DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/31/2024, 03/14/2025, and 08/06/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, and 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 6 and 24, each dependent claim recites “first types of paging messages for different UE groups are different;” and therefore creating a deficiency of language. It is unclear what the difference between said “types” of paging messages is. More specifically, “paging messages” are a known and well defined term in the art. However, adding “type” in connection with “paging messages” makes this known and well defined term in the art indefinite. Furthermore, it is unclear what the difference between said “different UE groups” of UEs is. More specifically, “UE groups” are a known and well defined term in the art. However, adding “different” in connection with “UE groups” makes this known and well defined term in the art indefinite. In other words, the dependent claims 6 and 24 should recite “…wherein paging configurations of the first paging message belonging to a UE group; wherein the paging configurations of the first paging message for a UE group comprises at least one of:…” or alike. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 16, 18, 19, 34, 35, 39, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang et al. (US 2014/0295896 A1, hereinafter Kang).
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches a paging method, performed by a network device ([Figure 4, 400] and [0052] a paging controller 400, i.e. a paging method performed by a network device), comprising: sending a first type of paging message for a user equipment (UE) group ([Figure 4, 440] and [0052] one or more of BSs may form a cluster 440, and [0015-0017] capable of receiving/transmitting paging messages, i.e. a group of UEs for receiving paging messages), wherein the UE group comprises at least one UE ([0045] Referring to FIG. 1, a wireless communication system may include a plurality of Base Stations (BSs) 102, 104, and 106, and [0015-0017] capable of receiving/transmitting paging messages, and FIG. 4 depicts a plurality of BSs within each cluster 440, cluster read as UE group).
Regarding claim 3, Kang teaches the first type of paging message comprises at least one of: a first type of paging message for a UE in an idle state; or a first type of paging message for a UE in an inactive state ([Figure 5] and [0054 - 0055] describes how the UE may be in Normal mode 510, Semi-idle mode 520, or Idle mode 530, and [0014] describes how the first paging message will request/command the UE mode).
Regarding claim 4, Kang teaches the first type of paging message for the UE group comprises a first type of paging message for a group paging identifier of the UE group ([0067] each BS may transmit the identifier of the SS, for example, a MAC address, and [0083 and 0086] FIG. 9/10 depicts the transmission of identifiers of the UE/UE group).
Regarding claim 5, Kang teaches the UE group is determined according to a service of the UE; and/or the UE group is determined according to a geographic location of the UE ([0005] a small BS is used as a basic geographical unit for communication and several small BSs are grouped to operate as one virtual cell, a cluster, i.e. a UE group may be determined according to geographic location).
Regarding claim 16, Kang teaches sending monitoring period indication information indicating a valid period of the first type of paging message; or sending at least one of the first type of paging message or a second type of paging message to the UE based on a paging message receiving capability of the UE (Figure 15, operation 1515] determining the mode the UE is in, and requesting BS to change mode prior to the next paging cycle, i.e. sending a second paging message to the UE based device mode, i.e. device mode read as capability of the UE, and [0125] the paging controller determines whether to change the paging offset based on Equation 1, determines the new paging offset based on Equation 2, and provides the new paging offset to the BSs and the SS, [0067-0068] which may be based on predetermined times, i.e. ensuring a valid period of the first type of paging message).
Regarding claim 18, Kang teaches receiving capability indication information sent by the UE, wherein the capability indication information indicates the paging message receiving capability of the UE ([0131] Referring to FIG. 20, the MS may include a controller 2010, a transmitter 2020, a receiver 2030, and a memory 2040, for receiving the Paging_adv message(s) according to given paging offset and paging cycle, and [0006, 0077, and 0060] receiving monitoring indicators and paging configuration).
Regarding claim 19, Kang teaches a paging method, performed by a user equipment (UE) ([Figure 2, 210] and [0047] referring to FIG. 2, multiple distributed small BSs 210, 212, 214, 216, 218, and 220 are capable of sending paging messages), comprising: receiving a first type of paging message for a UE group to which the UE belongs ([Figure 4, 440] and [0052] one or more of BSs may form a cluster 440, and [0015-0017] capable of receiving/transmitting paging messages, i.e. a group of UEs for receiving paging messages), wherein the UE group comprises at least one UE ([0045] [0045] Referring to FIG. 1, a wireless communication system may include a plurality of Base Stations (BSs) 102, 104, and 106, and [0015-0017] capable of receiving/transmitting paging messages, and FIG. 4 depicts a plurality of BSs within each cluster 440, cluster read as UE group).
Regarding claim 34, Kang teaches receiving monitoring period indication information indicating a valid period of the first type of paging message ([0125] the paging controller determines whether to change the paging offset based on Equation 1, determines the new paging offset based on Equation 2, and provides the new paging offset to the BSs and the SS, [0067-0068] which may be based on predetermined times, i.e. ensuring a valid period of the first type of paging message); wherein receiving the first type of paging message for the UE group to which the UE belongs comprises: receiving the first type of paging message in the valid period ([0091] Referring to FIG. 12, in operation 1205, the MS in the semi-idle mode receives Paging_adv messages from the serving BS and the other BS(s) in the cluster, i.e. the UE receives the paging message which may include [0006, 0077, and [0060] indicators/identifiers such as [0083] Paging Group Identifications (PGIDs) and [0125] time based calculations, i.e. a valid period and UE group indicator).
Regarding claim 35, Kang teaches sending capability indication information ([Figure 15, operation 1515] determining the mode the UE is in, and requesting BS to change mode prior to the next paging cycle, i.e. sending capability indication information), wherein the capability indication information indicates a paging message receiving capability of the UE; or wherein the method further comprises at least one of :forwarding paging notification information carrying a group paging identifier of the UE group to a high stratum of the UE, in response to the UE being in an idle state and receiving the first type of paging message; recovering to a connected state, in response to the UE being in an inactive state and receiving the first type of paging message; or performing non-access stratum recovery, in response to the UE being in an inactive state and receiving the first type of paging message for an idle state ([0091] Referring to FIG. 12, in operation 1205, the MS in the semi-idle mode receives Paging_adv messages from the serving BS and the other BS(s) in the cluster, i.e. the UE receives the paging message which may include [0006, 0077, and 0060] indicators/identifiers such as [0083] Paging Group Identifications (PGIDs), i.e. forwarding paging notification information carrying a group paging identifier of the UE group).
Regarding claim 39, Kang teaches a communication device ([0131] referring to FIG. 20, the MS, i.e. communication device), comprising: a processor ([Figure 20, 2010] and [0131] the controller 2010 may be capable of determining instructions, paging messages, and device modes, i.e. a processor); a memory ([Figure 20, 2040] memory); and an executable program stored in the memory and capable of being run by the processor ([0130] the memory 2040 stores paging parameters necessary for a paging operation, provides them to the controller 2010 if necessary, and receives a new paging parameter from the controller 2010 for update, i.e. stored executable program capable of being run by the processor), wherein the processor is configured to send a first type of paging message for a user equipment (UE) group, wherein the UE group comprises at least one UE (FIG. 14 depicts communication device MS receiving/ transmitting paging messages, wherein the MS belongs to a BS, which may be part of a BS cluster as shown in FIG. 4, i.e. a UE group).
Regarding claim 41, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 39, in further view of claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2014/0295896 A1, hereinafter Kang) in view of NA (US 2020/0221419 A1, hereinafter Na).
Regarding claim 2, Kang teaches the at least one UE in the UE group (FIG. 4 depicts a plurality of BSs within each cluster 440, with each BS containing a number of connected MSs, i.e. cluster read as UE group with a plurality of UEs related to said UE group).
Kang differs from the claimed invention and does not specifically teach -is a multimodality UE. However, Na teaches [0005-0007] paging method in which a BS may transmit paging messages and -is a multimodality UE ([0038] the UE may be a Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO) communication system, i.e. a multimodality UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kang to include the ability for the UE to be a multimodality UE, as taught by Na, in order to [0030] improve paging efficiency and [0062] enable rapid and accurate paging without deterioration of performance during paging in the MIMO system.
Claims 6, 8, 11, 24, 26, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2014/0295896 A1, hereinafter Kang) in view of Rune (US 2021/0314910 A1, hereinafter Rune).
Regarding claim 6, Kang teaches paging configurations of first types of paging messages for different UE groups are different ([Figure 4] and [0052] depicts a plurality of different paging messages for different UE Clusters, clusters read as groups); wherein that the paging configurations of the first types of paging messages for the different UE groups are different- ([0058] Referring to FIG. 6, the paging messages may include identifiers, that may be different).
Kang differs from the claimed invention and does not specifically teach -comprises at least one of: monitoring occasions of the first types of paging messages for the different UE groups being different; paging radio network temporary identifiers (P-PRNTIs) of the first types of paging messages for the different UE groups being different; control resource sets (CORESETs) of the first types of paging messages for the different UE groups being different; search spaces of the first types of paging messages for the different UE groups being different; or group paging identifiers carried in the first types of paging messages for the different UE groups being different. However, Rune teaches [abstract] a method performed by a wireless device for receiving paging occasions and synchronization signals in a carrier frequency band in association with a plurality of transmissions/signals. Rune also teaches as such ([0044] the UE should monitor the CORESET associated with the PDCCH for paging, i.e. control resource sets (CORESETs) of the first types of paging messages for the different UE groups is identified via paging identifiers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kang to include the ability for paging configurations to include different CORESETs associated with a plurality of paging messages, UEs, or UE groups, as taught by Rune, in order to [0019] reduce signaling overhead over the radio and network interfaces and improve UE access latency as well as UE energy consumption.
Regarding claim 8, Kang teaches sending a second type of paging message for the UE ([0015 and 0017] describes a second paging message for the UE, and [0048] the paging message refers to a Paging Advertisement (Paging_adv), shown in FIG. 14, i.e. a plurality of paging messages of different types); wherein a paging configuration of the first type of paging message is different from a paging configuration of the second type of paging message ([0015] receiving, in response to the first message, a second message instructing entry of a MS to an idle mode or semi-idle mode in which BSs belonging to a paging group broadcast a paging message for the MS or entry of the MS to an idle mode or semi-idle mode in which BSs belonging to a semi-idle paging group, which is a subset of the paging group, broadcast the paging message for the MS, i.e. a second paging message configuration is different from the first paging message); wherein that the paging configuration of the first type of paging message is different from the paging configuration of the second type of paging message- ([0058] Referring to FIG. 6, the paging messages may include identifiers which may be different).
Kang differs from the claimed invention and does not specifically teach -comprises at least one of: a monitoring occasion of the first type of paging message being different from a monitoring occasion of the second type of paging message; a P-PRNTI of the first type of paging message being different from a P-PRNTI of the second type of paging message; a CORESET of the first type of paging message being different from a CORESET of the second type of paging message; or a search space of the first type of paging message being different from a search space of the second type of paging message However, Rune teaches as such ([0044] the UE should monitor the CORESET associated with the PDCCH for paging, i.e. control resource sets (CORESETs) of the first types of paging messages for the different UE groups is identified via paging identifiers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kang to include the ability for paging configurations to include different CORESETs associated with a plurality of paging messages, UEs, or UE groups, as taught by Rune, in order to [0019] reduce signaling overhead over the radio and network interfaces and improve UE access latency as well as UE energy consumption.
Regarding claim 11, Kang teaches at least one of: sending a monitoring indication to the UE ([0006 and 0077] the received/transmitted paging signals may be monitored and [0060] describes a location update procedure, i.e. location monitoring, and [0083] Referring to FIG. 9, a paging group 920 may include BSs BS1, BS2, BS3, and BS4, and each base station, read as UE, may receive indications, such as [0006, 0077, and 0060] monitoring indications), wherein the monitoring indication indicates the UE to monitor at least one of the first type of paging message and/or the second type of paging message; sending identifier indication information indicating a group paging identifier of the UE group to which the UE belongs; or sending paging configuration information indicating a paging configuration of the first type of paging message by an access network device in the network device ([0006 and 0077] the received/transmitted paging signals may be monitored as described above, and FIG. 14 shows a plurality of paging messages that may be monitored via [0006, 0077, and 0060] monitoring indications that may include a group paging identifier, [0083 and 0086] FIG. 9/10 depicts and describes the transmission of identifiers of the UE/UE group).
Regarding claim 24, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 26, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding claim 29, Kang teaches receiving a monitoring indication; and monitoring at least one of the first type of paging message or the second type of paging message based on the monitoring indication ([0006 and 0077] the received/transmitted paging signals may be monitored and [0060] describes a location update procedure, i.e. location monitoring, and [0083] Referring to FIG. 9, a paging group 920 may include BSs BS1, BS2, BS3, and BS4, and each base station, read as UE, may receive indications, such as [0006, 0077, and 0060] monitoring indications, and FIG. 14 shows a plurality of paging messages that may be monitored via said [0006, 0077, and 0060] monitoring indications).
Regarding claim 30, Kang teaches at least one of: receiving identifier indication information indicating a group paging identifier of the UE group to which the UE belongs or paging configuration information indicating a paging configuration of the first type of paging message ([0083] paging identifiers may include Paging Group Identifications (PGIDs), i.e. indication information indicating a group paging identifier); wherein receiving the identifier indication information indicating the group paging identifier of the UE group to which the UE belongs or the paging configuration information indicating the paging configuration of the first type of paging message- ([0091] Referring to FIG. 12, in operation 1205, the MS in the semi-idle mode receives Paging_adv messages from the serving BS and the other BS(s) in the cluster, i.e. the UE receives the paging message which may include [0006, 0077, and 0060] indicators/identifiers such as [0083] Paging Group Identifications (PGIDs)).
Kang differs from the claimed invention and does not specifically teach -comprises at least one of: receiving access stratum (AS) information carrying the identifier indication information or the paging configuration information; or receiving non-access stratum (NAS) information carrying the identifier indication information; wherein the AS information comprises at least one of a system message; or a radio resource control (RRC) signaling; wherein the NAS information comprises downlink information in a UE attachment process. However, rune teaches -comprises at least one of: receiving access stratum (AS) information carrying the identifier indication information or the paging configuration information; or receiving non-access stratum (NAS) information carrying the identifier indication information ([0024] the UE contacts the network (through random access) and requests establishment of a new RRC connection (including a non-access stratum (NAS)); wherein the AS information comprises at least one of a system message; or a radio resource control (RRC) signaling; wherein the NAS information comprises downlink information in a UE attachment process ([0019] describes how differed RRC states/signals may be used in association with paging messages).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kang to include the ability for paging configurations to include non-access stratum (NAS) associated with RRC signaling, while associated with a plurality of paging messages, UEs, or UE groups, as taught by Rune, in order to [0019] reduce signaling overhead over the radio and network interfaces and improve UE access latency as well as UE energy consumption.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kang et al. (US 2014/0295896 A1, hereinafter Kang) and Rune (US 2021/0314910 A1, hereinafter Rune) as applied in claims above, and further in view of Chandramouli et al. (US 2013/0115977 A1, hereinafter Chandramouli).
Regarding claim 13, Kang teaches sending the identifier indication information indicating the group paging identifier of the UE group to which the UE belongs- ([0006] the MS in the idle mode performs location update based on a timer or a paging group to inform a core network of a wireless communication system of its location, i.e. identifier indication may include UE paging group), and wherein sending the paging configuration information indicating the paging configuration of the first type of paging message by the access network device in the network device ([0045] and [0051] describes how paging configurations may exist for each paging message, which may be configured via [0006, 0077, and 0060] monitoring indicators, and [0051] FIG. 4 illustrates a configuration example of a paging group).
Kang differs from the claimed invention and does not specifically teach -comprises at least one of: sending access stratum (AS) information carrying the identifier indication information; or sending non-access stratum (NAS) information carrying the identifier indication information; wherein the AS information comprises at least one of a system message or a radio resource control (RRC) signaling; wherein the NAS information comprises downlink information in a UE attachment process. However, Rune teaches -comprises at least one of: sending access stratum (AS) information carrying the identifier indication information; or sending non-access stratum (NAS) information carrying the identifier indication information ([0024] the UE contacts the network (through random access) and requests establishment of a new RRC connection (including a non-access stratum (NAS)); wherein the AS information comprises at least one of a system message or a radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0019] describes how differed RRC states/signals may be used in association with paging messages); wherein the NAS information comprises downlink information in a UE attachment process ([0024 and 0062] describes how non-access stratum (NAS) may be used in association to [0009] downlink control channels to enable the UE to find and decode signals, i.e. a UE attachment process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kang to include the ability for paging configurations to include non-access stratum (NAS) associated with RRC signaling, while associated with a plurality of paging messages, UEs, or UE groups, as taught by Rune, in order to [0019] reduce signaling overhead over the radio and network interfaces and improve UE access latency as well as UE energy consumption.
The combination of Kang and Rune differs from the claimed invention and does not specifically teach sending AS information carrying the paging configuration information by the access network device; However, Chandramouli teaches [abstract] a method for transmitting/receiving paging indicators indicating to user equipment assigned to one or more groups associated with paging messages. Chandramouli also teaches as such ([0115] device trigger information may include the AS (access stratum) layer within the UE 110 forwarding information to the upper layer, i.e. device trigger information, read as paging configuration information, may be sent via AS information by the access device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kang and Rune to include the ability to send AS information in association with paging configurations, as taught by Chandramouli, in order to [0087-0088] allow targeting UEs in groups and optimize trigger mechanisms for the devices and [0086] further enable the abilities of group paging.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jiang, Xiaowei (2020). Method and apparatus for controlling network access (US 2020/0084799 A1). Filed 2017-04-19. Discloses access control information and classification for a user equipment in accordance with paging messages (abstract)
Lin, Jung-Mao (2020). Method of receiving paging messages for ue and ue using the same (US 2020/0029298 A1). Filed 2019-04-18. Discloses a method for receiving a paging message in an environment of a 5G communication system. (abstract)
Liu, Huichun et al. (2019). Techniques for broadcasting paging messages in wireless communications (US 2019/0387496 A1). Filed 2018-01-09. Discloses a UE can receive descramble parameters, a multitude of paging messages, and descramble said non-cell specific paging message based at least in part on the one or more parameters. (abstract)
Liang, Jing et al. (2019). Paging method, base station and user equipment (US 2019/0313364 A1). Filed 2017-11-02. Discloses a paging method in association with UE states and other configurations. (abstract)
Gopalakrishnan, Vijay et al. (2017). Adaptive group paging for a communication network (US 2017/0013443 A1). Filed 2015-07-08. Discloses an idle mobile device which may be instructed from the network to execute activation procedures to awaken the device. (abstract)
Ryu, Jinsook et al. (2016). Method and apparatus for monitoring user equipment reachability in wireless communication system (US 2016/0286385 A1). Filed 2016-03-25. Discloses a method and apparatus for monitoring UE reachability in a wireless communication system. (abstract)
Fox, David Andrew et al. (2012). Telecommunication networks (US 2012/0129517 A1). Filed 2011-07-05. Discloses a controller for a mobile telecommunications network where the controller may be provided at an access node site and/or a gateway site, and include an application programming interface to manage mobile terminals registered with the network in association with [0165] paging messages. (abstract)
Mohanty, Shantidev et al. (2007). Techniques for location management and paging in a communication system (US 2007/0105567 A1). Filed 2005-11-08. Discloses managing location management and paging operations for idle mode mobile stations. (abstract)
/MATTHEW JAMES DWYER/Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/GEORGE ENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2699