DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s remarks have been given full consideration, as such this Office Action has been modified in view of Amendments filed on 05/29/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed "Remarks" on 05/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 19, and 39 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 16, 18, 19, 35, 39, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2014/0295896 A1, hereinafter Kang) in view of Huang et al. (US 9699624 B1, hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches a paging method, performed by a network device ([Figure 4, 400] and [0052] a paging controller 400, i.e. a paging method performed by a network device), the UE group comprises at least two UEs ([0045] Referring to FIG. 1, a wireless communication system may include a plurality of Base Stations (BSs) 102, 104, and 106, and [0015-0017] are capable of receiving/transmitting paging messages, and FIG. 4 depicts a plurality of BSs within each cluster 440, cluster read as UE group, i.e. the UE group may comprise of a plurality of UEs); and wherein the second paging message is configured to page a single UE ([Figure 8, operation 815] and [0067] describes "the MS sends a DREG_REQ message to the BSs in its cluster or the serving BS to request transition to the idle mode in operations 805 and 815," i.e. the second paging message, depicted as operation 815, may be configured to page only a single UE (the serving BS in the cluster)).
Kang is not relied on for the claim language comprising: sending monitoring period indication information indicating a valid period of a first paging message, wherein the first paging message is configured to page a user equipment (UE) group; sending the first paging message in the valid period, wherein the first paging message carries a paging identifier of the UE group, all UEs in a same UE group has the same paging identifier; and a monitoring occasion of the first paging message for the UE group is bound to the paging identifier; and sending a second paging message to one or more of the at least two UEs outside the valid period, and a monitoring occasion of the second paging message is different from the monitoring occasion of the first paging message. However, Huang teaches [abstract] a method to generate a paging message that includes a group identifier that identifies a group of end devices to which a paging pertains. Huang also teaches comprising: sending monitoring period indication information indicating a valid period of a first paging message, wherein the first paging message is configured to page a user equipment (UE) group; sending the first paging message in the valid period, wherein the first paging message carries a paging identifier of the UE group ([Figure 3, operation 305, 306, and 308] and [Col. 08, Lines 27-38] describe "the paging message includes a group identifier that identifies a group of end devices 160. In step 306, eNB 200 transmits (e.g., broadcasts) the paging message. In step 308, eNB 200 starts a timer 308 at or subsequent to the transmission of the paging message. In step 310, each end device 160, which is within the coverage area serviced by eNB 200 and configured to wake-up and check for paging messages (e.g., based on a DRX cycle), receives the paging message and compares the group identifier included in the paging message to a group identifier stored at end device 160," i.e. sending a paging message with a GROUP ID during a valid monitoring period, the monitoring period is depicted by the timer in operation 308, wherein the timer would determine if the paging message is in the valid period. Furthermore, the first paging message will only be sent to UEs within a specified coverage location/range/area), all UEs in a same UE group has the same paging identifier; and a monitoring occasion of the first paging message for the UE group is bound to the paging identifier ([Figure 3, operation 310 and 308] and [Col. 08, Lines 31-42] describe "in step 310, each end device 160, which is within the coverage area serviced by eNB 200 and configured to wake-up and check for paging messages (e.g., based on a DRX cycle), receives the paging message and compares the group identifier included in the paging message to a group identifier stored at end device 160. When the group identifiers do not match, end device 160 may return to an idle mode, a sleep mode, or some other mode or state. However, when the group identifiers match, in step 312, each end device 160 starts a timer for use in determining when to listen to a next message of the paging procedure," i.e. all of the UEs receiving the first paging message check to see if they have the correct group identifier, i.e. the group identifier would be the same identifier for all of the UEs. Furthermore, the monitoring occasion, read as timer from operation 308, is bound to the paging message which includes the paging identifier of the group, as depicted in FIG. 3); and sending a second paging message to one or more of the at least two UEs outside the valid period ([Figure 3, operation 315] sending a second paging message to a group of different UEs in a separate SUB-GROUP. [Col. 06, Lines 55-58] describes the method may be performed because "the process may include paging within a certain geographic area a number of times before expanding to a larger geographic area," i.e. a different SUB-GROUP could represent a group of UEs outside of the valid serving area (specified coverage location/range/area)), and a monitoring occasion of the second paging message is different from the monitoring occasion of the first paging message (Figure 3, operation 312] the monitoring occasion (timer from operation 312) of the second paging message (operation 315) is different from the monitoring occasion (timer from operation 308) used for the first paging message (operation 306)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kang to include monitoring period indication information, transmitting to multiple UEs in a group at once, and sending a second paging message to one or more of the at least two UEs outside the valid period, as taught by Huang, in order to [Col. 02, Lines 19-21] allow the wireless station to identify a time that indicates when a subsequent message is scheduled to be transmitted, which aids in [Col. 03, Lines 24-26] consolidated signaling framework and reducing the use of relative resources.
Regarding claim 3, Kang teaches the first paging message comprises at least one of: a first paging message for a UE in an idle state; or a first paging message for a UE in an inactive state ([Figure 5] and [0054 - 0055] describes how the UE may be in Normal mode 510, Semi-idle mode 520, or Idle mode 530, and [0014] describes how the first paging message will request/command the UE mode).
Regarding claim 4, Kang teaches the first paging message for the UE group comprises a first paging message for the paging identifier of the UE group ([0067] each BS may transmit the identifier of the SS, for example, a MAC address, and [0083 and 0086] FIG. 9/10 depicts the transmission of identifiers of the UE/UE group).
Regarding claim 5, Kang teaches the UE group is determined according to a service of the UE; and/or the UE group is determined according to a geographic location of the UE ([0005] a small BS is used as a basic geographical unit for communication and several small BSs are grouped to operate as one virtual cell, a cluster, i.e. a UE group may be determined according to geographic location).
Regarding claim 16, Kang teaches sending at least one of the first paging message or a second paging message to the UE based on a paging message receiving capability of the UE (Figure 15, operation 1515] determining the mode the UE is in, and requesting BS to change mode prior to the next paging cycle, i.e. sending a second paging message to the UE based device mode, i.e. device mode read as capability of the UE).
Regarding claim 18, Kang teaches receiving capability indication information sent by the UE, wherein the capability indication information indicates the paging message receiving capability of the UE ([0131] Referring to FIG. 20, the MS may include a controller 2010, a transmitter 2020, a receiver 2030, and a memory 2040, for receiving the Paging_adv message(s) according to given paging offset and paging cycle, and [0006, 0077, and 0060] receiving monitoring indicators and paging configuration).
Regarding claim 19, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 1, further in view of Huang teaches the user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving- ([Figure 3, operation 306] End Devices 160, End Devices read as UE, receive a paging message and perform the other limitations as described in claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kang to include monitoring period indication information, transmitting to multiple UEs in a group at once, and sending a second paging message to one or more of the at least two UEs outside the valid period, as taught by Huang, in order to [Col. 02, Lines 19-21] allow the wireless station to identify a time that indicates when a subsequent message is scheduled to be transmitted, which aids in [Col. 03, Lines 24-26] consolidated signaling framework and reducing the use of relative resources.
Regarding claim 35, Kang teaches sending capability indication information ([Figure 15, operation 1515] determining the mode the UE is in, and requesting BS to change mode prior to the next paging cycle, i.e. sending capability indication information), wherein the capability indication information indicates a paging message receiving capability of the UE; or wherein the method further comprises at least one of :forwarding paging notification information carrying a group paging identifier of the UE group to a high stratum of the UE, in response to the UE being in an idle state and receiving the first paging message; recovering to a connected state, in response to the UE being in an inactive state and receiving the first paging message; or performing non-access stratum recovery, in response to the UE being in an inactive state and receiving the first paging message for an idle state ([0091] Referring to FIG. 12, in operation 1205, the MS in the semi-idle mode receives Paging_adv messages from the serving BS and the other BS(s) in the cluster, i.e. the UE receives the paging message which may include [0006, 0077, and 0060] indicators/identifiers such as [0083] Paging Group Identifications (PGIDs), i.e. forwarding paging notification information carrying a group paging identifier of the UE group).
Clam 39 recites the similar claimed limitations as recited in claim 1, except claim 39 recites a processor; a memory; and an executable program stored in the memory and capable of being run by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to- perform the operations of claim 1. However, it is notoriously well known in the art of implementing the method of claim 1 by a processor; a memory; and an executable program stored in the memory and capable of being run by the processor. Thus, the claimed limitations of claim 19 are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 41, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 39, in further view of claim 19.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2014/0295896 A1, hereinafter Kang) and Huang et al. (US 9699624 B1, hereinafter Huang) as applied in claims above, in view of NA (US 2020/0221419 A1, hereinafter Na).
Regarding claim 2, Kang teaches the at least two UEs in the UE group (FIG. 4 depicts a plurality of BSs within each cluster 440, with each BS containing a number of connected MSs, i.e. cluster read as UE group with a plurality of UEs related to said UE group).
The combination of Kang and Huang differs from the claimed invention and does not specifically teach -are a multimodality UE. However, Na teaches [0005-0007] paging method in which a BS may transmit paging messages and -is a multimodality UE ([0038] the UE may be a Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO) communication system, i.e. a multimodality UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kang and Huang to include the ability for the UE to be a multimodality UE, as taught by Na, in order to [0030] improve paging efficiency and [0062] enable rapid and accurate paging without deterioration of performance during paging in the MIMO system.
Claims 6, 8, 11, 24, 26, 29, 30, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2014/0295896 A1, hereinafter Kang) and Huang et al. (US 9699624 B1, hereinafter Huang) as applied in claims above, in view of Rune (US 2021/0314910 A1, hereinafter Rune).
Regarding claim 6, Kang teaches paging configurations of first types of paging messages for different UE groups are different ([Figure 4] and [0052] depicts a plurality of different paging messages for different UE Clusters, clusters read as groups); wherein that the paging configurations of the first types of paging messages for the different UE groups are different- ([0058] Referring to FIG. 6, the paging messages may include identifiers, that may be different).
The combination of Kang and Huang differs from the claimed invention and does not specifically teach -comprises at least one of: monitoring occasions of the first types of paging messages for the different UE groups being different; paging radio network temporary identifiers (P-PRNTIs) of the first types of paging messages for the different UE groups being different; control resource sets (CORESETs) of the first types of paging messages for the different UE groups being different; search spaces of the first types of paging messages for the different UE groups being different; or group paging identifiers carried in the first types of paging messages for the different UE groups being different. However, Rune teaches [abstract] a method performed by a wireless device for receiving paging occasions and synchronization signals in a carrier frequency band in association with a plurality of transmissions/signals. Rune also teaches as such ([0044] the UE should monitor the CORESET associated with the PDCCH for paging, i.e. control resource sets (CORESETs) of the first types of paging messages for the different UE groups is identified via paging identifiers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kang and Huang to include the ability for paging configurations to include different CORESETs associated with a plurality of paging messages, UEs, or UE groups, as taught by Rune, in order to [0019] reduce signaling overhead over the radio and network interfaces and improve UE access latency as well as UE energy consumption.
Regarding claim 8, Kang teaches wherein a paging configuration of the first paging message is different from a paging configuration of the second paging message ([0015] receiving, in response to the first message, a second message instructing entry of a MS to an idle mode or semi-idle mode in which BSs belonging to a paging group broadcast a paging message for the MS or entry of the MS to an idle mode or semi-idle mode in which BSs belonging to a semi-idle paging group, which is a subset of the paging group, broadcast the paging message for the MS, i.e. a second paging message configuration is different from the first paging message); wherein that the paging configuration of the first paging message is different from the paging configuration of the second paging message- ([0058] Referring to FIG. 6, the paging messages may include identifiers which may be different).
The combination of Kang and Huang differs from the claimed invention and does not specifically teach -comprises at least one of: a P-PRNTI of the first paging message being different from a P-PRNTI of the second paging message; a CORESET of the first paging message being different from a CORESET of the second paging message; or a search space of the first paging message being different from a search space of the second paging message However, Rune teaches as such ([0044] the UE should monitor the CORESET associated with the PDCCH for paging, i.e. control resource sets (CORESETs) of the first types of paging messages for the different UE groups is identified via paging identifiers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kang and Huang to include the ability for paging configurations to include different CORESETs associated with a plurality of paging messages, UEs, or UE groups, as taught by Rune, in order to [0019] reduce signaling overhead over the radio and network interfaces and improve UE access latency as well as UE energy consumption.
Regarding claim 11, Kang teaches at least one of: sending a monitoring indication to the UE ([0006 and 0077] the received/transmitted paging signals may be monitored and [0060] describes a location update procedure, i.e. location monitoring, and [0083] Referring to FIG. 9, a paging group 920 may include BSs BS1, BS2, BS3, and BS4, and each base station, read as UE, may receive indications, such as [0006, 0077, and 0060] monitoring indications), wherein the monitoring indication indicates the UE to monitor at least one of the first paging message and/or the second paging message; sending identifier indication information indicating a group paging identifier of the UE group to which the UE belongs; or sending paging configuration information indicating a paging configuration of the first paging message by an access network device in the network device ([0006 and 0077] the received/transmitted paging signals may be monitored as described above, and FIG. 14 shows a plurality of paging messages that may be monitored via [0006, 0077, and 0060] monitoring indications that may include a group paging identifier, [0083 and 0086] FIG. 9/10 depicts and describes the transmission of identifiers of the UE/UE group).
Regarding claim 24, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 26, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding claim 29, Kang teaches receiving a monitoring indication; and monitoring at least one of the first paging message or the second paging message based on the monitoring indication ([0006 and 0077] the received/transmitted paging signals may be monitored and [0060] describes a location update procedure, i.e. location monitoring, and [0083] Referring to FIG. 9, a paging group 920 may include BSs BS1, BS2, BS3, and BS4, and each base station, read as UE, may receive indications, such as [0006, 0077, and 0060] monitoring indications, and FIG. 14 shows a plurality of paging messages that may be monitored via said [0006, 0077, and 0060] monitoring indications).
Regarding claim 30, Kang teaches at least one of: receiving identifier indication information indicating the paging identifier of the UE group to which the UE belongs or paging configuration information indicating a paging configuration of the first paging message ([0083] paging identifiers may include Paging Group Identifications (PGIDs), i.e. indication information indicating a group paging identifier); wherein receiving the identifier indication information indicating the group paging identifier of the UE group to which the UE belongs or the paging configuration information indicating the paging configuration of the first paging message- ([0091] Referring to FIG. 12, in operation 1205, the MS in the semi-idle mode receives Paging_adv messages from the serving BS and the other BS(s) in the cluster, i.e. the UE receives the paging message which may include [0006, 0077, and 0060] indicators/identifiers such as [0083] Paging Group Identifications (PGIDs)).
The combination of Kang and Huang differs from the claimed invention and does not specifically teach -comprises at least one of: receiving access stratum (AS) information carrying the identifier indication information or the paging configuration information; or receiving non-access stratum (NAS) information carrying the identifier indication information; wherein the AS information comprises at least one of a system message; or a radio resource control (RRC) signaling; wherein the NAS information comprises downlink information in a UE attachment process. However, rune teaches -comprises at least one of: receiving access stratum (AS) information carrying the identifier indication information or the paging configuration information; or receiving non-access stratum (NAS) information carrying the identifier indication information ([0024] the UE contacts the network (through random access) and requests establishment of a new RRC connection (including a non-access stratum (NAS)); wherein the AS information comprises at least one of a system message; or a radio resource control (RRC) signaling; wherein the NAS information comprises downlink information in a UE attachment process ([0019] describes how differed RRC states/signals may be used in association with paging messages).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kang and Huang to include the ability for paging configurations to include non-access stratum (NAS) associated with RRC signaling, while associated with a plurality of paging messages, UEs, or UE groups, as taught by Rune, in order to [0019] reduce signaling overhead over the radio and network interfaces and improve UE access latency as well as UE energy consumption.
Regarding claim 42, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 6.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kang et al. (US 2014/0295896 A1, hereinafter Kang), Huang et al. (US 9699624 B1, hereinafter Huang) and Rune (US 2021/0314910 A1, hereinafter Rune) as applied in claims above, and further in view of Chandramouli et al. (US 2013/0115977 A1, hereinafter Chandramouli).
Regarding claim 13, Kang teaches sending the identifier indication information indicating the group paging identifier of the UE group to which the UE belongs- ([0006] the MS in the idle mode performs location update based on a timer or a paging group to inform a core network of a wireless communication system of its location, i.e. identifier indication may include UE paging group), and wherein sending the paging configuration information indicating the paging configuration of the first paging message by the access network device in the network device ([0045] and [0051] describes how paging configurations may exist for each paging message, which may be configured via [0006, 0077, and 0060] monitoring indicators, and [0051] FIG. 4 illustrates a configuration example of a paging group).
The combination of Kang and Huang differs from the claimed invention and does not specifically teach -comprises at least one of: sending access stratum (AS) information carrying the identifier indication information; or sending non-access stratum (NAS) information carrying the identifier indication information; wherein the AS information comprises at least one of a system message or a radio resource control (RRC) signaling; wherein the NAS information comprises downlink information in a UE attachment process. However, Rune teaches -comprises at least one of: sending access stratum (AS) information carrying the identifier indication information; or sending non-access stratum (NAS) information carrying the identifier indication information ([0024] the UE contacts the network (through random access) and requests establishment of a new RRC connection (including a non-access stratum (NAS)); wherein the AS information comprises at least one of a system message or a radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0019] describes how differed RRC states/signals may be used in association with paging messages); wherein the NAS information comprises downlink information in a UE attachment process ([0024 and 0062] describes how non-access stratum (NAS) may be used in association to [0009] downlink control channels to enable the UE to find and decode signals, i.e. a UE attachment process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kang and Huang to include the ability for paging configurations to include non-access stratum (NAS) associated with RRC signaling, while associated with a plurality of paging messages, UEs, or UE groups, as taught by Rune, in order to [0019] reduce signaling overhead over the radio and network interfaces and improve UE access latency as well as UE energy consumption.
The combination of Kang, Huang and Rune differs from the claimed invention and does not specifically teach sending AS information carrying the paging configuration information by the access network device; However, Chandramouli teaches [abstract] a method for transmitting/receiving paging indicators indicating to user equipment assigned to one or more groups associated with paging messages. Chandramouli also teaches as such ([0115] device trigger information may include the AS (access stratum) layer within the UE 110 forwarding information to the upper layer, i.e. device trigger information, read as paging configuration information, may be sent via AS information by the access device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kang, Huang and Rune to include the ability to send AS information in association with paging configurations, as taught by Chandramouli, in order to [0087-0088] allow targeting UEs in groups and optimize trigger mechanisms for the devices and [0086] further enable the abilities of group paging.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW JAMES DWYER/Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/GEORGE ENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2699