and an I/O interface 2310. The processing unit 2302 can include one or more processing components (alternatively referred to as “processors” or “central processing units” (CPUs)) configured to execute instructions related to one or more of the processes”; Arzelier et al.; 0168)
(“For solution 2, the application can send an instruction and related data to the modem. For example, the instruction can be “send this data (1) if the modem is not in an enhanced coverage state or (2) if the modem is in an enhanced coverage state and the battery level is above 80% or below 5%.” The modem can send a query to the operating system, device interface, or battery sensor for battery level information. Based on the battery level information from the operating system, device interface, or battery sensor and the instruction from the application, the modem will apply transmission restrictions accordingly.”; Arzelier et al.; 0127)
(“…For example, the application can instruct the modem to apply a transmission restriction on data from port 0 for one hour if the device is in enhanced coverage level 1, 2, or 3 and the device is moving, and the modem will apply the transmission restriction accordingly.”; Arzelier et al.; 0134)
(where
“The application 202 can send an instruction 406 to the modem 204 to instruct the modem 204 to transmit data under certain conditions. The instruction 406 can include any conditions for transmission restrictions, and parameters associated with the conditions for transmission restrictions”/”The instruction 406 and the data 408 can use AT commands”/”Responses can be triggered following AT commands (one response to each received AT command), or unsolicited (e.g., activated and/or configured by an AT command”/”received signal code power (RSCP)”/”the application subscribes or registers to the modem 204 for receiving unsolicited responses of coverage level change or radio coverage condition change”/”AT commands and responses enable sending information or instructions between application (i.e. terminal equipment (TE)) and modem (i.e. Mobile Terminal (MT)”/”restriction on data from port 0 for one hour if the device is in enhanced coverage level”/”Based on the battery level information from the operating system, device interface, or battery sensor and the instruction from the application, the modem will apply transmission restrictions” maps to “sending from an application processor of the UE to a modem of the UE an attention (AT) command to configure the modem to send an unsolicited result code in response to receiving a pause command or … related to sending of application level measurement information being gathered by the UE”, where “application 202 can send an instruction 406 to the modem 204 to instruct the modem 204”/”terminal equipment (TE)”/”UE device 2300 includes a processing unit 2302” maps to “sending from an application processor of the UE to a modem of the UE”, “AT commands” maps to “attention (AT) command”, “configured” maps to “configure”, “unsolicited (e.g., activated and/or configured by an AT command”/”received signal code power (RSCP)”/”the application subscribes or registers to the modem 204 for receiving unsolicited responses” maps to “unsolicited result code”, “received signal code power (RSCP)” maps to “code”, FIG. 4 illustrates “in response”, “transmission restrictions” maps to “pause command”, where “restrictions” maps to “pause”, “restriction on data from port 0 for one hour if the device is in enhanced coverage level”/”Based on the battery level information from the operating system, device interface, or battery sensor and the instruction from the application, the modem will apply transmission restrictions” maps to “application level measurement information being gathered by the UE”
FIG. 9/FIG. 10 teaches “and the AT command”
Arzelier et al. teaches an application communicating an AT command configuration to a modem for performing restriction of data communication based on coverage level and battery level, where based upon the AT command configuration unsolicited responses can be received from a modem based on changes in coverage level.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the AT command/received signal code power (RSCP)/restriction/application/modem capability of Arzelier et al. into Johansson et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Johansson et al. to include the AT command/received signal code power (RSCP)/restriction/application/modem capability as taught by the processing/communications of Arzelier et al., the benefits of improved power consumption (Ye et al.; 0016) with improved efficiency (Wu et al.; 0240) are achieved.
As to claim 30:
Johansson et al. discloses:
A non-transitory processor-readable medium having stored thereon processor-executable instructions configured to cause a processing device in a user equipment (UE) to perform operations, comprising:
…
receiving a pause command from a network element while the UE is sending to the network element the application level measurement information being gathered by the UE;
(“The modified signaling may comprise the stop control message 808 transmitted 806 from the RAN node 200 to the UE 100”; Johansson et al.; 0146)
(“The application layer 120 performs 722 the QoE measurements, which includes storing (i.e., collecting) results of the QoE measurements.”; Johansson et al.; 0135)
(“The results are reported 724 from the application layer 120, e.g., a container 726. The results are received at the access stratum layer 110 and transmitted 730 in a measurement report 732 (also briefly: report) to the RAN node 200.”; Johansson et al.; 0136)
(where
“stop control message 808 transmitted 806 from the RAN node 200 to the UE 100” maps to “receiving a pause command from a network element”,
“application layer 120 performs 722 the QoE measurements, which includes storing (i.e., collecting) results of the QoE measurements”/”results are reported 724 from the application layer 120”/”UE 100” maps to “while the UE is sending to the network element the application level measurement information being gathered by the UE”
sending from the modem to the application processor an unsolicited result code comprising a pause indication or instruction to temporarily pause sending of the application level measurement information in response to the received pause command…; and
(“In yet another embodiment, the AT command comprising or representing the stop control message 820 (e.g., in step 4 of FIG. 8A)”; Johansson et al.; 0160)
(“This command allows control of the application level measurement configuration according to 3GPP TS 25.331 [74] and 3GPP TS 36.331 [86]. The set command controls the presentation of the unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC: <app-meas_service_type>, <start-stop_reporting>, [, <app-meas_config_file_length>, <app-meas_config-file>] providing data for the configuration. Refer subclause 9.2 for possible <err> values. Read command returns the current value of <n>.”; Johansson et al.; 0165)
(“For example, the UE 100 starts to perform or continues 824A to perform the QoE measurements at the radio device 100 after or responsive to receiving the stop control message 808. The UE 100 stores 824B results of the QoE measurements at the UE 100. The UE 100 stops 824C the reporting of the results of the QoE measurements to or through the RAN 200, e.g., the UE stops the reporting temporarily.”; Johansson et al.; 0147)
(where
“, the AT command comprising or representing the stop control message 820”/” unsolicited result code +CAPPLEVMC”/”stop_reporting”/” the UE stops the reporting temporarily”/”The UE 100 stops 824C the reporting of the results of the QoE measurements to or through the RAN 200, e.g., the UE stops the reporting temporarily” FIG. 8A maps to “sending from the modem to the application processor an unsolicited result code comprising a pause indication or instruction to temporarily pause sending of the application level measurement information in response to the received pause command…”
pausing sending of the application level measurement information by the modem in response to the pause command.
(where
“The UE 100 stops 824C the reporting of the results of the QoE measurements to or through the RAN 200, e.g., the UE stops the reporting temporarily.”/FIG. 8A Maps to “pausing sending of the application level measurement information by the modem in response to the pause command”
Johansson et al. teaches while reporting QoE measurements an Access Stratum receives a stop reporting message from a RAN node and the Access Stratum sending an AT command with an unsolicited result code to an Application, where the Application temporarily stops reporting.
Johansson et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
sending from an application processor of the UE to a modem of the UE an
attention (AT) command to configure the modem to send an unsolicited result code in response to receiving a pause command or … related to sending of application level measurement information being gathered by the UE;
and the AT command
However, Arzelier et al. further teaches a AT command/received signal code power (RSCP)/restriction/application/modem capability which includes:
sending from an application processor of the UE to a modem of the UE an attention (AT) command to configure the modem to send an unsolicited result code in response to receiving a pause command or … related to sending of application level measurement information being gathered by the UE;
and the AT command
(“FIG. 4 is a flow diagram 400 illustrating solution 2 for controlling data transmission in enhanced coverage states according to some implementations. The flow diagram 400 includes an application 202 and a modem 204 at a device. The modem 204 has knowledge of the radio coverage condition for the device (e.g., the currently applicable CE mode/level or coverage class, radio signal strength or quality such as RSSI, RSCP, or RSRP, a number of repetitions for data transmission, or other radio link information). The application 202 can send an instruction 406 to the modem 204 to instruct the modem 204 to transmit data under certain conditions. The instruction 406 can include any conditions for transmission restrictions, and parameters associated with the conditions for transmission restrictions. For example, the application 202 may instruct the modem 204 not to send data if a device/modem CE level/mode or coverage class is one in a set of predefined CE levels/modes or coverage classes, if a number of data repetitions is above a predefined repetition threshold, a signal strength at the device is below a predefined signal strength threshold, or a signal quality at the device is below a predefined signal quality threshold. For instance, the application 202 can instruct the modem 204 not to send data if the modem/device is in enhanced coverage level 1, 2, or 3. In some implementations, the application 202 can also send data 408 to the modem 204 so that the modem 204 will apply transmission restrictions on the data 408. The instruction 406 and the data 408 can use AT commands or other APIs.”; Arzelier et al.; 0060)
(…The modem 204 has knowledge of the radio coverage condition for the device (e.g., the currently applicable CE mode/level or coverage class, radio signal strength or quality such as received signal strength indicator (RSSI), received signal code power (RSCP), or RSRP, a number of repetitions for data transmission, or other radio link information). The application 202 can send a query 206 to the modem 204 for information or status of the radio coverage condition. Based on the status report 208 from the modem 204, the application 202 determines whether to send uplink data or not….”; Arzelier et al.; 0047)
(“In some implementations, the query 206 and status report 208 can be an attention (AT) command and response (see 3GPP TS 27.007), respectively. The AT commands and responses enable sending information or instructions between application (i.e. terminal equipment (TE)) and modem (i.e. Mobile Terminal (MT)), through a terminal adaptor (TA). Responses can be triggered following AT commands (one response to each received AT command), or unsolicited (e.g., activated and/or configured by an AT command; multiple responses can be sent corresponding to that AT command, and a response is sent every time the information at the modem changes or other conditions, that may have been configured by the AT command, are satisfied at the modem). In some cases, AT responses are also called AT commands. The query 206 and status report 208 can also use other application programming interfaces (APIs) instead of AT command/response.”; Arzelier et al.; 0048)
(“…As discussed above, block 302 is optional if the application subscribes or registers to the modem 204 for receiving unsolicited responses of coverage level change or radio coverage condition change…”; Arzelier et al.; 0055)
(“FIG. 23 is a schematic illustrating an example UE device 2300 according to some implementations. The example device 2300 includes a processing unit 2302, a computer-readable storage medium 2304 (for example, ROM or flash memory), a wireless communication subsystem 2306, an interface 2308, and an I/O interface 2310. The processing unit 2302 can include one or more processing components (alternatively referred to as “processors” or “central processing units” (CPUs)) configured to execute instructions related to one or more of the processes”; Arzelier et al.; 0168)
(“For solution 2, the application can send an instruction and related data to the modem. For example, the instruction can be “send this data (1) if the modem is not in an enhanced coverage state or (2) if the modem is in an enhanced coverage state and the battery level is above 80% or below 5%.” The modem can send a query to the operating system, device interface, or battery sensor for battery level information. Based on the battery level information from the operating system, device interface, or battery sensor and the instruction from the application, the modem will apply transmission restrictions accordingly.”; Arzelier et al.; 0127)
(“…For example, the application can instruct the modem to apply a transmission restriction on data from port 0 for one hour if the device is in enhanced coverage level 1, 2, or 3 and the device is moving, and the modem will apply the transmission restriction accordingly.”; Arzelier et al.; 0134)
(where
“The application 202 can send an instruction 406 to the modem 204 to instruct the modem 204 to transmit data under certain conditions. The instruction 406 can include any conditions for transmission restrictions, and parameters associated with the conditions for transmission restrictions”/”The instruction 406 and the data 408 can use AT commands”/”Responses can be triggered following AT commands (one response to each received AT command), or unsolicited (e.g., activated and/or configured by an AT command”/”received signal code power (RSCP)”/”the application subscribes or registers to the modem 204 for receiving unsolicited responses of coverage level change or radio coverage condition change”/”AT commands and responses enable sending information or instructions between application (i.e. terminal equipment (TE)) and modem (i.e. Mobile Terminal (MT)”/”restriction on data from port 0 for one hour if the device is in enhanced coverage level”/”Based on the battery level information from the operating system, device interface, or battery sensor and the instruction from the application, the modem will apply transmission restrictions” maps to “sending from an application processor of the UE to a modem of the UE an attention (AT) command to configure the modem to send an unsolicited result code in response to receiving a pause command or … related to sending of application level measurement information being gathered by the UE”, where “application 202 can send an instruction 406 to the modem 204 to instruct the modem 204”/”terminal equipment (TE)”/”UE device 2300 includes a processing unit 2302” maps to “sending from an application processor of the UE to a modem of the UE”, “AT commands” maps to “attention (AT) command”, “configured” maps to “configure”, “unsolicited (e.g., activated and/or configured by an AT command”/”received signal code power (RSCP)”/”the application subscribes or registers to the modem 204 for receiving unsolicited responses” maps to “unsolicited result code”, “received signal code power (RSCP)” maps to “code”, FIG. 4 illustrates “in response”, “transmission restrictions” maps to “pause command”, where “restrictions” maps to “pause”, “restriction on data from port 0 for one hour if the device is in enhanced coverage level”/”Based on the battery level information from the operating system, device interface, or battery sensor and the instruction from the application, the modem will apply transmission restrictions” maps to “application level measurement information being gathered by the UE”
FIG. 9/FIG. 10 teaches “and the AT command”
Arzelier et al. teaches an application communicating an AT command configuration to a modem for performing restriction of data communication based on coverage level and battery level, where based upon the AT command configuration unsolicited responses can be received from a modem based on changes in coverage level.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the AT command/received signal code power (RSCP)/restriction/application/modem capability of Arzelier et al. into Johansson et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Johansson et al. to include the AT command/received signal code power (RSCP)/restriction/application/modem capability as taught by the processing/communications of Arzelier et al., the benefits of improved power consumption (Ye et al.; 0016) with improved efficiency (Wu et al.; 0240) are achieved.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricky Ngo can be reached on 571-272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
MICHAEL K. PHILLIPS
Examiner
Art Unit 2464
/MICHAEL K PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 2464